(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

angelsky,

it is better to store the EBM in milkbag, split according to the amount ur bb drinks. the nurse will keep them inside the fridge, n pour into bottle when it is feeding time for ur bb
as for transportation, put the milkbag in the cooler bag or insulated bag with ice packs put inside them to keep them cool.....

Hi angelsky, you can get the bottles from the hospital. When feeding time you can request to feed baby by latching on. This is what I do when my baby is admitted for one day due to jaundice.

val

wow... milk spraying on ur bb's face! would you like to donate some??? LOL

kel

i started my massage 6weeks after delivery. do u still feel the pain on ur wound? u might wanna check with ur gynae 1st. i started to shower and wash hair on the 5th day. really cant stand the sweat and smell.

angelsky

babies skin will turn very very dry when shine under the phototherapy light. which hospital is ur bb stayin in? if in mt E, you can request for sterile glass bottles to bring home to ebm.

Yvonne,
still having lochia discharge, very light everyday lor, wonder when it will stop. So far i didn't ML, too tired!! Hubby also tired waking up at night with me and working in the day.

Just went out for a short shopping trip today, managed to get one top for CNY and a few for hubby. Managed to grab a bottle of Fenugreek from GNC too. Gosh, after barely walking for an hour or so, i was so tired!!

C-sect mummies,
although i don't feel pain for my wound already, i feel some numbness in my lower adominal, is that normal?

kel,
i haven't do any massage till date (1 month), will book the massage after another month.

Babe, you can buy Baby SebaMed Special healing cream from the pharmacy. My FIL bought from Unity pharmacy, CL swears by it now. My gal has sensitive skin, got little pimples all over her neck, chest, face etc. Once apply, next day ok liao. But she sensitive to BM so her face always kenna the rashes/pimples.

My BB is 2 weeks old and she drinks more than 80ml each time and my SS not enough so CL supplements with FM. Already taking a lot of fish and took papaya with fish bone soup 4-5 times still like that. Mummies who tried Fenugreek, does it really work? Where did you buy it? Maybe ask my hubby to buy for me. :p

Joyce,
I'm letting my maid to take care of my girl, don't dare to watch the video now. Good thing is i'll be home most of the time. So far so good with my maid *cross fingers*

kitsune,
i bought the Fenugreek from GNC, just bought today only.

Joyce

Watched it. Wow really feel like killing the maid. The baby's head hit the chair a few times and the way she put the baby up from the bed. Poor baby....

MomMe, my mum asked me not to carry my boy when i'm eating if not next time he will get used to it.

Maureen, is the video clip from youtube loaded by yr friend? after sawing it on the news and youtube, feel like killing the maid. hw can she treat the bb like that. i watch liao feel so heartpain for the parents.

luvv, its good that there's someone ard to supervise them. at least u r ard so no worries.

pooh25, same as u i also feel like killing the maid. so worried that the bb will have brain damage. did u see how she carry the bb from the bed and how she remove her clothes? feel so heartpain for the parents.

after watching the clip, i feel so traumatized, how could she do that. Its so terrible. feel like slapping her.

I now expressing the milk out lo, maybe stress, the supply not so good
. Will wake up again 3 hours later and express them out. I am more worried about her rejecting BM after taking FM when she comes home, also not wanting to latch after being bottle fed. Since they are bottle fed in the hospital right? Understand, they need more water, so no choice. Her jaundice level was about 15. Sigh.

More siong for me too, coz need to go by hospital a few times tomo to bring the milk, also heart pain for her, when she cries. Went to pass my EBM for today, she was being bottled feed by the nurse, so poor thing, naked and her eyes are covered.

Sassy, my ger at TMC, I used milk bags, becoz all bottles used up today. I sterilize until sometimes I also wonder if I really did it the right way, bo chap already.

Joyce

She can remove the clothes until the baby turns. I don't dare to watch all the video. Feel so sorry for the parent.

My god...the maid is so abusive to the baby. Got teary just watching the clip, why is the maid so heartless? It's only a baby, even if it's not hers, how could she have done that to an innocent? Now I am beginning to get paranoid about maids and babysitters.....

I tried to express my BM just now, as per when I wake up to BF my gal, ie. every 3 hours. But I am a bit confused, becoz I tried to pump, but then after 15 minutes, the milk flow stopped. It stopped becoz I have already empty the breast all becoz the supply the dropping? Does this means, every time my ger latches on, though she latch for 30 minutes, but then she only managed to drink 15 minutes? Or is it becoz I pump both sides together, so it adds up to 30 minutes of her latch time?

How should I increase the milk flow?

I see the amount I pump out really pathethic le. Its still about 75ml per side that I am getting

Joyce, yes she is my friend. Feeling very sad. I think the maid siao.

Angelsky, it is very good to get 75ml per side. Which means you can get 150ml from both side.

babe and maureen, I used the milk bag, the milk bag show 75 mil, but when pour into bottle about 50 ml for each side, so total is about 100 ml. I do this every 3 hours le and it seems when I went to the hospital just now, the nurse say not enough, my gal still drink FM like crazy.

