(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mylife, ur bb v good...dun haf to bother abt diaper unless she fuss. Let her b n soon she will b sleeping 7-9h...

wendy, can shift the timing earlier? Otherwise will kena peak hr when go hm. Now peak hr v jiat liat.

Suanz, my bb now 9 wks n yesterday dunno y woke up like 2h;y from 11.30pm. Wanna zonk out liao. Latch juz take 1 side n zzzz....

hi wendyg,

I can bater trade <font color="ff0000">Goo,n new born and S</font> with ur

<font color="119911"><blink>Huggies Dry M, Hey Baby M, Sealer S, Softlove M</blink></font>

is ur baby big sized? i wonder can ur bb fit into new born G.oon?

where u bought these brands:
<font color="0000ff">Hey Baby M &amp; Softlove M</font>

wendyg
i using NUK latex teats. my teats dun turn white leh. do u soak them in water?

<font color="ff6000">Moms &amp; Babes Outing to Ikea Tampines
Thursday 13 March 08, 3pm</font>

abt e gathering &amp; swopping, how many pieces of petpet S shld i bring?

i also bring pigeon breastpads? any1?

mom2nat
when i saw e packaging which says unscented, i was like, "ok, good". when u opened it n used it, wah piang! e smell...buay tahan.

u try then u let me know.

<font color="ff6000">Moms &amp; Babes Outing to Ikea Tampines</font>
Tampines too far away, me stay in Jurong West. anyway me also start work liao so can't join.
Do take some photos of this outing ya! I think u all can ask Ikea to reserve tables &amp; place (to park stroller) since so many of u gg &amp; wif babies too!

Can i chk at what age do baby's usually stop needing to be burped?

vernon's mum

I have just switched over the the 9oz Avent bottles. My mum told me dont' know why milk starts to leak from my son's mouth. =( I was thinking it could be my son was sucking too fast when he is hungry. But after feeding for a while, ok already.

Don't know it's just me or for real. I noticed that the teats I have seem to have slightly different flow sometimes. Hmm... not sure if it's because it's blocked (maybe I didn't wash the teat properly?) or what. When I tilt the bottle, sometimes the milk will spray but sometimes it will just drips. =S Hmm... very confusing man

mine also will leh. sometime spray sometime drip. so it normal?

i think i wanna buy NUK wide neck teat to fit into the avent bottle...

feeding with frozen EBM

Anyone starting try their babies with frozen EBM which has been thawed? I tried this morning. My son started to cry like mad after finishing half a bottle. Never happened before. I thought it is the milk. So i stand up to burp him. After a big loud burp, I continue with the same bottle agian, but still cry like mad.

Then I switched to another bottle of fresh EBM, after much struggle, he continued to suck. When he was about to finish, I let him suck from the thawed EBM again, again made funny faces. So i switched back to the fresh EBM. He then finished and kept quiet.

I then tasted and smelled both thawed and fresh EBM. The thawed EBM has a much stronger smell and taste. Colour wise, it's yellowier (I think my diet was much better 1 month ago). Don't know if it's because my son can taste/ smell the difference and rejects my frozen EBM.

Now, my mum is feeding him a bottle of a mixture of thawed EBM and fresh EBM (thawed EBM not enough so top up with fresh EBM). Ok wor, he finished the whole bottle.

Anyone has any experience with introducing frozen EBM?

AhCapp,

I've been feeding my baby frozen EBM all this while and recently switched to fresh EBM instead, no probs leh...but i think my baby is one of those everything also drink one...

anyway, i switched to fresh EBM cos my PD said that it's better to feed fresh EBM as our body produces milk according to our babies needs....she said that frozen EBM from a few months ago will have different nutritional makeup based on their requirements at that age...so feeding fresh EBM ensures they're getting milk with the right nutritional composition....

of cos doesn't mean we throw away all our spare in the freezer lah but the stock in the freezer is meant to supplement only when the fresh EBM not enuff or we cannot pump for whatever reason

grumpus,

What about from a few days ago? I always alternate the feed le, with thawed EBM and fresh EBM, else how to finish the thawed ones? I've got a few days of supply le and I dont want to waste my effort of pumping also.

Re: Avent teats

I also noticed the same, I still thought my teat got problem, sometimes the milk will splash out, sometimes shake only a few drops.

Re: Frozen EBM

Sometimes my girl drink she will also get quit pek chek, but its normally when she wants to sleep, she will still drink. BUt there is a distinct color difference between the 2 though.

babe
i scared she will get nappy rash ma...

mcfluffy
Yah lo...my girl also light sleeper, sometimes, she will startled her own self.

MomMe
Play by himself for 1hour very long leh!

