(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

maureen
nvr figured how to bf while bb is in sling. i dun dare to carry him in cradle hold.. scared to snap his neck!

1265811.jpg

Proud to present Master Elias Wong (Huang Yi'en)!

From Mummy Fern

Wendyg,
SAME top for 10mths??? you win liao lah. hahaha!

Caleb only goes to sunday school. Thought of enrolling him in childcare/playgroup soon too when Jude is slightly older.

Maureen,
What did the speech therapist do to encourage him to talk? I'm curious. My son can't even call papa mama.. I just wanna make sure there's nothing wrong with his tongue or vocal cord.

<font color="aa00aa">kitsune,</font>
the buffet cost $25++per pax, very expensive appetizer! With baby ard, everything must sacrifice...including a decent meal
In the end, i asked hubby to eat more but he also no mood since baby is superb cranky.
Talking abt handling the Maclaren Techno XT, me too...garung gabo..any manual book for dummy? Only my hubby knows how to handle (open &amp; close). I drag the idea to carry it myself if i am out wif baby alone since it's too damn heavy!

<font color="aa00aa">wendyg,</font>
>>stare daggers at the coughing diner?
no la cos i have no idea which person did it, anyway i don't think they do it on purpose. My MIL fed Zander "Jin Feng San" last nite cos she say he must be frighten by the loud sudden noise

<font color="aa00aa">fishia,</font>
>>negotiate with the manager to come back another day or charge you less ah?
Nope i didn't thot of that cos my mind at that moment was how to calm bb down so that i might get the chance to enjoy my dinner!

Sassy,
How much does aunty helen charge for normal massage?

Maureen,
Expert BF mom!! I haven't figure out other ways of breastfeeding discreetly, except lift up my T-shirt. When I use the nursing cover, my son was sweating like mad underneath. Why do you need to wait so long for your pump?

I have a question for mummies whose babies are sleeping through the night. I read that the last feed is at 7pm followed by a dream feed at 10pm. What about diaper changing? You mean the diaper can last from 7pm until next morning? There's no diaper changing during the dream feed right? Wow...what brand of diaper can last so long? I'm using Mammy Poko for nights but still have to change my boy in the middle of the night.

Angel Sky,

YOu can ctc Madam Yue.

She is good and charges $50 an hour.. She uses chinese tonics herbs to massage and helps relieves all aches esp backaches.. I am helping her make appointments.. Do PM me should anyone wants her contact. Really friendly and nice lady.. reasonable charges and effective massages...

At the same time, she does confinment for pple.. any friends need one.. do not hesisite to give me PM.

All- after epidural, does anyone has backaches from the side effects? i am starting now.. Anyone has the same prob.. i am intending to see an opstrpath specialist this week to treat this problem.. Anyone has good recommendation should you encounter the same problem?

Fern

Wendyg,
He loves children. He's more interested in kids then books when i bring him to library or book shop.

Steph,
Maclaren is actually quite easy to handle once you're familiar with it but it's really heavy. I usually take taxi if out alone and the cab driver will help to carry in and out of boot.

my baby boy is feeling unwell today. so heart pain to see him so uncomfortable. He vomited and had slight loose stools.

welcome back Fern!

Mylife,
welcome back to the forum while u r in HK. My hubby is leaving for HK tomorrow afternoon. Now, I can feel tat i am missing him liao. Since Jaiver is not well these days...I am upset and worried that hubby will not be around for these 2 days. Luckily my mum coming over to help out.

Re: heavy stroller
My capella is not light weighted either. it is abt 7kg and i cant handle it alone when i am going out. so, I spent so much to get a baby carrier to build up my confidence of bringing bb out.

Re: baby bag
I bought the allerhand bag. it has lots of compartments. but it can be quite heavy when i stuff everything inside. I am kinda kiasu...always pack extra in the bag.

Sassy, I have a Capella too. Better learn how to open that one but haven't taken out of the box yet cos meant for ILs to bring BB out. Like Fishia &amp; Steph said, Maclaren Techno XT quite heavy and it cannot stand on its own so not very convenient if not driving. But quite a few mummies tell me it's a good pram so I trust them lor.

