(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

michelle

I think that all our little darlings will make great friends together! =)

I also stay at home most of the time. Very sian leh. Sometimes I will sneak out to buy lunch and shop shop. But I can't stay out for long. Always need to come back home to pump milk. =( A bit lay-chey.

kitsune

I agree with Michelle. Your baby very chubby. What does she eat? ;) Mine eats well, but he seem to grow length-wise rather than horizontally.

pixel

Wow, thanks for the tip on the rectangle clip. I know which one are u refering too. Will use it before I start to defrost my EBM. =)

Like u, I have about 20 bags of EBM in my freezer. Not actually a lot in numbers but they are taking quite a lot of space leh. =(

wendyg

I just finished the first chapter of the book. Quite interesting, but don't know how practical/ realistic the methods are when it comes to my son.

Elliot's 1st month cupcakes.
1288080.jpg

Evangeline, 6+wks, 4.6kg, 54.5cm (went to see pd for jab last wk n she said she's on the 25%percentile for length!) But when she's born, she was 47cm so dunno if her growth is ok??

1288120.jpg

wendy
harnor, my hubby wanted so much to slap the boy but the group of children hurried away when my hubby shouted at the boy. still got the cheek to keep grinning at us leh.

xandall at 5 weeks, altho he is 6 weeks now.
wearing a cleavage exposing top. sexy~

1288142.jpg

ahcapp
i havent really got the chance to read the book thoroughly yet. I think michelle has read it bah.

So nice of u all to have east gathering! Too bad me not in tampines anymore...yah lo...would have miss any 1yr old parties also... dont forget to keep those of us based overseas updated yah!

Here's Rylee's pic on her 2nd month!

1288196.jpg

my twins at 6 weeks. ;) boy on the left and gal on the right.
1288281.jpg

Just went for PD check up a few days ago...boy is 4.35kg and gal is 4.65kg...pd says is 50% percentile. ;)

There is this store at chinatown which sells baby stuff quite cheap. I got capella strollers from them. they also carry combi and maclaren. the lady boss is nice, u can juz call their shop and ask for the price. usually she will quote a good price lower than outside, so u check the models outside and call her to check her price.

Cheong Choon at Upper Cross street. (Tel 65323855)

verene, i've got the combi miracle turn.

pros
lightweight, i can carry with one hand while holding barang like my bag while my sis carry baby. barang barang like bag fot about 50m, then very heavy already. so imagine if the stroller is heavier, I doubt I cant manage. So far, I can managed to push the stroller up escalator, but not down, will not try either.

the miracle turn, supposedly the wheels can turn 360 degree wo, so no need to try so hard to turn the stroller? not sure if its really useful.

cons
the basket below too small to put much stuff, so I hang, but not too heavy stuff, scare the stroller topple.

the wheels too near each other, or I walk very "chou lo", coz I always kick the wheels.

expensive, its about 550? aprica lagi ex. I got as a gift so not sure. But I heard baby avenue gives 10% off the combi model.

O another con, ugly color. I got the yellow. else there is a purple.

one the hold, I like it for being light and compact and I can see baby, becoz can turn the handle bar, and I 100% can manage the stroller on my own. but i wish for a bigger shopping basket.

Ikea outing, I must go dig see if got things to exchange. Hmmm, but must be new right? Clothes can? Hehehe, seriously not sure if we can eat, imagine, one hand carry baby, one hand eat chicken wing, then our hands oily and baby face also oily. hahaha.

tomo positive infant class is at 3 right? See those who are going there tomo.

Wa, so many messages, I trying to read, but my girl is starting to eh eh eh already. Me, getting frantic.

EBM
I use medela (super ex), I also have lasinoh, now just bought the VIA cups, going to use them also. I have about 30 packs of milk in the freezer now, but I pump and latch all the time. But recently my girl drinking schedule quite hay wire, so kindof upset my latching and pump schedule, so far my supply has not increase, its about 850ml each day that I pump out, but try as I do, its not going up. DUH. So when her intake increases, probably I may have problem. I have not figure out about the VIA cups, but supposedly I can use them for about 4 times then I got to throw away right? At least better than the bag types, so darn expensive. I store all the EBM in the freezer but its in the same freezer as all the meat and stuff, though separate shelf, its ok right? O, I put them in boxes.

Sling
I bought but I have not figure out how to use it effectively.

Mom2nat
Nice cupcakes, but quite sweet right? I bought for gwyneth's full month too.

