(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Congrat Fishia !

Kitsune,
I always have to make sure my hubby or mil is able to look after my baby before i go out. Now with 2 i think it getting more difficult. i think i need to make sure both of them are at home coz my eldest girl quite active.

Btw mummies can i just check with you whether you intend to shave your baby hair?

luvv
oh.. your girl also doesnt wanna latch? did u intro the bottle too early too?

to heat up the EBM, just stand the bottle in hot water.

i got this model cos i think its got the most cooling panels so it shd be able to last the longest lor:

http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/ftg_1200.htm

i am using medela pump and i can store 6 bottles inside, but you have to lie the FTG down on its side lah, if u know what i mean :p

Ahcapp,

i also have difficulty in letting my bb to latch, so no choice gt to pump the BM out....

u may like to consider Avent Electric Uno pump (can be interchangable between manual pump n electric pump) ... i am nw using this ...quite worth $$

Luvv, I have a FTG to let coz now got a medela cooler bag. Had it for my no.1. This one can also take 6 small avent bottles of milk. I took it to work to put something like 3-4 bottles and avent pump then. Bought abt 1yr back when I had to move around more for my work coz in office I have a fridge. Used for 1-2mths only coz work went crazy and bm slowly depleted.
http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/ftg_1199.htm
U see if u like it. Store bottles upright for carrying. Can last 8hrs without putting in fridge. If u interested pm me and I'll get my hb take pic of it.

Steph
i didnt really suffer from breast engorgement..so was quite thankful for that.

I guess like wat michelle said, we all have our own set of problems. My baby actually latch on quite well. I am jus worried my supply is not enuff for her.

I wan to monitor my milk supply by pumping to see got increased or not, but hardly find the time to do dat. Cos, after Baby Rylee latched on right breast, she goes to sleep (seems satisfied), then 2-3hours later wake up for another feed. I dunno if i shud pump left breast after she finished with right breast cos i scared 2-3 hours later when she wakes up, both my breast empty no milk then how?

Actually sometimes very contradicting also...Mrs Wong actually discouraged us to intro bottles teats to baby <1month, but becos we so tired, sometimes also wishes to EBM and let CL feed her during midnite.

Michelle
can we get fenugreek on our own without any prescription and does it really really work...

I am still waiting and waiting for the day that my BM supply will flow gushingly when i pump.

Dunno why the pump i'm using (Medela Advanced PIS) cannot really pump effectively for me. If i just stick the funnel to my breast, it will not pump ALL milk. I find that i have to squeeze my breast and THEN the milk will come flowing out! Anyone else using the same pump and experiencing the same problem? My gf told me some people jus used manual pump better...or is it true Medela PIS only come in useful AFTER our milk is gushing flow liao? So if i switch to manual...is Avent ISIS Manual really good?

For those doing EBM and feeding baby thru bottle, wat bottles u all using? I have Avent and Medela ones (dat come with the pump) and i use NUK teats for the Medela bottles.

Mylife, dun worry...at least ur bb wakes up 2-3h after feed. Mine got sleep period but once wake up can drink like crazy. 20-20 still not enough have to go back 20 again or 20-20 again. So I can be feeding for like 1 over hr. Ur gal is satisfied. U can try pumping the other breast but muz be prepared that may be a phase she struggle to get milk from that breast as ur brain tells that breast to produce more. U know what I mean?

Aiya, when we are tired, anything to make bb stop crying or sleep, we'll do. It's a norm...

Anyway, muz enjoy bf, if not ebm might be a better choice. Dun make urself too stress. Muz recover well for there's a long way to go while we want to provide the best for our bb..

Fenugreek can be bought offshelf.

I used PIS for no.1. No pump can empty my breasts or maybe mine is a latching breast and dun like motor coz letdown slow. Have to squeeze to speed up. I keep turning on and off coz I like the stimulation mode and not the sucking mode. It's trial and error. Manual pump is more labourious on the hands but it works better for some people.

Joyce,

My appoinment is 9.45 tml... Won't get to see u again.

Re: Delivery at MAH

Like to knw if we need to bring along our own set of pyjamas? How many sets of BB clothes to bring along?

