(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

michelle
since u dont intro bottle yet, wat do u do with the ebm? freeze it for future usage? err.how long can it last ah? forgot liao

michelle
u can do that (give pacifier) cos your supply is stabilised, u wouldnt have to worry ma...but for me, i scared i wont be able to tell when she needs and it'll affect my ss. Anyway, wouldnt introducing the pacifier equivalent to intro bottle also ie nipple confusion?

i also SUPER sianz at the feeling of being 'chop carrot'. But it is also partly my fault for not clarifying and stating everything clearly upfront when I met up with her to pay the deposit.

When I met up with her, I had agreed to let her go back on CNY eve and return on CNY 2nd day & still pay her CNY rate because she said that is the standard practice.

The 'unexpected' thing now is that she gave me a BIG HINT that she dun wanna return to my house on CNY 3rd day because that is the 28th day and no point returning since it is just 1 day.

The small consolation I have is that her CNY rate is not super exorbitant. I'm paying her $2,200.

*ANGRY AT BEING CHOPPED CARROT*

michelle,
Its reflux problem. The suckle is for comfort only. Not really becos the bb is hungry. Keep the bb upright/recline position after burping. Dont put the bb on lying on the back.

Hihi, mummies! I'm back at home. Anyone else popped while i was gone?

My birth story:
8am Woke up & felt stomachache, went to poo but only a little bit came out. Constipation. :/
8:20am Left house to go to office
8:25-35am Waiting at the roadside when I felt discharge coming out abut 3 times. Decided to go to office instead of going home to investigate cos I'll be super late for work if it's a false alarm.
8:40am Even more discharge coming out, checked and saw that it's bloody water. Quickly called hubby to rush home.
8:45am Reached home in a mess.
8:50am Was trying to clean up and put pad when Malay neighbour was pressing my doorbell. She saw me rushing back and suspect that I'm delivering. Came over to try and help.
8:55am-9:20am Waited with neighbour cos hubby not back yet. Wanted to shower but paiseh to leave her alone plus bloody water leaking all over, scared I messed up the house even further.
9:30am Hubby came back. Told him we go in ambulance better, otherwise the car sure kenna. :p Ambulance came in 10mins, quickly rushed to pack the last few items and leave.
10:15am Reached Delivery suite. Wait in room for gynae assessment. Hungry wanted to eat but midwives don't allow until after gynae assessment
11:30am Dr came late cos case notes was late & nurses don't dare to call dr until case notes are here.
11:35am Dr said I'm 2cm dilated and already have contractions (according to CTG) so she said she will induce me to speed up process. Waterbag burst so must deliver within 12 hours. Asked for epi since induction will be painful.
11:45am Anaesthesist came to administer epi
11:50am - 10:15pm Waited for cervix to dilate, not much pain due to epi. Even watched 7pm & 9pm Chinese tv serials.
10:20pm Midwife asessed that I'm finally 10cm dilated. Phew!!! Time to push. They increased the oxytoxin to help me push.
10:20-11:55pm Pushed and pushed but BB was not in ideal position. Contractions painful like hell, screaming in pain. Keep pressing for more epi but safety mechanism in place, can only have add 3 doses in 1 hr. Keep asking for my gynae who has not arrived. :/
12midnight Asked gynae to use forcep or vaccuum but she said can't cos BB's head is not low enough. Felt like dying. The only way out is to keep pushing until she's out.

0030am BB RaeAnne finally out, Head circumference 34cm, Length 49cm, weight 3255g.

Trying to cope as a new mummy. Feeling very lost & overwhelmed. Trying to take things one day at a day. Latching on BB but while in hosp, allowed nurse to cup feed FM but I was in too much pain. Down there swollen due to too much pushing. :/

here's a photo of my BB.

1218225.jpg

Congratulations Kitsune!

Welcome to motherhood. =) Not easy but nevertheless, we are all in the same boat. Jia You! Your baby very cute! =)

kitsune
haha...finally u "belong" here in Jan 08 than in feb huh? hehe...ur bb gal really cute!!! Like smiling leh!!

