(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

maureen
yah i also wish the fussing is in the daytime... hehe

windy
PD only said 4-5 months, but i read can lasts up to 1yr old!!!
IMO, i find it a tad too cruel to jus "let her be" cos it's painful to hear ger wheezing, arching her back, stretching in discomfort.

My baby has been fussing all days... MY Cl finally came back say "xia dao"(scare). Cos when he sleep, a little noise he will jerk and scream and cry. He used to sleep 5 hours in a row. Now hor, 1 hour v considered v long liao. How how??

Windy, mcfluffy & Blackbatz,

I stay in Jurong West. I know Windy is in Bishan. For Goon diapers, i have ordered S size to try since new member get $5 off for 1st order. Orders above $60, delivery charge of $8 will be waived. For nepia, i am also keen to try the S size but i am not sure how much? The online order form didn't state, maybe i will call them tmrl to chk.

blackbatz, windy & steph,
haha, i stay in both JW & AMK. but mostly in AMK now.. Mabe blackbatz, windy and i can combine orders together?

windy, eh think kayla is very active too! i thought celeste was "special". her neck so strong now, always fighting with me during bf. use her hands to pummel my breasts etc. anyway, how u make kayla sleep tummy down? as in how you carry her?

mylife,
can check with you something.. how much you let your bb drink each time? and frequency?
coz my bb canot drink too much...she falls asleep easily and doesn't swallow.. resulting in her throwing up some milk (that day a fountain of milk.. so worrisome!) so wonder if my bb has reflux problem or what. she always hiccup also.

mom2nat,
these 2 days my bb never really sleep in the daytime. a little bit of sound she wakes up and cries furiously and rather inconsolable.
my mum said she has been "scared". Dunno by what though.

then because she feeds about only 50ml per time , interval about 1 hr, she hardly have time to sleep also.

reaching 3 weeks bb should drink around how much milk?

sigh..... all the problems come together.

very worried, very sad.... i just wish someone could tell me what's wrong with her...

nvr heard of Goon diapers...? what's the per unit price for "S" size? Available retail?

MomMe
u were asking abt pumping facilities in nursing rooms.
1) if u're using manual pump, u can pump anywhere.
2) if u're using electric pump which has battery pack, u also can pump anywhere, provided batteries enuf
3) if u need power socket... i dun think nursing rms hv power socket ley.

mylife
where u buy your nursing tops from?

windy
no need nursing cover la.. wear nursing top can liao, then use baby's head to cover nipple. Practise makes perfect.

mom2nat
some old folks will suggest u buy some flower things to bathe bb.. bb saw dirty things and got frightened etc. C if u believe.

Yvonne,
my bb hardly cries during bathing too. As my bb is afraid of cold, what my mum does is make sure no wind present (close all windows), dry her quickly and keep her warm before and after bathing. When in the bathtub, keep talking to her. Anyway, think my bb likes to play with water. Seems like your baby too? Since your baby never cry once in the water! So maybe scared of cold coz take off clothes ma.

steph
wow looks good. can compete with Mamy Poko. but i'll still stick to my cheapo Petpet & Drypers.. for now! hee hee

My baby only got 2 "activities" nowadays - either sleeping or crying. His colic is really making me so tired. This morning fuss from 8.30am until 1pm then slept in the afternoon. Woke up at 5.30pm and started his "crying episode" again...cry, feed, cry, feed until 8pm then finally fell alseep. I'm alone with him during the day so really very xiong!

Hopefully the effects of the Infacol wind drops can be seen within the next few days. Otherwise I really need to beg PD for help when we bring him for 2nd Hep B jab on Friday.

mcfluffy
i do total latch on, so i have no idea how much she drinks, i jus latch and let her drink as much as she wans. Frequency is 2hourly..now training her to upgrade to 3hourly cos i think my ss established liao. jus now latch her, she drinks awhile, then detach and wriggle around in discomfort, then fight to latch on again...see oredi also heartpain...dunno she colic or reflux.

wendy
i bought the nursing top from the BP and Business thread of this forum, also went to Cloud9, they got some pretty nice nursing tops.

is the Infacol works for colic? Can buy off the shelf at Guardian issit?

wendy
i still use nursing cover, cos even got nursing tops, while fumbling to take nipple out and BEFORE baby latch on, can get expose one! I shy ma.

mylife,
Infacol is for colic and can be bought off the shelve from Guardian Pharmacy. I thought your girl is taking RidWind? I saw it at the pharmacy too.

mcfluffy
forgot to add, if she fall asleep while nursing, try waking her up by propping her to sit up and burp her in between feeds, babies almost always will wake up this way.

mylife,
My baby's problem is colic rather than reflux/vomiting so not too sure whether effect will be the same. Anyway, I just started giving him Infacol yesterday so it may be too early to see any results...but he is definitely burping more and passing more gas which I hope is a good sign.

mcfluffy
I worried now, without CL i can't cope. She back then I can breathe, but she leaving next week liao leh. I can't afford to extend her.

