(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Ikea Outing
I cannot confirm attendance now. Will definitely turn up as long as baby is not too cranky and if it's not raining. Today my place was raining for the entire afternoon.

wendyg,
My boy is also more than 6kg now...he's coming 9 weeks and also wearing M size for most diapers except Pampers Bbay Dry still wearing S.

Mylife,
Apply more barrier cream and use better brand of diaper for night time eg. Pampers premium or Mamy Poko. Another tip is to use a size bigger to prevent leaks. For example, my boy is using Pampers S size for day but I let him wear M size for night...can absorb more urine and last a longer time.

Wendyg,
if weather is good, i'll be there. Let's pray for good weather!

Babe,
How? you going? I should set off from TP cos got to park my #1 and helper there.

Moms & Babes Outing to Ikea Tampines
Thursday 13 March 08, 3pm or 2pm?
Pls reconfirm your attendance...?
- angelsky ... Yup yup
- babyshannon
- blackbatz
- wendyg (wants M for Goo.N & Nepia, bringing Huggies Dry M)
- windy (semi-blind, praying for a miracle)
- Mom2Nat (and her whole kampong)
- Kitsune ... (will bring Huggies Dry Comfort M & Pampers BB Dry S. Kelly, I want Pet Pet S. :)Sorry, me bringing whole kampong too cos hubby & ILs tagging along but they'll go shopping. 2pm too early for me cos going to Isetan Private sale, will you all still be there at 3pm?)
- Luvv (will bring my helper along)
- Verene (and her mum)
- Yvonne
- Kelly (wants Huggies, bringing Petpet S)
- Icy (depends on baby's timing)
- fishia

verene
it's ok, i packed for u all the 4 diffrnt brands that u requested. I can take more Goo.N diapers.. provided they fit! Goo.N sizing is more towards Pampers Premium or Drypers?
If all else fails, i also accept cash $$$ hee hee. Dun worri will give u good price for whole package

U want all the Softlove 30pcs? If not i set aside 5 pcs for u to try, then sell the rest on WTS.

Yvonne
Pampers Baby Dry your boy can still wear "S"??
I thought Baby Dry's cutting is smaller than most other diapers. Unless they hv new improved version?

fishia
hey, hope to c u and Mr Jude Jude. I want to sing him a song.... guess what?!
yeah, weather has been such a drag lately.. but the plus side is can spend time with husband hee hee

<font color="ff6000">Ikea Outing... can everyone (or most people) make it at 2pm?</font>

Kitsune,
thanks.. let me try see if i can post my bb's pix up.

Wendyg,
you wanna sing "Hey Jude" ah? hahaha... my brothers and brother-in-laws said we sabo our son by giving him this name.. tell us to change! But we don't see anything wrong wor.

Spend more time with hubby? Careful hor.. else #3 reporting liao! kekeke..

Pampers Baby Dry's cutting is bigger than most other diapers. And yes, it's different from the old version. I personally like it..

Fishia, I use Pampers Baby Dry too. Have you seen bigger packs? The one I bought only has 46 pieces and I've already finished half a pack. :p Don't know why my gal keep farting and pooing bit by bit these few days. Just now also cranky, feed at 6:45pm, 9:30pm &amp; 11:30pm, not her usual 3 hr interval. :/

Oh ya, anyone knows when does BB learn to stand? My gal can stand with support liao, just now when fighting with her during feeding time, she stand on her feet on my lap when I held her arms, refuse to sit down so that I can latch her on. :p

ahcapp,
i oso have quite a lot of frozen ebm and during nite time, my mom will help me feed my gal wif frozen ebm or sometimes chilled ebm which i pumped out earlier in the day. so far, she doesn't make noise wif the milk dat we feed her.

QQ, why sim meow meow, join us lar.

Just realised that chilled EBM has more nutrients so looks like I got to pump and keep the milk in fridge section instead of always thawing the frozen EBM liao. :p

kitsune_sg

regarding abt bb standing. i ink what ur gal is experiencing is another of her reflex action. moro or mono reflex which enable her to stand when supported at the armpit area. this reflex will soon go away like any other reflexes. i read it from the book. my gal oso could stand when supported.

wendy, dun mind 2pm...at least can stay for a decent time b4 leaving and catch up. Can the other mommies make it?

Fishia, u wanna meet up to go? taxi or anyone can give us a lift?

Kitsune,
my son also farting and pooing bit by bit these few days. Last night after feed, i had to change him 3 times and it took me 45mins for the whole diaper changing! I was so tired.

No leh. I also saw 46 pieces only. I just bought my 2nd pack yesterday.

