(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

michelle,
I had been thru it when I had my no.1. Got diff latching on cos I forgotten to inform the nurse to cup feed him when I wasnt fit. Then, I told my fren abt bb preference over bottle than breast. She was like "oh...my bb can take both bottle & breast v well". So when her girl was 3 wks old, she went puket and when she came back, her girl did latch on. But latching & crying away. So I told her, die die must continue to latch. If not she gg to refuse breast. It took her a wk to stop the latching & crying.

I've finally delivered my darling gal, Celeste, this noon. Now still in hospital and feeling sore down there.

Will update with photos and more when I'm free!

Windy,
you very zhun leh... 23 is really a good date!

angelsky,
My turn came liao, will be rooting for you! Ganbatte!

mcfluffy
, yup I will gambatte, hopefully by the time u go home, maybe there will be good news from me. kekeke. I was just chatting with you yesterday and then today u popped. Wow. So amazing.

Hi everybody,

I got a bit of time here so will copy my blog of my birth story here to post... it's a bit chong hei so u may skip it...

Updating of my daughter's birth story....

On Jan 19, 2008 @ abt 10 - 11pm, i felt some cramps on my tummy which was quite normal cos these few wks i've been feeling this way. The cramps went on for a while and it became more regular... I felt something was wrong and told my mom abt it. She says it may b contractions and told me to monitor. Yes, it became hrly cramps and then half hrly throughout the nite. Called my gynae and he, too, told me to monitor for 6hrs.

On Jan 20, 2008 morning I decided to go hospital and admit myself but i wasn't sure if my cervix is opened cos on 17 Jan when Dr Woodworth checked, it was still tightly closed. I had a gd shower, went to eat yong tau hu and head to Thomson Medical Centre @ 11am. The nurse did a cervix check for me and told me dat my cervix is not opened! I was disappointed bcos it needs to b dilated 10cm b4 the bb can pop out. I was wondering how long do i need to wait???

The nurse called Dr Woodworth and he told her to insert a prositin to help my cervix to soften and dilate (in another word - induction!). I agreed and had to wait for a few hrs for the med to work. At 3pm, Dr came and check me. I was still tightly sealed! Dr gave me 2 options - 1) try one more time and insert another prositin OR 2) go for c-section. He mentioned dat out of 10 cases, only ONE or none success in natural birth when the cervix is so tight. Wat a disheartening news?! Anyhow, i still opt for option 1.

At 6pm, i went toilet to pee and felt more and more regular contractions. My contraction is not felt at the stomach but at my back. i had backache instead of tummy cramps so it was still tolerable. Suddenly, i felt a gush of warm water plus red stain coming out fr my bottom. It was my water bag burst and "show". Dr checked on me again, this time i was 1cm dilated, pathetic 1cm only... *sob, sob* Dr said if i want to try natural, i got to tahan the pain and wait patiently as the dilation will take 1hr per cm. However, judging from my tight cervix which is NOT soft at all, there may b chances that it stops dilating halfway and may end up c-sect.

After discussing with James, we decided to go C-sect and avoid unnecessary pain cos my case is not meant for natural birth. At 6.45pm, I was already in the OT waiting for Dr Loo (Anaestetic Dr) to gif me spinal injection cos i wanna b awake and James can witness the process. Everything flows very fast, Dr Woodworth started at 7pm and my bb gal, Evangeline, was born at 7.15pm (1915hrs). At this moment, when I heard her cries, tears jus naturally formed at my eyes and flow down. I've a bb gal and it is the Truth. I AM A MUMMY from this moment onwards.... James was so so so happy when he saw her and starts snapping pix of her and calling her "Evangeline"....

Hi,all.

Thanks for the encouragement. I'm finally back at my mum's place with my little darling.

Here's my short delivery story.

19 Jan:
10.30pm- Arrived at Gleneagles. HB did admission procedures while I admitted to ward straight away. I was late as my gynae instructed me to go there at 8pm. Heheee... He had been calling the hospital very hour.
11.00pm- Nurse came & asked me to change to hospital clothes. Used CTG to check baby's heart beat for a hour. Inserted tablet to soften cervix. Quite painful. She tried the first time & I was not comfortable. Then when she tried to insert again, she asked me to breathe in hard & the tablet managed to be sucked into my vagina.

