(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

itok,

for my case, the PD checked my gal on the 3rd day for jaundice and discovered that it was quite high, so she started the photo therapy immediately.

if i am not wrong, it costs about $300 for 3 days rental of the machine for home photo therapy.

steph
yah lo...hiccup until so loud, hear oredi feel heartpain cos she sounds very "xin ku" hiccuping away. So now, u feed your bb 5ml of water when he hiccups or still resisting? If ur feeding water, how do u feed? Via syringe, spoon or bottle? My gal night feeding interval also sometimes haywire one. Hey, do u still pump aft every latching session? Me too tired to pump..jus latch her on only. Dunno whether jus latching alone can increase my ss or not.

violetice
is he still using the pacifier? Me feel VERY VERY guilty...read some other posting say pacifier may caused crooked milk teeth

mommies
question again, anyone of your babies vomit a lot of milk out? Some mommies told me BF babies no need to burp, but if dont burp, she will vomit out leh.

steph
are u sure intake decreased or ru jus gauging by the EBM? Cos when bb latched on, they suck much more than wat u normally pumped out. The other day i pumped out 75ml (from 2 pump sessions combined) Tot can have interval feed where CL can feed EBM and i can have some sleep. But barely 15mins after drinking the 75ml EBM, she screams again for milk. I latched her on. On the next interval, i latched her on, she drank for 25mins and slept for 2 hours. Conclusion : she sucks definitely more than 75ml lo....i think??

anyone pump out breastmilk instead of latching yr baby directly? my gal cant seems to latch well. i have been pumping out since the 4th day as she was still in the hospital during that time for phototherapy. currently at 12th day, managed to pump ard 80 - 100ml each time, every 3 hr.

oh ya, to check how much yr baby should be drinking, my sister told me that her PD told her the calculation is 150 x weight of baby / number of feeds.

for my baby (3kg currently) the amt is 150 x 3 / 8 feeds, so she drinks ard 60ml every 3 hrs. so far, she is quite satisfied.

shannonbaby
how to constantly weigh our baby to check on the "how much bb shud drink"?? Is the 150 figure fixed? Tot it varies by how old the bb is?

Windy, I also fever last night. Need to make sure rest enough. Think we caught a chill. My CL ask me to go chinese medicine hall to buy "Su He Yuan' to eat to rid wind.

Yes yes, I am one of the weepy ones...it's part of post natal blues but muz manage well. Get supportive from hb and stay positive.

Mylife, hiccups dun haf to give water...we are more uncomfortable than baby. If bb vomit milk, either too full or choke. U can try feeding again after cleaning up. If she dun want, then she's full already. Babies are 'sucker' so they like to sleep on our breasts. Pacifier is not a terrible thing. CAn wean off one and if u wan, can even start early to prevent lasting effect.

itok, bb jaundice will appear day 3 and peak about day 5-6. PD will inform u what to do. Not all need phototherapy.

Luvv, I drank the vinegar too. Was nice. Still selling FTG. Emailed u but muz wait awhile for pic coz not feeling too good yet..head big big keep wanna sleep.

mommies,

can i check who is using Ameda Lactaline breastpump? I am thinking of renting the trial set for 3days from Moms in Mind. My massage lady say this pump is suitable for me to help engorgement & effective in pumping BM. The medela mini electric pump that i have now is not very effective to express my BM. I don't mind getting a second hand Ameda pump if anyone got lobangs, pls let me know. TIA.

mylife,

i weigh my baby at the PD clinic. the 150 figure is fixed. but the weight will change as they grow older. guess weight is more accurate than day cos smaller size baby may drink lesser. so far quite accurate for my sis's baby n mine.

Chaye,

i like see baby's face also feel weepy.. yes, thank goodness for this forum. i feel like there's this invisible bond betw us, even though we've nvr met, our experiences made us friends.

mylife
difficult not to think leh.. like i think "Kayla nee gian will wan to suckle, then after confinement how? even though she very full liao, still must insist on suckling then shiok wan.. Issit bring her to work.."

must give baby water wan ah? my PD and mom say no need leh.. say baby draws water from BM. i havent given her any water till date..

i read somewhere that pump after latching will increase ss.

re pacifier, i also read somewhere that teeth structure won't change with introduction of pacifier. i think it's an ang moh publication that i read this from.. aiyah u know the ang mohs la.. hehe. or u buy those orthodontic ones lah? nice and chio... i've my eyes set on 1 by NUK. but my MIL says NO JUT JUT!! zzz

violetice
thanks!! ok will post pics once i've figured out how to do so on this forum.

steph
it's my baby's 1st week now and she's taking about 60ml of BM. thanks for sharing! now i know she's taking in normal amount.

steph,

according to my SIL, Ameda pump is very good. She bf her sons until they are 5 yrs old! she told me that we can call up breastfeed.org.sg (breastfeeding support group) and they can arrange for us to try out the pump for free. According to my SIL, Ameda is better that Medela pump. But currently i am using Medela PIS Adv, and it seems to work well for me.

babe
dunno when and how to wean her off. Haha, hubby also keep telling me to relax, say pacifier not "evil"...but i scared leh. Scarly, bb's lips become too pouty, crooked teeth or addicted to it until very long...sigh..how early shud we start to wean her off?

shannonbaby
thanks for sharing. will monitor but hor, my next visit to PD is for bb's one month...dats 2 weeks later..in the meantime, how to monitor amount she shud drinks per feed?

