(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mylife,
if you're very tired, den your milk supply will be affected too. Since you think it's already low, why make it worse? Introducing FM will make your baby happier and you can still express it out. I don't think it will affect the supply that much. You get more sleep, more energy, supply should increase!

Hmmm... I think we shouldn't sacrifice our baby's health just because we are TOO concerned with BF.

That's my one cent worth of thought la. Pls don't be offended.

yvonne

lucky you... dh helps u after work. mine dun even know how to change diapers, feed her.

mcfluffy

at least ur bb knows how to give up. mine is quite stubborn and her determination is quite strong... she will cry till someone carries her. in the end whoever cant tahan her crying will carry her.

violetice

have u found ur food warmer? i have one avent food warmer to let go.

Sassy & Yvonne: i"m takin care of bb alone fr next wk onwards.. becos my confinement ends dis sat so my mum gg bac hom and hubby gotta work..

can i ask do u still giv e guests vouchers or cakes wen they come and attend bb 1st mth celebration?

aft planning bb 1st mth celebration, gotta plan someting for my own birthday.. heehee!
anybody birthday in feb too?

Luvv and Icy, ya lor, I remember reading tat the machine can be rented. However when I asked my PD, she says there is no such arrangement available. Else I would have chosen to rent the machine home rather than let baby be hospitalised (while I slept on the sofa bed). It was a very tiring 4d3n for me…and very depressing too…the feeling of being hospitalised is terrible.

Plus $250 for 3 days rental is cheaper than my hospital stay of close to $600.

Verene, I wonder if the effectiveness is due to different machines being used for home vs hospital use?

Poor QQ, sounds so deprived of good food :p

Sassy, when our CL leaves after 28days, we will be taking care of baby ourselves. Am beginning to dread it liao.

Survey: Where u all putting babies after CL leaves? In baby’s room or in masterbedroom? I scared cannot hear baby’s cries if I am sound asleep in masterbedroom. Considering shifting the playpen to masterbedroom.

Mylife, your CL really sounds cannot make it lei. How can she call herself a CL? I have no complaints abt my CL cos she can pacify baby and this allows me to catch up on sleep in the day. She cooks reasonably well – altho I am getting tired of confinement food liao, she sings to baby when bathing her.

However, I am unhappy at how she argue that I have to pay her CNY charge (altho she go home on CNY eve) + I saw her cooking large portions of fish for herself while giving my hubby a small portion.

Gotta close both eyes else I will end up arguing with her which I dare not, cos baby is taken care of by her.

godsent,
really??.. mine healed after i stop letting her latch on... :p so i m a bit phobia to let her latch again cos she is aggressive when she's hungry & worst is she want to be feed every 1 hr & too siong for me... i go for the easier way out..

luvv,
thanks for sharing... i tot must wear the binder like forever... :p but i tot wearing it helps to reduce my 5mths pregnant stomach to 3mths pregnant stomach now??.. not sure is the work of binder or i just started to loose some weight?!?! :p do u still feel body aching??

mylife,
initially i pump every 2hrs using the single electric.. took me 1 hr to squeeze out 100ml... gradually i pump @ 3hrs interval using duo pump for abt 20mins... the supply will gradually increase as i pump. i tried latch on previously but find that she is 4ever hungry & need to feed every hr which i find too tiring than pumping out.. so i give up latching & pump out totally instead so that i can monitor her progress of feed & i can sleep more esp @ nite as she has bad habits of sleepless nite during the 1st wk & keep latching until i tired. think i m a bad example of mummy who dont bother to let bb latch becoz i want to sleep more. :p thanks for your advice.. i haven't bath except wipe with warm water... finally, managed to convince my mum to let me take shower tmr! yipee!!