Your bb sounds like mine. I also always have to wrestle with him during feeding. He'll get very agitated if I force him to drink more. At least your feeding is 3 hourly. mine 2-2.5hourly leh. He suckle for 10-15min then refuse to drink anymore.

fishia
just now i suddenly had a "revelation" that i will hv a 3rd child. *OMG* need your constant reminder of the XXX &amp; XXX &amp; XXX of taking care of newborn. argh.
Since #1 started full day childcare on 3rd march, husband has been bringing me and baby out almost everyday. Sometimes just run errands nearby eg return library books. Sometimes go further to gai-gai. Enjoy siah! Final month of maternity leave. If i'm stopping at 2, it's really FINAL month.

kitsune
bb roll over 4-5m
sit up without support 5-6m
pull themselves to stand 7-8m
approx...
some bbs take their first steps abt 10m, some past their 1st bday. My #1 learnt to walk @ 15m.

actually i'm quite appreciating the times now, when baby is IMMOBILE... can't crawl/ walk/ run.. can't even flip over. ahhhhhh, only for this brief time will they be like this.
And now he only knows how to say "goo, arh..." etc
next time is "NO!", "Don't want!"
sheesh.

backdated qstns...
re: soaking NUK teats in water
>> No ley i dun do that. When the time comes for the ebm to be discarded, i will empty the contents &amp; wash.. sterilise by steam.

terrier
re: c-sect pain
>> my wound more or less stopped hurting at 3 wks, coz it was my 2nd c-sect. First time round recovery was 2 wks. But there'd still be some dull pain on a particular area. Gynae said externally the wound looked ok, no infection, no bleeding etc. So could be just muscle which may take some time to heal.. told me not to worri, but also told me cannot start vigorous exercises yet. I'm only occasionally carrying my #1 who is 14kg. So heavy compared to #2, only 6kg. haha.

re: clean bb's ear wax
>> the wax inside will drop to the outer ear when bb is asleep, turning his head left right.. dun stick anything into bb's ear to dig it out.
Best is not to peer inside the earhole.. o'wise if u c it and can't take it out, will keep thinking abt it!

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1"><blink> Ikea Outing this Thursday 2pm ok?? </blink></font></font>
i want to try Pampers Baby Dry S/ M.. anyone bringing?
anyone wants to try Tollyjoy breastpad?

Re: BB standing

My girl also has the tendency to stand up especially when bathing.. But my mum said now it is no good for babies to try to stand at such a young age. Coz their legs are still developing &amp; not strong enough. If they stand often, it may lead to the possibility of having curled legs in the future.

My girl is having diarrhea for the past 2 days.. The stools are watery but she does not poo every now &amp; then. Still stick to her normal routine of pooing once a day. Wonder what is wrong. Think I will observe her for a few more days before deciding if she needs to see PD. One thing good is that she dun seems to feel uncomfy &amp; dun kick a fuss.

Fishia, ya lor, don't know why she keep pooing. My hubby so funny, ask him to check BB's diaper the umpteen time when she was crying yesterday. He told BB, Daddy don't want to check, everytime check, got something, got to change. Told him denial is useless, at least we got cheapo diapers, change lar, if she got nappy rash, even more troublesome for us. ;P

BB standing
Oh I see, looks like it's a normal reflex then.

2pm, Ikea
Me cannot make it leh. :p

QQ, oic, so qiao, should have taken a few more days leave and start next Mon.
Eh your ML ended liao meh? So fast?

WendyG, I wanted to bring Pampers BB Dry S but supply depleting very fast with my BB's poo poo problem, hope can still last till Thurs. :p

Hi wendyg,

think I just need sealer cos can still easily found at Giant. I will exchange 5 pcs with u. I got pampers Dry S as well. so, i pack 3 Goon S and 2 Pampers Dry S for u ok?

braving the storm alone...

My mum suddenly needs to be out of town today for 2 to 3 weeks so I will be all alone with my baby without any help. A bit scared but I am sure a lot of u look after baby alone right? Will be brave and not ask for any help. My hb is worried and i know my MIL is more than willing to help.