Picture
I've been trying to upload my gwyneth's picture, but I cant seem to be able to resize her picture, will do so when my hubbie is back. All the babies are so cute.

Hair
Realised my girl has the least hair, she has been dropping them espeically in the front, until people always think she is a boy.

Height/weight percentile
MY girl is 5weeks plus today. Checkup on thursday was weight is 3.8kg up from 2.8kg since birth and hmmm, height is 52cm. Never ask about percentile though.

Helper for outing
I only have my mum for help at home, she is so happy to hear that I am bringing gwyneth out, she can get some peace and rest, so no helper for me
. She has been asking me to go for classes with my girl. Hahaha.

Okie, the wails have started to get louder.

Me joined the group yest but never really intro myself and my boy to the group. Here some info about us and pictures of my boy..

About Mum:
Audrey Ang, Age 25, First-time Mummy.

About Boy
Tristan Tan, Born 11 Jan at KKH, Weighs 3590g and Measures 51cm at birth.

Tristan on Day 3
1288484.jpg

Hi! Any one of you have tried any good slimming paackages? I am looking into one.. All parts are okie except my tummy... Cry! Is jean yip gd ? Or slimming santuary gd huh?

angelsky,

same lah.. my gal oso has been dropping hair, more at the front n ppl has been asking boy or gal? looks so like boy.. blah blah blah... i'm gonna bring her to pierce her ear for pretty earrings when she's slightly older...

ALL THE BABIES ARE SIMPLY ADORABLE!

How did you manage to post pictures here? and you all are very good photographers- cant capture the moment when they SMILE!
For me, I am always very slow, can never get the right moment.

Height/weight percentile
Angelsky, Mine is 4.65kg at 5 weeks (birth weight was 2.975kg). Length is 55cm. PD also didn't tell me Gerrard is in which percentile.

How to make baby sleep longer
Really need advice on this man coz I am really turning into a panda with serious lack of sleep and bloodshot eyes.

My boy feeds every 3 hrs but usually he sleeps about 2 hrs then will wake up already. And he is such a light sleeper, even though his eyelids are closed, I can see his eyeballs moving underneath so is like not really in deep sleep. I read through some of the posts... your babies can sleep at least 4 hrs straight- how did you gals do that? Any remedy to recommend?

Re: Stroller
Dawn, thanks for the contact. But which part of chinatown is it located? I still haven't buy stroller yet.

Re: Ikea outing
You gals are very capable to bring baby out! I dont even dare to think about it coz I am still lousy at carrying him. When I carry, he will cry or fuss but once pass to my mum or husband, baby is ok. feel so sad coz I am already trying my best but baby dont seemed to like me carrying.

angelsky
same la....my gal also botak at the front!

itok
eat 3hour interval, sleep 2hour ok wat! Mine in the afternoon sleep only 20-30mins..longest 2hour.

Anyone's babies got like reddish eyebag ah? Dunno if she not enough sleep, got slight reddish eyebag leh...

angelsky
wah how many pieces of diaper u want to swop for clothes ah. I thought one to one or one to two.. but if u produce a $10 piece of clothing, i gotto surrender my whole pack of diapers to u. No hands to bring ley...

btw, ikea cafe has lots more snacks other than chicken wing... haha.

verene
it's only me and baby.. maybe husband.

mom2nat
u sit your own table issit.. bring your whole village la.

itok
i'm sure u're imagining things.. maybe your baby would rather see other faces other than yours, which he sees morning noon and night already. I certainly prefer someone else to take over the entertainment part to give me a breather.
mummy must be confident when handling baby, o'wise baby can feel that mum is unsure, and he may be insecure as well.

finally, my period came.

RE: outing
think i will most prob bring my mum along. so wil take stroller along. least, can enjoy food while bb is lying is the stroller.

hihi, thanks for the compliments.
RaeAnne is 4.83kg, 55.6cm on Wed, she'll be 7 weeks tomorrow. Don't know what percentile leh. Been doing TBF for about 2 weeks so far. Don't think she's chubby leh, maybe looks chubby because of her wide grin.