12.30am- Nurse came back to monitor CTG. Everything is ok. So now waiting for 6 hours for the cervix to soften. HB could not be in the ward with me as it was a double-bedded. So he slept outside.

20 Jan:
6am- Nurse came back to wake me up. Actually, did not managed to sleep at all. So tired. Nurse inserted Enema to clear bowels.

6.30am- HB & I proceeded to delivery ward. My gynae came by to check cervix. Only 2cm dilated (previously already dilated 1.5cm on the day before.) So sad... only 0.5cm increased. Netherless he still burst water bag. Damn painful! Then started to feel contractions. It felt like tummy hardening first, then pain all around the tummy & back. But pain is still endurable. Water leaking fast.

8am- Contractions coming at 5min interval liao. Pain was still getting intense... Decided to ask for laughing gas. Pain became more bearable after laughing gas. Still can joke with HB that the gas was nice & should put one at home. Started to feel giddy... but the pain was still there.

9am- Cannot hold on anymore. Asked for injection relief at thigh. After 15 mins, my whole body was numb. But the pain is still there. I could not open my eyes. I was screaming... The contractions pain were coming sharp.

10am- I cannot stand it anymore. Asked for epidural. But too late. Cervix already 7cm dilated! Delivery can be soon. Gynae came back & started to ask me to push. I got no strength & the pain was really terrible. I was screaming. Gynae asked me to keep quiet & reserve energy for pushing. So I just wait for pain to come & start to push (without shouting) whenever the pain came.

10.30am- After 7 pushes, my baby girl arrived! So too tired to feel emotional...

So my delivery took 3.5hours which many said is quite fast. Luckily, if not I don't know how to tahan for long hours... But after delivery, I still felt slight contraction pains. Nurse said it is because the uterus is shrinking back.

krystie

wow.. i salute all mommies who do this w/o epidural leh

mine was with epidural i also pain until grit teeth all.. to those who havent popped, dont be frightened by me ah. i is useless when it comes to pain wan. oww...

fenugrek
Any mommy know how much to take? Bought GNC one n there say take 2 a day, each capsule 610mg. Enough coz saw got mommy take 2-3 three times daily.

Steph, thks..blog still in progress of updating..not been taking alot of pics actually compared to my no.1. Guess no.1 more expressive n not so sleepy...heehee..

Where can i get Ameda breast pump? Any online webby to buy? I need to get it urgently!!!! Cos i found that the Medela pump is not very good.

The pain in childbirthing can be managed and my partner and I did it successfully. Tania was delivered naturally without drugs - was in the delivery room for just 2 hrs, listening to the Hypnobirthing CD all the way till Tania was calmingly arrived.

7 months ago, we asked about Hypnobirthing method here - a form of deep relaxation and it seems that few Singaporeans here are keen on it... we went for the classes anyway and it worked for us. For those who have not pop, do check out Hypnobirthing method, there is a good on this in our national library... while it may be a little too late to read the entire book, there is an excellent accompanied CD which you can listen to and relax.
http://amazing-birth.com/story.aspx
http://www.amazon.com/HypnoBirthing-natural-approach-comfortable-birthing/dp/0757302661

A compilation of hypnobirthing stories of Singapore residents and others who use this method can be found here
http://dhechen.com/pub/baby/zip/PositiveBirthStories.zip

Also, can consider renting the TENS device, which also help to relieve the labor. We rented ours from TMC (~S$105 + S$150deposit).
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transcutaneous_Electrical_Nerve_Stimulator

We've also found the use of bath tub with warm water to be beneficial for easing the labor tension, at least by 50%.

We also tried birthing ball, but was less effective, perhaps don't know how to use it correctly.

