(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hi steph,

my boy is at 1 month now and he drinks 100ml every feed, most of the time he can finish it, if not, he drinks up to 80ml at least every 2 -3 hrs interval. sometimes, he demands feed in an hr or so interval, and he will drink like 30 - 60ml.

the reason why I wanna get FM and thermometer from clinic is that I can claim them in the receipt when my boy visits PD.

Re: avent teats
I am still using the no.1 teats (0m+) my friend did not change to no.2 till 2m or so cos her gal tend to choke. so i think it depends on individual bb. my boy can suck quite hard on the teats for his milk but the milk tend to flow out from the side of his mouth... so perhaps I will change a while later.

What is colic?

http://children.webmd.com/tc/colic-overview?page=2

What can you do about colic?

It may help to see if there is a pattern to your baby’s crying. Many babies cry most in the late afternoon and evening hours. If you notice that your baby cries at certain times of day, you can try holding your baby more before those times. But during expected fussy times, limit visitors, keep noise and lights low, and touch your baby only if needed.

After crying starts, try rocking your baby in a quiet room, or take him or her out for a walk in a front-pack carrier or stroller. Some babies are soothed by riding in a car or listening to a droning sound, like a fan or a clothes dryer.

Do what you can to comfort your baby, but accept that sometimes nothing works. If you feel stressed or worn out, ask a friend or family member to give you a break. Take good care of yourself, and remember that colic will go away soon.

verene

i will swear by dentinox, since i've not tried the rest

this morning after bath, i gave her some gripwater. this will be her daily routine, grip after bath, if got colic will give dentinox after/during feed.

steph

i don't mind ordering 1 bag each of the goon n the nepia, both small size. nepia small like always sold out at supermarkets leh.. these days i love diapers shopping too! haha.. i love all sorts of baby shopping lah..

so how do we do about ordering together?

just want to check with mummies here.
if i have booked a slot with a massage lady, but havent started massage yet. she keep dont want to return my call leh. but my stomach is almost back to original size liao - 90%. should i still go for massage? or just skip it?

steph,
i'm also interested in goon and nepia. wanna try them out. where do you stay? might be easier if we stay in the same area.

my baby is so cranky las nite..i dint manage to sleep at all...busy feeding her at 12midnite, then at 2am...she vomitted n kept on crying...5plus wan more milk n kept making noises..
i am so tired....

is she having colic or reflux? she seems to vomit at least once or twice a day now..
she sleeps alot like an angel in the day, but turned v cranky at nite, any advice what shall i do?

nw feel v lousy n tired... sighs..motherhood v tiring

Pxiel,
Your masseur still want to do biz or not? Never pick up your call. Weird. Who is it?

I had mine at 3rd of confinement. Although tummy had shrunk, I continued to have it as it helps to remove the wind and blood clot. Even masseur said 5 times was enough, I continued to have 7 times to relax. It's up to you.

Windy,
Glad to hear that Dentinox works for your BB.

Another way to see if baby is colicky : hold baby upright when they are crying / fussing If BB arches backwards, it is also a sign of colic.

Becky so good after latching still got 90ml.

Kel, mine also the same last nite. Day time trying to wake him up to latch on he just refused. But can see his mouth moving like drinking milk.

blackbatz
dunno leh. i sms her she never reply. i call her everytime she say she with client, she'll call me back but never!
i give up liao leh. i oso want to massage, my hips there still very fat, and im sure still got wind and blah blah.
i should be asking for another massage lady.
any mummies here got recommendations?

