(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

I'm Haze..mother of three gals.. from Oct 2006 MTB thread..i just gave birth to my third baby gal on 23rd this month.. so i thought i just drop by to say hi hi to all... =)

Cheryl

Hi, =) just to let you know about the massage thingy.. c-sect best is start massage only after one month.. coz one of my friend started her massage 2 weeks after her c-sect, she complained a lot of pain and stuffs, finally went to see gynae, gynae told her, the massage burst one of the small blood vessel near pelvic area.. somemore The massage lady also got a lot of restrictions to massage for you due to the wound beneath may not be completely healed.. even some very experienced masseurs will also tell you to wait for a month before they start, so that they can give you a very good massage and can bind you tighter.. =)

mcfluffy
dont be silly. me not offended at all lah! We're all in the same boat ma. Dont worry about it. NO la, am not sacrificing baby's health in name of obsession over BF. I am persisting only becos my bb's gaining weight healthily and have good change of wet diapers a day..so everything is normal and good, dats why feel worth it to persist on. If bb showing signs of hunger or nt enuff, then of cos i will turn to FM, but right now it's jus tiredness.

Hey, QQ, sassy, lynn, blackbatz
Me too pisces mommy! That's why so emotional one...haha, QQ, my bday is 2 days after yours, 3rd Mar, and Rylee shares the same birth DATE as me, 3rd Jan..hehe

i currently facing a prob with my milk ss, since engorgement starts on sunday, i tried to pump out but the engorgement wun go away....then develop into high fever....this has last over the past 2 days...tdy i tried to pump out n done massaging, but the milk is in yellowish color....n the milk ss pump out was very low.. pls advice how to increase milk ss & clear engorgement for this case.

Sassy

Is it bottle warmer? Still searching for one leh. How much you letting go? Why you not using?

Luvv
Exactly, heartpain knowing that we have to let someone else to take care of our precious but no choice since gotta work. Also, I know I can not be a SAHM. Haha! Really admire those ladies who can.

cheryl, wendy, luvv,

i asked my gynae abt the binder b4, he said that there's no harm continuing to wear it. however he also stressed that it does absolutely nothing to help in the healing of the wound except to make the mummy feel more comfortable when walking, sneezing, coughing etc. he said the key to healing is to move more instead of just lying on the bed whole day...of cos also dun over do it and strain yrself lah...if wearing the binder helps u move easier then by all means continue to wear it...

for me i stopped wearing the binder one wk after op liao...cos i was getting very bad skin reaction to the binder elastic and all the sweat accumulation underneath...of cos the downside is my tummy is getting flabbier and flabbier as it shrinks lor cos the binder does help to hold the tummy in...:p

babyling,

u may have some blocked ducts as a result of the engorgement thats why yr ss is low..once the ducts are cleared, yr ss shd increase..

to help with the engorgement prob, try these:
1) breast massage with hot towel to clear any blocked ducts before feeding or expressing
2) express the milk every 3 hrs or so if bb cannot latch
3) apply cold cabbage to reduce swelling

unfortunately there is no quick way to solve this prob...u have to keep up the above steps for a few days until yr breasts are totally clear. for me it took abt 3 days of pumping every 3 hrs and massaging with hot towel..my hubby even have to step in to massage for me cos it was so painful and difficult to do by myself

steph & blackbatz

Oh yes, I told Mdm to help me get the stone. Hot towl's heat won't last. =( Yes, I will have total 7 sessions with her. My tummy does go down. But when I sit down, still feel flabby lah. Mdm said I should continue to bind myself every day till month #2 I think.

Wow, both of u went out for hair do already =) *2 thumbs up* The massage is currently the only way for me to pamper and relax myself. I will also go and do my hair, but after 1 month when my baby's diet is more established. Now I can't go anywhere without pumping =(

Btw, I want to pierce a 2nd hold for my ear lope. Wonder if it's safe to do it or not...

currently i have about one week supply of frozen ebm which i stocked up when my bb was in hospital..now my bb is back and on full ebm...her intake is abt the same as my output so i still maintain about one week supply of frozen ebm...

the qn is, should i feed her the newly expressed bm or shd i feed her the oldest frozen ebm and then freeze the newly expressed ones? if i feed her the fresh ebm is better right cos some antibodies get destroyed during freezing? but which also means the frozen ebm will expire sooner as they were expressed on an earlier date...

kitsune

My baby also like yours. Suck suck suck, lost the nipple, open mouth wide wide, search search search. Can't find. Cry. Put my nipple back, also too late, cry n cry. It took about 1hr to calm him down. =(

U must jia you ok. =)

Yvonne
Sorry, I din see your post tat your boy takes Friso 1 too, otherwise I would have offered it to you. My #2 took Friso for quite long, now switching her to Mamil Gold, I think she sian of the taste liao. Haha...