Fishia, my CL feeds RaeAnne Infacol about 3 times a day not during every feed. Usually when she's cranky &amp; crying after feed, then she give.

Fern, so nice, Elias has nice double eyelids. So envious, I don't have double eyelid but hubby has, end up BB also don't have double eyelids. :p

Cheryl, my BB's BCG mark also erupt liao, after her full month celebration.

Wendyg, used the ISIS pump today, can get quite a bit out when there's letdown so it's not bad, but hand very tiring, my hands small, think I'll use it when I only need to pump 1 side. If expressing both sides, the electric pump is faster.

kitsune
ahhhhh, for me, i prefer to use 2 ISIS at the same time instd of whatever electric pump. With ISIS i can go as hard &amp; fast as i like!

Wendyg, I only have one pump mah so can only express one breast at the time, very slow with my aching hand. But pump 1 side, the other side drip so got to use the Avent nipple shield to catch the milk. Unless I buy another pump but not sure if my hands can take it long term. Hee. ;)

Ah Capp, you can try using a thermal mug (those metallic ones with a screw-on cover) if bring EBM out. Add a bit of hot water and put the cold milk bottle inside. It'll heat up the milk and keep it warm. That's what my CL is doing. But we using avent 125ml bottle, the bottle cap cannot fit in only the teat, so got to pack that separately.

my girl is fussing a lot these few days, seems difficult to fall asleep and the only position that allows her to sleep longer is the face down position. She drinks lesser milk also, wonder if it's milk strike? She refuse to take in more thn 60ml each feed and will want to be feed more frequently but sometimes will only take 20ml only.

re: diaper bag
i'm thinking of getting a diaper backpack instead, easier for me to bring bb out alone without the pram, else quite heavy also. Any good reccommendations?

re: Avent ISIS pump
i'm using it also, initially when i used it after i discharged from hospital, my fingers cramped! after a while you'll get used to it and you won't feel tired pumping already.

re: BCG
my girl's one also has pus and erupted before CNY also.

steph,
understand how you feel! me and hubby was at jap restaurant while my girl was sleeping in the sling, then we went in and put her down in the pram to continue sleeping. She started crying while the dinner is served and we had a hard time pacifying her and everyone in the rest was looking at us, so MALU!! Lucky managed to calm her down and send her to dreamland by puting her into the sling with pacifier. End up i have to eat carrying her in one hand. Now my MIM sling is my saviour when we're outside.

Luvv, same problem with my gal. Keep wanting to feed (every hr) but in small qty. Gone are all the days when she'll take 120ml at one shot. She keeps losing her temper and doing the head shake too. :/

fyi:

COLIC-CAUSING FOODS IN BREASTFEEDING
If your child is experiencing colic, it may be due to something in your diet that is passing through the breastmilk. Here is a list of foods that may be the culprit. You can eliminate all foods at once or just a few at a time, depending on how severe the colic is. It sometimes takes up to two weeks for a food to get out of your system, so be patient. Good luck!

Dairy products
Caffeine – coffee, tea, soda
Soy products
Peanuts
Shellfish
Chocolate (sorry!)
Citrus fruits
Wheat
Chicken
Beef
Eggs
Nuts
Corn
Prenatal vitamins (The iron may be irritating to baby. Ask your OB for an alternative if this is the culprit.)
Gassy vegetables:
Broccoli
Cauliflower
Cabbage
Onions
Green peppers
Tomatoes

ooh, happy birthday sassy

kitsune
i think u mean using breast shells to catch the milk. Nipple shield can't catch 3 drops..

windy
so glam, the nursing cover! I'd buy just to wear as a top or shawl. hee!

RE: outing location
> hmm, why not Ikea Tampines? Since airport may be too far away.

