(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mcfluffy, grumpus,
thanks for ur advice, i have tried to pump as frequently as i can (pump every 4 hrs) but there is low ss (about 10 - 20ml from both breast) .....currently there is no hard lump found in the breast but could feel the swellen / pain inside the breast....

my massager will only cm on this friday
but i cant wait till then otherwise my bb has no EBM to drink liao....therefore i nd to get rid of this prob asap

<font color="0000ff">

Sorry to intrude into this thread.

Just like to share with you all...
if you are planning to get insurance for your newborn, children or yourself,
I have a good recommendation! (I'm not an agent)
Understand you all may already have an agent but if you are looking for <font color="ff0000">Value-added Life Policy</font>,
please PM or email me at [email protected] No obligations. Thanks!

Re: Wash hair during confinement

How many do u all wash hair? I shower everyday with herbal water but wash hair every weekly. It so messy and oily!!

McFluffy,
Haha..when my MIL goes back home after confinement, my hubby has to help bottle feed at night lor. Take turns he says. I think I will try expressing when he helps me, which should start next week. Me celebrating bb's first month this Sunday! A bit in advance since my bb actual first mth is CNY day 1....

That's what I mean McFluffy, I latch him on the whole day except middle of night, so indeed not much chances to pump out anything..so I felt a bit down coz I donno how long I can sustain bf esp if I go back to work, or like during CNY when have to go out and about, how to feed him if not enuff EBM??

Anyway, I face similar situation as u. My workplace no place to express, unless i book and lock a meeting room. Toilet is just not possible! I also thought of stopping after 3 mths..or give only BM only at night or something. My initial aim was to bf for 6mths...but...i really dont know if i can...

Btw, can i ask those who have experience, how do you all transport EBM when you go out? E.g it's frozen in freezer, I would bring it down to fridge level to thaw 12 hrs before first. But after that say I'm gg out with baby and all, where do you all store the EBM and how to feed baby?? Is it that once you take out of fridge and keep it in some cooler bag, it will end up being at room temp or something for bb to feed later on???

RE: massage lady
Can I have sassy's massage lady's contact?
Contingency, if Hardial dun call me this Friday to confirm my Monday appt... I shall have to find a new one.

RE: FM
IS Friso a good ? Am using Enfalac HA but am thinking of changing brand.

I read this in an article - anyone does similar?

"When transporting breast milk for use away from home, keep it cold until just before use. A small cooler with ice or frozen packs may be used to keep the milk cold during transport."

Re: SARONG
How many of you use or believe in using sarong for baby to sleep in? I'm wondering/concerned whether a baby that sleeps in sarong for most of the day (rocking effect), will they be able to sleep in the cot say at night?? My MIL seems to suggest getting a sarong to put at her place for my bb to sleep in when I go back to work...I'm hesistant about it...

momme

aunty helen's contact 9389 2509 can say intro by tanjong rhu. she is very responsible... not like the overrated masseurs recommended on this forum.

not sure abt friso, im feeding my gal S26. so far so good. i remember nurses from mt E's nicu told me tat all FM are the same... its the way they market and branding lor and also depends on individual bb

Jacelyn,
thanks, will try that out
hopefully can clear my engorgement after so many times of pumping &amp; massaging....otherwise my fever will cm &amp; goes...sigh

hammies03,
i will store EBM into a cooler bag &amp; when bb want to drink milk, will heat it up b4 letting bb to drink. a bit "ley chey" if bb not latching on ....

i have one qn, how cm currently when i expressed out the milk, the color of the milk is in yellowish color, no longer the whiteish color as compared to before engorgement...is it ok?

I also Pisces mummy!