I am having my 1st massage later, hopefully turns out well.

windy u always v early ya!!! me going now to nap after a night struggle..this time started 1 am and I threw in the towel at 2plus to feed 50ml ebm...3plus wake and latch abit n put him to sleep beside me on bed and thankfully next cry is 630am..fed 1 side and pump the other...

hi babe!! i on morning shift mah... hehe... wahlao.. this morning from 5am till 8.30am, i've been BF on demand siah! this girl ah..... and she still not sleeping!!!!!!! ERGH! i take back all i said about her being a good baby. zzz

oh yes, baby now refuses to take FM, think she prefer BM. how like this? next time go back to work how??? EBM run out how? max i can express out is 2 bottles........ and i need to go back to work coming monday.

any way to quickly increase ss to like 5 bottles in the next 4 days?

gd morning!!

Wow! so many Feb & Pisces mummies here.. heheee!

sassy: oh! we actually share e same birthday
which yr u born? i fr 1978. my bb Rayden is 1mth dis sun, same as mylife bb...

mylife: whr u staying in hk? maybe i"ll b gg hk few mths lata.. my hubby"s granny misses my bb... i miss e shopping there... especially H&M. hav u been to hk H&M?

Mom2nat: u giving ur bb friso? i"m giving him friso too for nitz feed.. for day is BM.
did ur hubby attend e AGM on sat? my hubby was there, wah! e meeting was so long,... my hubby came bac ard 4pm but e meetin havnt end yet.

windy
take grumpus' excess frozen ebm & both of u will be happy

grumpus
better to give fresh one. Last in first out. Direct latch la.. no need to bother with pump.

ahcapp
why not safe to pierce earhole? I had mine done when i was 7m preg.

re: hot towel cools fast
>> alternative is to fill a plastic water bottle with hot water & use it to rub against the breasts. Lasts a bit longer than towel. During my initial bf days with #1, i scalded my fingers numerous times when i was preparing the 'hot towel'.. bring into aircon room within 10 seconds not hot liao. sianz!

Wendy, sorry din reply ur sms...been really tired tbf...bb sometimes juz keeps struggling at breast. Dunno izzit no milk...hiaz...still wake up at night and eyes big big for few hrs...think today I muz make sure he's more awake in day and pull up curtains to let more light in..

wendyg
hahaaha!! i waiting for her to offer.... *giggle*

blackbatz
u mean in between work? i got try accumulating ah, but cannot leh.. express 120ml liao must wait 2 hrs before next 120ml. and the baby guzzles down the 120ml, means no excess to accumulate ahhhh....

i'm self-employed, MIL say end the confinement before CNY, which i totally am for it. so this sunday marks the end of confinement, monday go back to work.

babe
TG has the DVD..

from steph's posting on 26 Jan
Decoding the Tears
According to Priscilla Dunstan, a former Australian Mezzosoprano, who was recently featured on Oprah, there are five specific baby cries, each with a meaning. These cries are believed to be used by all babies from 0 to 3mths old, regardless of race, during the beginning of their language acquisition period. The cries are:
Neh = "I'm hungry"
Owh = I'm sleepy"
Heh = I'm experiencing discomfort"
Eair = "I have lower gas"
Eh = "I need to burp"
More info on the Dunstan baby language is avail online at www.dunstanbaby.com

<font color="ff0000">grumpus</font>
windy waiting for your excess frozen ebm. dun discard huh.

hey windy
your MIL takes care of bb while u're in your shop?

my confinement only 3 wks, so ending soon. coz confinement food caterer is closed for CNY period, so they'll refund me the final week. My MIL nvr give me discount on my confinement &amp; din welcome me for reunion dinner. She told her son my husband that i shld stay home with #2 while he brings #1 over to her place that evening. Which is fine by me coz her place super hot &amp; super cramped. Asked husband to drop me and #2 off at my grandma's. Hope my aunties dun mind a 'dirty' woman for reunion. By right i can only come out on 10th Feb, which is 4th day of CNY.

hey superbee
saw the pix that u uploaded on facebook. fwah your girl really snow princess ah... so fair! Good job on the coconut &amp; birds nest

Wendyg,
I tried to not wash anything from tap water coz scared hand pain whatever pain… coz I’m already aching in the bones before pregnancy. But last night no choice had to wash pump myself, I used gloves instead. Think that would help prevent us from touching too much water?

