(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

verene
re: bulb
see this
pics.drugstore.com/prodimg/42672/200.jpg

kitsune
any brand also can la.. i think they all work in the same way. I dunno mine what brand ley.. bought nearly 3 yrs ago

blackbatz
i NEVER unpack the diaper bag. haha.
nowadays mostly going out with only #2, so i take out #1's stuff. I pack everything in plastic bags within the harversack, so i remove whichever bag is not needed, eg #1's extra clothes/ diapers.

i wanted to get something from www.babymallonline.com

i cant post at the spree thread yet.

thinking is there anyone here interested? can pm me your order, pls copy and paste the url, size, design.

exchange rate: 1.52

postage will be advised.

Wow, looks like I have been missing on a lot of posts here. Been a busy weekend. The only happy thing is that I went to Jeff Chang's concert on Sat night. Really very good! *2 thumbs up* I think the money were well spent on such a good performance. Anyway, the end result of spending a total of 6 yo 7 hours out for this night out is that when I reached home, I have to feed my son and then pump milk. So siong. Only went to bed at about 1:30am and still have the wake up in the middle of the night for feeding. I just want to die man..

Verene

I also bought the Graco playpen at the taka fair. The $179 one, to be placed at my mum's place. I have not bought the mattress yet. Is it a must? The sales told me it costs about $60+. Did u get this mattress?

itok
Hey, we stay very near to each other. I'm staying at Tamp st 83, blk beside Tampines Central CC. Recently just moved back home as confinement was done at MIL's place at Tamp st 21. But occassionally will be at her place in daytime and back home at night. When I'm home, I'll be taking care of my boy alone.

RE: Milk Intake
itok & CandiceChang
My boy also feeds 4 hrly and can tahan up to 6 - 8 hrly (if thru'out the night). I also tot that the more weeks they are, the more they shld drink. But apparently, i'm wrong and esp. my boy is sick for the past 2 weeks. His appetite drop from 150 ml to 120ml for the last few days and I noticed that he had sort of lose some weight. *Heartpain*

What a horrible start to the week for me.

This morning, part of the ceiling in my master bedroom toilet collapsed...luckily I wasn't bathing bb at that time. Heard a loud thud and I thought bb's bathtub has dropped but got a shock when I opened the door and saw pieces of concrete and rubble on the floor. So called HDB and still waiting for them to call me back to arrange for a visit to inspect the damages.

Subsequently, decided to bath bb in the kitchen toilet since my room's toilet not very "safe". Guess what happened? The shower head and tap "gave way" (we seldom use the shower unit in the kitchen toilet) and water was spraying everywhere! Panic and was looking frantically to switch off the water main in the toilet but couldn't find one for the showe unit. Called hubby for help but he also dunno what to do so I called my dad and he rushed over to help me.

Both my toilets let me down on the same morning...cannot believe it. Only lucky thing is that bb was asleep throughout and only woke up when my dad arrived to help me with the mess. I can't imagine if I was carrying bb when the tap broke. Really horrible day for me.

ahcapp,
Hehe, the difference between last time (no baby) and now(big baby) is that when we come home after a long but fun day, we still need to feed and coax the baby to sleep, then pump milk. Sometimes, I regret going out. Coz will come home feeling tired (though happy) and yet still need to do all those things. Cannot immediately plonk myself and hug hubby to sleep. Heh. What a different life!

AhCapp & mommies staying near GIANT IMM,

There is a promotion on Piegon wipes 82sx3 at $8.75. Offer ends 27thMar. Good deal, i bought a bundle to keep stock
Also pampers (red packaging) on promotion but i can't remember the price.

Itok,

Pap smear test is like the gynae inserting his finger into the vagina to do check for cervix dilation. During the process, it was not painful, just uncomfortable. But after 10 mins, I started to feel intense pain below. I don't know why also & the pain lasted about 15 mins. I think the pain is due to the fact that the gynae need to scrap some cells from the cervix for the test.

Mum to Ashley,

I PM-ed you for the details of infant care at Bedok Reservoir.

mcfluffy

Oh yes, it's such a hassle just to leave the house. Like this morning, I was dying to go to Orchard. I was even willing to splurge on a cab! But after my son fuss and stuff, I think the furthest i want to go is my parents' house (4 bus stops away). N that doesn't stop me from carrying my whole diaper bag along. =S

Been feeling a bit down lately. Last night, fed my son just after midnight. But my son still wants to be fed at about 3:45am and 6:30am. I nearly dropped dead! Tonight, I will give him 1 feed of FM to see if it can last him longer.

