(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

qq: ouch! sounds painful eh.. now i onli fear i need to go tru c-section to get bb out.. sighs.. reali pray tht she will come out naturally.

TG:i am due nex mon, tht means i must wait for another week? but now i am leaking water/discharge , dunno if it is norm

kel, did you call your doctor to ask? Supposedly if leak water and then soak 1 sanitary pad will warrant some attention right? No bleeding right? Any 24 hour number to call?

I also due next Monday, but doc will only see me on Tuesday. So far, nothing seems to be happening. But my doc said, after he see me on Tues if by then baby still not ready, then I can last 1 more week, if bb is still growing well inside. Then if really by the 41st week, still no signs of her wanting to come, then we will choose a date to try and induce. But I am crossing my fingers and hoping that will not tahan till then, coz I also quite fear later induce not successful then got to go for c-section.

angelsky: i intend to monitor another day before i call her.

my appt also on tuesday, if cervix still nt dilated, i guess i will also wait n induce...
me too, reali fear if induce not successult , must c-section.. so stress men.
praying hard for the both us to deliver our babies safely..

hi AhCapp,

Mdm advise to wear the binder for 6hours. After that can remove unless u have the massage in e late afternoon or evening, then u can wear it overnite bah. The Veg is called "pengaga" to increase BM production. Not sure where to buy, u can sms Mdm & check with her. Did u buy the hot stone from her to help engorgement. Very effective, better than hot towel.

Monitor, if really you dont feel right, then better call her k
SOmetimes better to be kiasu a bit.

Was already telling my hubbie, to mentally prepare that I may end up c-section, for me, as long as bb is safe and healthy, I am okie.

Keep me posted k on your progress? At least you seem to be having some signs, my ger ger still quite comfortable inside. Her position dont to seem to have change much. But it hurts very badly, when I need to get up every time from bed.

Hi mummies, I am from the Feb thread, will be due on 22nd Feb, I would like to ask for some contacts of postnatal massage ladies that you have personally tried and liked. Can kindly PM me when you are free? I would really appreciate it tons.

Also, are there any C-sect mummies around who are doing postnatal massage? How long after your C-S is safe to start massage?

Berry,
I'm a c-section mummy but never do any massage. I put on 12-13kg and gave birth on 9 Jan. Now left with 3-4kg to lose. I just wear the binder given by my gynae and intend to start my abdominal exercises after CNY. The main problem will be the flabby tummy...

Kel/Angelsky/Jeslyn/Coconutz

I'm also here waiting, like u all. So we still have each other for company

Kel, if you are really leaking water, then u got to get admitted liao. Did u ask your gynae abt it?

I also got show, pink discharge for 3 days this week, then subsequently little discharge, don't think it's my water leaking yet. So still waiting, while having irregular contractions. But not very painful, so don't think are real contractions leh.

Windy,
This morning he was super cranky and was cluster-feeding. When he finally slept at 10am, it went on for more than 5 hrs! I had to "disturb" him and make him wake up for his feed at 3.30pm. How I wish he could sleep like that at night...haha.

Babe,
I'm not bf...think I'm the only one who is giving FM. Really peifu all the mummies who are bf especially when I read about all the bf problems you encounter.

C-section mummies,
How long did your lochia last? My flow was very light during the first 2 weeks but these few days i noticed more blood clogs and flow getting slightly heavier...but still only need to use 1 pad per day lah.

hi yvonne,

wats cluster-feeding? means keep putting bb at breasts huh? keep letting bb suckle is good ah... increase supply, yes? hee
u must b exhausted... rest well tonite! hopefully bb cooperates.