Hammies03,
Maybe you can get your hubby to bottle feed at night while you express. No doubt hubby is working lah.. but also must let him do some feeding. Heehee.. wait baby dun recognize him! :p slight improvement in your BM supply you still feel down? Why? Anyway, how to pump much when you latch him on for the whole day? He would have drunk your milk what? No? I think my target to BF is about 3months.. haha, my workplace got no decent place for me to express.. I doubt can continue BF. 

Kitsune,
My gal also sometimes will latch on, suckle for a while den release and start searching like a a little bird, with her mouth wide open. Like very frustrated like that… and it usually happens on the same side of the breast. And I realized that that side of the breast produces lesser milk when I express. Wonder if that’s the cause of baby’s frustration? See already veryyyyy heart pain. Want to cry. 

Babyling,
Adding on to what grumpus suggested, I use hot plastic milk bottle (small enough to manuvuer around the breast) to massage coz towel’s heat don’t last leh. But of course, must make sure you screw the bottle very tightly in case spill out coz I remembered during Mrs Wong’s lesson, she shared how a lady scalded herself! Scary. And like grumpus, my hubby also help with the massaging.

Anyway, my massage lady also massaged my breast and the engorgement disappeared in 2 days . Do get a massage soon. ;)

Question:
1) After taking out frozen EBM and thawing it, can refreeze or not? Cannot right? Coz I don’t know whether to put the maximum amount of EBM into the storage pack or just the amount that my baby usually drinks.
2) Can freeze EBM in glass bottles? Will the glass bottle crack?

re: decoding the tears
I seriously cannot differentiate all the cries. When she cries, I check to see if it's time for feeding. If not, check diapers. If not, carry around. Heh...

Sassy, QQ,
My precious 5-6 hrs sleep also staggered. I'm lukcy if I managed to get 4hrs of sleep last night...baby kept waking up for feeds and "eh eh eh" nearly whole night. Wonder why sometimes he can sleep for 3-4hrs before next feed but last night he was making noise every 2hrs...sigh. I was so frustrated I asked him "you want to sleep or want to eat??"...haha...going bonkers already.

aiyah, although my hubby help me after work but he only know how to carry him...dunno how to make formula, bath, change diapers, burp, etc...so also not much help lah. I also have to wash and sterilise all his bottles on my own.

mcfluffy,
I also cannot differentiate his cries. But seems like everytime also crying for milk leh?? Sometimes he cries becos he's tired and wants to sleep lah...but that's becos he just had his milk 1 hr ago lah, that's why I know he's proabbly tired...haha.

mylife,
Don't put so much stress on yourself. If really not getting enough sleep then you should seriously consider giving EBM or FM. Mummy needs to be healthy and happy in order to have a healthy and happy baby. Your supply will also be affected if you are not getting enough rest right?

Windy,
I also dunno...but he finishes all the milk I give him every 2.5hrs leh...if it's wind then don't think he will drink so much milk right? During the day he can sleep for 4-5 hrs without milk.

Actually I'm beginning to wonder if it's becos of the aircon. During the day he sleeps in the living room without aircon and I noticed he doesn't make so much "eh eh eh" noise. But at night he doesn't sleep so well. Anyone feels the same way?

I have 2 packets of ‘S’ size pet pet diaper that I selling off at $6.80 per pack, as my darling son can no longer wear it. If you are interested, can you PM me and leave your hp and I will get back to you.

Collection at bishan MRT station or if you are driving can drop by my void deck in bishan?

i'm suffering fm engorgement n down wif slight fever nw. i tink bcos yday i went to remove my stitches n din manage to latch or pump for abt 6hrs... nw i feel so heaty n i tink gotta conscientiously latch or pump to ease engorgement...

may i ask those 2nd time mummies if u con't to suffer fr engorgement after confinement?