thanks sassy! cos i forgotton to ask the nurse when i can remove the binder & now weather so hot + i didn't shower for 2 wks liao (smelly & sticky) so causes my skin to itch until i think i need a good body scrub once confinement over... ;)

hammies,
during my girl 1st wk, we saw PD & she told me that due to my bb is big so the max intake is 550ml(ave is 440ml) for 24hrs so depend how many hrs u want to feed then that's the qty to feed. for eg, 70ml for 3 hrs(max) so what i did was i started with the min qty(50ml) & last her for 2hrs only so after each feed then i go & pump.. just keep pumping on every 2hrs to get the flow going & gradually i see an increase! not to worry, the more u pump, the more it comes! everytime i pump, i tell myself that my bb need more milk as she need to eat more to grow! ha... so don't worry, u can call your PD to see what is his/her advice for your bb intake... my bb is now 2 wk & i m monitoring her intake & if she cry for milk earlier than 3hrs then i know 70ml is not sufficient & will adjust the intake accordingly bah.... i also doing trial & error stage.. :p

lynn

nope, i didn't give anything. except for red eggs if they wanna bring back. my bday also in feb, planning to go hk disneyland with my hubby. wat abt u?

prata queen

good luck then... its really not easy to be a SAHM. its takes alot of patience and determination... my bb had been sleeping in her bb cot in our MBR the day she got home. during the daytime, she will be sleeping in her playpen placed in the living room. if you and ur are both light sleepers, i think its ok to put ur bb in his room.

sassy, yvonne u all not alone i m taking care of baby all by myself hsewk oso done by me but i do engage pt maid ... but still milk bottles all these i wash myself, nite i wake up oso my little qq always havoc at nie i oso get abt 5-6hrs of sleep only

sassy: my birthday is 26feb..
now got bb so dont kw how to celebrate, haiz... tink gotta get use to motherhood lifestyle ba..
i went to hk disneyland wif my frz in sept 2006, dont like e place.. becos not much adult rides and lotsa China ppl there dont Q up.. and they like to throw litter ard. maybe now better..

i ordered Melrose cathering for my bb 1st mth, anybody here try b4 their food?
i was tinkin if i order catering for e guests,do i still need to giv them bengawan solo vouchers anot? as a thk u gift..

QQ,
day time i'm also taking care of baby & wash milk bottles. Nite time, MIL take over, bottle feed using FM/EBM.
Little Zander feeding also haywire in the nite. He don't want to sleep, eyes big big, will be fussy & cranky & make the eh eh eh noises when we put him down in playpen or bed. He needs to be carried in order to fall asleep but when we put him down gently in playpen again, he start to make noise again. This whole drama started last week from 9PM to 4AM daily. Now my MIL is so tired due to sleepless nite taking care of bb. I can't sleep well too due to the constant crying, wailing & need to pump 3 hourly...wonder how i can tahan next month when i take care of baby in the nite all by myself
CRAZY liao

can i check who has taken or intend to take the pills "Dostinex" to stop breast milk supply. Any side effects? Will it cause breast to shrink?

mylife,
last week i took 3 bottles essence of chix with Cordyceps = Dong Cong Cao & i do realise a decrease/drop in my milk supply. So, i have stop talking them & now supply is back to normal.

steph

i have taken pills to stop breast milk supply. so far no side effect leh

my bb vomit after i feed him.. is it becos nvr burp him properly...

my MIL comes to stay over for the weekend & saw me washing pump etc. She ask me "not scared meh?" I told her Sgp tap water not as cold as China's freezing well water la. Furthermore, if i dun wash, who's gonna wash? Then behind my back she ask her son my hubby to wash for me so that i dun touch water.
wah, hope she dun find out that i became lazy & shower from tap instd of using herbal water. *hiak*

steph my little qq oso like tat loh ... want to carry and pat to sleep when see she sleep put her on bed she wake up and cry

sassy ya the 5-6 hrs is staggered! very tiring during nooni cant sleep cos dun have the habit

wendy sometimes i wonder how if we dun do who will loh ... my mil never cake abt me touching water anot wor ....

i just pissed whenever she call my girl boy!

prata queen,
my PD did say that doing the phototherapthy at the hospital will bring down jaundice faster then renting the machine. He also warn us that if the jaundice level went up, got to admit my girl that time also. Lucky it went down thereafter.

Superbee,
i'm not sure can we wear the binder still, i'm wondering if it will delay the healing of the internal stitches.

I'm wondering can we wear tight pants also, anyone knows whether it will affect the healing of the internal stitches?

mylife,
your CL really know what she's paid for or not, getting paid so much yet doing so little..