Today, it's our first night of looking after BB on our own, want to give MIL a break. She's not keen to come over and I'm not keen to leave BB there again. Don't know why but she's hungrier today, feed at 8pm, 10pm cry for milk liao. Latch on 1 side at 10pm, latch the other side at 11pm. Cried for milk again at 12+am after I finish feeding. No more milk liao mah. So, took out 20ml of EBM for her but now she's sleeping, waste my milk. :/ Keep farting and got a bit of poo only keep crying so wasted 3 pieces of diapers in 1 hour. :/ Hubby is the tree for the koala bear now, hope he can put her down later. :p

Sorry, sorry, just realised Isetan Private Sale is Thursday. Need to go to Orchard, will try and make it for Ikea still. Hope I can leave the house early to go Orchard though. :p

verene, i see, then the one i have is the orange one
. did u buy in the end?

period, i still waiting for mine, but i on TBF, so i guess not so soon, but my lochia has not ended yet. and its been coming 6 weeks. but i am crossing my fingers that this time on, i will not have bad cramps anymore.

see those going for positive infants later
. me going out for my massage then pop back home pick up my gal and I will be off, need to go early to settle her, in case she needs to drink milk. whos going later? see ya at class.

Period, I think mine has come. I have stopped taking the hormones pills two days ago cos after taking I feel giddy and having diaherroea. So sian to see it to come.

Angelsky, my lochia didn't stop even until 7 weeks. That why my gynae gave me the hormones pills to stop. I am also TBF my baby.

hi angelsky,

I saw 2 persons selling the miracle turn. asking for the price to see if worth to buy a 2nd hand. if not, will consider whether to get a brand new one. My hubby's cousin wants to give us a pre-loved stroller, if it is those light-weighted ones, then will not want to get the miracle turn.

RE: period

It came exactly when my son turned 2 months old yesterday. think mine is quite heavy as compared to pre-preggie. my legs are feeling "numby" and I feel so sleepy. the cramp is ok lah. only feel it a day before the menses came. we had been through the contractions...cramps are just nothing....ha ha

RE: baby talk
recently, my boy is so busy "talking" to himself. and also seems to be talking to us when we carry him. so cute.

RE: dreams
Can I ask whether do babies dream? I have not been reading any books = lazy mummy who doesn't like to read books, so dont knw whether books do mention abt bb dreaming? Javier has this pattern like making noises in the middle of his deep sleep. sounds like he is dream talking to me. haha.

can i join in 4 e gathering on 13mar? my daughter's born on 22jan, same day as kitsune's girl.
i can bring some petpet S n pigeon breastpads. i like 2 try e huggies diapers.

RE:period

My period have not come .Only when i deliver i come one month don't know period or lochia. I not breastfeeding any more when my son was one month old. Normally non-breastfeeding period will come around how many month?

verene,
i'd bought a very light weight (4.2kg) reversible handled combi (model TJC 300), at $405 from kiddy palace last sat morning... very good! even i can handle it, with one hand open and close, no complex folding into compact. we bought it coz it was lighter than miracle turn

kelly,
welcome! hey, my isaac was born on 22jan too
stayed in mt E...

<font color="ff6000">Wow so many photogenic lovely babies pix to make the start of my FIRST day at work!!Yup me back to work today...my IN tray all pile up with loads of outstanding. Looking at these babies pix make me think of my boi boi...miss him liao but i know he is in gd hands with my MIL

Hey ladies..how did u all measure the wt and ht of your baby? You mean you had to go PD checkup so often? I only went to polyclinic for his Hep B second jab around 5th week and that's about it. Not sure what's my boy's weight and ht now...

Anyway, like some of u mummies who talked abt your bb, my son is just over 2mths and has been smiling a lot when talked to and also has been learning to talk and make bb noises and words like 'gee', 'ah goo'...very interesting!

But one bad habit he has started to pick up on his own is to lick/suck his right hand!! Do u all let your bb do tt if your bb does it?? I dun want to give pacifier if possible so I'm trying to see how his pattern might change again or not...

<font color="0077aa">re:Baby sleep routine
How to make bb sleep longer? How to make baby drink more milk? How to make bb establish a fix sleeping &amp; feeding routine? So many HOW for a 1st time mum...?</font>
Friday nite, my boy wake up for feed every 3hourly...(11.30pm, 2.30am &amp; 5.30am) like an alarm clock! And on Saturday nite, he managed to sleep thru 4.5hrs (10.30pm, 3am &amp; 7.30am)for the very first time! Heaven for me &amp; hubby to catch some quality sleep! We also realise that he can drink better &amp; more at nite, abt 120ml. Day time, only drink 90ml at 2.5 to 3hourly interval. Zander is 10wks old &amp; according to the tin of the FM, the guide say bb ard that age shld be drinking approx 150ml &amp; more. I wonder if he is drinking enuff. He only poo once a day &amp; change 4 to 5 wet diapers daily. He weigh 4.7kg 54cm during 8wks. PD did not mentioned in which percentile but he say he is growing ok.