RE: Nepia Diaper
I read on the package can collect seal and download application form from Nepia.sg website but I cant find it. Anyone know one nepia seal collection?

windy,

wah yr baby guzzles 120ml each time!! i also like u express abt 120ml each time...baby so far only drink 70ml so got excess...keke...i think slowly slowly won't have excess liao also...
u want my excess ebm ah?? can...u come and self collect lor :p

wendyg,

i also want to direct latch leh...but my baby suck little bit only start crying and spitting the nipple out...haiz so frustrating so i end up taking the easy way out and express then feed...so horrible mummy right, rather sleep more than fight with baby...haha

wah...u and mcfluffy idea of using hot water bottle is good man! i wished i knew of it earlier before suffering thro scalded fingers :p

mcfluffy,

thawed ebm cannot be refrozen, but if u move the frozen ebm from freezer to fridge and let thaw in fridge, can keep for 24 hrs, so u can use the ebm for more than one feed..
i freeze all my ebm in glass bottles, so far no crack **touch wood**

hammies03,

i transport my ebm in small cooler bag with ice packs and i also travel with a small flask of hot water...when need to feed then i put the bottle in the hot water to warm up first..a bit leh chay lor..

steph,
Better don't use powder...I remember that's what Mrs Wong said. Why not try using Avent's barrier cream? I find it very good becos baby won't get diaper rash so easily.

MomMe,
My boy is taking Friso Gold since day 1. He's taking the formula very well I would say, no constipation, drinking more and putting on weight.

Hammies03,
Our babies have the same birthday ie 9 Jan08! I'm also celebrating his full month this sun becos most caterers only have CNY menu from next Mon onwards.

i would like to chk, after nearly one month of bottle feeding, is it easily to switch back to latching?? whenever i think of going out (more than 3 hrs), nd to bring cooler bag, thermal flask &amp; blar blar....

Lynn
Aiya, if i know your bb taking Friso, I will pass to you liao!!! HOw come your response so slow.

Yah, my hb went AGM, cos he concern abt the window grills! Hahaha... but luckily our installation "pattern" is allowed. And dunno who wants the rule, no riding bicycle area the pool area. Then where the kids ride?

Verene,
Your boy also same birthday as my boy right. So a few of us will be busy this weekend lor...and confinement will finally be over!!! I already plan to go shopping at Vivo City on Mon...urgently need to get some new clothes for CNY and need to eat some decent food!!

icy i oso collected Alyssa photo on sat heehee ...... looks different liao now ....

jacelyn i bathe everyday with hot water only and wash hair everyday!

wahhhh so many posts.

mcfluffy/hammies
i'm a SAHM, so a bit wasted if i dont try my best to latch on, can understand working moms predicament.

Yday night was ok for me. My CL snore so loud, i told her i will try taking care of Rylee myself at night and told her to sleep in the living room. Rylee didnt do the latch 10mins, sleep 5mins thingy, but a nice 2hour interval, but like kitsune, drink 30mins, burp, etc, takes up almost an hour liao, so end up 2hour interval but actual rest time is only an hour plus...but tat's heavenly to me.

Lately notice dat Rylee's butt got red-red rash...applied lots of Desitin cream still red-red. Sigh.

Lynn
Me staying in Kowloon station, when u take the Airport Express train from the airport, u will reach 3 stops, Tsing Yi, Kowloon and Hong Kong rite? My apartment is located jus above the Kowloon station, very convenient.
Too bad i might miss sassy's trip to HK cos might not be back then, but if u come, must look for me!

Re: hot towels
Agree with wendy on how quick hot towels turn to cold ones. My gynae's clinic gals advised to use those cold pack from watson/guardian, put it in microwave and voila, can sustain heat for long time.

Hammies
me too wondering about the "logistic" of EBM next time when bringing bb out. But haiyah...will take one step at a time

<font color="0077aa">Verene &amp; Yvonne,

i am also celebrating my boy's full month this Sunday! 4 days earlier cos actual day is on the 7th Feb, 1st day of CNY, parents in-law say can celebrate early but not late. Which caterer did u engage to handle the buffet?</font>

<font color="119911">Jacelyn,

the pills to stop BM must ask gynae/GP/doc to prescribe &amp; we buy from pharmacy. The pills is called "Dostinex" 2 very small tab 0.5mg Half to be taken twice daily. Within 2 days, no more engorgement &amp; ss will drop gradually w/o pumping. Are u thinking of stopping BFing too?</font>

QQ,

128 ?? $ for photo charges ? for how many shots? very ex hor but icy's boy look nice! Where is little qq pix? in yr blog?

sassy &amp; Yvonne,

In that case, when (how old) can we introduce baby powder to baby? Currently, i am using desitin creamy to apply to genital &amp; butt area that are prone to rashes &amp; expose to pee &amp; poo. Then MIL keep asking me WHY cannot apply powder? She prefer powder than barrier cream wor. She say during her son, my husband time, all use powder, no prob de.