So I thinking mayb these few days, my gal latch and latch, maybe I still not producing enough milk for her so thats why she always cry. Sigh

Btw, I pump till about 10 minutes, then the milk flow stop, its normal right? We are supposed to empty our breast each time?

Maureen, the mother is your fren, she must be very upset, is the bb ok?

The baby is ok. Hopefully she is ok.

I wonder my baby get enough milk. He latch on after that he sleep when unlatch. But I feel that he has not enough milk I give him FM and he drinks another 50ml.

icy;
i oso find pumping and feeding like double work. but at least its still manageable for me as of now. no choice, nipple too sore to latch. i am determined to let my nipples recover and do latching at night so it makes life easier...

i also have misshaped nipples. after i ease my bb off, i find that my nipples change shape, but will go back to original shape after an hour.

i did tell myself that bb needs mummy's comfort then use our nipples to suck suck for comfort, but the lactation at tmh told me cannot let bb suck nipples. must tell bb mummy's nipples is for drinking, not for suckling. but if dont give pacifier oso cham...

babe; my by got 'pimples' too but the paedet says its milia seeds will come and go so no need to poke the pimple or apply anything

angelsky;
if you pump ard 10 mins n see no more, continue. you will be telling the brain that you need more. so next time the brain will increase the supply. so i pump 15 mins (i have twin pump), even tho ard 12th min my breats produces no more..

my boy is 1 week old but drinking only 45ml per feed. i see lots of mummies here giving more than what i am giving leh. but he is not hungry before his next feed so should be ok bah??

fyi, i am holding onto my bb while he sleeps as i am typing with 1 hand now. after bb is out i realised i can multitask more :)

pixiepixel, okie will try your method later, coz I pump 10 minutes then after that nothing comes out. Will pump now again.

My ger is about 1 week today also, but she drinks 100 ml per feed le. Sometimes I also wonder if she really wanna feed or just want comfort from me. Coz when I carry her, she will root for my breast.

Sometimes difficult to tell them breasts is for feeding and not for comfort, at night must sleep cannot cry and play. They cry and cry and cry until got a lot of wind in stomach. I also dilema

danelle had been v v cranky... constantly needs to be carried when awake. gone are the days when she can be left on her play pen and entertain herself. ANY REMEDIES???

Re: Vomitting
i fed danelle at 10am, burp her and hold her in recline position for ard 15mins then put her in bed. she woke up at 1130 crying loudly and vomit everything. she had been peeing and pooing regularly and this is not the 1st time she vomit after crying... can any mommies tell me if this is normal? anybody encounter these problems? i called my pd and he says tat its normal for bb to vomit after crying.

angelsky

me too think so tat im not producing enuf milk... when my gal is fed with fm, it will last her for at least 3 hrs if she dun vomit everything. and when she is being latched on, after awhile she will cry and turn left right to look for my nipples. it can be an hourly thingly...
super tired mann.....

maureen

is your frd's bb ok? the maid is too much already. is she from indonesia??

val

ITA with you. only parents will give their own kids unconditional love... alot of times when i got so irritated and impatient with danelle and wanting to beat her but in the end see her so innocent and "chiam" crying.. i kiss and hug her

Got something to share regarding breast engorement and supply.
As I experience pain when using pump to pump out milk (maybe my nipple abit big) I used my hand to pump instead. It actually increase my flow alot and relieve engorement.
My conclusion is that when we use pump it only concentrate on the areola area..but if we use our hand to pump we can pump/massage/squeeze from upper chest/lower abdomen/left & right side armpit to nipple. it works for me and I hope it help..

angelsky;
100ml? wah double my boy leh, somemore my boy is big size...
she finishes everything? i know that babies do not understands "limits" so they glup down everything that is given to them, even tho they are full. you wanna try reduce? try once or twice to reduce couple of ml, if you ger is hungry before next feed means 100ml is ok for her. if shes not, then stick to the reduced ml lor.

my boy also roots for my nipples when he wants comfort. so right now i dont hold him in the cradle position because he will auto turn his head left/right. instead, i hold him vertically infront of me so he got no chance to root and he still feels comforted lor.

massage breasts & clear the lumps DURING the pumping session.. and even during latch on too.

hand express (ie without pump) is good for engorgement, or the times when u dun hv a pump.

speechless abt maid abusing bb. u never can tell huh... *sad*

jeslyn, when i use the pump or when I latch my gal on, I will also press my breasts very hard, especially those areas near the armpit got lumps, very pain like blue black lumps, but I will tahan and press really hard.

pixiepixel, my CL say my ger ger not enough milk from me, thats why she always hungry le. She will drink, coz can hear her swallow. My CL says during day time she dont cry and wanna drink and can stick to 3 hour feeding becoz she sleep, but at night, she hungry thats why need to feed every 1 to 1.5 hour wo. Now she in hospital, besides my EBM, nurse say she also take quite a fair bit of FM too. My ger is small size.