Dont worry, all of us here (2nd time mommies inclusive) are overwhelmed and hvg our own set of problems

val
i tried putting rylee upright, lying, she still vomit one. PD say got trapped wind inside...sms-ed u yday u no reply..today also didnt manage to call u cos rylee vomitted one BIG amount in the morning sent me scurrying and then whole day very stressed didnt even pump liao.

prataqueen
u stay pasir ris ah? Who is ur PD in tampines u mentioned? Good or not? Me thinking of switchg to a PD near my house cos if bring rylee everytime go TMC so far...went there cos lots of pple recommend EK Ong and he's very pro BF

kitsune u look great leh hahaha u see mine pic hahaha i lost too much blood till my whole face turn pale and ppl come visit me i merely can talk to them .......

prata_queen hmmmm my PD charge today is $50 wor .... hmmmm dunno why so ex ... but ai ya nvm lah i dun wanna change anymore ... my cousin told me Dr Ho very jovial one like Dr Heng.

btw mummies i envy u ppl having confinement lady ... actually i regret not having one now my back ache like hell and still have to cope with the baby .... and my MIL cook same thing every day till i wanna vomit liao and she cook alot!!! yesterday she cook chicken soup when i scoop to drink one spoon only i gave up .... cos i am drinking oil! ... sigh ..

Thanks, everyone.
Trying to keep my spirits up though I still feel very lost most of the time. But at least I got my CL to look after her. And she's very encouraging about me BF, I'm the one who wants to use FM instead. Unfortunately, she doesn't want to use comp though. Want me to rest more and hubby agrees with her so I won't be posting much these days. :p

QQ, that was a posed shot for me. The one straight after delivery was so pale that I didn't recognise myself. Haha. I was so antisocial cos in so much pain that I put a "Do not disturb" sign outside my door. :p

Tom, my BB got to go for jaundice check at polyclinic. Her jaundice is already 191. :/

i'm back for a while whilst my gal slps... trying to catch up with all the past posts...

AhCapp, u have such a lovely bb... I love the head full of dark hair.. v v cute...

mylife, Thks for helping me to post my popping news!

qq, Congrats to you too... ur gal really adorable.. showed my mom and she tinks she's so chubby n cute! heehee...

Mom2Nat, wow, ur prince Elliot is so handsome, definitely a prince charming... he has nice features.. Congrats with the addition of Elliot..

i'm gonna take a nap now b4 my gal wakes up for bm. will continue when i got the time...

val
i also tried putting emma upright after feed but she will still throw up some milk sometimes. but when i asked the LC here, they said some babies r just like dat.. like to throw up milk but its ok one.

mylife
i actually checked with some nurses and frens - they said pacifier is ok cos bb is smart enuf to know which one is for sucking n which 1 is for food :p i dunno. but last nite emma whole nite like cannot sleep properly keep whining n grunting. so i think if i give her the pacifier she will be able to get beter rest?

Anyone staying ard Sengkang area who can recommend me a good PD for my 3 wks old boy boy? Thanks alot!

michelle
tink u missed one of my question again..was asking u wat u do with ur ebm since u not introducing bottle yet but u're pumping rite? ru freezing it? how long to keep? and when is a "safe" time to intro bottle?

hi!

Any gd PD to recommend in e east? i"m staying at Pasir Ris..

Icy: ur bb Xavier so cute, tink looks more like u... heehee!

kitsune: congrats!! is dis pic taken at e delivery suite? u look v fresh.. my hubby didnt tak a pic of mi in e delivery suite, he busy video cam e bb..

i"m giving bm & fm to my baby...
whenever bb cry, my mum who is doing confinement for mi... will surely said " bb is hungry, not enuf milk for bb..." i juz ignored her becos wen bb cry not only they hungry, sometimes they poo or not feelin well ma...

yest bb latch on for 40mins then half hr lata cry, my mum said e same ting again so i juz said then giv him fm lor!! bb drink only 20ml then vomit milk..
i juz stared at my mum, hope she get e msg..

Godsent thank u hahah she is nottie gal ... my time all given to her liao .... dun wanna burp, dun wanna sleep .... keep pooing hahaha me very bo eng ... and today i am here so early cos i never get to sleep ... cos of her

HI mummies,
I desperately need advise.

Yesterday Day time, My boy had been sleeping through the day like 4-5 hrs then just wake up to have BM then latched 10-20 mins on 1 side.. then sleep again. He seemed like extremely tired, not sure if it is due to the slight jaundice he is having. But the night before, he only wake up for 2 feeds, which is like what I did in hospital.

But yesterday night, he seemed to be super active, I had latched him at 12.30am until 4am! He would latched for like 30-45 mins then fell asleep.. then 10-15 wake up and wanna latched again! This process keep repeating.

He seemed to be so active and full of strength! I almost din sleep throughout the night!

- 5.30am, he cry again, latch for 10 mins and slept again!!

-7.30am, wake up, latched 10 mins, slept again

- 8.30am, finally latched for like 20 mins before sleeping off.. I had to pump the other side of my breast.

I also wanna know how long do u need to express your milk and how to we know if the breast is empty? I pump for 45 mins on 1 side of my breast and get 40ml only.. wondering if my boy get lesser when latched since he only take 20 mins. Sometimes even 10.. does it also means he havnt had the "main course"?