Actually, I am seriously considering if I want to carry on with pumping when I return to work next month. Really draining especially if I want to look after my son n also pump milk at night. Total time spent more feed + pump is 1.5hr. Considering that my son requests for feed every 3hr, I will be left with 1.5hr to sleep till his next feed. Will check with my mum if she can help me look after Mon to Fri, day and night.

Anyway, back to the FM. I will try out Enfalac on my son again. The last time he ate FM was first 2 weeks but he ate only twice when I was trying to catch up on pumping. If ok, at least I know i have backup in case my supply drops when I am back to work.

Back to the concert bit. The night out was really good. I really love Jeff Chang's songs and he is a very good singer. The only drawback was when I reached home, my bra and breast pads were soaked. =S N I had to spent extra long to empty my breasts. What a lousy way to end a night out...

steph

Thanks for the info. *thumbs up*

My pigeon wipes have been using at a very slow rate. Main reason is I will wash my son's butt every time he poo poo at home. N i don't really bring him out. So I still have many packs left. I ultra KS, bought quite a no. of packs last time. =S

The pampers Dry is selling for about $9+. Very good deal indeed. But is currently using Nepia M size since I have finished my pampers dry.

mylife
Got growth spurt ar? Actually, how do we calculate their age? E.g. Say if born on 1st Jan 08, by 1st Feb 08, baby is 1 month or after 4 weeks is 1 month, coz sometimes in a month has more than 4 weeks?

Wendgy,
Think I have to be more organised like you. Pack #1 stuff in ziplock, when go out, just dump inside my diaper bag. Otherwise, I have to check #2 bag and #1 makan bag. Check here..check there until I forgot my own things.

AhCapp,

my graco playpen is a different one from urs. mine was bought in 2007 bb fair. I paid $199 for it. it is a light blue & green in color. with a canopy (but I already remove it cos kinda of obstruct me when I carry bb in & out).think the mattress in not compulsory lah. I find the bassinet too low so I bot a mattress to bring up the height and esy for me to carry bb out. if not, my back hurts when i keep bending so low....after delivery...here pain there pain. The mattress I bot at $140+, the baby safe latex one. the latex mattress pretty heavy. The foam mattress at that time think out of stock. some pple say foam mattress can get mouldy quite fast...dun knw true or not??

Verene,

I'm thinking of going leh. But not sure whether there will be good buys but I want to sign up Mother and Baby mags there since they're giving 3 packs of Ultra Huggies. Quite worth...

Re: Last feed
Can i check, do you all wake your bb up fully or dream feed bb? my boy's last feed is always very difficult. He doesn't drink more or latch on longer. Once he had enough, he will not feed anymore. I wonder how he can sleep thru the nite when in fact he's drinking less due to sleepiness...

I really envy you all.. can log on so often to chat. I don't have the time wor. My only free time is around this time. Sometimes I'm just too tired and wanna relax.. read book/mag.. computer screen too tiring for my eyes... keke..

Kitsune,
Since your MIL feed your bb at nite, meaning she has to wake up to warm milk before bb is awake? You don't wake up to pump at all?

Verene,
Can you email me the gathering pix pls? [email protected]. Thanks!

Hi Ah capp,

I am sure you enjoyed self much! That was nice

Me had a great weekend. went Riz Carlton during the weekend to stay advanced celebration of my bday.. hehe! super nice room. Imagine bathtub with music and facing the sea! Wow! True Indulgence. If only time stayed

Well.. tommorow is my actual bday.. wonder what surprise I'll get from hubby and my darling elias.. Wished he could blammer Mummy! OR a smile would really make my day men! Hope Elias will give mummy a nice bday gift with a captivating SMILE
HEH

I agree with bb sometimes hard to have personal space.. but am fortuntate enough to have mil and maid assissting me
To say the truth.. havent been chaging diapers or feeding milk as mil loves doing the tasks and even sleeps with my son
Haha! Though there were clash times where things doesnt go accoring to my way.... Haz...