Yvonne
i agree! Precisely becos she got reflux, we give in to her a lot of time cos she's in discomfort, how NOT to carry?

angelsky
u doing latch and pump, feed ebm at nite rite? When ur mom feed ebm, do u pump since u miss that feeding session? Or else, milk ss will drop rite?

Yday nite was hell, the nite before i abit constipated so my mom ask me to try have some fresh orange juice. Yday nite, rylee got so much wind. Around 8-9pm, after latching, she threw it all up! Forceful one some more...she very long never threw up like this liao...so i was reduced to tears again.

But aft dat, my mom sponge bath her, swaddled and rock her to sleep. I was oredi asleep by then cos not feeling well. By the time hubby and my mom put her to the cot, it's around 11pm. she slept till 3-4am before making eh eh eh sounds dat woke me up. It didnt escalate till big cries, so i sat up and peeped at her, waiting. But my breasts feel engorged, she didnt wake up, so i was mindful not to wake her up to feed cos some books say dont make it a habit to wake them up for food. So i pump my milk out lo. As for the diaper, i got smell a bit of urine smell, sitting there wondering if i shud chg her cos i know she light sleeper, chg her only, sure wake up one. Then around 5am, she eh louder, so i buay tahan, lift her up to chg, sure enough, she woke up, and tis time i fed her, lucky, milk came back in liao (jus now pumpd liao) That's 530am le. fed her for 20mins, she fell asleep aft dat, and i put her back into the cot, she slept till 8-ish today! Counting back, dat means she tahan for more than 8 hours leh! Scary!

I'm wondering if i shud make myself wake up every night at 3-4am to pump else my milk ss will drop, but like dat wats the point of training bb to sleep thru the nite when we cant sleep? For moms latching and pumping, is this wat u all do?

Just for curiousity purpose, any moms out there like me doing 100% latching? Another problem i have now is Rylee rejecting bottles! She can scream and scream even when the teats touch her lips, refusing to even suck. If this goes on, all the milk i pumpd will go down the drain! She can even recognise the bottle now. My mom put on the table, she will stare at it, hubby bring it somewhere else, she will try to track it and when hubby slowly placed it to her right, she will turn to her right and stare at it again, bring closer to her, she will start to whimper and put to her mouth, she will start crying! HELP!

oh yah, now i dare not bring rylee go out liao...yday HK news reported there's a active flu bug going around, one 3yr old girl died.

mylife, juz apply thick layer of diaper cream b4 sleep. My gal slept 9h thru night at this age I din bother wake her but i still wake abt 4-5am to pump..sian now i wake every 2-3h to feed..

BB nap
any of u bb nap 30min, wake up cry when actually still wanna nap. Coz I carry he fall back to nap n its not feeding time yet. How to extend nap? tried put on tummy he also wake n struggle even when i tried patting

Avent Teats

For those using avent teats, you may want to check that you are not using the one with 3 different control...that means each side of the teat is for different function.

Avent teat goes by one hole, two hole, three hole. For 3 holes, 2 types. One is straight forward 3 holes, the other one is the one with 3 diff function.

you many want to check the side of the box and you will know what I mean.

babe
last time ur girl slept 9hour is from wat time to wat time? U wake up at 4-5am to pump, but when was the last fed? U also did 100% latching for your girl back then?

my bb also sometimes nap for 30min only. Sometimes even 20mins. Very unpredictable.

angelsky,

my PD said 1-2 wks ago EBM still ok, just not like months ago type lor...
if really need to finish the supply in the freezer else expire then i guess can alternate frozen and fresh EBM...
i'm sure it's still ok to feed frozen EBM lah, just not the best lor...

Hi there!
Me also no menses yet.. already 6 weeks plus.. very worried lei.. why huh? When will it actually come back?

Also am worried has many phglem. what can ease them gtg bring him see a GP first is that fine? Or must it be a child specialist which I have which I only maintain for all his vaccine jabs and also more majour ilnness .. is that what you mummies do too?

candice /kelly
The wipes not nice smell leh, and i dun like the feel of it. maybe for bigger kids ok, but I dun think I will use for NB. Hee... But v cheap lor.

angelsky
It is a little far for me, though Icy was v nice to offer me rides there. I am still contemplating... cos not cheap and I have #1 to settle at home during the 3 to 4 pm timing oso. Sigh...
But this class is mainly to make bb happy, some kind of massage? Or?

HOw many times do your babies poo a day? MIne still poos v often, like 4 to 5 times a day. With lots of farting. Anyway, PD says Elliot has a lot of wind in his tummy, so gave redwind. But I oso dunno when to stop giving.

