(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendyg,
yah lor, the only babies my in-laws ever looked after are my hubby and his sister...that's more than 30 years ago! Aiyo, I keep demostrating to them how to put on diaper but they still anyhow do...just grab and anyhow wrap then my boy's thigh got small blisters...sob sob. So I complain to hubby, let him go and tell them. I suspect my bb also don't want his grandparents to change his diaper...past 2 days he has been pooing early in the morning before they come and pick him up...haha...I think he want me to clean and change him first.

{kitsune}

U got the Pumping Pal handsfree set ah? Don't mind can review and feedback if it's easy to use and really good? I was considering but held back bc of the price.

i guess when we hv to rely on other pple to help us, we gotta close 1 eye here n there lor. until u see something they do u very buay tahan, then tell them. otherwise, just look the other way...

<font color="aa00aa">Ahcapp</font>
Someone selling the Pumping Pal handsfree set 2nd hand. You might want to check it out? She's selling @ $23. Decided not to buy coz I like to squeeeeze my boobs to get milk out. :p

wendy
yah...got swallow...she suck then stop, then suck vigorously again. How to unlatch? I guess for the last feed, me like maureen, nurse her to sleep. :p

kitsune/icy
this was wat was told to me by the La Leche Group Leader in HK about oversupply:

<font color="0000ff">Problems for the baby with forceful let-down and oversupply:
Gag, choke, strangle, gulp, gasp, cough while nursing as though the milk is coming too fast
Pull off the breast often while nursing
Clamp down on the nipple at let-down to slow the flow of milk
Make a clicking sound when nursing
Spit up very often and/or tend to be very gassy
Periodically refuse to nurse
Dislike comfort nursing in general

Problems for the mother with over supply:
Prolonged engorgement
Repeated plugged ducts – possibly resulting in repeated mastitis if not treated quickly.</font>

Hey, is Goon diapers good for night use? I dunno my gal now wear S or M, cos it states the S is for babies 4-8kg, whereas M is for 7-11kg. My gal now 6.8kg, almost 7kg liao. How?

Forgot to add, i was using Nepia M size, but always leak one. Headache. She's like too big for S and too small for M. If i pull M tighter, her crotch area is too tight, but if i adjust jus nice for crotch area, her waist become too loose and poo will leak.

sorry to barge in but i was reading yr comments abt oversupply. i'm from feb mtbs. my bb has been making clicking sounds, pull away and cry while i nurse. i thot it's becos my flow too slow and she likes the bottle too much (i top up fm at nite). but it's oversupply, how come when i pump i can get max 75 ml only? *confused*

sorry to intrude also.. i am from Feb thread too

bkkgal,
find you here.. hehe..

re: the oversupply
i do find baby has those symptoms when latching at night:
<font color="0000ff">Gag, choke, strangle, gulp, gasp, cough while nursing as though the milk is coming too fast
Pull off the breast often while nursing
Make a clicking sound when nursing
Spit up very often and/or tend to be very gassy </font>

my interval at night is 3-4 hours. day time is 1-2 hours.

i didn't pump at night. not sure about the amount i have. but i can feel that my breast is hard when interval stretched to 3-4 hours.
at day time, i don't have those oversupply problem. when pump out will have about 100ml in total.

besides pumping out a bit at night before nursing, seems there aren't other ways?

krystle

my boy on enfa too. so far so good. he either poo everyday or once every 2 days. previously on s26 but twice he didnt poo for abt 4-5 days. made me so worried

mom2nat

not to worry. if the boil burst and pus flow out, just use gauze to cover after shower and change 2 times daily till it completely dried up.

jas

u may wanna try some tummy massage, warm bath and some cycling exercise for baby. if all dun work, get glyerine supp fr dr to insert.

tt time i tried to massage my boy's anal region and it worked. after stimulation, he pooed

my PD said if 3-5 days no poo is ok as long as the poo poo is soft.

ur baby on bm? some said bm is easily digested so baby may fully digest till nothing left to poo

Ah Capp, think Icy did a review liao, haha. Pumping Pal is good but works best with the angled flanges so better to buy as a set. At least I can sit back instead of hunching over to let the milk flow into PIS funnel.

Blackbatz, read that you can try bottle feeding when BB is hungry but not hysterical, maybe you can try again? I'm using pigeon teats, works well for my BB.

Mylife, thanks for the info.

Hi, Xiaoyun &amp; bkkgal.