Re: Bringing out EBM

Icy
You can warm up the milk (from fridge or fresh) to a slighter higher temp than normal then keep in thermal bag to bring out. So by the time bb drinks the milk, the temp would be just right. But must consume within 4 hrs after that. So in order to prolong your outing, you feed bb just before going out, then feed bb with the warm EBM outside 3 hrs later.

kitsune,
my girl kept loosing her temper during feeding also *shakehead*

wendy,
T3 sounds better then Ikea Tampines :p

Verene,
yes i stayed in rivervale and feeding similac.

terrier,
i thought warmed EBM must be consumed within 1 hour? That means can't preheat them before going out of the house right?

Luvv,

I had changed the FM to Nan. I left 1/4 of a 900gm tin similac. u interested? I can give it to. I will be bringing my boy for jab at rivervale mall this friday. if u interested, can meet me there and I can pass it to u.

I also had some instant glass bottle similac to give away also. They are given to be by Sassy.

can check when to start stocking up milk . be going back work end april.. if i stock now the ebm in freezer ( 2 mths ) means before going bk to work , bb have to consume it?

btw, frozen ebm can add chiilled ebm into it direly or mst thaw 1st then add in?

thx

sassy
it erupt when he abt 1mth wor... aiyo... but we cant cfm is it the bcg wound.. cos we have no idea which part of left butt they inject at... zzz...

kitsune
so it normal? just left it alone?

luvv,
my gal has already been doing that. Sometimes after what seems like drinking for a long time, I checked and see that she has only drunk 10ml! She's not evening drinking! I think maybe the 10ml has flowed out or something. Anyway, yesterday I stuffed a pacifier into my gal's mouth (*guilty look*) and later went to read up on the pros and cons of pacifier (coz my hubby kept saying I shouldn't have given). One of the articles states that babies sometimes have the need to suckle for comfort. With breastfeeding mums, they are able to do so as they can suckle without drinking any milk. But with bottles, they have no choice but to drink the milk when they need to suckle for comfort. Hence, I suspect why your gal and mine are drinking like 10ml/20ml each time. They need to suckle for comfort! They usually displays signs of hunger (stuffing hands into mouth and crying but not as desperately as when they're really hungry).

No wonder I realised she took damn long to finish a bottle of milk. Like she will drink one bottle in an hour, slowly drinking 30ml, den 10ml den 40ml. Sigh... take forever to drink! I wished she could just chop chop drink it in 15mins.

Anyway, I found this site rather informative: http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/index.html
Read about the pacifier thingy here yesterday I think, but cannot find it liao.

Can anyone share on hw much milk shld be fed to a 7 wks old bb for both day n nite? PD said we overfed, but whn i cut dwn the milk, he's not happy n start to cry for more! Thanx Thanx!

Elias.. will be happy to hear that pple likes his double eyelid.. Both me and hubby dun have that deep double eyelids.... But thank God he has!! Aiyah.. dun envy lah... all babies are nice and have diffrent looks and gited in their own ways!

Wonder who does Elias look like... kinda of angry with my mil.. say look like hubby... and somemore say usually sons look like Daddy... Really pissed me to the core cos the fact is most pple say look like me... Argz.... Well. for me, its fine... but more fair to say its combination... not that showing off but its kinda of a fact.. Mil.. are very damm biased... But I no longer care cosmost importantly we know our babies are bonded to us no matter what cos biologically speaking they were bonded with us for the whole nine months!

And she sleeps with my bb... and does all nite feeding with the maid... I think i should be appreiative but at time sian say hubby and I dun spend time euoght with bb.. got me mad la.. doesnt mean we dun change diaper and feed means bb will be distant from us rite? Simply ridulous.. at least we bond by BF, etc.. commuication is the most impt thinng.. Its like my hubby was taken care by his mum.. she does all change, feed etc yet he is not close to her? Why? Cos no commuication mah...

Just some sharings with those mil taking care of you kids.

Fern

For those who has put bb on routine, do you wake up the same time every morning? do you wake bb up too if bb's sleeping?

Think I'm waking up too late. about 9am.