wendyg
My mil hor is christian leh... wont believe tat, she ask me to give the ba pao san... tat powder thingy. My CL say she calm baby first, tat one last resort.

i think i am gonna declare war again if baby turn 4mths hahahaha i will NOT allow them to shave baby hair ... hahahah

avent teats

eh i still using 1 wor .... not changing yet bah .... i think she still ok with it oso on 80ml now

I brought my boy to PD just now. PD mentioned that colic is building up and he has reflux too. she mentioned that colic will stay till 3 months and reflux can stay till 5 months. bb has sensitive nose also...inherited from me & hubby. Colic and reflux is inter-related, hence the symptoms co-exist. She suggest that we feed bb less milk each time and increase the frequency to cut down the vomitting due to reflux. currently bb drink 100ml at 1 month old, we are now cutting down his intake to 70-80ml per feed. prescribed medication for colic and nose drip. hope my boy can settle down better at night...so heart pain to see him struggle in the middle of the night with his blocked nose due to the reflux.

verene
i can totally understand your feelings now cos my bb also same! U mean your PD said colic AND reflux can happen to bb at the same time ah? *faint* If u cut down on the intake, wouldnt he fuss if he stil hungry and feel not enuff? wats the medication ur pd prescribed for colic? who is your pd and where?

mommies
need your opinions again...now in a dilemma again

jus learned from my hubby dat my princess' visa in HK has been approved, so we're happily making arrangements to fly over on 23rd feb. But the weather now in HK is extremely cold still, right now, hubby (who's a person who loves cold weather) even complained cold, it's 12degrees there now. His frens who are experienced parents all advised us to fly over only in March where the weather will turn cool and not cold. In a dilemma now cos on one hand, happily can reunite with DH there, but on the other hand worry my princess cant take the cold weather and fall sick there...if we dont go over, i dunno how long i can last surviving the night shift on my own...how????

Sudden temperature change, can BB get used to it? What about yourself? Maybe check with ang mohs, they are more experienced.

WendyG, I'm using Drypers NB for day too, still got 1 big pack of Drypers S size. Is Pet Pet good? Any leakage so far?

Mcfluffy, tried your method today, really get to read my newspaper with one hand. Haha. Angelsky, I tried your method but cannot leh, cos the PIS pump & bottle quite long. How you manage to fit into bra cups?

Tried side lying BF on the bed today, not bad, back & shoulder less tired but eyes are crossed and got headache from looking at her suckle at close distance. :p

Mylife, if I were you, I'll still bring Rylee to HK but make sure she is kept warm all the time, thick clothes, heater etc & stay indoors until March if necessary, just left with 1 week of Feb by the time she gets there. Jia you!

Tried Ridwind for my BB gal today, not bad leh, she poo poo less, fart more and fuss less.

mylife ya i agree with kitsune .... if i were u i bring baby over oso wear thicker clothings and let herget use to the weather there oso

mcfluffy

wah celeste pummels your breasts ah! hehehe... cute...

how i lie her tummy down ah.. put her lying on back, raise right hand, roll her over, right hand already in position, now left the left hand, gently lift chest so that can gently move left hand to position. must trial and error initially then can get used to it.
she sleeps longer like that leh... sleep face up like easily woken by sudden loud sounds.

wendyg

erm..... no need nursing cover?! use bb mouth cover nipple ah... erm... cannot laaaaah.... erm.... cannot laaaaah..............

mylife, you mean you already started taking bb out and u bf her outside? my ger also lose latch and then struggle to latch back and she will kick and throw temper till he face red and all puff up. SOmetimes she suck until very fustrated, but its also not no milk flow, coz when she lose the latch, milk will be dripping non stop. So I also pek chek coz dont know what happen.

Colic and reflux, so when we bring PD, they check if never say means no have right?

Now my ger can drink 2 oz every hour, coz if I left her latch and then after that still not enough, let her latch again she will throw temper, then I will ask CL to give her EBM to see if she will stop after drinking.

Windy, me I have itchy breasts
. Red spots below the boobs too.

windy
use bb's head to cover nipple. from the front can't see u exposed. of course fr your angle u can c everything la, so make sure there's no stranger looking over your shoulder when bb is latching on.

kitsune
sad to say, Petpet leaked... but i think it's coz his butt is getting bigger and the poo job as well. Gotto upgrade to 'M' after i'm done with my 'S' stock... wah shiong ley $$$$

Have not been logging in for looooong time cos my bb is v cranky leh. really hv no time or rather no mood to log in.

My mum, helper n me all at our wits end le. sigh... we give in to pacifier and sarong le ... still duno y he has been crying. Milk intake also reduced. Used to be 100ml every 3 hrs now is like only 60 - 80ml each time and he will start to cry forcefully... refusing the remaining milk. We have to carry him walk ard to let him cool down. It's becoming a very bad habit le but wat to do ?

Have been giving him infacol since full mth till now also. nothing seems to work. Little bit of sound he will be startled too...

a very stressed chaye...