Soreness, for those who went through natural, until when will the soreness below go away. I always feel fullness, bet I am constipating. Stand too long, I feel below very heavy.

angelsky, ya need to press and massage regularly..so far i use my fist to roll down to pump i can collect around 40 to 50ml per breast within 10-15mins..but breast still not empty...especially after baby sucks..the flow even better..haha..

angelsky;
night feed so frequent? for night, i go by demand mode. if he cry i will give. but dunno why your ger so hungry. maybe just want comfort? just want to suckle only? my boy cries often at night, not because he is hungry but he wanna suckle something.
eg yesterday night i let him suckle the pacifier once he started to cry, usually he will go back to sleep. but if he still not satisfied means he hungry, wants to suckle for milk. so i fed him.

sometimes i cannot determine if my boy is hungry for milk or just want to suckle for comfort so i use pacifier to judge.

Long time no log on. PC down, I feel like I have disconnected from the rest of the world like that. =(

Maid abusing baby...
i saw the clip last night during the news too. My mum, CL and me were totally shocked. I felt tears in my eyes as i think i will be ultra ultra angry if someone were to abuse my baby like that. >
The way the maid kicked the poor baby and swinged the baby over makes me really mad! The baby is innocent and so defendless! Now I am just glad that my mother will be looking after my baby when I return to work.

Catering service...
Sorry ladies, did u all recommend Neo Garden? I am now looking for one for my baby's full month buffet.

Feeding EBM instead of latching..

Anyone doing the same like me? Sorry, me latching on still a struggle. So now I am purely expressing milk to feed my baby by bottle instead of latching my baby on.

shannonbaby, I read that u are expressing breast milk to feed your baby instead of latching on. I am currently in the same shoes like you. My baby is 3 weeks old today, he drinks about 110 to 120ml per feed on EBM, min 8 times per day. I can't pump as much as you, so if insufficient, I will give him 1 feed of FM.

I am still trying to increase my milk supply here. =(

AhCapp

Neo Garden is not bad, plus there's 15% discount if you tell them it's baby full month. They'll ask you to fax a copy of baby's birth cert to be entitled to the discount. Their chicken curry is nice!

violetice,

I called today. They said baby full month discount not valid during CNY =(

Chicken curry is nice ah. Ok, will get it for the buffet then. ;)

Btw, which menu did u choose? btw, The price for CNY period is about $1 more/ head.

Val,

Very touching advertisement. I guessed parents are very "wei da" to give unconditional love to their children. I used to think my single mum is very noble for raising my sister and I. When I got married, I realized she's even more capable to raise 2 daughters on her own and giving them education till tertiary level. And now... when I am a mother myself, I can feel the nobleness I thought is even higher than I ever thought it could be..

AhCapp
I chose the Sin Chow Mee Hoon, Yong Chow Fried Rice, Luo Han Veg, Braised Beancurd, Sweet & Sour Fish, Curry Chicken, Butter Prawn, Prawn Balls, SeaCoconut with Longan.

violetice,

All looks very yummy to me ;P Aiya, very hard to lose weight if I continue to eat like this....

kitsune,

Fenugreek can be bought at GNC. I bought a jar (100 capsules) last Wed. It's about $29, but now with Citibank credit card, has 25% off. I have been eating it for about a week now. Hmm... same same like that. Btw, the offer is till end of Feb.

Re: Diapers
Need some advice from mummies here. My baby Ian is using Pampers newborn. We wanted to try drypers and bought Small size. In the end it seems smaller and can't use..why is it so?

Ahcapp,
did you notice any drop in ss when you do total expressing?

sometimes my gal just refuse to latch on and keep on struggling with me until i feel so fedup (*guilty*) Really don't know what she wants. Hungry yet don't want to latch on! Headache...

Anyone using Goo.n diapers. Don't know what brand to buy for day use. My gal poos and pees so frequently...

violet
my boy graduated fr Pampers Newborn (up to 5kg) to Drypers S (up to 7kg) ley. i find that Drypers broader than Pampers Newborn. Did u position the diaper properly.

mcfluffy
day & nite my boy is wearing either drypers or petpet

mcfluffy,

Hmm.. no, supply still very constant. I pump every 3 hours, total about 120ml for both breasts combined. I know it's not alot, so I quite worried about not being able to meet my bb's demand.

My bb also like that. Hungry for sure. latch on, suck a few min, unlatch himself and start crying non-stop. This cycle goes on n on, very upsetting for me. =( So that's why I am using bottle to feed him.

Every baby has different problems I feel. I have already kinda accepted the fact that I will be using bottle to feed him already. At least now I am happier. Previously, I was really depressed over the latching issue.

wendyg

i bought nan 1 (900gms) at giant for $29.30

violetice

the pamper newborn is alot bigger than the drypers newborn infact its equivalent to drypers small size. if bb ian graduated from pampers newborn you should buy drypers M size for him. drypers cutting are much smaller than pampers. u still int to buy the avent warmer? email me at [email protected]

Need some advise:
1. What food is effective in increasing BM?
2. May need to standby a formula milk, any brand to recommend?

Dryers is cheaper but tends to leak if used overnight. So I'm using Dryers during the day and Mammy Poko during the night. Mammy Poko is very absorbent.