Mylife, now all the pacifier got research one...wont make bb pouty lips...dun worry so much..if it gives u some rest ncomfort, do it. Enjoy motheerhood, it's not a pain
Sharing here helps

mylife,

dont worry too much, baby's weight wouldnt increase too much in 2 weeks. in fact, my baby's weight only increase by 100grams in 5 days. i got to know her weight cos been bringing her for jaundice check every alternate day. feel so tiring and worried. have send her to hospital twice for phototherapy already.
Anyone baby still having jaundice after 2 weeks? is it bf jaundice as mentioned in some website? my gal is already 2 weeks old but jaundice level still quite high although nw dont need treatment.

congrats windy!

Hi itok,
I just bought the magazine mother & baby jan 08 issue. there is an article explaining jaundice and pages on breast feeding too. very good issue i find for this month.

chaye,
I don't use herbs, just straight from the shower...shiok shiok...haha.

mylife,
I have also introduced pacifier to my baby. I read from many sources that it is ok and will not have any side effects to baby's teeth. Just have to wean him off later. No need to feel guilty, I read that it's better to give baby the pacifier as a form of distraction rather than let them cry. Just try to use it as a last resort when everything else fails lor.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000">Mei is POPING!!</font></font>

Updated On Mei's Blog

"MH experiences mild contraction at 5am this morning. Yes, she is admitted to KKH at 8.30am and now we are in the ward waiting. Only contractions, water bag not yet burst. Our gyne said that we shall wait and monitor. If the baby still not coming out, he will burst the water bat at 10pm today!!! Such a long wait again for our no. 2... So here we are "live" at KKH."

vereneting,
Yes, that jaundice article very good. I got a scanned soft copy, anyone wanna? Just leave ur email. :D

CONGRATS TO QQ!! finally wait is over.

Shannonbaby,
i'm giving EBM instead of latching now, my girl now 2 weeks old is drinking 80ml every 3 hrs.

icy,
can email me the article at [email protected], thanks!

babe,
received your email :) will liase with you from there. thanks!

mylife,
don't feel guilty about the pacifier, i also give my girl when she wail like nobody's business even after a feed. But so far only gave her a few times. I think it's better then letting baby suck their fingers as pacifier is easier to wean off then weaning off the fingers which are avaliable all the time right?

mylife,

i am gauging by the ebm. I am not really sure. If latch is enuff, then why after 1hr or sometimess less than an hour, he want to suckle again?? Mm...maybe bcos i've block ducts that's why not enuff for him. I have not try give in to pacifier, i rather use my nipple as pacifier...haha. But MIL say if all else fails, we need to consider pacifier loh.

<font color="0077aa">shannonbaby &amp; babe,
thanks for sharing on the ameda pump. I don't think i want to spend extra $ for Ameda, renting is good enuff cos i decide to stop BF once i return to work cos i kept having engorge problems, breast very painful. Although i got good supply also problematic la

<font color="ff6000">Really "mei" in action liao ah? Wow...congrats to her in advance!! icy, waht's her blog add?</font>

everyone is raving on how well Medela Advanced PIS works for them...but for me, i have to squeeze my breast WHILE pumping AT THE SAME TIME to see good spurts of milk out from breast...si beh tiring!

windy
nice of u to have mom who share your modern view...my mom is the type who tinks must must feed water

shannonbaby
i calculated my bb's intake based on the formula...beh tio leh...cos it says bb shud take around 40-45ml only but that day fed her 75ml, still screams?? She is oredi 2weeks old now. SIgh.

Sorry mommies,i asked this before, but no responses...will wearing a nursing bra at home affect ss? i scared if i dont wear, breasts will sag, if wear, will affect supply (altho no wire)

itok,
just need to press baby's nose to see if there's any yellowish. I rented the machine at $250 for 3 days.

Re: Dom,
Can anyone help me with the DOM question? If you drink Dom the last thing before you sleep at night, will you throw away the next EBM? Mrs Wong never mention that during her class leh. Thank you!!