Milk not enough
MIL also keep saying my milk not enough.. problem is should be enough if my boy latched both side.. but he always fell asleep after latching on 1 side.

will be discharged from MAH soon.

My poor gal is turning yellow but she is allowed to go home. Hope everything turns out fine. I think she isn't getting enough milk (or is she getting any at all?) So far, she only urines once a day and that's because I requested for the nurses to give her some water and FM after the nurses told me she didn't pee at all.

This morning, my PD, Dr Lee, told me to continue BF in the day time but give my gal FM at night, if not she'll be dehydrated and her jaundice will go up. Decided not to follow books and Mrs Wong's philosophy of TBF and NO water / FM at all. Actually cried when my gynae came to check on me and I told him how my gal was coping (no urine coz not enough milk.) He acutally sort of gave me a "lecture" and I felt so bad for wanting to have TBF for the sake of it and depriving my gal of her nutrients and risking her health for it.

Anyway, during the first few days, you all do give your baby water right?

Also, despite books saying that with the correct latch on, one should not feel pain at the nipples, I still feel a little pain/uncomfortable after 15-20mins of suckling even though the nurses say my baby is latched on correctly. Do any of you feel the same? Or my nipples just more sensitive (like me? :p)

<font color="aa00aa">Windy,</font>
you went for the post natal class at MAH? How is it?

hi nez,

I am staying in Sengkang too. I went to the Kids clinic at rivervale mall, 1st level - beside the entrance to carpark.

mcfluffy! ur girl is sooooo cute!! chubby cheeks ah! indeed she has lots of hair... nice. half an hr later on day 1 and the eyes so nice and big!!! pretty lil girl

icy, my boy did that to me for many nights!!!! Think he still dunno wat is day n night. Ur supply quite good wat for the first few days. I usually only express 10 min if fed and 20 min if unfed. Juz have to learn to wake him every 3hly in day for feed so that he doesn't get over hungry. I learning too..

hi mcfluffy,

i didnt attend the post natal class at MAH..

the little pain u feel after 15-20min of suckling, should be normal bah.. initially i also felt the same, but now abit more used to it le, so i guess the pain, if any, doesnt bug me at all. sis kang the LC aka BM-nazi came to see u? if she say bb latch correctly, then u have no worries la!!

icy
dont despair...we all went thru this phase. I agree with babe, ur supply quite good wat..when ur boy fall asleep, dont let him, try to tickle his earlobes or chin to stimulate him. Dont worry, a bb suckling is much more powerful than any pumps in the world, so altho it may seem u only get 40ml from 45mins of pumping, his suckling may be more. U jus gotta monitor his weight gain and his wet diapers. My PD told me a baby's suckling can generate AT LEAST TWICE as much as a pump would.

Mcfluffy
Actually when i was at TMC, Mrs Wong also popped by to check on me. Initially i was also like u, very persistent in TBF to follow her teachings. But when she came to see me, she also told me her teachings is when our ss is stabilised and to follow the flow of things..ie if bb is really dehydrated, HAVE to feed water or FM. My bb then was under phototherapy, so was quite dehydrated, she also went to check on bb and said her fontanelle (the soft spot on bb's head) was sunken, thus advised me to feed water also. As for nipples, initially i also feel a bit of sharp pain when latching on, even got abit sore altho nurses commented my bb got "natural talent" in latching..hehe..perhaps cos we first time mommies not used to it? Even after i got home, i also feel pain...i jus dutifully apply the Purelan cream on my nipple, and sometimes squeeze some BM to rub my own nipple, read that BM is the best soothe for sore nipples.

mcfluffy,
I am exactly in the same situation as u, also slightly jauncdice but can do home. My boy also never pee 1/5 days and I had to introduce him FM. But i only introduced him on Day 4. Then my bm supply comes at night.. so I continue w/o fm but my mil keep nagging he not getting enough from my BM since I pump so little. I also had to give him water to keep him hydrated.

My nipples also hurts.. latch correctly also still hurts. *sigh* I had to pump today becos that "someone" keep nagging that i had to monitor how much I am giving him.

I think nipple cream does help to sooth the nipple pain.. Must apply.

You ger's eyes so BIG and black.. A bit eurasian look. heehee.