But I have decided to do all myself than to have a 2nd opinion or questions on how I look after my baby. I guess it's just how my mum &amp; I and my MIL see/ do things differently when it comes to looking after babies. My mum n I are the more relaxed kind. My MIL is those "gun cheong" type. Very different lor. So my MIL will then to add in her opinion which sometimes make me have doubts on what I want to do for my baby.

michelle

If really have excess EBM, don't have to throw away. I have heard of people using the excess for milk bath for babies, milk facial etc. I have heard of people giving EBM to their no.1. Just some suggestions as EBM is really precious lor. I always tell my mum I squeeze my breasts until dry man! So if my son can't finish and I really need to pour away like last night, I will look away when I pour. =P

godsent

The frozen EBM I used yesterday was from 1 month ago. Hmm.. the colour is yellower. I think my diet was much better then. Now not so yellow lor. =P

For 2nd feed, I mixed half thawed EBM and half fresh EBM. My son was ok wor.. Guess I must 'trick' him ^_^

fishia

Yes, i agree with u that pampers dry is bigger than other brands. When I compare pampers dry S size with nepia S size, it's slightly longer.

mom2nat

I didn't ask my PD about the poo poo frequency though. But I noticed that my son does poo less often now. Less time he poos nearly every feed. Now at 8 weeks old, he poos every alternate feed, but big one though. I read that the frequency will decrease as our babies grow older.

How old is your darling right now?

diapers rubber band waist

But I noticed that both Nepia and pampers dry don't have the 'rubber band' waist. If have the 'rubber band' waist, will it help to prevent leak? That's bc my son likes to lift up his legs to kick. So sometimes, poo poo will leak from his waist as nowadays his poo poo is big one.

avent bottle sealing discs

Anyone has any idea if Avent sells the bottle sealing discs separately? I am refering to the rubber piece which u can use to seal the bottle after pouring milk in. Pic below:

1293798.jpg

Ahcapp
My boy is 7 weeks old. I find there are stil small puddles of poo, like 50cent coins kind, most of the time. But big time poo, maybe 3 to 4 times a day. He likes to poo at 5am in the morning!!

Dear All mummies, i have created a group in facebook under January 2008 Mummies. come join me. Pls feel free to upload your baby photo and share your story and experience.

mom2nat

Oh, maybe those come be the poo when your son farts. My son used to fart quite a bit. So when he farts, a small puddle of poo will come out. This is observed by my confinement lady. Just like you say, not much, like 50 cent coins. So I have to change diapers all the time.

Wah, so on time ah, 5am in the morning. =) hehehe..

hi mummy,

can i check whether anyone let the baby sleep facing down instead of upright? do they sleep longer facing down (but face at the side)?

AhCapp,
braving the storm alone...
I am looking after Isaac alone too, know what you mean by not wanting to expose ourselves to others giving opinions...
don't worry, i live an hour at a time... sunday CL finally left after 47days, so now it's already wednesday, and i am still sane, hehe...

How many of you bring your babies to Singapore Baby and child clinc at TMC? I am seeing DR ong for all my darling vacine. Any of you like wise? Has he got a brance else where as I am living in the North. Also.Do you send babies for GP? My bb has some phlegm which I in face dun really like GO at all.. I feel that babies should all see a speciliased baby dr as its much better.

What do you pple advise? Any good baby dr or GP who is good with babies huh in the north area? Realised GP medicine arent that safe like eant for older kids.. But our babies are just a few months old.. cant see GP rite? better for a specialised pedectric for all illness incl JABS rite..

I am a really kiasu mummy.. dun like my bb seeing GP.. feel for such young bb.. specialist are better.. Is that true

Can somebody recommend me a gd bb dr please? in the north area. My monthly jads will still be at TMC with Dr Ong Eng Keow

i think 2pm or 3pm also ok la..
i'll aim to be there at 2pm

for the early birds to recognise each other, can we place a baby toy in the middle of the table as a form of identification?

Fern,
I also bring my girl to see Doc Ong at TMC, no idea if he sees babies anywhere else, but it can really wait long to see him, there are always so many babies. I also quite kiasu, I contemplated bringing my girl to see my family doc but guess she is getting out of touch with babies, I ask her about vaccinations and difference between 5 in 1 and 6 in 1, she say its my preference, anyway at the end all also must take one, I ask about the red rashes on my baby's face, she say coz I got sensitive skin, so my girl also same as me, worse, the clinic got no changing facility for me to change my girl, when she poo in the clinic and got very upset, I had to carry her to pacify her and tell her, can only change after we go home. Imagine. So decided to just stick to Doc Ong, at least he was able to assure me, somemore tell me the rashes are common, not becoz of me.

Re: Ikea
Ok I can try to be there around 2 also, coz must see my girl how tomo
But I never been to that Ikea before, so I may get lost on the way :p Hopefully it will not rain, else traffic will be really bad.