Hi Joyce,

I think my colleague signed up on the day she deliver, or maybe just b4 she deliver. Not very sure though. What I know is even if I forget to bring the kit along, they will have spare kits in the hospitals, so not to worry if u have to sign up last min. But do give them a call to double-confirm. =)

pixel,

*wave wave* I am still here. =) Like u, waiting here too. =)

U so fast know u need to induce already ah? Is it because your gynae think your baby is big enough?

Babyling,

Oh, I bought the manual pump in a hurry and didn't know that there is this one which can switch between manual and electric. =S No choice lah, will use the manual one first and see how before I change out the parts for my medela pump in style lent to me by my colleague.

Jenie,

I have not given birth yet, but I don't intend to shave off all his hair. Newborn's head a bit soft right. I worry what if I cut him by accident? If my in laws insist, I will only allow them to snip off a teeny weeny bit that's all. But not whole head.

Jacelyn,

I am bringing total 3 sets of PJs for myself. If not enough, will get my hb to drive home and get more.

For baby's clothings, I am only bringing 2 sets for him to wear on his day of discharge. 3 pairs of mittens as Luvv reminded us that Mt A doesn't provide mittens.

<font color="ff0000">Congrats Fishia!</font>

Thanks, Ah Capp. Hope she replies soon. Don't want to have BP stuff still dangling when I deliver. Hubby doesn't read forum one.

Joyce, I had the pain again in the afternoon. Feels like stomach cramp when I kenna food poisoning last time. So now I'm wondering whether my 'tummy' pain could be caused by milk cos I have been drinking milk to try and make my BB bigger. But I'm lactose intolerant, drink milk, stomach always no good.

Mylife, I got Medela PIS from my friend too but haven't used yet. Hope it works for me. :p

Blackbatz
I went library only just now. Weather damn hot, wan to go out oso sian. I oso hope pop today, cos gynae not ard mon to wed.

Lynn
I wanna shop but scared waterbag burst halfway! Hahaha...
HOw's your confinement? Which PD you bring Rayden to?

Mom2nat, I haven't been to library for so long. Lazy to walk. :p

Keep talking to BB and ask him to come out. Buy him more toys if he come out today.

kitsune
Hahah... toys ah... maybe i tell him tat. Maybe you see the number of toys in my house you faint liao. Heee...
I go library every 3 weeks. NOw is still double the quota, so can borrow double the normal number of books.

babe
thanks for the advice. Do u think i shud go get some fenugreek now? U mean ur boy can latch 20-20, then 20-20mins again on each breast??? OMG. U must be damn sore liao. My PD said max 30mins on each breast only leh. Ur PD shud be the same as mine, Dr EK Ong, rite?

As for pumping, do u mean to say, if we pump and emptied the breast, then if bb latch on again, immediately got milk again??

Now thinking if i shud go and buy an Avent ISIS Manual Pump. The Medela one like not very productive for me right now...

Kitsune,

I helped u posted at the leapfrog BP #2:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1121890.html?1200208918

I think she only replies at the middle of the night. So guess we'll have to wait a bit longer. ;P

Mom2nat,

When is your due date? I still went shopping yesterday, but with my hb lah. My gynae said walk more mah, so I walked and walked and walked lor. ;)

I love the library too, but always return my books late. Kena fines like mad. Long time ago, we can loan the book for 4 weeks! =)

To mummies who are waiting...

I kinda feel that my baby's movements have slowed down a bit for past week. He seem to have a regular pattern. But yesterday and today, not very active like that. Any concern? My gynae didn't tell me to monitor his movements at all. I hope I am not missing/ forgetting something here.

Re:pacifier
Since last night, baby Ian has been waking up several times crying, sometimes for milk, sometimes for cuddle but once we let him sleep on the cot, he'll start wailing all over again. He keeps sucking at his mittens, at his Daddy's shirt, anything that he can put into his mouth. Sighz, super tiring. CL suspects he's teething as she sees whitish growth around his gum area. Actually, my mum and I noticed it too but it's soo soon to start teething as normally, it should be about 6-9months and he's barely a month old!! I allowed him to latch on me until he fell asleep but once we unlatched him, he started crying again. See him cried until like that also sim tia and worried about colic. In the end, hubby and I decided to try giving him the pacifier. Within a min, he fell asleep!!
Feel so guilty for introducing pacifier to him but seems like we really have tried all means.