Hello mummies i am back from taka ahahaha went alone with my Alyssa .... went out no rain step out of mrt rain .... she is very guai sleep throughout the whole of my shopping trip ... now she is still sleeping ....

mylife for me i dun check her diaper unless she wake up for feeding ....

re : Avent bottles
nowadays my kids drink milk also got milk leak out, tot they starting to be notti, swollowing and spitting out at the same time so even scolded them while feeding them. i have yuan wang them ah? What is the solution to stop the leaking/dripping of milk? Change to new teat? or change to a bigger size hole one?

re: waking time
The babies r still waking up every 3 to 4 hours, how to let them sleep even longer hours at night? Oredi giving more milk b4 the last feed around 10pm to 11pm.

re: IKEA
I also want to go....*sigh* but i think i must be out of my mind to try to bring the twins out. ;)

dawn

I also give my son a feed at about 11:30pm, but he will still wake up crying for milk from 3am to 4am. Like the PD said, if car oil tank empty, really need top-up also bo bian. ;)

mom2nat

My son is on breast milk. Still poo every feed or every alternate feed. So that will be about 4 to 5 times per day.

grumpus &amp; angelsky

Aiyo, I have quite a no. of frozen breast milk in my freezer. The oldest one is 1 month ago. That's when I noticed I have a bit of excess every other day. Anyway, thanks for brining up the point about the change in the nurtients content. I am currently feeding my son with fresh breast milk every day. Just that I thawed 1 bag last night to use due to sudden increase in his demand yesterday.

Will try to alternate with fresh one and try. I am preparing for going back to work next week ya see.

Ah capp,
Alamak. Now that the topic of frozen EBM is being brought up, I realised I've never thought of how to use it! The oldest one also about 1.5months ago wor. Have been feeding fresh EBM daily. THink I should alternate frozen and fresh EBM now.. If not, wait my baby rejects the frozen one how? All my efforts gone to waste!

verene
i bought Hey Baby from JB Giant. dunno if local Giant sells? RM26 for M74. Cheap &amp; good, but no back gathers, so i make sure i tape it well, scared leak fr back.
as for softlove, i bought it fr another mum in the forum. I've got 30 pcs of M size.. if u want i can sell u at $5. Prefer the Hey Baby for my boy. If u want i dun sell in Mktplace.. was almost going to post it there but check here first

eh, newborn size can't make it liao la. He's wearing M size for most brands, except Sealer &amp; Pampers Premium. I think he's 6kg liao. he was 5.3kg @ 4wks. Now 8 wks. If Goo.N is like Pampers Premium (up to 8kg), still got chance. O'wise i just charge u a token sum can? I prepare 5 of each for u? Let me know if u want all the 30pcs of Softlove M sized, 5-10kg.

babe
2pm boleh?

Moms &amp; Babes Outing to Ikea Tampines
Thursday 13 March 08, 3pm
Pls reconfirm your attendance...?
- angelsky ... Yup yup
- babyshannon
- blackbatz
- wendyg (wants M for Goo.N &amp; Nepia, bringing Huggies Dry M)
- windy (semi-blind, praying for a miracle)
- Mom2Nat (and her whole kampong)
- Kitsune ... (will bring Huggies Dry Comfort M &amp; Pampers BB Dry S. Kelly, I want Pet Pet S.
Sorry, me bringing whole kampong too cos hubby &amp; ILs tagging along but they'll go shopping. 2pm too early for me cos going to Isetan Private sale, will you all still be there at 3pm?)
- Luvv
- Verene (and her mum)
- Yvonne
- Kelly (wants Huggies, bringing Petpet S)
- Icy (depends on baby's timing)

Barter @ Ikea
Wanted: Petpet S, Goo.N, Nepia S/M
Available for swopping:
Diapers: MP S &amp; M, Pampers BB dry S, Huggies Dry comfort M, Huggies Dry M, Petpet M, Hey Baby M, Sealer S, Softlove M
Nursing Pads: Gerber Medium &amp; Heavy flow, Tollyjoy, Pigeon
others: BN 125ml Avent bottles, wipes

kitsune
i asked my fren liao...she said her edd is 1st oct. Can u help me ask ur CL if she's available and her rates pls? Tks!