Mcfluffy,
So is it good or bad to give bb pacifier?

blackbatz

$40 an hour but min 2 hours or 2 pax.

kitsune

i dun own any maclaren so not sure if its easy to use. capella is quite dummy proof... easy to use. dun worry

miracle

wah... the colic causing food list is so long???

wendyg

thank you

veron'smummy

yup, the pus will only surfaced 3-4weeks later, nothing to be worry abt. just use water to clean it n keep it dry. its stated on the bb's health booklet but i cant remember which page. go flipped thru it.

fishia,
there are pros and cons. Since I'm bottle feeding, I personally find it good when I need to quieten her down. It's a lifesaver to me! She calms down more too.

I read that if you're breastfeeding, pacifier may intefere coz the suckling is different. But I think most of us here who are BFing, already establish the method of BF so should not be a problem?

Anyway, can do a google on it.

Hi Jacelyn

So 150ml thru' the day &amp; nite for yr bb? u din increase the nite feed? Wondering if I'm giving too little since he kept crying for more milk in the day. But if give more he'll vomit ley...haiz

RE: GOO.N

Read frm the thread that some mummies bought the diapers, any comments? Cos thot of ordering b4 the promo ends ley. Had used the sample but my boy poo immediately after i changed him into the GOO.N diaper...so more chance to c it's gd.

Re BF.... I dun really do it.. cos I realised that I cant really montior how much he drinks.. and my boy always crys for more even after sucking for whole hald an hour.. It can be both frustrating for both baby and mother...

On the other hand.. I prefer pumping out milk every 4 hourly cos at least I can monitor better.. But my supply went down recetly.. Kinda of worrying.. I just bought the Fengreek supplement.. hopefully it helps
Does it?

Actually does it mean that BF is better or pump out is better? Does it really mean that BF mean bb will be more bonded..

For me I will try bf at home but not outside cos should bb fuss having noy enough BM, I think I will be more kan cheong than bb.. He really sreams for milk and he is like an alarm clock men! Its like when he wants milk he wants it NOW! Are you gals having the same prob as me?

Need help. For 6 in 1 jab, do i need to bring baby for HepB second dose at 1st month?
I have different reply from polyclinic and GPs..
Need some advice.

Hi Nez,

My boy feed is constant thru out the day. Except at nite before he sleep he will demand for milk about 1.5-2hrs interval for one time for 100-150ml milk. Then he will sleep...

Hi nez
I called Polyclinic to book the 6 in 1 jab but the lady says still need to give hep B second dose.

So I rang up my GP to check. she also says 6in 1 includes hep B second dose.

So confusing.

icy,
i m using the pigeon fridge to go cooler bag. it' quite cool, got 2 slabs of water freeze to ice thing to put in the bag as to keep the milk cool. only thing is, too bulky, cant fit into my baby bag. and oso, it's too big to put juz 2 bottles... wat i like abt it is if i am out for more than 5 hours (as in shopping, eating outside), i can put my 3-4 bottles of ebm, and my pump and 2 bottles for me to pour my ebm into after i pump.

fishia
i wake up at diffrnt times everyday. And if bb is asleep and i need to get up, i'll get up. Provided i not sleepy liao la.

EBM - When bring out, I thought becoz put in cooler bag with ice can last longer? Sometimes I bring out, never drink, come back I put back into the fridge for later feed. But not in the freezer, coz cannot refreeze.

Heated EBM, when I warm the milk and if she cant finish, I put back into fridge le, then next feed I give, but by end of that feed I throw away.

wah..my 7 week old bb drinkning abt 125ml leh...actually sometimes this is enough for him sometimes not. But he can take it at 11plus at night and wake only around 5 plus or 6am...so I thought it's still quite ok. In the day, can also last about 3 hours. But that's FM. If I give EBM of the same amt, it seems to last shorter....unless he sleeping quite soundly. I suppose EBM more digestable so hungry faster??

Anyone of you give both FM and EBM to your bb? If yes, are both of the same quantity??