But I always love talking and singing to him... He actually understands.. also, BF with him staring at me simply melts me so much! Life for me still going on the same as previously just that during shopping, my mind always goes to him and missing him and wanting buy him a toy each time am out though he cant play yet

Waiting for him to call me Mummy will be the day I'll be waiting in true excitment! In face, he can blammer somebb stuff which I dun understnad.. Find it so cute and lovable!

Fern:

bb fair @ expo.. will be the same as any other bb fair at expo... just like how the Taka bb fair was the same as any other Taka bb fair.. i been going bb fair after bb fair since #1.. all the same vendors, same items, same everything. They even set up at the same spot. Eg Avent & Pigeon @ Taka Fair. Maybe the only diffrnce is that the prices went up?!?!
i asked hubby to remind me the next time i want to go this kind of fair... that it's the same as previous time!
but then hor.. maybe i itchy backside, will sneak to Expo when no one notices?? heh heh...

oh dear yvonne
sianz!!!!

ah capp
what breastpads u using? Not leakproof ah

Fishia,

The 1 year subscription is $66.

They have a few choices as freebies.

1) Huggies Hamper worth $28
2) Nestle Hamper worth $50
3)Slimgo Hoop worth $49.90
4) Palmer's Hamper worth $60
5) A pair of Takara Tomy Disney Baby Mood Switches worth $59.90
6) Baby Deluxe Traveller Bag worth $79.90
7) Tolly joy Hamper worth $60

wendyg

Think I exaggerated a bit. *LOL* Pigeon pads. Actually, it's much better than Avent. it's still intact after 6 hours+ of usage. Just that it's soaked with milk and I smell of sour milk, horrible. =S

Fern

Happy birthday to u! ^_^

Tmrw 18 march is my wedding anniversary. 2nd anniversary this year. How time flies.

fishia

If my baby doesn't wake up by the time I want to hit my sack, I will dream feed him. Hmm.. usually he will dream less than what he usually eats at other feeds. But still better than nothing. But I don't BF, I feed him with EBM using bottles.

verene

Thanks for your feedback! I think I better check out the mattress too. I was told by the sales that some people want to get those mattress with holes for better ventilation. The one she has is about $60+. Don't know if it's foam or latex, but quite heavy wor.

audrey, I'm Itok's neighbour, staying at Tampines Street 71 too. Haha, next time can have gathering at the CC foodcourt.

Milk intake
My girl is 8 weeks tomorrow but still only taking about 80-90ml of EBM, worse she suck until left about 10-20ml then refuse to suck anymore. Force her, she'll cry so end up throwing away my precious milk after 1 hr. We feed her every 2.5-3.5hrs depends on whether she is crying for milk. She is 5.1kg now. Is that too little? Anyone else's bb also drinking less than normal?

Steph, good deal, I use a lot of pigeon wet wipes but too bad Jurong too far away for me. :p

Babe, I see, when does BB flip over? Mine can only turn 180 degree so far.

Fishia, no I don't wake up to pump at night but I sleep very late at night, usually 1+, sometimes even 3+am and I'll always pump or feed before I sleep. I tried to set alarm to pump in the beginning but just cannot wake up. And if I do succeed, then next morning either dizzy or headache. When I wake up in the morning sure engorged lor. :p

Fern, wa Ritz carlton's bathtub. My dream for a long time leh but hubby always act blur. Sigh. :p

Fern,
my #1 started calling me "mama" only 1 week ago. He's 25mths now.. I waited until neck long long liao.

Brought my #1 to see child devt specialist today. He's okay just that he's slow in speech. Will be making appointment to see a speech therapist. Hopefully he'll speak soon. Don't wish to see him getting frustrated when we couldn't understand him and affecting his confidence level.

violetice,
Thanks for the subscription info. I considering now...

Ahcapp,
Yeah. bottle easier rite? I was joking with hubby the other day. bottle is like erected penis.. hahaha! cos i bf until very pek chek and he just didn't want to open his mouth! well, i tried bottle too and he didn't drink much either. waste my milk and effort to pump and prepare!

Wendyg,
Die la..My boy must suckle my breasts before he can fall asleep liao. Fed him at 7 pm using Nuk teats but took only 2 oz.Must try other teats liao.

I go to BB fairs to collect phamplets only. Don't need them but still collect for fun.