Mylife &amp; Babe,
Thanks for the enouragement. My mil keep saying at least should have 60-90ml per feed.. Darm it!! keep stressing me.. so sian.. Paiseh. just let me vet out.. so angry. BTW, how to wake BB up, i tried and he ignored me.

mylife
oops sorry missed your qn. yes, i'm freezing the ebm that i pump out so next time when i intro bottle to emma can defrost n use it. i read its safe to intro bottle after 6wks, but some of my fren n even LC said now can intro too cos they are oredi old enuf to know how to latch and shd be able to alternate between bottle n breast w/o problem. my girl is 4 wks old. yours leh?

mcfluffy
emma was like your baby. 1st nite she in hospital i oredi gave her FM cos the nurse said she is dehydrated n having fever, so must intro fluids. bo bian lor! i guess altho we wanna TBF, we have to go by situation n be flexible, esp where health is concerned. my girl still a bit jaundiced until today, but no need to do phototherapy anymore - she was in hospi for 2 days for the phototherapy treatmt. now just sun her every morning n nite... hope it will go away soon! your girl is really very cute with her big big eyes!

pacifiers
those of u who intro to your bb to pacifier oredi, do they know how to suck on it right away? cos just now i gave my girl but she continue cryin n keep spitting it out
i carry her then she keep quiet

i usually try tickling my bb's ears, chin...moving her hand, legs. If u're swaddling bb, unswaddle him so he wont feel snug and comfy. Like very "jik ark" hor?

babe
lightly run your hands across bb's head...near the forehead, got one soft spot, if sunken very badly, then very dehydrated, if jus a bit "depressed" then shud be ok.

michelle
mine is 3weeks plus, to be exact, today is Day23. My case a bit tricky, cos me moving to HK soon, so even if i freeze it now, dunno when to use. How often do u pump? U pumping to keep supply up rite? Perhaps i shud do it too.

As for the pacifier, yah, my mom said usually bb this young dunno how to "hold on" to the pacifier steadily altho they wan to suck so badly. U gotta hold it for them, so ma huan rite? They spit out and will cry again.

TG
forgot to thank u for the links..very informative.

Congrats to Kitsune!

Mylife, ya, my PD is in Tampiness Blk 828 – Dr Ho KL. I tink she is good however, my hubby doesn’t like her very much.

Where is Dr Ong EK’s clinic?

QQ, your PD’s $50 charge is consultation or including medicine? Since you stay Eunos, going back to ESH is still ok. For me, ESH is to far + the parking charges is so exp.

U envy us for having CL? Hahahah…..
I have a love-hate relationship with my CL. On one hand, she knows how to take care of baby and can cook well. On the other hand, she is over-charging me + always forget to turn off electrical appliances + turn the gas stove on to super high fire etc etc. I am barely tolerating her till end of confinement.

Regarding freezing of EBM, is it advisable since nutrients are lost during the freezing process? Which is better for baby – FM or frozen EBM? Not to mention that frozen EBM tastes different from fresh BM.

mylife, thks...

alamak, my bb din poo but I have been pooing like 3 times daily. Duno izzit i eat too much. Anyway PD ask me monitor. Apparently bb even if tbf can dun poo for up to 4 days...

mylife
oh in that case then u dun freeze 1st lor. but still must pump in order to establish the ss. yes, i'm pumping to maintain the ss now.. just today i called my LC and she said dun need to pump so frequently now cos ss shd be established oredi, so just pump a bit to freeze for use next time.

no leh even when i hold the pacifier for her, she still cry n dun wanna suck on it

hi michelle,

really? then maybe i should start freezing my EBM instead of throwing away.

i wanna let off my frustrations...i am so tired cos i persist in latching on direct even at night.

I introduce bottle during night time once. Felt sad and uncomfortable and so nebber let baby use bottle again. I tink i'm too rigid. Even the nurses at hospital also say I'm too rigid

Maybe i've been too brainwashed about TBF when i attended Mrs Wong's class...sobs...

Prata_Queen ..... at least she cook well u see and u get to eat different thing ... mine every day same and oso BIG portion .... like feeding pig! .... yesterday me and my hubby throw away lotsa food think still can eat for 2 or 3 days can u imagine having a whole chicken everyday for a meal??? I told my mil pls dun cook so much I dun eat so much and she say Now is the time for u to eat more but the fact is I cant eat so much how to stomach all the food in??? dun understand them!

if u notice my blog no more nice food shown
life is miserable ...... 3 more weeks to go ....

poor QQ *pat pat*

we are all in the same boat. all of us r facing different issues/problems at this point in time.

why was i so eager to give birth?

babe
follow PD's advice lo. As for jaundice, lightly press on bb's arms/legs, if colour change pale and take a long time to change back to skin original colour, then jaundice still around...i think? Dats a rough gauge la..also monitor the white eye of baby.

prataqueen
Dr Ek Ong is based at TMC lo..he's good and very pro BF but like very far each time going there...but then, he's good, so maybe stick with him until i leave sg...btw..why ur hubby dont like the PD in tampines?