Another question to ask all mummies:
Have u all trim yr baby's finger nails &amp; toes yet ? My boy's finger nails is very long &amp; sharp, wonder if i can use nail clipper to trim them short or have to wait till full month.

Grumpus and Babyling, thanks for your info. I was wondering how to warm up the EBM when out and about. But since some of you mention bringing along hot water flask to warm the bottle, I suppose that's the next best option. I also think it's all quite leh chey, but I really need to think alr...coz next week CNY need to bring bb out to my relative's home leh...Not convenient to latch on unless I'm at my own mum's home...

Yvonne, my bb bday is 7 Jan..not 9 Jan...but yeh, celebrating this Sunday coz if not CNY liao lor how to celebrate?! haha....Then my MIL take it that once celebrate full month, she consider confinement over alr and she will be moving back home. I'm a bit scared on how to handle bb on my own in the day until it is time for me to go over to her home for the afternoon...hmmmm

Step, normally we will cut when baby is full month.

QQ, now Peter Pan don't approach patients at KKH liao. I called them up, they said if we want have to make appointment. So for my 3rd child I didn't take the pic even for the foot print.

Jacelyn, I heard people saying taking pills to stop bf can cause the breast to shrink. Why not stop naturally. Just extend your express session longer, and cut down the express session.

Hammies, my baby is born on 11 Jan I also doing full month this sun but my mil said I still can't go out for CNY. Cos people pantang. They will still considered us not full month yet. And also can't anyhow eat too.

Hammies03,
Oh… for me I don’t have confinement lady.. only my mum and hubby. So have to tax on hubby to help! Actually if you latch on the whole day and bb isn’t fussing.. ok la… not necessary to EBM right? I also hardly can get anything after latching on whole day! your supply should increase very soon right? How old is your baby liao?

Ehh.. at least you can book and lock a meeting room? I cannot leh… all “public” assess to all staff. Dunno how also…. Maybe hide in the cleanest toilet? Haha…

About bring out EBM, heat it up in hot water lor.. bring out thermal flask or ask for hot water from restaurant.

Sagittauriius,
My baby also got pimples on her face… PD says it’s baby acne. SO SAD!!!!! My complexion quite good type, but hers… alamak…. No nice skin.. 

Grumpus,
Thanks for the info…. So I must learn to proportion all my precious EBM. Heh. Anyway, I asked the nurse in the nursery about leaving frozen EBM in the fridge, she said can only leave for 6 hrs wor. Aiiyoh.. all the timing is making me confused!

Mylife,
Hee, currently SAHM for 3 months… even so, I don’t latch on at night… my bb will never get enough. Anyway, aiyoh, your CL snores? How you rest like that with her snoring? Eh.. but drink breastmilk directly we still need to burp them?

Mcfluffy, actually how do you know when your supply really increase? My baby is already 3 weeks and 3 days old. To me, I notice these few days when I let him latch on, I can feel more significant let-down effect after his has fed for about 15 min or so...is this something u all experience? Or yours is even faster? It's like I feel it a few times..first is when he intiially start..the flow can be quite fast..think this is the foremilk. Then some time later, I can feel the effect of faster flow again..is that the hindmilk?? Anyway, the main thing is, I noticed this only this week. Previously not really. But when I try pumping out..the best I can get is only about 70-80ml if I missed one latch on session. So I felt that ss is still not really there lor. Got to push on and see how.