Steph,
Which area are you staying in? Would like to try Goon pampers and their baby wipes. My maid uses the Pigeon wipes like it's free. My eyes nearly popped out when I saw how she used. Clean poo used about 7 sheets. Faint!!

pixiepixel,

my situation almost the same. but my girl worse, she only suck for less then 15mins then she went off to sleep. no matter how i call her and even try to put my nipple into her mouth(close her gum tight tight)she refuse to respond and then the moment i put her down..she start again..I really dun understand why during each feed she always look so fraustrated even when my nipple is already in her mouth and she is sucking le.dun noe why she still can cry with milk in her mouth end up ..milk all dripped out.
Then during daytime, if i breast feed her still ok but she really latch for 10 to 15mins on 1side only then she went to sleep liao...i call her also no respond, put her down she wake up again..with wide mouth..so end up i feed her with EBM and she can last for ard 2hrs then next feed else it will be every hourly..siong...Zzzz

btw, my girl poo on every feed, so average changed est 8-10 diapers aday which the paed say is normal for bf baby.. and she experiencing skin peeling on every part of her skin..the Paed also told me its normal leh..i try applying lotion on her body but not face..is that ok?

btw, Im experiencing pain in the tailbone..i cant really sit and everytime i get up the pain is there..any1 same as me..is it becos i walk too much and side effect of epidural too??

Jeslyn, my baby is same with yours. Put him on the bed cry. Ended feed him EBM or FM and he drinks. Try to wake him up he refused to open the mouth.

Have you brought your baby to see doc for the eye discharge?

Do you all feel hungry and thirsty easily?

maureen: yes, i feel thristy all the time.. so despite drinkin the red date tea, i onli drink plain water n coke occassionally...
me v bad example...

i onli feel hungry middle of the nite coz no more energy to feed n carry my bb

blackbatz

ok i will see if she arches backwards the next time i burp her. thanks for the tip!

maureen

i'm always super hungry n thirsty these days!! my mom says if becos of the breastfeeding.. normal bah..

Any of your babies cry while bathing?? My boy always starts crying the moment I undress him, sometimes he stops crying when I put him inside the tub and continues after I take him out to dry and dress him. Other times he can cry from start till end of the bath...sigh! Everyday I also have to "fight" with him during bath time...can faint!

maureen,
as mention by windy its normal to feel hungry and thirsty easily for bf mum. me too, scare hard to lose those fat but yet if we dun drink and eat..the expressed milk might not get all the nutrition baby and mum need..defeat the purpose of bf liao..

Yvonne,

my girl dun cry when bathing..maybe she enjoy..but when i was in hospital the midwives teach us how to bath our baby(used my baby as model) she say surprising my baby dun cry..and mentioned that it is very common for baby to cry during bath time....

babe
Coz hubby and I take turns to do night feeds and during CNY period, as he's not working, he also let me sleep for longer period but can tell her's turning into a panda soon! Haha!}

jeslyn
same lor. yest nite like that all the way. i called parentcraft they say nighttime feed 1 side should be ok if bb don wanna wakie. to minimize the feeds at night, have a big feed before your baby sleeps.

maureen;
i feel thirsty especially during bfeeding and pumping. sometimes at night very hungry. but i "lun" so that i can burn off my extra fats hee hee. bfeeding always burns calories and you'll feel thirsty a lot.

windy;
i know what u mean, like there is a big "W" at their head right? like receding hairline? my mom says its normal and the hair will grow soon.

Jeslyn,
No la. Baby must cry very loudly and face looked very painful. Their cruies are louder than usual hunger cries for milk.

Blackbatz, if that the case then dun think she got colic..

pixepixel,
feed 1time at nitez..only?? I wished for that too..but how to? u dun feed her, she make sure its hell for tonitez..bigger feed oso must depend on the baby if she willing or not..else mouth shut tight tight..force oso cant open..end up crying..

overall she sleep aft feeding..but feeding too too frequent especially at nitez and like very fraustrated when i bf her..dun noe why leh..OT every nitez..

Sorry to interupt.