Best wishes to all.

aiyah windy,

still trying to get my dog to get used to the baby...actually he's very curious abt her, always want to go make friend...the prob is he goes and sniffs her but she doesn't sniff or bark back then he starts barking his head off....aiyo the whole hse super noisy...lucky baby alexis is very used to his voice since that's one of the first things she heard when in the womb..hahaha

Sassy,
What did PD says about your girls's rashes? Mine boy's seems to have more milk rashes. My dad says I did not clean his face proeprly after his feed. Sigh

Sassy,
What did PD says about your girls's rashes? Mine boy's seems to have more milk rashes. My dad says I did not clean his face proeprly after his feed. Sigh.

Windy, that's right, no drugs at all. Earlier, we read about how the different types of drugs can make the baby drowsy and thus we wrote in our birth plan that we wanted a drug free delivery + 1 full hr of bonding with baby, prior to all the childbirth procedures... and TMC respected our wishes.

In a way, I guess it's unfortunate that there is this term 'hypno' in the hypnobirthing method, thus causing discomfort in many of us. This is because, having gone through the course, we found that it's not exactly those hynopsis and stuff, but rather, it's a method to help us achieve deep relaxation... and we found that there is a high correlation between deep relaxation and easing labor tensions.

Perhaps for your next child, you can consider learning about this useful method.

cheryl, do you know that Adrian delivered one of the 1st 2008 babies in Singapore! I think you are in very good hands. Pray a lot and keep looking forward to receiving your bundle of joy, 9 months is finally over... pls. keep thinking of happy thoughts about you, your baby, your hubby. You can also try to visualize how you baby when he/she is 10 yrs old; 20 yrs old; 30, etc... and how you feel about him/her at that time. It also helps if you can watch some comedy movie from now till the delivery.

Just keep flushing yourself with happy thoughts. We'll pray for you.

Best wishes.

TG

is it?? hehe. he must be popular. :p i knw i m in very good hand. he is a good gynae... but cant help worried.. cos nvr kana cut b4.

cheryl, when you check in tomorrow, check out the A4-sized article that was framed inside the TMC lift... it's the story of the happy couple and healthy baby that Adrian delivered on 2008, 12am - hope that will boost your confidence further.

Cheryl

Dun worry la. Doc Adrian delivered for me twice via c-section too ! Must have confidence in him and yourself ok ?

hi ladies, been reading through the past few days or entries that you all made regarding breastfeeding etc. I don't know if I'm doing the right thing, but I just started to give my bb one FM feed at the midnight timing, say around 2plus or 3plus am when he wakes. Main thing is so that I can rest at night while my MIL feeds him. I found that I've not been sleeping a lot in the last 2 weeks so decided I needed a rest. Not sure if this is gg to affect my supply!! But so far he still latches on to me for the rest of the day and other feeds.

Quite envious when I hear some of you can pump out a lot each time!! I need to pump at least twice before I can hit like say 100ml even...Sigh..do u think I shd seek help from lactation consultant, as in go down physically to see her? My bb latch on like can drink leh, but I also think as he grows bigger, my supply donno can meet his demands or not..

So for those who express bm, you do it mostly after bb finish drinking or while he latches on? I still find that if i offer my bb only 1 breast, he like not enuff leh..coz he will happily continue drinkning for some time on the other breast when offered too.

Also, how long does your bf session generally last each time? Does your bb suckle continuously thruout your feed??

hi hammies,

is baby putting on weight? if putting on weight, means he's getting enough milk ah.. don't worry

u say he "happily continue drinking when offered other breast", sounds like a happy baby ah. happy baby means what u're doing is right!

Hammies,
I usually either pump: (1) when baby is latching on to 1 breast and I pump the other, I find I have more milk this way; & (2) I pump every alternate feed. I know I am supposed to pump at every feed, but I dun have enuff milk leh!!!! Sigh… dunno how oso…

Oh, I think this is embrassing, but any1 experiencing incontinence? I have, but it got worse when I did my massage. Think it’s the bind. When I’m wrapped, I really CANNOT control my bladder… my pad will always be filled with urine, and not blood or lochia… argh… then I stop my massage, now not so bad, but still a bit of incontinence. Is it becoz I pushed for like nearly 1 hour???? My wall muscles ard my urinal area have gone weak????

nexyanne
Most ppl who delivered naturally must do pelvic floor exercise. I think u shd do it everyday also. It is like tightening of your muscle around your vagina area.