<font color="ff6000">re: oversupply</font>
>> i'd prefer to call it forceful letdown. When there's letdown, the jets spray into baby's throat and cause him to choke. It's not abt how much u can pump out. I know of a mom who had forceful letdown, but everytime she pump, only 50ml. So she latch bb when she's at home.. when at work he drank fm.
Remedies:
pump before latching baby on. So to avoid screaming baby, pump in advance. I will pump 5min and STOP. Or u can pump XX ml and STOP.
Another method is to breastfeed baby when u're lying down. I dunno how that's done, but it's using gravity to stem the jets so that they dun spray so much.

blackbatz
eh, my baby was on 1 bottle feed per day since he was born, then suddenly he reject bottle wor.. i think when he was abt 3 wks old. I gave him fm initially while waiting for my bm supply. Then maybe for 1 wk din use bottle coz enuf bm.. then when i reintroduce for night feed, he dowan liao.

mylife
how's the interesting bottle from HK... aidil? I may be desperate enuf to consider buying those bottles if my boy still rejects.

2nd time mothers:
>> are your #1 more obedient when they reach 3yrs old? my 32m son is very whiny.. everytime test husband and my patience. One day even his beloved grandpa also hit him. Give him instruction gotto repeat so many times he still dowan to obey eg wear shoes, go toilet etc.
I dun believe it's due to sibling rivalry, coz he's still v protective abt baby.

mom2nat,
RE: BCG scar
hahaha... i totally forgot abt bcg scar at the bum... my gal had some nappy rash wks ago, den i tot the rash went up to the left top bum, told my mum :"how come the pus so big huh?" den apply v thick layer of Desitin on it... today, i saw the area has a deep depth mark, so i tot :"jia luck, the nappy rash has got a deep scar nw! in my heart, i apologised to my gal for not properly taking care of her n ensuring her a scarless bottom!" nw, u mentioned abt BCG scar, i came to realised that "the supposedly nappy rash scar" should b my gal's BCG scar! hahaha...
i dunno how heavy my gal nw.. i tink 5kg+. she's 9wks tmr. will post her pix soon...

mylife,
ya, she does latch n drink fm bottle.. i pump when i feel my breasts full, roughly abt 5hrly. but recently, my ss dropped alot cos i was ill n suffered fm engorgement AGAIN! nw pump out abt 180ml after latching her.. used to pump 470ml, den dropped to 320ml, den nw 180ml...

blackbatz,
i've been letting my gal direct latch n bottle feed since confinement period. at first, i wanted to increase my ss, so i direct latch most of the time. den i got v tired, n my mom bottle feed in the nite (1 feed) so i can rest... so i guess my gal is used to both latching on my nipple n bottle (using avent @ my mom's place &amp; NUK @ my home) ever since...

mylife,
i have all those u listed regarding oversupply n forceful letdowns.. so i tink now my body automatically adjust to lower amt of milk to suit my bb, she's drinking 120ml when feed wif bottle. but suddenly feel v sad/disappointed to see so little milk as compared to the past....

beanie
Tks.. today the scar looks better. prob healing liao.
How can have BM until no poo? I find breastfed babies poo more then bb on FM leh. then BM oso make bb's poo watery kind.

Godsent
Talk abt cream, I can faint... I bought Mustela's cream for eczema to put on bb's face. And I oso have physiobabe to clean his face and backside. My maid ah, put the eczema one on his asshole!! She say I told her so! Then she think think say oh it's the other cream... Sometimes hor, I dunno if it is a right decision to keep this maid. Sigh...

mom2nat

not sure wor... but initially my boy on full bm when he returned home he really poo 8 times daily. after a while, he oni poo once daily. then i started to supplement him, he poo either daily or once every 2 days.

my PD said as long as tummy soft, baby active and still drinking, dun have to worry abt no poo poo

mom2nat

Can I ask how's the mustela cream for eczema? My PD told me that the red lines on my son's creases/ folds on his skin are actually early stage of eczema. He told me to apply moisturiser twice a day that's all.

I also noticed small bumps on his neck. Wonder how does eczema looks like.

Any advice?

kitsune

Oh, where is the review? Some time ago is it? I must have missed it. =(

mcfluffy

Wonder if I should get it... Hmm... Thanks for the tip off though.

Kitsune

Wow Kitsune, so fast you're thinking of matchmaking RaeAnne liao? Are you sure you will "she de"?