Godsent,

If yr fever goes up &amp; dwn and having engorgement, u must go see GP/doc. Past few weeks, i kena fever 3 times at 38.7deg up &amp; dwn, i took panadol &amp; fever subside. But once breast engorged then fever will return. Must pump &amp; massage hard at 3 to 4 hourly to empty breast or till breast turn soft, no longer feel lumpy thingy. Sometimes, it is also due to block ducts that cause engorgement. If fever is consistant, breast is hard, painful, red &amp; swollen, u could have an infection, so best to see GP/doc ASAP. My confinement end this Friday &amp; i am still suffering from engorgement, that's why i intend to stop Bfing &amp; standby pills to stop milk ss.

Godsent,
You will suffer from engorgement if you don't express on a timely basis (confinement or no confinement), even for second time mum.

Next time, must rememeber to bring pump. At hospital / clinic, sure got room for you to express.

blackbatz,
so does it mean that if u gonna bf for say, 6mths, u will continue to suffer fm engorgement for 6 mths if u don't pump out on a timely basis?

steph,
i do feel a lump on left and right of my breast, but when i rub it, it still persistently stays there... the feeling is like a bad blue-black at my breast. how to totally get rid of it? i used hot towel n compress on it, it felt betta but after the hotness at my breast cools off, i can kinda feel the lump again... so v xin ku...

lynn

im 3 yrs ur junior.

yvonne

i do get frustrated at times too... esp in the middle of the night when bb keeps crying. well, i think we do not have any choice but to hope and pray that our bb sleeps thru the night soon.

<font color="ff6000">hi mummies,

can i check if any one has introduce baby (less than one month old) powder for baby's armpit &amp; genital areas to keep them dry? My MIL was asking me to put some on baby but PD say not necessary. Which one shld i listen ah? TIA.</font>

steph

it was very popular back in the old days... dun think im gonna intro it to my baby as the powder particles are so fine. dun wish my bb to sniff it while in the process of applying it.

Godsent,
Engorgment will not be so bad as time goes by. 3 months down the road, baby won't latch on so frequently like now.

If you are on full EBM, instead of expressing every 3 hrly, you can extend to expressing every 4 hrly gradully by the time baby is 8 weeks old (cos SS stable liao). You will only feel engorgement if you miss the expression. The engorgement will be very bad if you don't express after 5 / 6 hrs. Stone hard!!

Godsent,
If u feel any stubborn lump, u must massage HARD &amp; use hot towel compress, massage again &amp; compress again, repeat the whole process again &amp; again...i know it's superb tiring so am i. I have been using my hands to squeeze out breast milk until my breast also got blue black, no choice. My pump don't work well for me, cannot empty breast so i have to use hand to squeeze which my massage lady taught me. If hot towel don't work well, use plastic water bottle wif hot water instead. I am using stone that my massage lady recommend, just heat the stone in water for 10mins then compress, it is so much better than bottle &amp; hot towel as it traps heat longer &amp; help to melt the hard lumpy thingy away!

in a fix now. i intend to bring baby out for CNY day 1, 7 Feb to visit relatives since 2 days short of full month. Anyone knows which cake shop delivers on CNY day 1??? Have been calling a few, but all will close on 5 Feb onwards...

nexyanne
yeah, i'm in same predicament as u. i'm going to collect 2 cakes on 5th (Bengawan Solo) to bring for reunion dinner on 6th. 1 for ILs, 1 for my relatives. Individual families i gotto give cake vchrs. Even colleagues also. I wanted to order proper cakes for my colleagues, but over CNY period some may be on extended leave.. skali the cake grow mould liao then they return to offc. *hiak*

re: hot stone melt away lumps
>> what happens is that the heat from towel/ bottle/ stone will cause the milk ducts to open up (like how steam will open your pores during facial?) and when pressure is applied ie massage, the blockage will clear.

mcfluffy
yeah i think gloves is another alternative. but i dun hv... have also wun use. keke. maybe i die young then no need to suffer old age pains.. *hiak*

Steph,

I also suffering from engorgement very frequently. I used the hot stone till i burnt my breast liao the lump is still there. Now i drag my pumping hours so hopefully i will be able to wean off BF!

Btw where did u buy the stop BF pills?