Sassy
<font color="0077aa">Yep! Just came back not long ago. My hubby told me he saw you and your lovely gal! How was your shopping???</font>

blackbatz,
i dunno leh, the pd recommended feeding her preemie formula while she was in hospital to boost up her weight...cos if her weight didn't get up to 2kg they couldn't discharge her...seems like it worked though cos there was another <2kg bb who was there the same time as my daughter and she was under another pd who fed her bm, in the end when my daughter was discharged the other bb was still there...

prata queen,

currently i'm freezing my EBM in a combination of glass bottles which i got from the hospital and milk bags....no choice had to use milkbag cos was running out of bottles. now if my daughter has finished one bottle then i'll use it for the next expression, if not backup is milk bag...i'm using the brand blue which is a korean brand, much cheaper than the other brands...

Luvv,
I din sleep much in the day too. Somehow like very busy, pumping take 1-1.5hrs, then lunch &amp; dinner and etc.. Only managed to sleep 2-3 hrs if lucky.Hopefully by pumping every 5 hrs, i can get to sleep.

Babe and Luvv,
Yah, I think I get thinner very fast because of no sleep and very tiring. Mil and hb says I look very pale and start to have cough already. I dun have much appetite, are we suppose to have breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner and supper during confinement?

Sassy,
I think i having the sicky look just over 6 days. I dun mind slimming down, but hope that my backside will slim more, i still have a tummy which looks like 4-5 months.

Joyce,
I also wanna know who is ur PD in Mt E. I am seeing Dr Lee at Level 11.

Steph77, I also keep having to watch the clock &amp; pump. Really tiring &amp; stressful. I don't have fantastic supply but I feel very stressed over how much I expressed. But, I do share your frustration. :/ As long as you tried, it's ok. Nothing wrong with FM, I also allowed my BB to take FM when I can't BF. Already pumped 6 bottles today, really feel like an overworked cow.

Told hubby I feel down and stressed and need a piece of my old life back if not I'll go bonkers. So he suggested that I express &amp; bottle feed so that anyone can do it. Still considering it. Not sure if it means my BB will never latch on again if I bottle feed due to nipple confusion. Anyone doing both bottle feed &amp; latch on?

Kel, poor thing. Wasted your leave waiting. Leaking fluid better go check with gynae. My cousin also had that for her no. 2, end up doctor asked her to induce cos cervix hardly dilated (less than 1 cm), afraid of infection as water bag already leaking.

Sassy, ya lor. My gynae also teased me, she said I'm the first one to comb hair in delivery suite. Haha, I was thinking of having a nice photo mah for my blog &amp; forum mah. :p

Who else is still waiting besides Kel &amp; Angelsky?

Steph, I also think it's a pity you are not bf after confinement, but I guess nvm, health matters more. In fact for myself, I'm thinking I may not be able to continue after my maternity leave over. Already right now expressing milk I don't see it as a lot. Can only get a lot if I happen to not let bb latch on for 1 feeding. So I may have to eventually switch to more FM from the current 1 night feeding of FM.

Kitsune, I'm doing both bottle feed and latch on. But so far I only give bottle feed for FM once per day. The rest of the time I let bb latch on. So far he seems ok, not a big issue on nipple confusion leh. He still suckle fairly well when latched on.

violetice

i didn't buy much stuff... actually planned to shop for CNY clothes but i guess its a NO NO on weekends and with the bb pram. bb ian looks like ur hubby. wat abt you? bought anything?

icy

eat more "BU" stuff during your confinement.

Thanks, hammies. Ya, I've been asking the nurses to cup feed my EBM while in hosp. They also supplement with cup feed FM. But they also told me cup feed tend to have wastage cos some liquid is always lost in the process. :/

Hope my SS will get better next week then maybe I can pump out more and get CL or hubby to bottle feed. So far, only 55ml for 2 breasts combined. :p

Oh ya, I'm still having the stinging pain 5 days after delivery, is that normal? Anyone else has the same problem? The physiotherapist ask me to use ice pack but my CL also help me prepare salt solution to soak/disinfect and reduce swelling. Don't know which way is correct?

