(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Flash cards
Did any mummies introduce flash cards or storybooks to your babies? Where to get them??

ahcapp
I can understand that feeling, just like when mil went out during the day time, I dun even have time to cook instant noodle.. end up rather go ordered mcdonald..

Actually hb come back for like 2 weeks already, I find it no differences from my previous lifestyle.. at most he can help to look after BB in the evening while I pump. Else I am still the one who is waking up to handle BB in the middle of the night. I even purposely ignore BB calls to see if my hb would react.. ended up he sleep like a pig.

lynn
I am taking 6in1, my bb next visit will be when he just turn 4 mths old. I heard some people says mix some pao sheng into milk and let bb drink 1 day before injections will help prevent fever.. Dunno how true leh.

yes, the mobile toy ard $20+, cos the toy ard 15-20% disct. If you going robinson sale, let us know if there is any good offers. Thanks.

babe
I think your boy sleep schedule should slowly lengthen bah.. mine started to sleep longer suddenly when his weight become 5kg+

my bb schedule also like the rest of the mummies, if last feed ard 9pm+ then next feed ard 3am.. I normally dreamfeed at 11pm so that next feed would be 5-6am.

Hi Steph,
Thanks for the info. Can let me know too when they call you.

Mcfluffy / Babe,
My boy was sleeping through for a while. Recently, he reverted back to his 3 am feed even though his last feed was around 10 pm. I wake up when I hear him making hi "eh..eh" sound.

If his "kor kor" does not disturb him, my boy can sleep from 2 to 5pm in the afternoon. Otherwise, he will sleep early like 9 pm to compensate for the lack of sleep.

My bb is opposite from most of yr babies. She just refuse to drink milk when she wake up in the morning. Her last feed is usually ard 11pm and she will wake up ard 7am and play on her own. She will not demand for milk and doesnt seems hungry?? Usually, I will try to feed her ard 730am, but she just drink 70 - 80ml and then refuse to drink anymore. dunno whats happening as she is already during very little milk at 3mths, 1week old.

icy,
I bought some flashcards n books from wonderbox.com.sg
intend to read to my gal during weekend..

Can borrow books from the library too?

Looking forawrd to the weekend cos I want to go to the robinson sale!

Serene,
Mine will "eh..eh" until "wah!wah!wah!" if I don't feed him. Sometime, I will stuff the pacifier into his mouth to buy time.

mcfluffy
Have emailed you.. Thanks!

flashcards
I'd started showing flashcards and books with big pictures to my boy. He respondes very well to them and gets very excited seeing the pictures.

Pram mobile
I'm also looking for a pram mobile that can attached to the front bar of stroller and on the shade, but can't find any interesting ones. Maybe pop by Robinsons sale later to check out...

babe,

Although Zander is on total FM, he still can't sleep thru the nite. His feeding schedule & intake also haywire sometimes.
7.30pm - 100ml
10pm - 90ml
11.30pm - 30ml "if he is cranky, we'll give him some milk"
3am or 4am - 125ml
7am or 8am - 110ml
11.30am - 100ml
2pm or 3pm - 90ml
Day time, Zander nap an hour or less in between feed, in total abt 4 hrs bah.

Blackbatz,
sure no prob

Wah, looks like mine's the only one who doesn't have a schedule, and feeds on demand. Naps 30min kind! See your babies only drink every 3 to 4 hours, v good leh!!

Can we use the freezed the EBM for mixing with bb cereal when time to introduce solid food (providing EBM is 3 months old and been kept in freezer). ;o)

Hi Shannonbaby, my bb also the same. she wakes up and talk by herself. Refuses to drink milk if i try to feed her straight away... My bb seems to drnk lesser milk these days too. I am a bit concerned if shes hungry, but apparently, she isnt. ;o) She still gain weight and grow in size. Dun know why either.

Blackbatz
Oh, my fren only coming in June leh. By then, bb 6mths liao! Abit long leh.

babe
mine quite ok, oredi sleeping from 830pm to 6am. Feed her at 6am, then she will sleep again until about 8am. Occasionally, she will wake up about 3am to have one feed. Think that was the growth spurt period. But mine daytime latch on can be for 1hour!!!! I read that babies still waking up could be due to a number of reasons 1) not enough milk in the day 2) it's becoming his habit.

kitsune
aiyah, my baby born early Jan, yours end of Jan, of cos my baby will have her neck strengthen first la

angela
jus now i tried reading her hunger cues, but she didnt cry, when she does, it doesnt has the N sounds leh...but i see the time, more than 3hours liao, so i latched her on, she sucks. Sigh...i really dont wish to watch the clock, but want to feed on demand...how to be "on demand" when i cant even tell WHEN is the demand

Icy: itz raining so in e end didnt go robinson..

Hannah: can u add mi in ur msn if any.. [email protected] or pm mi ur contact
whr do u stay? and watz ur budget?

shannonbaby: is ur flashcard wif real pic? how much is it?

mylife: my bb same d.o.b as ur bb but his head still wobbly... hahaha! hey! same d.o.b next time muz like them mt up..

lynn,

I will only be getting my flashcards tomorrow morning. Will update on hows the flashcards. Its $16.95 per box.

I just borrowed some colourful books from the library. intend to read to my bb over the weekend. Realise that she is interested at looking at colourful things.

my gal's head is quite firm already and she loves to look at lights! Will refuse to sleep whenever we bring her out at nite.

babyshannon
I look thro wonderbox website but cant find flash cards sections.. how does it look like?

audrey
Where did u get ur flash cards from? Now BB get awake more hours, I also wanna start some activities for him. :D

icy

I have juz brought some flashcard from Popular bookshop. I started with 2 different type "Numbers" & "alphabet" cards. It only cost $4.15 per box. Cheap & good ; )
Btw, are we suppose to flash the card fast after we read to them? Juz curious??