AhCapp,
I just went to the library just now to borrow books for baby Ian. They allowed borrowing up to 8-16 books until end of this month.

congrats Fishia!!!! ...

pixel .... ur baby is growing like mine ... but urs like bigger 38 weeks my baby is 3.3 same as what u say cannOt wait till 40 weeks

AhCapp

I think you should start monitoring baby's movements. From 9am to 9pm, baby must have at least 10 big movements. If say by 4pm, you already have 10 movements, then no need to count anymore.

Luvv/Steph

I'm also giving my bb BM during the day and supplement it with FM for nite feeds ! My supply is not as much as Steph. By nite time all my BM finished le so I hv to give FM (similac)

Steph
Thks for the recommendation. I bot the calVitD3 le. No instructions one leh. Take 2 at a time can ?

Avent manual pump
I've been using this pump since my #1 and it has proven to be good. I've been expressing my milk using this manual pump w/o latching on my bb leh. I have a coll also using the same pump w/o latching and she can pump up to 6mths ! and her supply is really good wor.

Is milk supply very subjective to individual ? why some have more some lesser ?

CONGRATS to those who have given birth recently !!!

dear mummies,

i've been a regular 'stalker' on the Jan and Feb MTB thread but haven't really posted anything cos er shy and nothing much to contribute :p

Anyway, looks like i'll been joining u mummies here very soon. my original EDD is 4th Feb but i'll be going for a c-section tomorrow morn at 37wks due to baby not been growing well since abt 32wks. her projected weight at birth is only abt 2kg or less and dr recommend we get her out since she's technically reached full maturity already.

reading all the posts abt breastfeeding has certainly been very useful in preparing me for what to expect. hopefully i can persevere in my quest to TBF!

chaye
yah lo..i think its true milk supply is really up to individual...steph gave birth much later than us, yet she can have 100ml from both breast so soon at Day6/7?? Me Day11 liao..still at 30/40/50 max only. How's your supply like? Do u pump it out? Mine mostly latch on, but when i pump, only 25-30ml from one side of breast cos the other one usually emptied by baby.

Ahcapp
violetice is right...u SHOULD monitor bb's movement now. U're at week 39 oredi rite? Not to scare u..my gf also counted her bb's movement, and when she felt lesser and lesser, she notified gynae, gynae checked and said her placenta not very "healthy" liao...dont ask me how he knows, so he suggested induce for my gf. Now she has given birth liao. Also Jan mommy.

violetice
dont be guilty for introducing pacifier to bb lah...i can truly understand how u feel cos me too refraining for doing that but if bb is crying whole nite long and that is the ONLY solution in sight, then of cos we as mommies will sim tia bb crying for so long and so pitifully. Same like people say bb cry, dont always pick up, next time very jialat cos they learn very fast, everytime cry must pickup blah blah blah. Whoever invented this saying i suspect not a mother leh...how can u expect a mother to bear the baby wailing his/her lungs out and NOT pick him/her up? *siao*

ask u all one more thing. U gals know me relocating back to HK soon. Now contemplating if i shud stay until bb at least 6 months old...but hubby anxious for us to join him there cos he says will miss us alot. But hor, jus now got frens visited us and commented on how we could not think of baby's safety cos pollution in Hk very bad. Sigh...again, felt like protecting baby and delay bringing her to HK..scared her little lungs cannot tahan the pollution but on the other hand, hubby wans us to go over asap..he said shud be ok to stay indoors. I also would like to do her vaccination here in Spore, but hubby kept saying there also have one, no difference. MAJOR dilemma now...opinions??

Mylife,
Did you attach funnel to breast straight away without massaging? Before using the breast pump, massage with warm towel, squeeze nipples a little to let milk flow out before attaching funnel to breasts. Switch on using the low power, then slowly increase to high power.

Mom2nat,
I just woke up from nap. Mum boiled green bean soup. I thought hot means I can eat. But she says no, it's very cooling. Sigh...

AhCapp
Now can loan for 3 weeks, but you can renew think 50 cents a book only leh.

My due date was yest. I walk leh, but like wat gynae told me, #1 late, so dun expect #2 to be too early lor. Just now I decided to go for a dip. Wah piang, pple see my belly like "WAH"... Hahaha....

