(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Windy,
Haha, my gal is cute only when she doesn’t cry. When she starts crying and I’ve done everything to check what’s wrong and nothing helps, I feel like crying too. Hmm I don’t think it was sister kang who came to see me but another sister. I forgot her name liao. Too many people entering the room to check on me.

Mylife,
I’m glad I decided to feed water and FM. But you use what to feed? I’m currently using a small syringe to feed water. Have not fed FM myself yet. I expect to be in a mess tonight. The lactation consultation who came to see me also said my bb latches on very well and good at suckling. Hah, I hope she’s not bluffing me! I also dutifully put on nipple cream after each feed. Hehe, and about her eyes, I think it looks smaller today coz her face looks quite “pong”.

Icy,
When did your BM supply come? I seem to see some BM liao but dunno if it’s enough for the girl. Keep letting her drink water when she cries. Hee, thanks for the compliment for looking Eurasian. She actually don’t look like me or her dad. Lolz..

Michelle,
Guess I was initially too inflexible to change. I actually didn’t want to introduce anything and just let baby cry. Luckily my gynae gave me a lecture and today, I read from all of you that you are also supplying water and FM. I’m SO RELIEVED!!!!!!

My poor hubby is falling sick from the sleepless nights and cold air-conditioned room. Haiz.. got a crying baby and a sick hubby!! Luckily got my mum's help.. otherwise, I'll go crazy. And also luckily got this forum.. got people to listen to me whine. hehe

sassy, i also tink so. Imagine drinking coca-cola during confinement? Actually I'm grateful just to be able to bathe and wash my hair daily. Me easily contented, dun request for too much *haha*

Hi mummies...this fenugreek supplement..where did you all buy from? GNC? Guardian? Those of you who took it, really got any effect??

Michelle, I think you were commenting to pump every 3 hourly...just to increase ss is it? Not necessarily that each pump is alot? I'm again wondering abt my ss lor. The thing is, bb these few days if dun sleep in the afternoon, tend to feed more often. Can be 2 hrly..or 3 hrly depending. I find it hard to express bm in between! Any suggestion what might be a good way? I've been told to do it right after bb finish...if I do it in between the feeds, is that workable?

Verene,
Fenugeek from GNC costs abt $26 per bottle - take one/two a day.
My gynae also gave me some med to try but it causes drowsiness - which isn't such a good thing coz we are already so short of sleep.

Just now just pump 30ml.... :eek:(((

Ask you ladies,
confinement 28 days is counted from the 1st day of delivery or the 1st day when we return home?

Hi itok,

Fern is trying to contact u. She will like to have your mobible no. Pls kindly email or msn me at [email protected]. I can give her mobile to u so that u can sms her too.

Thank you. =)

Hi All, thanks for all your greeting.

I have been in out in out of hospital, feel so tired.. My baby Deon was admitted due to Jaundice. only discharged yesterday and last night whole night keep on farting, crying, pooing and refuse to drink bf.

Mei, Kindly update for me when u free..

Deon
19 Jan 08
Natural w/o epi

Btw, Fern have popped on 21st Jan 2008 natural with epi.

AhCapp,
Fern accidentaly sent the sms to me, haven't see itok posting today and she's not on msn, has she delivered?

wow prata_queen shetold u all these hahaha she was trying to wake my baby up jus now cos she is sleeping soundly. Got the milk sample from them heehee .... and i have my hep b jab there jus Now .... stitches removed she say very nice ... no need to worried .... gg to see her on 25 feb again

Luvv, u asking in the context of confinement lady or your own confinement period?

If its confinement lady, it starts from the day she comes to your house.

AhCapp and Luvv, i just msn itok yesterday. She hasn't popped as of yesterday.

Joyce, I am in the same shoes as you! My baby was also re-hospitalised for jaundice for 4D3N after we were discharged 2 days after delivery.

is your baby Deon on TBF? I dunno if i should introduce FM and water. My PD only advised me to feed baby with more fluids but didn't ask me to switch to FM so I continue TBF.

wow, u delivered natural without epi! i tahan < 10 contractions then give in and asked for epi liao.

QQ, you brought your baby to see Dr Heng? I went alone on Monday cos too mafan to bring baby out.

Good tat u got the milk sample - 1 big tin lei haha.

She didn't give me any Hep B jab lei.

How come your next appt is 25 Feb? Mine is early March... next appt is for PAP smear rite? supposed to be 6 wks later?