Mcfluffy - forgot to mention..oh my only fuss about wanting to express bm now is because I'm thinking ahead of the times when I need to go out then how lor..bb drink wat...and with CNY round the corner, I may encounter situations where I can't really let bb latch on the whole time like when I'm at home now. Then of coz, the future is when I return to work..Wonder if I'm thinking too much, but that's on my mind now I guess. I would prefer to just let him latch on directly still for a few more weeks to continue to build milk ss...

grumpus
expressing is for hardworking mummies. direct latch is for lazy mummies, no need to bother with pump, steriliser, easy when going out. hee hee.

hammies
as babies get older, they become more efficient feeders.. wun take 1hr to makan. maybe only 15min.

hammies03,
acutally these few days as i'm expressing out totally (bb in hospital for jaundice), i manage to monitor my supply and saw an increase from initial 40ml to now 70ml. Furthermore, i showed my feeding records to PD and she told me for the amount of milk i was producing initially, baby will ask for milk every hour or so. Tml when baby comes back, I hope she will be satisfied with my 70ml of milk and will only ask for milk in 2 hrs time.

Eh.. you really think ahead leh. I never think so much.. juz want my ss to meet the demand! hehe..

bubblepearl... oeiizzz.. yaaa.. give birth liao! hehehe.. u got good news tooo? :D

wendyg...wah..15min to makan from the breast as they get older? Really ah....means they would have sucked out alot and effectively as they grow older ah..now my bb take quite long..maybe coz i feed on both breasts..

feeding EBM
i'm the expert here! cos i did this with my son for 7 mths! u can defrost ebm in the fridge over nite, but fr the time u start defrosting to when it is consumed, cannot be more than 24 hrs ok?

u can bring the defrosted ebm out in cooler bag, like fridge to go, and when u r ready to feed it to bb, immerse the bottle in hot water. what i used to do was bring my own flask of hot water, and a contained to immerse the bottle in. it is indeed very troublesome cos u got to bring out so many thing! that's y this time around, i was extremely fixated about my girl being able to latch on, n i'm so happy now that at 5 wks of age, she is able to latch on n i dont have to give ebm all the time!

how do u know if bb needs to take the other breast ah? cos my girl will suck 1 side for about 10 or 15 min, then pull away herself, or she will fall asleep then i just burp her n let her go to sleep....

mcfluffy,

huh, really ah the nurse at the nursery told u frozen bm in fridge only keep 6 hrs??!!

i delivered at raffles hospital and have this "guide to breastfeeding &amp; infant care" booklet which was given by the nursery nurses...inside it says
"You may choose to thaw your breastmilk inside the fridge by placing your frozen milk on the lowest shelf 12 hr before feeding your baby. Milk thawed this way has to be consumed within 24 hrs"
So far that has been what i've been doing leh, i agar abt how much she will drink then take down 2-3 bottles and use for the next few feeds within 24 hrs from the time i brought down from the freezer...did i somehow read wrongly???

michelle,
eh.. i have the same question! after like 15mins, my gal pulls away.. den i'll entice her with my nipple..usually she dowan. then i'll switch to the other breast...and usually she wants. after 15min.. she pull out again! so i assume don't want liao...

grumpus,
maybe 24hrs is correct? since michelle also said it's 24 hrs. ur baby ok so far right? hehe.. anyway, must thaw for 12 hours den can heat up to give to baby???????? very cheem leh!

oh yah, another question:
after bathing or diapering your baby, what do you all apply? not a must to always put diaper rash cream right? since no rashes? or must put SOMETHING? Still waiting for my destini cream to arrive and only have some diaper rash cream samples and baby lotion.

QQ,
u may consider Neo Garden. u can chk wif them see gt any promotion / discount for full month celebration. their fd nt bad

verene, i brought bb for assessment and really surprised that he gained 2.4kg within a month. He is now 5.5kg. He was borned at 3.155kg.

Just last week i bought two packets of pet pet 'S' size as i didnt know that he is that heavy liao and i notice that he got marks at thigh area so i feel like changing to M size

S size can fit up to 6kg. I used it cos it is cheap and good. Didnt invest in mamy poko etc yet cos still must change him quite often. When he poo less at night, then i will let him wear mamy poko at night and pet pet in day time just like i am doing to my two year old boy.

I dun like drypers....

pet pet is really good....you can give it a try. If you are interested in the pet pet s size, let me know k.