QQ
why your MIL call her boy? faint!

wendy,
at least your mil nice enough to ask her son to help instead of just talk..

qq
she still dun believe ah? Ask her to bathe your girl everyday then maybe 1 year later she will finally get it.

i hv a fren whose MIL was also hoping for boy. But now hor, her MIL take care of her girl 2+ yrs liao, she grown very attached to her. She say if they hv a 2nd child, please put the baby in infant care coz she still want to take care of the first girl.

prata_queen,

I find that the effectiveness is not due to the photo light device. As my baby always struggle when he lie in the bed light and with the top light over him...the heat...he keep crying after awhile...so heart ache got to carry him in and out the bed...hence he was not utilising the light fully...therefore jaundice level din drop low enough. actually, he needs to be under the light 24 hrs except for feeds and bathe time.

think we all share the fate of sleepless nights...my bb boy is also active at night. need to carry him and pat him to sleep. need to be in deep sleep before I place him in his playpen if not he will wake up and stare about....then later pretend to cry. last night, I din really sleep due to this. until I cannot take it...my hubby wake up at 530am to take over.

cheryl
i din dare to wear binder anymore after removing dressing, coz scared the binder will rub against the wound.. but the massage lady told me should continue to wear, just put a piece of cloth between binder & wound & pull the binder TIGHT so that the cloth dun move.

Hi Steph,

I managed to find the veg which Mdm R mentioned. Wah, went to the Geylang market with my CL and baby this morning. N got a big bag. But the taxi fare (to n fro) cost more than the veg itself. Anyway, I thought no harm trying for my case.

Mdm R also said that she is retiring. So she will not accept new cases from Mar onwards I think, except for those who have already made depost. Next time, her staff will be the one to go the massage. =( Sad for us as I really enjoy her massages. =) I always fall asleep (n even SNORE!) during her body massages! *pai say*

Btw, did u get the stone from her? I am getting 1 piece from her as I found that hot towel cools down really fast =( She said I can use it to ease my hb's tummy wind or muscle ache too. So hopefully she has 1 piece in her shop.

Tmrw is my 5th session with her. She said 5 sessions enough but I told her to add in 2 more for my pure relaxation purpose. =P

Luvv cos all along she think my baby is a boy cos of a shifu's word! siao lang i am gg to tell her off if i heard again she call her boy! so angry! so afraid my gal become tomboy next time.

wendy she bathe her everyday wor!

wow... alotsa pisces mommies here.

lynn

we share the same BDAY!!! how old is ur bb already? since the day we got preggy till we delivered and bring bb home is already not the same anymore...

babe

just finished my massage with aunty helen. she is really good. its worth giving a try.

hi babe,

my baby boy still will search to suckle. He likes pple to carry him to sleep too...will fuss on and off. I decided to stop BM liao.

hi babe

Sorry for my late reply. Was busy pumping and pumping. Worse than an army recruit! *LOL*

The name is called "pen-a-ga". Sorry but don't know the english name. I bought it at the Geylang Market just next to the Paya Lebar Singpost Centre today. My CL went with me and she bought 1 big bag. It looks like wild bushes to me though. =S Anyway, she got it from a malay veg stall. I think u just ask, they will know.

I ate it twice today already. Hmm.. not much effect yet. It taste quite yucky, got a bitter taste =( Also it's not like our normal veg, cook already soft soft. It's like rubber. My CL just stir fry it with ginger slice. This veg is supposed to be very cooling, so my CL cook it with ginger to 'off-set' the coolness.

My SIL called me today. She said eat oats will also help with increasing milk supply. Will start eating it tmrw morning.

QQ ^5 i'm a pisces too! bd on 19 march

sassy,
can the massage reduce the tummy for c-sect mummies like us? Do u wear tight fitting pants?

wendy,
i'm concern about the binder affecting the inner wound, the outer one still can monitor but we won't know about the inner ones, forgot to ask my gynae :p

Hi ladies, interesting to read some similar situations for my baby boy. He also likes to be carried about rather than put down in the baby cot. He can only stay there for a short while then will eh eh eh to be carried! He also tends to doze off easily when pp carry him and walk ard....

