(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Used bath tub (@ home) to ease contractions during 1st stage labor (dilation from 1 to 5cm over several hours, with varying degree of intensity). Went to TMC when the urge to poo was strong & also felt baby pressuring downwards quite strongly. During observation @ TMC, was told that cervix is already 6-7 cm, thus too late for enema, proceeded straight to delivery ward (Room 6) but no chance to use the bath tub there, coz' 10cm was reached within about 75 mins from check in to Rm6. 2nd stage labor took another estimated 45mins... no rush.

Jang, yes... lie on the bed to give birth. TMC forbids water birth :-( even though room 6 comes with a bath tub

Each session in the bath tub was about 30 to 45 mins - tremendous relief.

I guess an alternative of warm showers might also help.

Babe

If your boy is on breastmilk, should poo many times. My baby poos at least 6-8 times a day. If on formula, I heard they poo 1-2 times only.

blackbatz

pd never say anything... gave me a cream and ask me to apply for her every night. i dun think its the way we clean her face lor.

mylife

danelle is also like rylee. always vomit after feeding and is crying on a closer interval for feeds. not sure if she is hungry anot, i just latched on and she will stop crying.. like wat you say, dunno if they are treating our nipples as pacifiers and thus overfeeding leading to them vomit??? *hiaz*

congrats mcfluffy!!!

violetice/babe

bf babies will poo almost after every feed and fm babies poo only 1-2 times a day. danelle now only poo poo a BIG one once a day.

Mom2nat,

i think u got block ducts, not pores clog. Try to latch often cos bb suckle more powerful than pump, to help clear any block ducts. JIA YOU!

Babe,

my boy is on EBM for day & FM for nite. He poos at least 5 to 6 times a day. Sometimes, he only poos 2 to 3 times but the poo quantity alot wor...maybe we only change his diaper like 4hourly
I noticed his poo color is yellowish like mustard...smell like spicy curry powder & with some particles...like sesame seed?? Is this normal?

sassy,
Thanks for informing me. Sigh. I called Hardial yesterday and my appt is next monday. Will call her again on sunday to confirm.

MumBe,
I had the same problem as you. My SS din come until last night. I had to supplement with FM because of my boy din urine since he discharged. I feel so depressed and become teary for the first 2 days, plus my boy was so cranky after discharge. His lips was so dried and always had the sucking motions. My nurses din not correct me for the wrong kind of latching until the 3rd day when I attended the breast feeding class. I think that was the reason for my low SS now.

I cant even sleep at night for the past 2 days. Because my boy always hungry. I had to introduce pacifier on the day of discharged. In the end removed because I checked with a lot of mummies and say he was too young.

I just tried to express just now, only managed to express 20ml on the right and 5ml on the left (left side after 20 mins feeding). Is this consider very low? This is my first 24 hrs of milk coming in. My mil laughed at my low supply. *sigh*

My short updates. Hope I can update my 15 hrs delivery story later.

Date of Delivery: 20th Jan 2008. 8.13pm
Name: Xavier Lim
Weight: 3.11kg
Length: 50cm
Delivery Mode: Natural with epidural and vacuumn.

His photo on Day 1.

1217581.jpg

Icy,

Ignore your MIL lah. Sometimes I don't understand why they can one hand say confinement must take care but some pple will still make insensitive remarks that can upset us. My mum also say giving baby BM very troublesome as he poos many times a day.

Babe,

I think you observe your baby for another day, if still no poo by tomorrow, I think it's wiser to bring him to see a gp or pd.

TG,
I must kowtow to you for being so knowledgeable in the various birthing techniques.

BTw, what's a birth plan? I know it's common among the expats / caucasians who visits my gynae.

sassy, u can't change straight away to diff brand. Need to slowly mix with new formula, mix one scope of new formula for few days to a week see if ur bb suitable a not.. if no diarrhoea, then continue 2 scope.. till fully change to new formula.

Hi windy,

they can co-exist...but my mum & mil keeping saying the fur flying around not good for bb...so we dont wanna argue wif themm so let the poor doggies stay in balcony first. our dogs are kept in the balcony all along.only nw that they cant run abt in the house now.

