(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

qq, at least ur mil wants u eat..mine say I eat too much...muz b heartpain the money spend on food...

michelle, u pump after latching? How many times a day?

Hi mums,

sori to interrupt. I have got 1 ameda lactaline dual pump for sale. Warranty till Aug 08 with receipt. Used for only a few times. Items in very good condition. Asking $250 (best price) for full set. Pm me if interested.

Have a spare adaptor that can be put in office use for sale. If buy pump, will let go adaptor @ $35. Pm me if interested

Verene,
I delivered last Saturday.

BM really very little.... went to see my gynae today and she was very nice abt it.... said as long as bb is healthy shouldn't get so stress abt bf coz some people really dun have much milk.
:eek:p
Just started taking Fenugreek today hope it works. :eek:(

babe har ..... eat alot .... mine is really like feeding pig one wor ... next time i take photo show u all ....

mei i oso backache ... but i cant stand the oily and messy kitchen I have so i still do hsework ... and baby not cooperative .... she nottie at night me didnt sleep well last night ...

<font color="aa00aa">haiz. #2 is ok. cos' she drink milk then sleep then drink milk then sleep...it's the #1 making me so angry and frustrated. in addition, i am so hot and sticky and dirty!! aiyo, it realli adds on to the fire.</font>

hi MomMe,

how much does Fenugreek cost?

my ss is dropping liao..cos I feed more FM.

thinking how long can I feed BM? mayb only till full month.

anyone experiencing the same as me? the moment i put my bb on the cot, she will start crying...this only happen in the afternoon, frm evening onwards, she is ok ley...
any advice?
i am also experiencing a decrease in milk supply after having fever due to engorgement, hw to increase? btw i am totally on expressing out milk n feed bb via bottles? nw trying to increase the freq of pumping? dunno will help or nt? will fenugreek helps to increase ss?

fenugreek
someone asked me how many mg is the one i took rite? sorry i cant remember leh and i threw away the bottle liao cos finished mah but i think the dosage is the same regardless of brand that u buy

babe
i pump about 2-3 times a day usually when i feel the breast is too full - i pump both after i latch emma on. just finished pumping and i mng to get 120ml fr both breasts combined. so this will go into the freezer!

prata queen
pls DONT throw your ebm away! its so precious n u just throw away like dat? definitely freeze it cos u never know when rainy day u may need it, eg: for some reason u cannot latch bb on (ie medication u r taking etc).

<font color="aa00aa">windy, #1 would purposely throw temper out of no reason, cry over small things, want this = want. tell her nicely she dun listen...urgh...

QQ, i bath daily, with herbs BUT still sticky, hot, frustrated.

btw, have yr all poo since delivery?</font>

QQ
i bathe everyday too, but wash hair every few days

babyling
u can try fenugreek - it works for some but not for others, so the only way to know is to try! anyway just to shar wif u, i also ebm all the way with my #1 and managed to give him 100% BM for 7 mths. the trick is to pump every 3 hrs without fail for the first 6 wks. after that, your ss will be established n u definitely will have enuf milk for ur bb one, so dont give up! and hor, my girl oso like urs. once i put in the cot will cry - and this is usually from 6pm onwards till 12am :p so how? just keep on carrying every time she cry lor! when sleep, put her down, 5 min later cry, then pick her up again... very tiring.

verene
if u r giving more FM, then u will need to pump more often cos this will 'replace' the bb latching on at the breast n tell your brain to produce more BM. if u dun, then your ss definitely will drop one cos your body thinks u dun need to make so much milk mah. u hv to be diligent about pumping if u dun wanna latch bb on lor.

babyling,
My baby also did that last night. Demanded so many feeds....7pm, 9pm, 9.30pm, 11pm and finally at 12.30am. In between the feeds, he will scream and cry when we put him in the cot. Carry him also cry for more milk. I read that some babies will "cluster-feed" at certain time of the day but I also worried whether over-feeding him will cause stomach upset or wind...sigh!

michelle,
Same same, my boy will usually fuss from 6pm to 12am. Can see that he's tired and wants to sleep but yet he will cry when we put him in the cot. And this is after his feed when he's already very drowsy and sleepy...sigh!

Mcfluffy, it is ok to give your baby drink water. If lack of fluid jaundice will go up. Right now I am giving my son water, FM and BM just to bring the jaundice down. Today is the 2nd weeks of his birth liao.

yvonne &amp; michelle,

i worry my bb gt the colic ....i read the posting from dec07, the symptoms that their bb having are quite similar to my bb...

for fenugreek, how long do we nd to take ? when u mentioned ss established, is it referring it is sufficient for bb to drink in the near future? will it encounter some time when the ss is not enuff to meet bb's drinking demand, then is it we need to eat fenugreek again?

i only managed to pump ard 120ml - 160ml for each session if i pump 3 times per day...but this was not sufficient as currently my bb is drinking 80ml...nw worrying not having sufficient milk if same amount of milk expressed out is the same for the future

yvonne
how do u know he's hungry leh? cos so far i keep latching my girl on too, and she will drink, but i think she's too full so after that keep vomitting. the LC said i overfeed that's y they vomit milk, n after that they cannot settle well cos stomach upset fr too much milk :p

babyling
if u r giving 100% ebm, u need to pump much more than 3 times a day. u need to do at least 8 times!
otherwise sure not enuf for bb one. if u girl got colic, even if u carry her she will not stop crying i think. anyway if unsure, bring her to PD to check. most likely they will give u ridwind or smthg to help to get the air out of the tummy...