QQ

LOL, you eat his "tofu" never mind lah. Eat more, eat more!!! LOL!

mom2nat
Just when we are talking abt the BCG scar, this morning while i was bathing Xavier, I realised that the bump had dried out. It should have burst yesterday w/o me knowing.

I din even notice when it happen and if there is bleeding or anything.. maybe kanna mixed with the poo already.

My boy poo also very watery. Anyway I find that if can make him poo in potty, it is cleaner.. He will poo quite a lot at one go and dun need a bit and a bit, and keep changing diaper.. save on diaper too.

bkkgal/xiaoyun
welcome to the Jan 08 thread.
I second what wendyg said. Not all women can react well to pumps. So dont gauge your supplies based on what u can pump out.
As long as your bb is gaining weight healthily, have 6-8 wet nappies in 24hours, then u're doing great.

wendy
i didnt get to go and buy the bottle (Adiri) from Mongkok in the weekend. Hopefully can go this weekend

Godsent
i think your breasts are adjusting to supplying jus wat your baby needs. No need to be alarm cos 470ml is really too much!! Are u SAHM? If u're, then slowly let the oversupply go lo. Unless u're planning to go back to work and need to pump to keep in the fridge, then no point having so much excess BM. i read that our breast will keep on making BM that adjust to the needs of the babies of different age, ie 3months BM is diff nutritionally than when ur bb is 6months old. So, even if u keep your milk in the freezer for 3months now, 3months later, it is unsuitable for your 6mth old baby liao.
Of cos it is different for working moms becos frozen BM is better than none. At least that was what i was told. I was like u also, panic mode when i see ss decreasing. But i was told now our milk has firmly established liao...so no need to worry, have to learn to let the excess go.

Wendyg,
My #1, considered 4+, still exhibit the same behaviour like yours. Maybe slightly better, can go toilet by himself etc..But he will chose the worst time to demand your attention or throw a tantrum. Usually when baby is crying or whole family is very busy with otehr things. He wears me out everyday with his cries.

What's the milk bottle which you were talking about?

Godsent,
My mother lor, now keep repeating that I should have done exactly, like you. I didn't want to tire her cos my #1 is demanding and she was doing my confinement for me.

I think I must disappear from the house, then bb will drink. Brought my son out for his medical appt this whole morning. My mum told Zachary drank 3 oz of milk. The minute I came home, he doesn't want to touch the bottle cos he could recognise my voice. It's back to NUK teats again.

Gag\Choke
Personally, I think these happens only during the confinement month. Subsequently, our body will adjust to produce the correct amount for our baby. So choking / gagging wouldn't be so frequent or severe.

Bkkgal / Xiaoyun,
Machine pump suction is not as powerful as baby's latching.

For my #1, I was doing full EBM. Every 3hrs can get 150 ml. Now, only 120 ml every 3 hrly.

Hi, Nez &amp; Beanie.

Thanks for your feedback on Enfalac. Will buy a small tin to try.

Re: Ecezma

Hmm.. Not sure if my girl is having ecezma too... Recently, I found rashes on her chest, side of neck... also there is a thin red line on the back of her neck... Wonder what is wrong...?

For the rash, I apply Desitin. As for the red line, my mum said it is due to water trapped in the skinfold (due to bathing or feeding). She asked me to just clean the area dry &amp; powder. Very tempted to use steriod cream to apply that area leh...

blackbatz
the bottle is available in HK in Mongkok, where the Milk Factory is. I'm planning to go get one. Looks cool hor? Dunno if it works though. The other bottle some other mommies recommend here in HK is MAM bottle...i bought it from Mothercare in HK, dunno if it's avail in SG Mothercare. Supposedly labelled as "Breast-like feeding in a bottle" as well. Can try to find out from Mothercare SG?

re: adiri
i dun mind to give it a try.. desperate liao. maybe get my fren who lives in HK to send to me or c if her relatives visiting her can courier for me.
Mylife, waiting for your feedback hor. If your girl dun like it, i dun mind take over fr u to try on my boi

blackbatz
at least your boi drinks when u're out. Which is what's gonna happen when u return to work right?
I was out ysday for 4hr, my boy drank 1oz. U say ley?!>!?!

Mylife
Was at Mothercare today but didn't see it. Call later and update you. The bottle looks cool, like some time capsule.