Today is my 10 day of delivery and my supply is like 60ml each time is pump every 3 hrs. This is only enuff for his daytime feeds.

Does pumping regularly really helps to increase the ss? I even massage my breast before i pump. *Sight* At time i feel like giving up also....

Re: lochia discharge + blood clots?

Check with u mummies, anyone still having lochia discharge? Last week, flow is quite moderate but today seem more heavy & some blood clots too. Any cause for alarm?

Having very bad engorgement. Tried pumping but only 20ml came out (2 breasts in total!!!)
SIGH... really pathetic...
I even feel embarassed to show how little milk I am expressing to my CL... :eek:(

MomMe,

Dun give up...i have the same problem of engorgement daily & had fever almost every week. Took panadol for fever to subside but breast still engorged, will have to use hot towel compress & massage HARD on the lumpy area until they are soft or melted. After they are melted, yr supply will sure increase.

Sigh...my boy the whole afternoon dun wanna sleep. Feed already like want to sleep, but in the end also never. Then when my MIL rock him to sleep in her arms...then later put him down..he again cry. Oh dear..I wonder if this is the wrong thing we did...to carry him all the time when he cry!

Also when he is awake during the day, he also keep wanting to feed often I notice. Like some of you mention, no idea if he is really tt hungry, or just comforting suckle!

Btw..if you have CL or MIL looking after bb during confinement, are you the one who will always coax your baby, or your CL/MIL will help out? I somehow find that my MIL does not seem to have the confidence in me to coax / calm my baby down. She will always tell me to rest and she will carry..if not then ask my FIL to carry instead...

i totally agree with the part about ALL CL who like to 'keng'. Add money-minded to that!

My CL came on 13 Jan. By right, she should stay unil Feb 9 (3rd day of CNY) to fulfil 28 days of confinement period. However she will be going back to M'sia on CNY eve and return on 2nd day of CNY. And becos 3rd day of CNY is her last day, she hinted that there is no real need for her to come back all the way from Malaysia just for 1 day.

So in conclusion, her last day at my house is CNY eve and she is still charging me the CNY rate - and she only do 25 days of confiment for me.

For baby's sake, I 'ren' and close both eyes. Dun wanna argue with her in case she ill-treats baby or poisons my food!

She must really think that we Singaporeans are very easy to 'chop carrot' cos I didn't argue much (i tried to protest but she is very good at quoting examples of how other people give her big ang pao, allow her to go home during previous year's CNY etc etc). Say until if I dun give in, I am very petty.

I am sooooooo indignant and sooooooo angry.

I actually looking for a confinement lady. EDD in June 08. Thought of seeking your advise and recommendation since you all just went thru it? Any recommendation? Can email me the details at [email protected]? Thanks in advance!

Steph, my bb's poo about the same as what you described. I think I read tt bf babies poo will be like that..so should be normal. Btw, I'm surprised you feed him FM since you have a lot of supply of BM! I using FM at night to ease myself as I think my supply is still not that great yet so hard to express out alot.

hammies,
think your MIL just want you rest more, don't read so much into it. you need the rest, let them coax/pacify your baby.

steph,
i'm in my day 20, only little bit of lochia discharge. If the flow is excessive, better call your gynae to check.

prata queen,
wa your CL really geng leh, like that how can she charge you CNY rate! She didn't even stay for CNY. Don't give her ang pow when she leave, she don't deserve it.

steph,
my girl's poo also mustard colour and very watery. Smelly too...but don't know how to describe the smell, definitely not like curry. She's also on EBM for day and FM for night.

YunBB,
Oh you mean we can mix different brands of FM?

Luvv, i also tried to argue to pay her NON-CNY rate. However her logic is that if baby's full month falls during CNY, she will charge CNY rate.

But to me, if she is able to go home to spend the festive period with her family (since her last day is CNY eve), then why should she be earning the CNY rate?

My hubby chin chye, also advise me to just give in and dun brood over it. Only make myself angry. What else can I do?