Blackbatz
Yah, green bean I heard cooling. Hahah... she boil for other pple in the fam to eat, not you lah! Hee...

mylife
I dunno how true, but my fren relocated to HK with her 2 girls, end up the are ill so often, she has to bring them back to recupurate! But they are abt 6 months and 3 yr old liao... stil like tat.

Gynae scan can see placenta healthy or not. Cos my gynae did and told me "look, placenta still looks good"

mylife
well fenugreek works for some, while others say it doesnt make a diff for them. i guess u just hv to try it out and see lor.

I'm also using medela PIS. i think its very gd leh. it helped me to TBF my son for 7 mths! yes, i do also massage and squeeze my breasts durimg pumping so that i can get every single drop out hee hee. then can produce more mah. anyway its actually a very gd pump, so perhaps u try taking fenugreek 1st, to see if ss increase, n give the pump another chance? even a lactation consultant i met said its a very gd pump. its similar to what hospitals are using too, ie the medela lactina.

seems like a lot of us here are feeding EBM to our babies huh... its really tough BFing isnt it!!

MyLife
I pump 3 times a day. ie morning, lunch &amp; dinner. sometimes if ard 10plus I still feel engorge I will pump. Morning supply is more but watery. I can get ard 150ml at times for both breasts. Afternoon supply is low ard 80ml then dinner also abt 80ml only.

michelle
where can i get fenugreek off the shelf from? GNC? Guardian? How soon aft consuming fenugreek will i know IF it's suitable for me ie i will have more? 1 week?

As for medela PIS, I know everyone says it's a good pump but u shud see me pumping everytime gotta squeeze my breast machiam like manual pump...at the end of it, so super tiring. I jus wonder if i'm better off using a manual one since my gf commented some people have better results with a manual pump. Maybe shud only use medela PIS when i have better flow. Now mine is jus drop by drop, not trickling flow leh.

I have already bought 3 air purifiers in HK before i flew back here for my delivery. One specifically for bb's room. But of cos, temporarily bb will sleep in my room, which also have a purifier.

mom2nat
sigh..yah lo...very very dilemma now. Your gynae never mention the "induce" word yet?

chaye
80ml is NOT low ok??? Think mine is SERIOUSLY low liao. Today Day 11 liao...still increased a bit nia. Funnily, majority of the time i latched on, bb still latch and not complaining, and have 6-8 times poo and pee. Is there something seriously wrong with my pump/breasts?

touch water

my mumhas been nagging at me not to touch so much water during confinement but how not to? after visiting toilet sure need to wash hand ma. before ezpress milk need to clean nipple too ma. how to follow strictly such rules?

I was talking to CL tis morning that Malays &amp; Indians dun do such practice like us wat and they are fine leh ! I wonder what the malays &amp; indians do or eat during their confinement.

Mylife, u can try fenugreek. U are right..my breasts are so sore...boo hoo..

Like all of u, my bb also wakes up like 11ish pm, feed liao not satisfied like that. Keep sucking want more. Dun give, angry and cry. No choice give loh..any good advice? I juz wonder if this will help increase my suppply...

Maybe I shld also wake him up in day..he seems to sleep more in day...

Still hanging on to my breasts...unless can't stand pain and ebm..anyway now I feed off and on ebm to my boy using spoon.

Anyone know combi spoon can put in steriliser? Have been doing that to feed bb ebm.

mylife, my hubbie also wanted us to join him after man yue initially - our plan. Then he said, better for us to join him after bb gets her vaccinations (the major ones) and when she is about 6 months, mean while he will fly back instead. Becoz jakarta is as polluted.

luvv;
cannot wait until week 40 because by then baby will be too big. my gynae is encouraging me to have natural birth with epi. 37 weeks already 3.5, wait until 40 weeks can hit 4kg judging by the rate my baby is growing...

ahCapp;
yup, gynae thinks baby is big enuff. actually should induce this week but my cervix is not open at all so might be a lonnnnggg labour and risk emergency c-sect. so she said "wait next week and see how".
i was wondering if my cervix never open next tue...induce oso might stand the chance of c-sect which i do not want.
so dilemma

about baby not moving much.
i once had this problem before. had a minor car accident where the car behind slammed into ours so we had quite an impact.
after that, baby never move for 2 days.
really panicking... but at night (when he's most acive) started stirring around. i almost cried with joy.
my colleague told me she had the same problem, went to see doc. the doc told her baby also got mood like us, sometimes dont like to move around. just monitor lor...