re: bringing bb out for shopping cause nitemare?
Saturday, me &amp; hb bring bb out to United Square for shopping. I carried Zander in the MIM sling, cradle hold for 4 solid hours &amp; return home wif very bad shoulder, back &amp; right hand ache &amp; pain!! Gd thing is my son managed to sleep soundly in the sling throughout the shopping &amp; car journey &amp; we need to wake him up for his feed which is more than 4.5hrs liao! But hor, when return home during his evening nap, he suddenly wail so loud as if someone has just pinch him...we pacify him for an hour b4 he is back to deep sleep again &amp; wif pacifier on
I wonder if it's due to "Hum Bin = nite mare = play too much" meaning we bring him out to shop for too long &amp; over stimulate that cause him to wail so sudden &amp; loud...heartpain when i see tears from his eyes loh:S

hammies03,

think for weight measure, it is a routine whenever I visit PD (for vaccination now). for the 1st jab, the height measurement is taken, PD also checked his development stage. She tried to lift him up by holding bb's arms to let him exert his own strength and also lie him on his tummy to check his neck. Baby Javier will lift his head up = means his neck area is gaining strength. I do not know the poly clinic procedures. mayb u can request them to check weight &amp; height for ur bb.

Re: bad habit
Baby Javier has this habit of sticking his tongue out all the time. me &amp; hubby is joking that he has adopted this habit from my elder dog becos when I was preggie, I did the same when playing with my dog to tease her. keke.

talking abt sling vs stroller

personally i like stroller better. i tried the sling and find very kang kor leh...if go out many hrs like steph will get neck and shoulder pain leh cannot even put down...also i dun feel very secure with the sling...maybe cos i very clumsy..haha...worried will knock her head on something or other...at least with stroller she is protected

because i drive so stroller more convenient only difficult part is loading and unloading the stroller into the car...

but hor, the risk of stroller is leaving yr baby behind!! i almost left my baby behind cos somebody called me and i just walked over without the stroller!! luckily my mum was with me and she scolded me for leaving my daughter behind..haha

hammies
for a rough guide on weight, u can carry ur bb and weigh yourself, then put down bb and weigh urself again, the difference btw the 2 weight taken is bb's weight lo
I am not so concerned about height.

steph
yah lo...mine also take out shopping, cannot put inside stroller one...i see other couples bring bb out and bb lie inside stroller contentedly, either asleep or awake watching the world go pass...mine cannot leh...wondering when she can be like dat. Becos Rylee got reflux problem, we know sometimes it's due to her heartburn, she feel discomfort, but then nowadays, dunno if we're inadvertently spoiling her...

Steph,

RE: baby routine
currently baby Javier takes only 120ml of FM even though he is 2 months old. I din increase the milk volume as he cant even finish his 120ml at times. I observe that he manage to sleep longer now...even though he is awake, he will not cry for milk so fast. the frequency appears to be 4hrly feed. sometimes can be 3 - 3.5hrly though. night time, he sleeps longer liao. last night, he sleeps from I think 9.30 - 12.30 but still doesnt want to wake up for milk. so I wake him up for his last feed before mummy &amp; daddy tuck in our bed. He was sleeping and drinking at the same time. finished the milk and slept till 4.40am or so. fed me and he sleeps till 7.30am or so when daddy wakes up for work. hubby tried to feed him then but he dint want to. so when daddy left for work, he only cry for milk at 9 plus.

my boy will miss his poo in a day but it happens occasionally. normal days, he will poo 1-2 times a day, sometimes 3. he has quite a couple of wet diapers but din count the times.

Baby Javier is 4.7kg and 55 cm at 7 weeks old.

welcome kelly, see you on thursday

hammies03, I also just brought my girl to the PD for her hep B, so its also her second appointment after her jaundice test.
. My girl also has this bad habit, she also like to lick and suck both her hands, she will brush them against her face quite often. Even when she sleep and when stretch. She also picked up how to to "O" with her mouth and stick out her tongue, courtesy of her papa. :p. Btw, I also dont give pacifier, usually I will tell her, "mummy dont like, put down your hands", then I will put her hands down.

grumpus, I also like stroller better, can just push and go, only mafan is when I go out, I need to put my girl into the stroller, then go down put her into car seat and then load and offload the stroller and repeat everythhing. So a light stroller quite important. Sometimes, I go out, then when people talk or walk past me, I will put my hands on the stroller in case they push the stroller away. I ever encounter a lady put her hands on my girls' stroller and talk, while we were waiting at the clinic and she nearly thought it was her stroller and push off. Pengz. But one thing mafan about having to go out alone, is sometimes hard to go toilet coz the cubicles all so small.