RE: Baby Einstein Right Brain, Left Brain VCD

Any mummies brought the above VCD? I juz brought these from Kiddy Palace. Is for baby from 6 mths onwards. I tried to let my boy watch awhile too. Quite interesting too.

Mylife, when's Rylee's birthday? Thought it's 1 week before mine. Hee. ;)

Babe/Mom2nat, mine also not sleeping through, no routine etc. But at least she's starting to tahan a bit longer usually 4-4.5hrs before crying for milk. Last night last feed is 12am, she woke up at about 4am for milk. Last time, always every 3 hrs, very siong. :p

Flashcards
Never buy so never try yet. When's a good time?

Next week is my last week of 'freedom' before going back to work. Booked appt to rebond and cut my hair. Feel like booking appt to go spa too, but don't know if MIL will complain, haha. :p

I bought some sing-a-long book for my bb girl. She loves it. She looks at the colorful pictures until she's tired and falls sleep by herself.
Bought the book from Popular S$13.80

hello mummies, wow. so fast start flashcards liao? 现在的宝宝真难当. Hahaaa

btw, any mummies wanna try the Kindermusik Our Village (newborn till 18mths) trial??

mom2nat,
my bb like yours lah. no fixed schedule. nap 30mins... no longer have the 1hr naps i long for. i call her the "erratic baby". Every baby getting into their own schedule.. mine has NONE. sigh. now trying to pat pat her to sleep but her eyes so big and wide.
soon will be feeding time.... no time to rest le.

Audrey,
I received your email

But still need a couple more to make orders. Any more orders for baby legs?

mei,

I am interested too!
But I thought kindermusik is from 5 months onwards? Cos my bb gal's infant care has it (inclusive in her school fee).

shannonbaby,
ah!! i just bot some stuff from metro last wkend. urgh. nvm. i have MORE things to buy. hee. wanna get wipes, breast pads, teats, warmer etc. any idea when over? cos' not sure wipes/breast pads got discount boh (cos usually they no further discount). can u check out and share? Hee. Tks!

where is ur baby infant care? how much?

mei,

Thanks for sharing. Me quite interested too ;p Saw your link somewhere that for trial is S$25.00 (inclusive of GST) per session? Is it?

Suntec having Oshkosh sale at level 3 too !!

haha... I think now we dont spend so much on ourselves but just keep spending on babies stuff

Just bought the bumbo seat, will let my boy try tonight to see if he can sit on it.

Mei,

I pay $1080 for my gal infant care Babies Inc, inclusive of gymboree and kindermusik (once a week each from 5 months onwards).

i think Robinson having 10 days of sale. John Little also having sales!

thank you mummies for ur sharing n encouragement.

flash cards
learn from a friend who brought her son age 3 to attend the famous course for abt a yr. flash speed is pretty fast, n a trick to do so is to wear rubber(band) material on the finger that flips the card n practice a few time b4 flashing to ur child. she DIY the flash cards n i've pick up some idea to do it. bought blank hard card (8"x5") from popular, 50pcs @ $1.95. prepared a few topics like color, shapes, fruits, animals... not yet print out but i tried using power point to show at the moment (though i read in some forum not to use power point to act like flash card...). some topics which introduce at a later stage are : currencies(money), singapore icons (e.g. merlion, esplanade, LKY, MRT etc), MRT stations, planets etc etc. Do not expect to see any results soon. In my friend example, her husband complains tt the course is very expensive and do not know what can be expected out from it but one fine day, his son just read out the sequesnce of the planet n her husband's tears nearly drop cos for him himself, until primary 6 then he started to know about planet names and he is amazed tt his son can do so at 3 yrs old...

feeding sequence
mine still wake up irregularly at night for feed. like last night, gave him last feed at 11pm, expect to last till 4~5am, who knows he wakes up at 2am and another time at 5~6am...really envy those bb who do not disturb mummy's sleep

Mei, saw the video, looks fun but Tanglin Mall too far for me lar.

Sale
Saw a Britax grey car seat and a Ferrari car seat on offer in today's newspapers, think it's Robinsons. Is it a good price? Any comments on the car seats? Which is better?

mei,

from the website, the trial session is S$25 inclusive of gst liao. There are Village 8 unit themes and i wonder if the trial class include all the 8 themes? Can chk, thks.
Re: Kindermusik Our Village Trial Class
1. mei (wkday/wkend)
2. JanBB (wkend)
3. Shannonbaby
4. LynnnChong (wkend)
5. VioletIce
6. Steph77 (wkend)

Pardon my ignorance but how do you show your bb the flash cards? Just flash without reading out the contents of the card? Or we flash and read out at the same time?? I very blur leh...thought of getting flash cards for my boy since he likes looking at colourful things especially the TV. Not expecting him to become a genius but it's just something to occupy his idle time. At least it will be fun if he enjoys it.

Shermaine,
So fast must register for kindergarten??? Our bb can't even sit yet?? Why nowadays so stressful...our bb cannot enjoy their childhood anymore.

mei,

Re: Kindermusik Our Village Trial Class
1. mei (wkday/wkend)
2. JanBB (wkend)
3. Shannonbaby
4. LynnnChong (wkend)
5. VioletIce
6. Steph77 (wkend)
7. Angelsky
8. icy