Re: volume of milk intake
i'm quite worried of overfeeding my girl, i tried to reduce her intake and increase her frequency. Results- she's not satisfied after the feed and keep crying for more. Is it normal for a 2-week old to drink 80-90ml of EBM or FM every 3-4 hrs?

steph
it's really a pity if u stop BF...since u got good supply!!! Try massaging more to prevent the engorgement leh.

*shriek* <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">CONGRATS QQ!!!</font></font>

Mei, jiayou!!

mylife,
i wear my nursing bra at home although i express solely. My gynae told me to wear cos breast will sag after we stopped BF. i don't think that'll affect the supply though but i started wearing nursing bra as soon as i return home from hospital.

i give my girl water when she hiccups also, cos she looks very xin ku leh, once i feed her a bit of water, she'll stopped hiccuping and went back to sleep.

Luvv
i also worry of overfeeding my girl. But i dunno how much she's taking cos i'm total latch on. Even worse rite? Sometimes i see her puking quite a lot of milk out...si beh heartpain, but i read vomitting milk is normal for babies.

thanks verene! wooo.. one fine day we must all meet up for high tea or something.. hehe.. will be nice to put faces to nicknames. "Oh this is verene n her baby... kekeke. aww.. cute..."

mylife,
i gave my girl warm boiled water, around 5-10ml each time using bottle, mine is already drinking EBM so i don't need to worry about nipple confusion.

Wa, so many mummies popped! Congrats Valecia, Mom2nat &amp; QQ!

Mei, jia you jia you! Hope your water bag burst on its own soon.

Angelsky, yesterday night bad for me too. Woke up 3 times cos of pain. Don't know whether is it cos I ate pineapple tarts yesterday. :p Will not take today, see whether it helps.

windy
i tot feeding glucose water will make them feel full and possibly rejecting BM later? Better to feed water instead...i think

Luvv
thanks for sharing

mylife,

yes if hiccup too loud, allow MIL give 5ml water by spoon. After a while, the hiccup is okay liao.

Re: wearing nursing bra at home
Yes i wear them (no wire &amp; no padding) with breast pads otherwise will leak BM wor &amp; stain pyjamas...smelly la. But i am not sure if don't wear nursing bra, will breast sag anot? Anyway since i started massage so hard on my breast to prevent engorgement until got blue black, i dun care if breast will sag anot liao, i think might even head north, south, east or west after such harsh treatment...

steph77,
I PM you mei's blog. it is at Multiply.

luvv,
You got mail.

I attend a Seminar before by Mrs Wong. She said just 10ml alcohol at night. If cook before then okie, because it is evaporated already. The alcohol will take9 hrs to get to breastmilk.

Congrats to QQ and Windy.

wow... so many mommies popped and still popping today!!!

Congrats to those tat already popped and ganbatte for those in the process......

regular glucose powder and mix with water.

mylife, give abit lor.. not too much tat it becomes a substitute ba. anyway, give water also can. the ang mo believe is all liquids baby drinks can be rm temp. chinese believe must warm up cos will cause less gas. see u swing which end bah..

since i intro fm to danelle, the recommended intake is bet. 50-75ml but she only drinks 35ml only... how ah??? jia lat lei...

icy

steph
haha..had me ROFL on your breasts directions!!

re:water feeding for hiccups
hmm...seems like most of u will feed water when bb hiccup..i gong gong listen to my PD NOT to feed water if i TBF..he says BM got 90% water liao.

windy,

TMC nurse feed my baby with glucose water on Day 2 cos at that time, no breast milk, only colostrum and mine is considered small baby (less than 3kg) so it is okay to let baby have glucose water but not encourage at home since breast milk is established. Give water instead of glucose water.

hi mylife,

the lactation consultation and PD says no need water but my boy hiccup too. so can't bear to see him like so xin ku...I give water also.

hi sassy,

Javier intake of fm and ebm varies...sometimes only 30ml , sometimes can be 60ml. but he demands feeds very often. averarge 1- 1 1/2 hr apart. if i give fm at bedtime, the interval can be like 3 hrs though.

mylife
<font color="aa00aa">I lagi worse. My mum's place doing upgrading and the stupid contractors kept hitting the cement off the pavement, the noise is like thundering all the time from 9-5pm. As my mum lives on 3rd floor, it's like earthquake trembles. Baby got scared many times and now his napping time is all confused bec he can't sleep but is very tired. Very sim tia also. Then he becomes cranky too since lack of sleep. Even CL also cannot tahan the noise. I think I sleeps the least during confinement..wah say...so you say how not to give pacifier?</font>

Btw, mummies here, who's going to take care of your babies when you go back to work ar? I have problem finding babysitter also..sighz.

Mylife, can't use fm vol to gauge intake coz bm more easily digestible.

Luvv n verene, shldn't worry abt giving too much if bb takes. If they full, they will use mouth to push out teats.

Steph, ur description v funny... I like u too got engorged prob but juz gotta b hardworking