I confirm gg to give her only a small token for her ang pao. She already shorten my confinement for me + charging me extra (unjustifiable)

luvv, no lah.. im telling sassy if want to change to other new formula. shld mix one scope for a week den reduce ur old formula one scope .. till fully change to new formula. not mix diff brands of FM

TG
oic but do u have any idea that if waterbag burst, cannot soak in bath tub? u soak in yr home bath tub because water bag still ok right? i also have bath tub at home. so when feel contraction can start to soak in warm water for relief? TIA. This kind of method although getting popular in west but Singapore still v new. US even have mummies giving birth in bath tub! but of course some of them still have to get out of the bath tub to give birth when they faced some problems like bb facing etc.

prata queen,
eh, how can she charge u cny rate? my confinement started on 12 jan. my cl also doing 25 days for me, she will leave on 5 feb. i am only paying her the normal rate. maybe its becoz initially i oredi told her tat i may not want her to do the full 28 days since coincides with cny, but i will pay her the full non cny rate (28 days), instead of pro-rating to 25 days.

if she not staying over cny to do confinement for u, u SHDNT pay her cny rate!!!!!

really pray my bb will poo...feel he not putting on wt...long n skinny....struggling at breasts...muz go on...

Any fenugreek takers? How much shld we take? Bought GNC one n said take 2 a day only..

icy
dont be so discouraged...dont say ur MIL, my own mom also like dat..think the older generation are all like dat, wondering why we so stubborn keep insisting on BM. Your bb very cute..looks like YOU!

violetice
both my CLs also like ur mom, grumbling why i insist on BM cos BF babies poo very very often, esp mind, got trapped wind inside her tummy, everytime fart also got poo. Very freqeuntly, when she changing diaper and wiping, Rylee will fart and out come some poo..haha

Sassy
Danelle is exactly like Rylee! I brought her to PD and he listened to her tummy, say got lots of trapped wind..advised me to feed her RidWind 4times a day. Condition shud improve within a week or two. Sigh..as a mom, watching her vomit out the milk very sim tia hor? But PD says as long as she's gaining weight healthily, we shudnt be worried...is Danelle ok with her weight? She's like "permanently" latched on to me now...really human pacifier..but i keep telling myself "this will come to pass!" Gotta grit my teeth and tong for 4months...well, at least dat's wat i read from the childcare book. Problem is my mom always walk into my room and see me latching her on, she'll say "eating again???" and thinks i dont hv enuff milk.
i know shes tryg 2b supportive but cant undstand why i dun wish 2 feed fm

babe
i follow michelle's recommendation..takg 3 capsules 3times a day...

prata queen
ur CL damn too much..mine ah altho not as jialat as 1st one..but also quite bad..always try 2 siam..say 1 thing do anoter and like 2 eavesdrop too.

the color of my lochia is now fresh red in color, like fresh blood... is tat normal??? it used to be dark red which is so called the old blood.

mylife

i will monitor danelle for 1 more day then see how... if not gonna bring her go see PD again. *hiaz* old folks are like tat one lah... stay positive or try telling her tat you are the cow as well as the pacifier lor... LOL

Re: Jang, "oic but do u have any idea that if waterbag burst, cannot soak in bath tub? u soak in yr home bath tub because water bag still ok right"

Yes, our Gynae did told us that if water bag is broke, then shld not go into bath tub. I think it's best that you seek advice from your gynae as well.

sassy, mylife
my girl is like your babies too. i dunno wat to do with her when she cry/fuss dont wanna sleep, so keep latching her on. she will suck, but after a while she will vomit. is it cos too full? anyway tomorrow i'm going out to buy pacifier for her liao. i think she just wanna suckle for comfort and not actually hungry, so i dont wanna end up feeding her to much n she always vomit!

babe
yah i took fenugreek 3 pills x 3 times a day
now stopped taking oredi cos ss is enuf!

btw, for moms who pump after latching, how much milk can u still pump out? i can get about 20-30ml fr the breast that i just latched my girl on. is that normal?