mummies.. dun need to stress over amt of bm.. for my #1 i was stress oso but i overcm it n substitute wif fm.. nw see my kid grow big n healthy..
nw i'm lucky tat i still have enough to feed my #2 bm..
it's perfectly fine to feed bb with fm.. coz fm provides the neccessary nutrients for bb.. feeding bm is juz a bonus..
being stress will nt help with let down n bm supply.. so y worry so much.. be happy n relax to encourage let down..
cheers!

kitsune.. i doing both latch on n bottle feeding..
nw i latch on during the day n pump after alternate feeds..tat means after 2 feeds then pump once..
at night nanny bottle feed ebm..
it's good to get bb get used to both ways early so they can be more adaptive.. coz we cannot always be there to latch him on ma..
it's gd tat bb learn to take bottle (smone else feeding him), yet nt forgetting how to latch on mummy when we let him experience both ays of feeding..

hi prata queen

Dr Ho also know that my baby is on TBF and aft a checkup which shows jaundice level is 211 when bb is 1 wk, she instructed nurse to call me to inform to alternate bm n fm...but my bb dun wan to drink fm, kept vomittin or fr bottle..so i stick back to bm...

then she advised me to give soy formula which i did not...she din tell me that tbf baby jaundice will take longer to recover...i recall nurse fonnie at ES hospital said that jus to ensure baby drinks enough milk and bm is still recommended even though bb havin jaundice...

she only commented not to eat too much ginger and to avoid alcohol only during my confinement
my baby turns 6wks on fri...

may i know what was the jaundice level when dr ho request u to admit ur bb?

steph - it's me! i agree that your health comes first as it is very taxing on you...btw, my gynae did advise before that if i intend to stop bfeeding, do not empty breasts completely...just express out lesser than usual during each express time to send signal to brain to stop producin that much...

I also kena several time blocked ducts and fever when i was bfeedin my elder one...really very xin ku one...

Sassy
<font color="aa00aa">Actually never buy anything at Ngee Ann City but bought managed to buy a nursing dress and nursing blouse from Delfi Orchard. Convenient to breastfeed during CNY lor. Haha. Baby looked like my hubby ar? Actually, quite wasted to shave his hair off, now botak, not so nice. =(</font>

Thanks, rachel. How often do you latch on your BB? Still got enough to pump after alternate feeds? How much EBM do you get now combined breasts? I only have 55ml so far. Don't know if I'll have enough to latch on &amp; express at the same time.

violetice

regretted going to taka.. so crowded and yet went home empty handed.
dun worry la... after u shave they should grow very fast.

qq: dr heng suggest tht i wait till nex appt on tue to decide.

kitsune: did ur cousin manage to deliver bb naturally when she was induced? or c-section

Rachel, how much do u get if pump after feed? Now I getting only 10-20ml, where got enuf to feed ebm at night.

Hiaz..my bb dunno wat happen, keep waking hrly from 2am. Latch 1h, sllep 1h n the cycle goes on till 6plus..tiring...

Steph,

How much does the stone cost?

Mdm said I only need 5 sessions as my tummy not very big. DOn't know happy or sad as I quite enjoy her massage. =P

Btw, I wore the binder over night and only took out this morning. But today is bathing day (hooray!), can only stick to 6hrs. =P

Cheryl, yes 2nd day after the c section, they will ask you to come down to walk.

Right now my tummy has flatten but the tights and hips are still big.

Kel, angelsky, terrier,

I am in the same boat as you gals.. waiting as well. My edd is today but also no signs of baby coming out. Have experienced some hardening of tummy but not regular so I think it’s not the real labor contractions. I went to see gynae yesterday and I am 3cm dilated. Nevertheless, I have booked to be induced on Wednesday if baby don’t come out by then.

Like terrier, me too had a bit of brownish discharge but gynae told me it is fine as usually after cervix check, will have some discharge. I am monitoring it.. as long as not fresh blood like menses flow kind I think should still be fine.

Kel, I also wasted 1 week of ML already but I just use the time to nua and rest more coz from the posts I see… we will have no rest and energy once baby is here. Why do you wanna go back to work?