Moms &amp; Babes Outing to Ikea Tampines
Thursday 13 March 08, 3pm or 2pm?
Pls reconfirm your attendance...?
- angelsky ... Yup yup
- babyshannon
- blackbatz
- wendyg (wants M for Goo.N &amp; Nepia, bringing Huggies Dry M)
- windy (semi-blind, praying for a miracle)
- Mom2Nat (and her whole kampong)
- Kitsune ... (will bring Huggies Dry Comfort M &amp; Pampers BB Dry S. Kelly, I want Pet Pet S. :)Sorry, me bringing whole kampong too cos hubby &amp; ILs tagging along but they'll go shopping. 2pm too early for me cos going to Isetan Private sale, will you all still be there at 3pm?)
- Luvv (will bring my helper along)
- Verene (and her mum)
- Yvonne
- Kelly (wants Huggies, bringing Petpet S)
- Icy (depends on baby's timing)

QQ,
wah u very steady leh, bring tongtong out alone! me dun even dare to think. I carry Zander in the sling very gan kor, let alone bulky diaper bag + heavy stroller Techno XT:p
Isetan sales - wanna buy bumbo seat &amp; maybe avent teats cos got 20%disc.
Any gd buy from Taka Baby Fair?

By the way, any mummy wanna exchange my 2x$50 Tangs voucher for Taka/Isetan/NTUC voucher ?

Luvv,
the bumbo seat at Taka all sold out/no stock at all!! So, i am thinking of getting it from Isetan

kitsune
my guess is "yes" we'll still be there at 3pm. maybe some will arrive later and hang around a bit longer etc. well, if we're all gone by the time u arrive, just enjoy the chicken wings anyway, since u're there already &amp; near your home. haha.

steph hehehe this is not the 1st time bringing her out alone ... if i use sling i will not take pram diaper bag is a haversack so quite ok lah ... and she very good gal always sleep when I am doing shopping ....

I bought avent teats at $4.80 from taka ... that time isetan no sales so is selling at $6 so their sales oso 20% same price .... and i bought the pigeon bottle cleanser selling 2 for 17.50 outside selling one for $11.90 can buy lah

hi wendyg,

in this case, I trade Goo.n S with ur sealer bah. how many pcs u need? I got dryers M too. see if u r interested.

mcfluffy

I didn't think about milk rejection myself too. Yesterday was more like a desperate case as my baby suddenly requested for milk for 1 whole day! Yes, i think u should try out 1 bag of frozen EBM before u got back to work.

Like grumpus said, we can always fall back on the frozen milk for backup when we go back to work. The fresh one will still be used to feed our little darlings every day though. =)

Okie, mylife, I'll ask my CL. If ok, I'll pass her contact to your friend. What's your friend's name? Do you know how many people in the household?

WendyG, true true but think my hubby will grumble lor if you all not there cos I make him 'huan dao zui zui zui' from Isetan scotts to ILs place to Ikea Tampines for no reason. Hee. ;)

mylife, you ask about the latch and pump right?

I pump all the time when I have the chance
. Say my girl latch at 2 pm, then I will pump at 3pm, so if she suddenly wanna drink again at 4pm, I will give her the EBM that I just pumped. I dont have a fixed routine. Sometime she pek chek, but the mnilk got to heat up, then I just latch her for a while, see if got milk or not lo, coz sometimes if I just pump maybe no milk. Not sure if my method right, becoz so far my supply consistent, but not going up at all.

ikea outing, I got nothing to exchange

luvv, we went for the trial on monday for the positive infant class. Its more for the babies and for mummies to bond with them while they enjoy the actions and movements we do on them. The class is starting next monday at square 2, you can still call to join the class.

mylife
i'm also 100% latching on now. find that bb also doesnt like the bottle! she will not cry , but she will drink only like 20-30ml then dun want liao. where got full like that? so in the end i latch her on again n she will drink happily. i dunno how when i go back to work
how is your EASY routine working out? i find it very difficult to implement leh. esp how to get her to sleep all the way till the next feed? she also like nap 30 min then wake up. do i feed her since she wake up oredi, or must wait until the next feeding time? i didnt read the tracy hoggs book yet - but i heard about the method. i'm still waiting for the library copy - someone's got it checked out and i'm on the waiting list.

frozen ebm deefinitely taste different. some bb will actually reject it so its gd to let them get used to the taste early on. my #1 no prob - he basically greedy boy so anything oso can. as for my girl now, i cant even get her to drink from bottle, so how to feed ebm? i've got more than 40 pkts in the freezer now - accumulated since 2 mths ago when she was born. i hv a feeling i will hv to throw them out soon... sigh

Mylife, asked my CL, she's still available in Oct so can do for your friend. I've PM you her contact.

Michelle, my CL asked me to introduce bottle when she was about 1-2 weeks old to avoid that problem. I was worried about nipple confusion initially but turned out to be ok.

Angelsky, it's ok. I also don't have much to exchange, only diapers, unless anyone wants BB teething ring, don't know why but I got lots of it, 4 in total. I don't mind exchanging for pigeon wet wipes or breast pads. :p