I had to introduce back FM to my BB X because he seemed to be on the cluster feed for yesterday night and just now. Every 2 hrs need to feed. No choice, went teary for a while because I feel like a lousy mummy w/o having enough milk for my BB.

Yvonne and Babyling,
You mentioned cluster feed. Do u know what caused this?

Mcfluffy,
My BM only came like 4th day.. May consider like 72+ hrs later since I delivered at night.

RE: Milk Pumping
I tried pumping every 3 hrs today.. Why does my supply get lower and lower after 3x? Could it due to over-pumping, cos my nipple bleed and sore from all the pumping again and the blood cot on my nipple.

I am still here- over over! hahaha.. i have not been logging on msn continuously as I am on leave as compared to last time working, so on MSN whole day.

No, I haven't popped yet- still waiting. Congrats to all the mummies who have delivered recently!

prata queen,
i'm asking in context of my own confinement, wonder when i should stopped using the herbs to bath.

Prata_queen ya baby nobody look after .... so bring her along abit ma fun haha next appt oso have to bring her. She never mention anything abt pap smear leh ....

i did have hep B jab so she ask me wanna jab there so i anything loh ....

ya friso one big tin .... somemore got one so call goodie bag did u have tat >?

my baby refuse to burp leh ... and everytime she hungry ask for milk ... when i fed her a few times no burp ... awhile lata she will vommit out ...
whenever i pat her she will fall asleep .... how? i am gg crazy liao

QQ,
maybe you hold her upright for about 10-15 mins after you try to burp her? Sometimes my girl refuse to burp also, i try to hold her upright for a while before putting her down, she don't vomit that way.

Argghhhh... today is the third day already and my mum still doesn't allow me to bathe!!!!!! I think I'm the smelliest woman on earth.

For those who practice the not bathing rule or bathe once every two/three days, do you all still wash down there? I scared got infection even though I clean with the lotion that doc gave me after every trip to the toilet.

mcfluffy
i rad that your baby will love your smell, it's how they recognise their mommies...the book actually wrote, your bb will actually be appreciative of your sweaty smell when u dont wash up...haha

mylife,
oh my goodness, the sweaty smell?!!

anyway, how you all feed FM? spoon? bottle? syringe? going to feed her FM for the first time tonight.. wonder how it'll go. Feeling sleepy already.

QQ
my baby also got vomit problem...i brought her to PD, he said she got trapped wind and gave me RidWind to feed her 4times a day and now her vomit has subsided a fair bit..

i was also tol cud be the things i eat cos we bf-ing ma...

luvv i tied no use leh

mylife i am oso wondering is it she got phelgm wor ... tats why difficult to burp ..... she is perfectly ok then after she lie down a while she vomit ... become smelly le and she poo very frequently

I just popped on 22 Jan. Will update my birth story later.

Mei: Do update for me when u are free. Thanks!

Fayvl 2.73kg
Natural with epi

I randomly read all the past posts. Looks like i'm not the only one who is having problem with breastfeeding. I only discharged yesterday and already feel so stressed and bad for not giving enough BM to my bb. On the day of delivery, I already asked the nurse to feed bb with FM coz i'm too weak to let bb latch on me. Cried these 2 nites coz feel so helpless as i hv difficulty latching on and have sore nipples.

Today I finally managed to see some little BM but very little by expressing. My sore breasts already so hard and painful. I think it's engorgement. Is there anyway to relieve the pain? Thanks!

Here's my birth story on 20th Jan 2008.

The Big Day!
- 5am suspected water bag broken, continued to monitor and confirm before going to hospital.
- 520am first contraction, the contractions were in 20 mins interval
- 615am 2nd uncontrolled water flow, confirmed water bag broken
- 730am Admit reached hospital
- 815am 2cm dilation checked by nurse
- 830am still 2cm dilation checked by doctor
- 930am drip pencillin and syntocinon
- 130pm 3cm dilation, way too slow. Doctor advised epidural as this would make me relax so baby could come down and increase dilation.
- 2pm epidural inserted
- 330pm 4.5cm dilation
- 5pm 7cm dilation, BB head lowered a bit but still high, might need caserian if head does not come down.
- 610pm full dilation!!
- 640pm EMERGENCY.. blood pressure dropped to 60/30mmHg. Put on oxygen
- 730pm doctor arrive, BB head was still high. Last hr before deciding to C-sec
- 1 doctor, 3 nurses, 1 hubby held on to me and cheered for me to push harder! Doctor used hand to pull the baby, 1 nurse pushed my tummy to help baby come down. 2 nurses held each of my legs back and hubby support my head. I already start crying and pushing at the same time, epidural not working much anymore.
- 8pm doctor decided to use vacuum
- Finally Xavier's first cry was heard!!