I have an opened bottle of Lecithin for sale. If you have recurrent blocked ducts problem during breastfeeding, Lecithin is recommended to combact the problem. You can read more from here: http://www.kellymom.com/nutrition/vitamins/lecithin.html

Its from Nature's farm, Triple Lecithin, 200 capsules. http://www.naturesfarm.com/product.asp?ID=78 I took about 30 capsules only and it cured my blocked ducts problem. Bought at $64, letting go at $40. If you are interested, please PM me. Thanks.

jeslyn;
i meant, feed 1 breast is ok. if bb dont wanna wakie for the 2nd side, let them sleep. thats what i was being advised.
bigger feed is always the feed before your bb goes to sleep. eg. the feed at 10pm lor. so will not wake up more often at night mah

kel
vomit once or twice is nothing la...my bb vomits like almost every feed last time...now aft each feed gotta carry her upright for 15-20mins, try doing that whole night long...more xiong

windy
haro...sorry "abandoned" u last night, had to go sleep, but of cos, later whole night do night shift si beh xiong. Altho i didnt log on, i was up whole nite. Alone.

Jeslyn
My bb was also like dat, daytime angel, night falls become devil. But i try to tell myself to be patient with her. Your one could possibly be a few reasons, either colic or u have OAL = overactive letdown. SOmetimes dats the reason bb detach themselves from nipple cos they cannot take the gushing flow of the milk, yet they're hungry, so they cry.

Maureen
Think your bb going thru growth spurt, dats why doing cluster feeding. Try not to feed FM, this is the nature way of bb trying to increase your ss. So latch more and ur ss will go up. That's IF u can tahan la. I know how xiong it is. I read this is one of the major reasons why mommies gave up breastfeeding, here's the excerpt from the book "What to Expect - the First Year"

<font color="ff0000">Just relax and keep your breasts handy until the growth spurt passes. Dont be tempted to give your baby formula (or even worse solids) to appease her appetite, because a decrease in frequency of nursing would cut down your supply of milk, which is just the opposite of what the baby ordered. Such a pattern - started by baby wanting to nurse more, leading to mum becomign anxious about the adequacy of her milk supply and offering a supplement, followed by a decrease in milk production - is one of the major causes of breastfeeding being abandoned early on. Sometimes a baby begins to demand more daytime feedings temporarily when she begins to sleep thru the night, but this too, shall pass with time. If however, your baby continues to want to nurse hourly (or nearly so) for more than a week, check her weight gain, it could means she's not getting enough to eat.</font>

hi mylife

no worries, i was happily watching my tvb drama whilst waiting for baby to be fed on demand. wahlao... these days she hungry only will SCREAM like someone whack her. whole village will wake up ah. so i quickly shove breast into her mouth.

windy
wahhhu can put your bb and doggie together ah? Me quite scared cos read during first year must separate them, PD also advised the same cos he said doggie's body got virus and bb vaccination not completed yet. My doggie so sad cos i always banned her from entering same room. I also sim tia keeping her away.

It's nice also u can put your bb on tummy, can she hold her head 45degrees up oredi?

i want to let Rylee lie on tummy as well, but scared SID and also becos of her vommiting problem, lying face down will put more pressure on her tummy...

mylife

oops.. already put together le... *cross fingers*

she can hold her head 45degs le! she always tries to lift her head when we're carrying her, my MIL will immd say "Aiyoh! u only 1 month old leh! cannot like that!!" hee

i watch in the room with baby n hubby sleeping. i think becos our family is ALWAYS noisy, many pple walk in and out n talk loudly, she's very used to noise. even the stupid dog bark, she also wont be startled wan.

did PD say when rylee's vommiting problem will cease?

hi,.,

normally latch use warm compress,, before pumping so it helps to clear those blocked ducts ...

i using hot stone which is beeter thatn hot towel.. too messy...

sometimes its blocked ducts that y milk is low after clearing should be ok..

but latch then poup very shiong,, dun pump scared supply drop cos my bb latch 10 min alway fall asleep...

Mylife this is what others told me too. Now I am trying to let him latch on more. But often 10 mins he lets go and fall asleep. No matter how I tickler him he just won't wake up. How I wish he nite time wake up is in the day time.