Wendyg,
I'm worried that if 'scarly' lose weight, they will say BM no good.. Desperate mothers = Desperate measures

any mommies here latching feel that bb sucking too hard and breast feel sore? This week my son has been pulling and sucking really hard, never wanna unlatch even after 40min, otherwise keeps pulling off but when offered will take it with a vengence.

Just came back from IMM gaint. Pampers Active baby (box of 2 packs) is selling for $30 only. Orig price is $43. Size from M to XL. From now till 10 Apr.

Btw, anyone using Mammy Poko? is it good? I am looking for one with rubber band waist band to prevent poo poo from leaking out.

Try swaddling? The other day, my friend came over. She helped me swaddle my son (arms + legs) together. My son slept for nearly 2hrs straight! No kidding. I only swaddle my son from waist down, so he will take 1hr nap most of the time. But sometimes, he will sleep much longer, like on rainy days.

HI all,

my boobs are like kinda of not firm as b4.. like little sagged sia from the pre prenancy and all.. sob sob.. esp with all the previous BF etc.. Haz..

You gals got any gd breast serum to help uplift it huh... or rather saw advertisement on slim fit.. tempted to try but scared wait kena hard sell.. Hhaha.. Those breast serum cream from watson/Guardian... are those reliable or ??

Oh.. my poor boobs.. hhaz.. all those suckling .. lol...

Went to KK for review, BB's ear infection ok liao.
But must go back in 6 weeks for a ear test. Finally, can bring baby for 6-in-1 jab, hope it's not too late. :p

Ah Capp, I copy Icy's review for you here. Hee. ;)

ahcapp &amp; kitsune_sg
The handsfree set maintain certain form of handsfree. It is supported by 2 strings attached to the funnel and a wired under the 2 funnels to maintained support. Basically, it is held up by the suctions.

It can let you be handsfree and do some little actions like reading, surfing but you cannot do big movement as one u happened to stretch your breasts, the suction that hold it at your breasts will be gone. Anyway with 2 pumps in front of you, actually typing also a bit werid. But at least, dun have to keep on having to hold on to the pumps.

I like the Supershields because at least I don't have to sit totally upright while pumping. but that doesn't means u can lean back a lot. just almost like having a cushion behind your back bah. Lean back too much, the milk will backflow. Can rest a bit when using these 2 things since can lean back + dun need hold on to the pumps.

Babe, my baby keep pulling on my nipple and turning away. Very painful. Ouch. :p

Krystle, my BB had skin infection because the skin folds under her armpit was not properly washed and dried, had to see dr and get steriod cream. If you smell a foul smell, better use steriod cream. If not yet, maybe can try the powder method that you mum said.

Thanks so much Kitsune! ^_^

Btw, is it true that we can't use talc powder for our babies? I read it somewhere. But I notice my pigeon powder has talc in it. =(

I just started using my Crabtree &amp; Evelyn baby powder which is made of corn starch rather than talc. Hope it will help to remove the red bumps on my son's neck.

AhCapp, I read somewhere too, but in the past, we also use baby powder. So I still use lar but just make sure don't put too near her face so that she won't breathe it in.

babe,
u r so cute to describe ur baby like dat.... sometimes, my gal oso will suck n pull and YES, it is painful n sore...

mylife,
thks for ur advice.. it's comforting... u know lah, i had oversupply so it was quite norm to see my milk flow so super fast when pump.. and now, after a while, ma-chiam like no more milk, so do feel a bit disappointed. i hope my supply will maintain n will not drop further. but now i realised after each engorgement, my supply dropped by 50%... terror!

fern,
i tink after child birth, our tits will sag more or less... quite sad to know lah.. i saw my aunt's who din bf, oso sag. Esp for those mummies who had big tits... That's the WEI-DA of mummies...

boobies sag due to pregnancy, not due to bf. anyway when we're old, they'll sag anyway. Might as well be for the nutrition for our kids.

I also realised my boobies are so soft compared to pre preggy! Used to have a lump in the centre now no more so it is so soft and saggy!

Btw, have u all regained back ur tummy size? My tummy is still big and a bit soft. Any solutions to get it firm back??

me too. boobs sag after #1. some more i only A cup to begin with. imagine, small saggy boobs. lagi depressing!

i too have problem getting my girl to nap more than 1/2 hr at each time. sometimes she nap only 15 min then wake up liao. how?!? its driving me nuts

I am using Johnson and Johnson diaper cream but it seems guardian is no longer carrying them. Any idea where to find?