Daddy and mommy burst ino tears of happiness.

hi prata queen
I am from Dec 07 thread and happen to read that we are sharing same pd...

Can i check whether dr ho advise you to alternate bmilk with fm? my 6 wks old boy still havin slight jaundice...nurse said no need to sun aft 1 month liao...next checkup in 2 wks time for hep b jab will see whether still got jaundice but scare bb will kena poked again...

icy, your birth story really touching and dramatic. Can imagine the scenerio in the delivery ward

itok, me also still handing around, 3 more days and I am officially overdue already. Me EDD 28, but only going to see doc on the 29
I think now my hubbie more gan cheong than me.

Since I am messenging at this time, can tell I cant really sleep very well now. Good training when bb comes, when need to wake up for BF. I figure I will wake her up, rather than she wake me up. Her bed just next to me. kekeke.

haha windy,

same timing again...kekeke
haiz now stressing over milk ss....cos baby currently on full EBM and she's starting to guzzle all my freezer supplies already...worried cannot keep up my supply for long if she still not able to latch

mcfluffy,

i did not bath for the 1st wk after i delivered!! but hor every morn when i go toilet to brush teeth i will secretly use a small wash cloth to do a quick wash of armpits and down there...cannot tahan the smell ah!! keke

Hi angelsky,

Dun worry...u are not alone. I am still here too, my EDD is 1st Feb and already wasted 1 week of my ML...seeing so many mummies already popped...so envy. How I wish my baby can give my some signs when he popped.

Today going to see gynae to check if any dilation...pray hard there is so that dun have to wait too long.

I have reading Jan '08 for quite sometime, it seem like every mum have popped..today is my edd 26 jan, feel quite dishearted and sad..
Have been having some cramps at nitez which only lasted an hr plus previously a few times but all false alarm...I think Im left with no choice but to induce or c-sect(cos baby reaching 4kg liao)
The waiting game is really torturing..haiz..Hope all waiting mum will pop soon...Good Luck!

hi grumpus,

hee hee hee.. i like this timing, cos i'm the early to bed early to rise kind, hb is the opposite, so i guess u'll be seeing me at this time belt for a looong loooong time...

why bb not able to latch? dont stress k.. slow n steady! grumpus baby, u be a good girl k... guai lah... u guai the CNY got many ang baos wan u know

1 week no shower i think i cannot. i tahan 4 days, then cry big time in front of hb, beg him to tell him mom tat if i dun bathe, i will die wan.. he told his mom, but these days i still won't purposely shower in front of her lah, i on the sly shower in the morning lor.. dun wanna go against the old lady head on ah.

2 more weeks.....and this torture camp of no-shower-eat-ginger-drink-oil will be over!

blackbatz,
she is going to let me bathe TODAY! YIPEE!!!!!!!

icy,
eh..I was also on oxygen leh but I dunno due to what. I only know I almost lost consciousness and baby's heartbeat was seriously dipping as my contractions peaked. I thought I was going to die... it's so scary!

angelsky,
hehe you'll be like me lor. Yesterday was my first night at home with my gal and i realised why i had been waking up in the middle of the night previously, not getting to sleep. To prepare myself for my gal! Yest night I awoke at around 1+pm to wait for my gal to wake up to drink milk.. but she only woke up at 330am.. and since her bed is beside mine, any slight noise alerts me to her! so i think you'll be like me..a little of noise u know what is happening.

grumpus,
when i was in the hospital, i at least did a quick cleaning of my body with a hot damp cloth! at least not so smelly. but the hair is so oily and eeeks!

Hello everybody!!! Good morning!

I'm still trying to read all the posts for the past days... so much to catch up and informative cos so many of the mummies here are moms earlier den me so i get lotsa info on bm, ebm, soothing crying bbs, taking care, etc, etc...

today is my day 6 as a Mother... i missed my gal as i sent her in to TMC for phototherapy cos her jaundice level was 1.1pt exceeded the "OK" range... whole day was so bz cos gotta feed her, bring her down to the pd in the morning, den afternoon pd called to admit her immediately.. rushed thru lunch, brot her to TMC stayed til 5.30pm, came back slept cos so so so tired, gotta pump out, had dnr at 10plus den gotta pump out again at 1am... my god!!! it's really nightmarish... and now i missed her eh eh eh...