Windy
From what I read I think u are very lucky to have an easy baby leh ! Can you share with us your timing for the day like what time u feed wat time u wake her to play etc ? hehe

Hey !
I've called a few massage lady but they are all fully booked le !!! Die liao la... when can I start massage then ?

Hi Windy,

my dogs are trapped in the balcony since bb Javier's arrival.

so poor thing. my dogs are getting jealous. they are also very curious of the new addition to our family.

hi chaye

*faster find wood to touch* heng my house mainly wood.. keke..

morning around 9am i feed her, 9plus she gets her bath. then see her mood she will either play on the bed or some days she chooses to sleep. if she's playing on the bed, then i try and prolong the playtime by talking to her, walk in n out of room also talk to her, she can recognise my voice and gets very alert whenever she hears me.

11am make noise for milk, give her. erm.. basically in the day, if she's not in the mood to sleep, i won't 'force', let her play on the bed. if she's sleepy, let her sleep. every 3hourly +/- feed and change diapers.

then ard 7plus in the evening, daddy comes home, let him wake her with his 10 million kisses lor. hehe

11pm give 1 huge feed like 120ml and she can sleep till 3am, next feed, 7am next feed. 9am start all over again.

something like that bah.. no hard and fast rule. must also see her mood wan ah. yesterday she super awake, maybe cos i had coffee and it went to my BM (possible?). today after her shower, she sleep until now. since tonite got party, i let her sleep now lor, then tonite she can entertain our guests
maybe juggle some balls or something..

nexyanne, erm..shh.. i..also.. before i can remove panties, a bit of urine leak out liao. immd pull down panties and shhhhhh... i think need to do more kegel exercise. it'll help right?

hammies
me even worse...intro pacifier liao, but due to my fairly low supply, decided against it and took it back. In a dilemma now, cos if i feed Rylee on demand, dat means sometimes she cries jus for comfort suckling, i also latch her on, but when she latch on and suck, inevitably, some milk will also flow in, thus creating the overfeeding effect, and later she will vomit out again. If i dont let her comfort suck and give her pacifier instead, she will cry whenever pacifier got detach and frankly i also scared it'll affect my ss. Sigh...really heart pain see her vomit so much.

This morning she vomitted alot!!

Verene
my doggie also feeling jealous, luckily she's quite close to my mom as well, so she's been tagging everywhere my mom goes. We banned her frm entering the bedroom bb is in..can tell she got this "puzzled " expression initially cos she used to sleep in our room...now machiam like ganna "thrown out"..now she got this perpetual sad look on her face and she has learnt not to come in but sit outside and stare. So ke lian.

hi verene,

they cannot co-exist? slowly lah.. my dog will guard baby with her life, if anybody beside me of hb enter room, she will watch the person like a hawk. if touch baby, she will immd sit beside this person and make sure he/she dont try anything funny.

no wonder my MIL no love my crazee dog.

yah windy
u got an easy baby...mine will not "play" on her own one...awake means someone gotta carry her! Or she jus sleeps the entire day and super awake at night! Sigh.

erm. my 'play' is also not lie there keep quiet and chuckle to ownself leh.. she also makes the 'eh eh eh' sound.. then sometimes will also lau gai and wan pple carry. sometimes i give in and carry, most of the times i wait until cry LOUD LOUD then give attn. mostly is becos she pooped and wanna be changed.

windy

Thanks for sharing. haha *touchwood* your gal easy my boy cry loud loud one. Demanding fellow ! now 3 weeks plus still need to feed every 2 hours abt 90-100ml of ebm or fm! Everytime feed until half way fall asleep. If I give more ebm like 120ml also no use cos by then he wd hv fallen asleep and waste my milk.

TG
u used the bath tub to aid in the contractions and its not for yr labour righT? u still lie on bed to give birth? How long do u stay inside the bath tub? Thanks.

i really cant wait for confinement to be over...10more days to go...eat the same type of food. And i think all CLs really know how to "keng" one. See oredi vomit blood. Really wan to have this stranger out of the house soon