Maureen
I stayed in Ward 82 bed 5. Think we're in diff room as my room caters for bed 5 - 8.

hammies03
My boy is 8 weeks old and he is also starting to talk and staying awake for longer time (highest record is from 5.30pm till 12am). Besides that he is also starting to suck his hand and I had to keep pulling it away from his mouth.

RE: Feeding
My boy is on FM (NAN 1 HA) and is feeding at 4 hrs interval since his 7wk. He poos at most twice a day and changes 4 to 5 wet diapers. Anyone giving same FM?

RE: Period
My period not sure if come already not lehz. Lochia lasted for a month plus and towards the end got some stomach cramp and discharge looks abit diff.

Babies photos
All so sweet and nice.. You all can take pix of BB when they smiling leh. I always can't make it on time, and Xavier seldom smile.. only smile and laugh more in his sleep.

blackbatz
my boy hair are dropping off more on the left side and at the 2 corners of the forehead.. if this continues, I will also shave him on the 4th Mth. My indian neighbour told me apply eyeliner on the eyebrown (following his brow shape) will make his eyebrown very thick and dark.. I dun dare to try leh.

michelle
I got the blogskin from http://www.blogskins.com/. Normally I just look through at the skin of the day page.

lyn
Havent been seeing u ard in forum.. haha maybe from that angle, Xavier looks like me. Most people now say Xavier looks like Daddy and Grandpa.

pixel &amp; ahcap
Woah, U all have so much EBM. I onkly have abt 7-8 bottles in the fridge and 1 bag of frozen EBM at the freezer.. My SS just nice only.

angelsky
Who is going for the classes today, I only saw ur name. I din "sign up" becos I had something on. let me knoe if it is good.. I also wanna attend some classes.

mom2nat
The cupcakes so nice, where did u order from?

RE: Feeding
I've been feeding my boy 150ml FM. However for the past week, he's down with flu and can only occasionally finish all his milk.

Baby sick
Any babies here down with flu? My boy has been suffering from flu (block nose and cough) for a week plus now. Brought him to see PD and was given medicines but didn't seem to get better. Yest brought him to KKH and doc mentioned that cough is caused by his mucus in his blocked nose. After which, doc arranged for his mucus in blocked nose to be sucked out and was given medicine to break down the mucus. My boy seems to cough lesser, but still coughs very painfully. Heartpain to see him sick for so long and going thru the mucus sucking process..

audrey
My PD recommended NAN 1 HA to em too. But I only use like 3-4x during week 1 and 2. Then now he is on TBM. I still have the tin in my cupboard, already 6 weeks already, wonder how long I can keep it.. seemed like it says 3-4 weeks on the tin.. so wasted.

angelsky
Can we exchange contact. I will pm you my hp.. will contact you if I managed to finish my stuff before the4 class time then I will rush down to novena.

Hey!
Can I check with you. I need some written instruction manual how to use a baby b sling that I bought. Threw away the box and instruction manual accidentaly and dun know how to use it now.. can somebody send me pics of it and written instructions how to utlise it? thanks a great deal!

re: period / lochia
how to know whether it's period or lochia? I'm still bfing my gal. She's about 6 weeks now. Initially I thought lochia going to end coz I only had brown discharge. Then one fine day, got red blood and must use night pads. And that lasted for like 2 days only. Till now, it's on and off red blood but very little flow. So sickening. Must wear pad for how long more?!?!

angelsky
your ebm is after latching on got 800+?! Wah.. *envious* Mine is 900+ inclusive of baby's feeding. Heh.

re: sticking out of tongue
My gal also will stick out her tongue very often. We thought because we have a dog at home so that's why she always stick out tongue. But seems like it's normal now that some of you also say that your babies stick out tongue.
She will also make the "o" shape with her mouth. Very cute leh.. can make the mouth until sooooo small! But when she cry, wah, her mouth so big! Hee..

re:sleep
What do your babies do after they sleep? After my gal drinks her milk, usually she will sleep for a while (20minutes?) then for the rest of the time, must carry her! She hardly wants to play by herself leh...

icy,
I'm also using NAN HA when I had to supplement baby during the initial weeks. You mean must throw liao? Still got quite a lot leh!