Long time never logon liao...:p The gathering at Ikea was great and too bad that I missed it. Will sure join the next time!

Fern,
Happy Birthday to U! I celebrated mine on 14 mar too! Here is a pic of my little Amanda @ 10 weeks.

1303498.jpg

blackbatz
collect pamphlets to recycle issit?
I hv a lot of junk pamphlets fr property agents in my letterbox. i keep for u want?

violetice
growth spurt happens at around 3-4months. Aiyah, no need to calculate chun-chun one la...jus estimate by the date lo.

blackbatz
u have a very funny hobby...go to BB fairs to collect pamphlets???

ahcapp
dont give up BF leh. I read that it'll take 6 weeks for breasts to "dry-up" from the last nursing u have. U can try latching bb on before u go to work, then pump 3 times in office, then return home and latch on again. Try the routine out first prior to u starting work. Jeff Chang's concert sounds like fun.

mcfluffy
like u, sometimes i also reminisce my time with hubby prior to bb's arrival. I do miss those days of jus changing up and heading to town for some "kia-kia", movies, karaokes, night outs and then going home, shower and hit the sack. But i tell myself, these are not gone, patiently bring bb up and then we can have different type of outing fun!

Just met up with sassymum on sunday for dim sum with our hubbies. She brought along a fren and ta dah...wat a small world! Her fren knows my hubby! haha. Sassymum looks very good wor...radiant and slim, totally unlike me, like ahcapp says, sometimes i think i smell of milk!

sassy
if u're back and reading, i found kao merries in HK liao!!! Have to order from a website and they deliver to us. HKD140 for 56pcs, i think. Next time i can order for u as well, then get your fren to bring back to Sg when he goes back.

Kitsune,
That Riz Carlton was a xmas gift from a close fren.. haha:p Very generous of him. In fact, even if we can afford I wont pay such money. The roon we supposed to have was actually a PREMIER SUITE.. but cos its full.. we had the PRESENDIAL SUITE and comes with bubble bath, straweberries, chocolate and changpane and a bouquet of roses for me during our bath time.. Rm suoer HUGE! But I find it very normal lor.. But must admit it comes with grandeur and real shiok bathing with full screen windows overviewing the MARINA BAY WATERS! Great view! Imagine when my hubby asked how much, they said retailed price at $1800 per room! I almost died from shock! With tht money rather go overseas.. But my hubby really enjoyed! He says, check AMEX PLATINUM CARD sometimes got distcount lor.. Haha... If not I rather go HK with thw MONEY.

And i assured hubby my next house, should it be a condo, I expect to have a hi rise floor with bath tub facing a SEA too! Going to work towards that! haha.. It beats going to Riz! SO ex.. go often also no kick lah! Go hint hint to hubby again! I assure you, you guys will have a great time! CHeck promo lor! I wouldnt mind go again though. Love the bubble bath! Real shiok eating and drinking whilst bathing! TRue Indulgence sia!!!

Fisha,
Means I gotta wait long long till Elias my prince start to work.. But I always hear him say ALAMAK.. sometimes... bb talk but like alamak lor, so CUTE! When should bb start talking actually?? Dun worry lah! bb differs... a speech therpist will be able to help:p Glad your #1 call mama liao.. me still super long way.. haz. how to expect tomolow.. haha.. maybe a nice smile will MELT ME and be my greatest DESIRE TO SEE THAT HAPPEN

Fern

steph
forgot to reply to u. i think we all really the case of "i see u good, u see me good" only. At least your son is capable of falling asleep on his own if u all ignore him. My princess can never do that. She eh eh eh only will defnitely escalate to big cries one! And then she will regurgitates milk out..how to let her eh eh eh? Pacifier also she doesnt take...cannot be letting her suck my nipple all the time rite? Did u try doing the dream feed thing..ie after his last feed at 1030pm, still feed him at around 12am to 1am? Maybe that'll last him longer.

Actually no need to envy me, like most experienced mommies here say, no need to be happy so fast, my bb sleeps longer at night wont last one. Babies are always changing pattern, jus when u think she's finally sleeping thru the night, wham, she wakes up in the middle of the night again...so i'm not holding my breath! My fren in HK, whose bb is 9months old, was sleeping thru the night, then now, suddenly, 3am can wake up and demand for feed again...she said since giving birth until now, she has never had more than 6-7hours of sleep, always staggered here and there.