QQ;
its good and bad about big babies. for one, you are happy that it is growing. but too big cannot come out. very sianz. my younger sis went induced...she had a 2.5 days of labour. drip, burst waster bag, tried everything but cannot. in the end went c-sect and vacumn assisted as the baby already poo-ing inside her. her baby boy was 3.95kg. overdue by 1 week.

mom2nat;
your doc on leave? eunice chua is my gynae, shes good. my elder sis's 2 girls were under her too...im going on tue afternoon. you going saturday rite?

re: fenugreek
can buy from here. GNC has 1 size. if you buy from spree or bulkpurchase, the size is bigger, and more worth it.

re:breastfeeding
all mummies jia you! my sis keep telling me, pump as frequent as you can, even tho not much output, it will gush out like waterfall eventually.

btw, who is experiencing "leaking"? few days ago at work, seems like i had like frequent gushes of discharge. keep going to toilet to wipe. it doesnt looks like discharge to me (my discharge is different from that "leak"). was not urine too (i had a sniff sniff *yuks*). freaked my boss out cuz she thought my waterbag burst. is that normal?

chaye
only recently i pump after latching..cos sometimes she wakes up at 2 hours interval so i scared if i pump, then i wont get milk supply for her next feed cos my supply oredi so low! So my EBM is only on one breast plus leftovers from the one she latched on...but still considered low leh. As for intervals, it's sometimes 2 hourly, sometimes 3hourly.

Babe
poor u...i truly understand u. Altho i dont have problem latching on, sometimes i feel like my breast like heated up, like on fire like dat...seriously...i dont feel like a cow, i feel like a factory!!

angelsky
sigh...yah lo...but difference now is my hubby WANTS us to go over soon, he seems to think as long as we stay indoors, shud be ok wor. Vaccinations can get from HK too, he said. He said cannot bear to knock off from work and not having us in the house. Initially i also think the same...but now dat i've given birth, feel very protective to my bb. Actually i also quite clingy to hubby one, so the tot of 6 months without him also make me sad...but now wondering if i shud delay like u

mylife,

I have a HK gal friend who married a Sg guy. She brought her baby back when he was a few months. Don't know why but he got sick and even after seeing the doc many times, also can't get well. But once he returned back to Sg, ok wor. My gal friend said it could be due to the factors like water etc etc.

Personaly, I would suggest u wait till your baby is stable (as in breastfeeding, health etc) before relocating. But don't have to wait till 6 months right? Perhaps when your little darling is about 2 months old, should be ok right? Goosh, I can't bear to be away from my hb for 6 months too. My hb is going away for 3 weeks in mid Feb. I drag that day man as I also found that I have become more clingy to my hb recently. =(

Baby movements....

Thank u all of u for the feedback. Ok, will monitor his movements. =) Ok, he started moving again. He is always excited when I come online and type. =D

mylife

Yeah, I've heard of pple saying "When baby cries, don't pick him/her up so readily as they will learn that crying gets them attention but seriously lor, if cry and cry, who can bear not to pick them up, colic aside. Sighz. My baby slept for the longest while just now with pacifier. Hubby said maybe we can pull pacifier out when he's asleep.

Think I'm the first mummy here to give pacifier to baby..

Mylife, I also very clingy to hubbie
. You can buy the air filter when you reach HK? We going to get for our place so at least even in doors, the baby will get better air. In a way, for the family to stay together is good.

ahcapp
i'm glad someone can identify with my "clingy-ness" to hubby. I si beh useless one lo..like u, particularly during pregnancy. Even now, hubby going back HK on 20Jan and returning on 1feb also, i think oredi, tears will start forming in my eyes liao. Yes, 2months is my initial plan, dats why thinking shud i delay for 6 months instead. Jus now hubby came to me pleading me dont even consider 6months cos he said he will miss us very very much..cant bear to be apart so long...he asked me "u really serious in considering moving only when baby girl 6months ah...dont la, i will miss u all leh.." Hear oredi also heart pain.

violetice
no worries la, there'll always be a first ma. As long as bb happy.