I think I also quite agree with McFluffy...I think that we also need to get enough rest at the end of the day to look after bb and perhaps get sufficient ss. I think I'm doing the same as McFluffy..I let bb drink FM for one feed at night when he wakes around the 2am - 3am plus timing. MIl feed. Actually I admit I've not been that hardworking..I did not really get up to pump even though we feed him FM. I might do it when I feel less tired...at least it takes shorter time than feeding bb!

But today I seem to feel a bit more let down when feeding him. Perhaps there is a slight improvement in my bm supply bah. But I still can't pump much if I latch him on the whole day...sigh..I keep wondering when maternity leave over and go back to work, not sure to wat extent I can sustain bf....

AhCapp, the massage lady of mine also mentioned something about eating oats too to increase supply. She said her daughter in law eats it last time or something...hmm...I've yet to try. What brand of oats did you get btw?

hammies,

I only have Quaker instant oats right now. My HB drinks it with Milo every morning. Maybe he should take over the breastfeeding! *LOL*

Anyway, My SIL said can also eat oak cakes. I don't know which one though. Quaker also can right I guess?

Hammies,

My boy also likes to be carried around. He will also 'eh eh eh' when we put him down. But sometimes we will not carry him immediately lor. Let him 'eh eh' more first. Or else next time I will be very xiong, carry him ALL the time. =P

luvv

this is only my 2nd session with aunty helen. the overall experience was good and she is also a very nice lady. my neighbour who intro aunty helen to me says tat its very effective, she only started the post natal massage 2 months after the c-sect op. she wore the jamu binder faithfully thru out the night and her tummy is almost flat now.

qq
hey has your MIL ever passed remarks abt u not eating pork?

luvv
erm, if outer wound is ok, i assume inner one should be fine too? If i dun feel pain, then i dun bother. My first time also ma.. gynae said cannot carry anything exceeding 5kg. But when my #1 exceed 5kg i still carry him wor. Until i preg with #2 then i stopped carrying him. Now he's so HEAVY! i think 16kg liaoz. Lagi cannot carry

Ahcapp,
All of them are the same. Think the old wives' tale of not to carry them so often does not hold. Cry until very loud must carry, right? When you think that he is sound asleep, he wil "wah, wah, wah". Sometimes, my 4 yr old will also want me to carry him..

cheryl

normally experienced masseurs says tat c-sect mommies can start post natal massage 2 weeks after delivery. but i guess it depends on individual lah, do you still feel the pain? or you might wanna check with ur gynae first.

<font color="0077aa">hi AhCapp,

yes i bought one stone from her @$8 medium size. It is so much better than hot towel, more lasting as it traps heat longer &amp; helps in engorgement. So, u gonna do 2 more sessions? Did yr tummy gone down eventually?

I am drinking Quaker instant oats every morning this week...Mm...didn't notice any increase in milk supply ley...will monitor.

Yesterday sneak out to Jurong point for haircut, wash &amp; blow...so shiok
then hor hairstylist ask how come my scalp so oily ah &amp; got dandraff?? haha...i say of course la, few days never wash ma (in fact is 1 week)...still confinement period. He laugh it off...&amp; say ok understand &amp; me so paiseh.</font>

My baby right eye keeps on having yellowish discharge. Today is the fifth day already. Last thur nite has brought him see doc already, still the same.

Steph,
You are so funny..I'm going for rebonding tomorrow. My mum was asking me why I still wash my hair today, might as well wait till tomorrow. I told her haven't washed since Saturday, too oily not so nice.

hihi, mummies.

My BB also eh eh eh and wants to be carried. She will latch on and suckle for a while then release and start searching again with her mouth wide open again. Put the nipple in her mouth, she will still continue searching, then end up frustrating herself &amp; cry. Then got to wait for her to calm down so that can latch her on again. Each BF session takes 45mins - 1 hr as a result. Really tiring. Sigh.

Had my first session of massage by Grace today. Very good, no complaints. The only thing is that after that she asked me to get my CL to wash the binder so that can use on Day 3. She brought 1 extra for tom's session. My Cl not very happy cos the binder so long difficult to hang, very tedious. Think will have to ask her to bring back to wash tom.