<font color="ff0000">anyhow, i'm gonna post her pix here first (day 3).. post again after i finiz reading and catch up...</font>

1220932.jpg

mcfluffy,

yah lor!! the hair is the worse! i tahan one wk already even my CL see also think gross. my FIL actually tot i had showered cos my hair got the perpetual 'wet look' haha....maybe can try dry shampoo?? my sis says very good..

windy,
u are lucky lor that yr MIL is the one doing yr confinement at least u can ask hubby to intercept...my own mother is telling my CL not to let me bath so often...wahhhh...and of cos hubby is not going to intercept for me lor...

bb was in hospital for a wk cos of low birth weight, she was bottle fed during her time there...so now she has to learn how to latch from scratch lor...somemore i still need to top up from bottle cos need to ensure she gets enuff to keep her weight up...

Need yr advice... i have been experiencing persistent lower back pain, menstrual like cramps and keep having the urge to poo...is it contraction? called the hospital and they asked me to go in and check but i dun wanna be a false alarm. do the mummies experience sucah sensations when u are in labour? or it it true that the whole tummy will be painful during contractions? so far, my tummy is ok le...

Hi Coconutz,better go hospital to have a check. They will do CTG for you to see the contraction.

Just to check how much can you get if you nurse or expressed 3 hrly? So far now my baby is 2 weeks old. I only get 60-70 ml each time after expressing. If take fish bones soup must take continuously for how many days to see the increase?

Prata queen, yes Deon is on TBF. According to Pd do not intro water or FM to baby. cos baby will confuse and was advised to give him more milk... so no matter how tired will bf him.

my birth story as below.

18Jan08

4.30pm: waiting for admission

5plus: was brought to delivery suite to change up, clear bowel and on monitor... was already having every 5-7mins interval contraction but no pain just tightening

6.30pm: on drip cos was induce. contraction every 3-5mins interval still no pain just tightening

8.30pm: Gynae came and burst waterbag. 2cm dilated.

9.45pm: Pain getting worst but still bearable. 3-4cm dilated.

19Jan08
12am: Can't tahan the pain ask for painkiller and was asked to use the gas mask when contraction come. 7cm dilated.

2am: Wah wah....Baby arrival.

1221017.jpg

Grumpus,
I'm puzzled that your daughter was given FM during her stay at the hospital. Thot nornally for low birth weight, they will prefer BM to be fed to the babies?

Mcfluffy,
Enjoy your shower..It's getting hotter and I'm really counting down to the end of my confinement.

<font color="ff0000">Nipple Confusion</font>
Any idea how BB will behave due to nipple confusion?

Luvv, if referring to your own confinement, should be counting from day of delivery bah? My guess only.

QQ, why no one look after your dd? Your MIL doing confinement for u rite? I try not to bring my dd out of the house too often unless its for PD checkup.

Regarding PAP smear, that is the purpose of your next appt in late Feb rite? Otherwise, do we need to see Dr Heng again since we already delivered? My 1 March appt is for PAP smear.

Yep, I also got the goodie bag but nothing much one …just brochures and diaper sample.

Regarding burping, my baby also take very long to burp, must keep changing positions to burp her a few times then she will burp. Eg, upright with head on my shoulder, upright sitting on my lap.

Hi Naf! Glad to find a mommy with the same PD. U referring to Dr Ho KL at Tampines right? My baby is Day 16 today, still got jaundice (218) at most recent checkup. She didn’t tell me to alternate FM with BM. She knows baby is on TBF and remarked that this is why the jaundice takes longer to go away.

Did she ask u to supplement with FM? I am tempted to give baby some water cos she says to increase baby’s fluids intake which can mean BM or water or FM.

Baby’s jaundice review seems to be weekly.

How old is your baby?

Grumpus, can I ask u how you freeze your EBM? What brand of milk bags you use? Or hospital glass bottles?

Re: WATER FOR TBF babies
Any mommies give water to their EBF babies? I wanna increase fluids for baby to lower jaundice. Dunno if it would cause baby to demand less milk if I give her water.

Godsent! When my PD nurse called to tell me to hospitalise my baby immed, I teared in the car cos I didn’t know I can stay over. Then reach hospital, I decided to room in with her (I sleep sofa bed). I can imagine how much you miss her but be brave although it hurts to be separated from your baby.

Joyce, thanks for answering my query on whether to intro water/FM. You delivered at ESH? Your baby’s blanket wrap is familiar.

Windy, so sweet picture