Fishia,
My gal maximum is 2 hrs. But yesterday, she’s a bit cranky, she drank 20ml then stop. Couldn’t manage to squeeze anymore in coz she refused to open her mouth. Then after a while, she got hungry, drank another 20ml and that continued on for the rest of the 80ml she’s supposed to drink! Basically, we were feeding her the whole day, don’t know when she wants to feed.

Ahcapp,
Today tried out the FEBM. I smelled it and it smells so fishy!!!!!! Wonder if it’s because of diet I had during confinement. High in fish. And now, my gal is crying like mad. Don’t know if it’s because of the FEBM or her crankiness that lasted since yesterday. Anyway, it’s ok to mix FEBM and EBM right?

Taking care of baby alone. You’re so brave! I don’t think I can ever manage without someone with me. Me and baby alone = disaster. Basically, I only know how to pump milk and feed her. Bathing all these, my mum does it.

What's FEBM?

AhCapp, I'm sure you will be able to handle your bb on your own with time. Don't worry..like me..also worried after confinement over whether I can take care of bb on my own or not. But I managed to alone for most of the day except during meals time when my PIL help me get food. I think you will end up enjoying the close time together..me so sad have only 2 more weeks left before gg back to work alr.......

Mcfluffy,
I also take care of my baby most of the time when my mum is not here. she is here say 2-3 times a week. when u r alone with baby...u will be independent and slowly can handle things alone. ur hubby lending a helping hand to u?

what are u all dressing ur baby boy tomorrow for the gathering? I realised I got no long sleeve shirt and pants for him. Only those 1 pc romper, otherwise is his sleepsuit. Too cold or not?

babe, bring a baby blanket if you have, else those towel or clothe diaper, to just cover. Shirt and pants, I bought pants for girl, but she looks kinda funny looking in it, so end up I let her wear tights at home when she is sleeping especially when it has been raining.

AhCapp, I have seen the caps before, try mothercare or those departmental stores.

I told my girl to wake up only at 7am before I pat her to sleep. She had her last feed from 12 to 1am, simply becoz as usual she wanted to play and refuse to sleep, she was very good, she really woke up at 7am, but in between she also woke up at 2am till about 230. Sigh.

hammies
I guess FEBM is frozen expressed breast milk... hee... but dunno correct or not!

Ahcapp
Those are the poo from the fart. Sometimes I put a liner after he poos, in case he poo tat tiny bit out, then I can just remove the liner. Save 1 piece of diaper. But doesn't always work.

shannonbaby,
I let my bot sleep on tummy most of the day and at night. He startles easily and does't sleep well on his back. So we started to let him sleep on his tummy 2 weeks ago since he can turn his head from side to side on his own.

Fern,
North as in Yishun side? I stay at Hougang and I've changed my boy's PD from Dr EK Ong to Dr Ellen Tay at Paediatric Centre @ Hougang Mall. More convenient, shorter waiting time and nearer my home. When my boy had flu and rashes, I brought him to see Dr Tay. I think better bring baby to PD since they are still so young. Reserve normal GP after 1 year old??

HELP! How much milk is enough

I desperately need some advice on this matter as I am unsure whether I am feeding my boy too much or too little. Any other mummy like me on TOTAL FORMULA MILK? My boy is 6 weeks now and he drinks 140ml per every 3 hours. How about the rest of you?

Sometimes he can't finish and will have about 20ml left. But sometimes he will empty the whole bottle and his mouth will still be open like he is not full. What shall I do?

red.rose
My PD gave Tristan "Sinupret" and "Ventolin". Meant for sinus and clearing of airways respectively. But doesn't seems to work for him. Afterwhich brought him to KKH and doc gave him "Acetylcysteine" which was meant to break down his mucus. However, Tristan is still not feeling any better and cough still persist, but not as bad as before.

godsent
Is your baby getting any better after seeing PD?

itok
i'm also giving Tristan TFM. Try talking or playing with him to distract his attention. I've also encountered that previously. Like yest night @ 10pm, I gave him 150ml of milk and he finished it and even cried for more. He's been sick for a week plus and not been finishing his milk at evey feed (leaving 30 - 40ml), then suddenly he gave me this pattern again, I then gave him another 30ml, but at the end of it he still cries for more. But after feeding 180ml of milk (thinking tat anything more is too much for him to absorb), I just burped him and talk to him to distract him. It works! But after tat feed, he woke up at 5.30am this morning for his next feed.

Tristan also drinks ard 120ml every 3 hourly at 6 weeks and during that period, I will give him between 110ml - 130ml, depending on the duration between each feed (2.5hr or 3 hr). Gradually, I gave him 130ml at each feed and he somehow or rather pulls his feeding time to 4 hourly and I up his milk to 150ml.