Elmo, Amanda very cute, going to be a pretty gal.

Fishia, i've training my gal to say mama since she was just a few weeks old. Not successful lor. So far, she can only babble "Ah", "Ah Goo", "Oww" & 'A'. Can't wait for her to call me. Hee.

Fern, oic, your friend very generous, introduce to me leh... hee. True lar, if I got $1k+, should go HK and look for mylife instead. Seaview condo my dream too especially East Coast, haha. Happy birthday! ;)

Fern/Kitsune,
Some bb started talking at age of 10mths. Maybe yours too? and that will be pretty soon once you go back to work. Mine super slow lor... runs in my hubby's family..

FIshia,

I read books that if they are fast by 8 months can talk and by 12 months some can even walk!
Some walk late like 2 years and talk like 2 plus even. And I agree it runs in the family cos I walked quite late too according to my mum.. No need worry lah... All bb are diffrent and we so many speech sepcialist around.. no need worry.. We just hope that our bb be fast in everything!! haha .. all the kiasu mummies in this era.

Fern

hi kitsune,
Thanks! Raeanne is lovely too! I guess all babies are loveable esp we see them growing everyday.

fishia, mi too! Cant wait to hear Amanda call mi mama too! No worries, I m sure Jude will start talking soon. He got a pair of talking eyes. . .so charming :p

Fishia, I heard that BB gals develop speech faster but BB boys are better at the physical milestones flipping, crawling, walking etc. Maybe your boys are like that? Ya, hope that by talking to her more often, she'll learn to talk faster so that she'll cry less. Haha. Wishful thinking I know.

Mylife, my BB cannot neither fall asleep on her own, nor can she sleep through the night, until now till feeding every 3 hrs. I lagi jelat right? ;P

Kitsune
aiyah..at least yours can take ebm from bottles rite? Mine see bottles like "sha fu chou ren"! When its feedg time st least u can get someone else to help out..for me cannot! Sometimes too tired also cannot "pass the baton" to someone else to feed her and I take a nap...I can't be away from her for more than 3 hours!

darn, my boy woke up 2hly last night and feed for 10min go back sleep..no way of getting him eat more and now he's awake!!! Arghhh...He was doing 3-4hly earlier on..Hope it is juz an exception night...otherwise zonk..

Yesterday went back to work. Today and tomorrow on leave again cos my elder son still unwell. Back to express milk while working. 1st session so stress difficult to get letdown, 2nd and 3rd time better. But all my milk have to throw away. My fridge last nite is spoilt. Plus yesterday the day before got 4 bottles also have to throw. So sad. Today I won't punp out first have to latch on until my new fridge is here in the afternoon.

Verene Ting,
Then got any brand of birth control pill you can recommand to slim down and birth control also? Between you know got side effects or not? Price?Ya me going to BB fair this sun.

steph... i wanna change the pacifier too cos seeing that they have diff mths ..... but my husband say no need to change wor ..

Mylife,

I had told my hubby that whenever he going to HK for business trip. I will join him whenever I can...keke. he go meeting, i go shopping..

RE: sleeping & feeding

my bb last feed yesterday night is at 10pm or so. he din sleep till 12+am. slept through the night and only seems to wake up at abt 5am but not for milk, he also keep moving his arms and went back to sleep. finally awake at abt 7am. hubby tried to feed him...he din want...go back to sleep again. wake up at 830....feed him, still dun want. now he is entertaining himself on the rocker. OH no, my baby has gone without milk for more than 9 hrs. This is the first time like that.. Is this bad?

eh ask u all ah...I change the cot bedsheet every week..but how about the bumper? Do u all chg every week also? Do u all wash it as well? I suaku cos only recently I tie the cot bumper :p

hi Candice,

pill will other functions like slimming or for better complexion will costs much more. normal pill cost abt $15 on a monthly supply. other function kind can cost like $25 or more, depending on the brands and will haf more side effects (depending on individual). so far, I had tried Diane25 (for skin), not much side effects for me, only slight morning sickness when I brush my teeth..mayb react to the method toothpaste smell & taste. I dont knw any brands for slimming purposes. u can enquire them thro gynae bah.