feugreek, u shd be able to see results after few days i think. again it depends on individual.

ur milk ss will increase as the days go by so dont worry abt not hving enuf! when my son was 3 mths old, i can actually pump out 300ml every 3 hrs fr both sides
just hv to be more hardowkring n pump more often lor

michelle,
My boy will open his mouth big big and suck on his fingers. He will also reject the pacifier if he wants milk and not just suckling. And he really drinks the FM that I give him lor...but he doesn't vomit...does that mean he's really so hungry??

wow.. all the babies here are so cute!
congrats to mcfluffy..

kitsune: u finally delivered liao, so happy for u !
me still in the waiting game. tink my baby will be overdue since edd is onli 3 days away.
gynae suggested i wait after she is overdue before deciding other birth plan.

reali v happy n envious to all the mummies

michelle,

thanks for ur advice....i will try to pump every 3 hrs interval
to sustain or even increase ss for my bb demand

ya lor, ur pumping session normally will last u how long or u pump till emptied breast?

babyling,
I oso worried my boy has colic...but colicky babies will cry non-stop right? My boy will stop crying once we pick him up leh...seems more like Day/Night Reversal and "Cluster-Feeding" to me.

I think most of us are still practicing "feed on demand"...when do you intend to put your babies on a feeding routine eg. 3-4 hourly feeds? Will it help them to sleep better at night?

babyling,
You can start by expressing every 3 hourly now. Should see the results in 2 days. Always empty breast when you pump.

my mom kept insisting for us to buy a yao lan for bb..say yao bb to be calmer..problem is the yao lan these days is not hooked to the ceiling one ma (as in olden days)but comes with the railings...so will occupy alot of space...definitely cannot fit my apt in HK...she face black-black think i dont wan to listen to her...anyone else using or planning to use a yao lan?

hi mylife,

still have yao lan that fix to ceiling...it's just that u need to get someone to drill the hole for u. I got the yaolan frame but had not bought the sarong and electric motor.

yvonne,

if day/night reversal, then still considered better as compared to colic
my bb tends to make a lot of sound during her sleep

Mylife, ic. Since Dr Ong EK is based at TMC, its even further for me compared to ESH.

Hubby dun like the Tampines PD cos my baby cried so hard when they took blood to test for jaundice. In comparison, at ESH, during the same type of blood test, baby didn’t flinch or at most cry a bit only for a short while. Very heartpain to see baby cry until like that.

Mei, QQ, Verene, I started to bathe on alternate days since Day 3, and recently, I have been bathing (washing my hair) every single day :p

Michelle, thanks for the advice. I bought from WTS forum &amp; received the Playtex milkbags today. Will start to freeze my BM. Thanks for reminding me to store it.

Mylife, me anti-yao lan. But Mil keep saying sleep in yao lan, baby head will be nicer. I won’t budge cos I belive yao lan got risk of SIDs.

verene
my apartment in HK is rented one ma...cannot drill hole one.

prataqueen
why is yao lan got risk of SIDs? How so ah? I jus rem reading some disadvantages of yao lan..but jus cannot rem wat...can advise? Me stay in Tampines, same-same la..but i think i will still stick with Dr EK Ong for the time being based on the fact dat i'm moving to HK anyway. Headache gotta find another good pro BF PD there!

Blackbatz,
How long should we normally take to empty the breasts? I normally pump for around 45 mins, but doesn't seem to really empty as in dropless that kind.

babyling,
i'm facing shortage already, like you i pump only 4 times a day, then each time pump around 120ml, now my girl is drinking 120ml every 3 hours, today, she started screaming for milk when it's only 2.5 hours sometimes less.

Verene,
i just changed my PD to the same one as yours, at rivervale mall. The PD is really nice but the queue is so long!!

Michelle,

I intro bottle to my baby after discharged as my CL feeds him FM or EBM at night. I'm also one of the mummies that gave in to pacifier at 3rd week as he's doing comfort sucking and I don't want to sore nipples. At first, he spit it out but then he got used to it pretty well and sleeps well with it.

mylife, SIDs in the sense when baby learns to turn her body, her face may be caught facing downwards and not able to shift left/right eg baby's neck isn't strong enuf.

MY MIL says got a new type of yao lan cloth which has holes, like netting material. Anyhow, I still refuse to let her buy for my baby.

Regarding finding a good PD in HK, is there a HK-based online mummy support group like this forum?

for me I bathe everyday oso w/o herbs my mil didnt even ask me abt bathing ... i always bath in noon time which is the hottest of all ... and after tat quickly come out to blow dry my hair heehee

michelle, ask u, regarding freezing of EBM:-

- accummulate how many ml then freeze? i dunno how much my baby drinks lei.

- can store in fridge for 1 day then transfer to freeezer?

thanks thanks!

QQ, I bathe with herbs but rinse off with water. I also bathe at noon but i nebber blow dry my hair.

Dr Heng ask me why I follow and believe confinement rules. She say she nebber bother, she bathed daily, drank coca-cola, and returned to see her patients 1 wk after delivery.

i just had my 1st session of post natal massage with this indo-chinese masseur introduced by my neighbour. she is very good and would like to recommend her to mommies on this thread. Email me [email protected] if you want her contact.

kitsune

your bb so cute.. you look fabulous! most mommies looked tired after all the labour pain, contractions and pushing.

mcfluffy

your bb is so cute and awake at day 2.