Hi, I think I am becoming a human paci!!! Yesterday whole afternoon after my boy had 2h nap n woke up at 12noon , fed him, played with him awhile, he yawn n I tried to put him down to sleep, he cried...thot not full, latch n in 5 min he slept so I put him downn he cried...finally slept at 5pm till 7pm with a short 5-10min feed at 6pm. Then the earlier episode repeat after shower at 8pm till 1130pm, latch n cry, rock, pat doze off, put down cry, fart a few times....tiring..then he slept till 3 am feed and then 540 am feed. Left him sleeping with me...wat is wrong?

windy,
me too! i've itchy breasts... and painful too.. i remember someone said when the milk is producing, got piercing pain feeling. i oso now n then "soh" my breasts, even if got ppl ard.. v pain, no choice... nw got blocked duct near the nipple - lagi jia luck.. like blue-black pain n diff to "soh" near the nipple!

may i check if we can do rebonding now whilst still nursing? i feel like doing later in Far East Plaza. but the problem is full breasts halfway thru, how to pump out?

babe,
is it dat ur boy needs comfort? "Nian Shou" liao.. yday my gal oso same. carry her, she can slp until shiok shiok, mouth open big big.. den put her in the cot, she knew immediate n cry for attention... same episode for whole afternoon...

Godsent, I did my rebonding, colour and perm throughout when I bf my 2nd son. This time round not going to do liao cos very hot need to tie up hair. Thinking of cutting short or layer my hair.

Godsent, what is nian shou? Then how ah? Very tiring..n he keeps feeding and sleeping whole morning and end up afternoon like that...arghh..he from alaska or usa or what

Chaye,
Maybe he doesn't like the milk. Crying is his way of expressing his displeasure. Maybe can try buying other brands at the hospital pharmacy (cos they carry smaller tins). Sometimes, it's trial and error.

blackdatz
really ah ? have not tot of tat. initially he was on similac then no poo so i change him to friso lor

kitsune
my hubby got same tots as u. I guess i shud bring her over otherwise i "kee siao" liao. Thanks for your input.

chaye
*hugz* Sounds like colicky symptoms. Jus got to "tong" until it wears off which it will....eventually

babe
i think all of us have this problem. I subscribed to the ang moh way of thinking, ie picking baby up is NOT spoiling them, rather, letting them know we're there for them. But unfortunately, my mom is the old way..ie picking baby up = spoiling them. Sigh. Yday i also at my wits end. Each time must carry Rylee, then she will sleep until "song-song" but put down only, will start to squirm, followed by fussing, and if ignored, will turn into full blown crying.

angelsky
yup, me brought baby out and about liao...also did nursing in public in paragon andalso marina square to practice and boost my confidence. At least here Spore is slightly more tolerant to nursing in public...HK prob will invite stares. Dunno why the public there si beh old fashioned one, u wear plunging neckline also, both men and women will stare explicitly at u! Cannot imagine breastfeeding, sure got chee ko pek stare one...dats why i will still use nursing cover.

windy/godsent
breasts itchy ah...if got spots, better check your baby's tongue also. Might be thrush.

windy
yah lo...heartpain to see her in discomfort.

i also wan to go and colour my hair, cos during pregnancy, i didnt, and i'm one of those who got grey hairs since i'm 14yrs old!! I know can colour when BF but question is where to find time to colour????

RE: vomitting
How to consider if BB is having reflux or jhust din burp? My BB had been making a lot of "ehem ehm" sounds like have plegm stuck inside the throat, this would happen when he is sleeping. Then he would vomit some milk out a few times and then can go to sleep.

RE: full mth celebration
Mummies who ordered from Neogarden. How much did u ordered for buffet? eg, actual guests VS portion ordered, it is enough?

mylife...I carry bb too n rock..but if I cradle, he will cry milk...carry upright head keep slanted and end up I backache...Thot ask dr ong but he away..will b seeing his stand in on thurs for jab..

like u, I wanna go cut hair but bb drinks milk fm me unless I find way to pump out..but tired otherwise he doesn't want to play on his own after feed to give me time pump...

Icy, my boy also got that phelgmy sound but doesn't cause vomitting..

Read Gina ford book on contented bb n wanna try out routine but bb dun wan wake up at 7 am no matter wat I do...

My boy dunno y while drinking milk legs off n on jerk up

hi mommies

how was ur CNY??? got HUAT anot? i was so busy with cny visiting and had no time to log on. there's so much to catch up here... seems like alot of mommies are experiencing with colicky and reflux babies. i suspect danelle was suffering from reflux and brought her to see the pd on chinese new year's eve. she had been vomiting almost after every feed and even after burping. there was once it even came out from her nostrils. pd prescribed her some medicine and also intro FRISO COMFORT 1. she is alot better now. thank GOD.

Re: FRISO COMFORT 1 (FM for colicky, vomiting and constipated babies)

i have a tin of friso comfort 1 to giveaway, almost brand new. interested mommies, pls PM me.

Re: instant similac and enfaclac

i have some of the above to giveaway too. interested mommies, pls PM me.