Let’s just keep praying that all of us will have a smooth delivery

Just to check mummies, how are all of you going to bf your babies when you are outside? Using sarong slings or look for nursing rooms?

Normally nursing rooms are always very packed. I have one sarong sling, first time using. When do you start using the sarong sling?

Steph, I haf no ginger in my food liao. Even then, her jaundice nebber go away.

QQ, just take note tat we need to do PAP smear 6 wks later lor… maybe u can ask her.

Not easy for u to take care of baby yourself. Even with my CL, I still feel very tired in the daytime cos I TBF her at night. If I give FM, I dun need to wake up at night. But I still choose to TBF her lah.

Kel, Dr Heng got do a bit of cutting with scissors, I dun think she will remove them totally.

Grumpus, me using Playtex. So far so good lah.

Naf, my baby jaundice level was 268->247->233->196 (hospitalised 4d3n) then at next Dr Ho review, it went up to 218 again. So this Thurdsay gotta see Dr Ho again.

hi Blackbatz,

reply to yr question : "Aft 1 massage, tummy will go down alot?"
It depend on individual skin elasticity but mine took 3 massage+binder to see tummy really gone down, cannot expect to be flat la, still flabby &amp; loose but eventually it will slowly firm up if we do some exercise

AhCapp,
the stone (medium size) cost $8.00
They come in different sizes, check with mdm.

maureen, can start using sarong sling to bf. Otherwise, u can get a nursing bib/cape/shawl. It's like a huge baby bib to cover ur front when nursing. Cheapest is use a nappy throw over bb and nurse.

any mommies or ur frens here have medela pis to loan for a mth or two? Juz the motor n tubings coz trying to half the time to pump to increase supply. Currently having a single pump n takes like ages to pump out. So tiring trying to latch n pump...Thks...

on hand i have:

1 box BN Avent breast pads (washable) 6pcs - $18.70

1 box BN Avent breast shell - $30.10

2 BN box (24pcs)and 1 open box (22pcs) of lucky baby disposable breast pad - $10

all items giving away 20% off.
i also have those glass bottles from the hopital to give away if mummies can get all these items from me, can pick them up together.

To kel: "am due nex mon, tht means i must wait for another week? but now i am leaking water/discharge , dunno if it is norm".

Same case here also... have lots of water/discharge on 1 Jan 2008, lots of water and doesn't smell like urine... went to TMC and check. Dr. Caroline gave perform an amnicator [1] test to confirm whether it's just discharge or is it amniotic fluid. Was surprised that the reliable amnicator detected negative.

For our case, actual water bag only burst when baby Tania came out (ie. post 10cm dilation), on the 7 Jan 2008.

For your case, best to go back to check with your gynae to perform the test to confirm if it's just discharge or amn. fluid.

Reference
[1] http://www.amnicator.com/

Babe,
I had the same problem as you. My bb would start is consistent feeding from 1pm.. non-stop too. Yesterday I tried feed with EBM, his usual day intake is 50ml, I had to feed with 100ml - first 50ml, then 20ml then 30ml over 2 hrs and he still seemed hungry!! I refuse to feed him anymore as it was too much. Then I let hb carry him, and it seemed better and finally he fall asleep in hb's arms. Seemed like he smell me like a food and could constantly want to nurse if I carry him.

Anyway this morning, he vomited milk. I guess too much feeding at that period.

RE:EBM
How to know the breast is empty? How long does you take normally to empty 1 breast, using manual pump.

Windy,
<font color="aa00aa">Nothing to be envious lah, I also sneaked out during confinement. lol</font>

<font color="aa00aa">I found a babysitter for my baby, will be trying her out for 1 week, starting tomorrow. Am happy after sourcing can finally found one suitable but a bit "she bu de" also. Sighz</font>

I have a le blooming chic voucher (maternity &amp; nursing wear shop at delfi orchard) to let go. value at $60. going on sale for $50.

anyone interested can let me know.