(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendyg,

If #1 u have good BM supply, i think #2 also no prob for u. Your little giant is really power! I showed my hubby his pix & my hubby go..WOW!!..double the size of my Zander!

hammies,
yr baby boy got big eyes wor?

krystle,

Q: How much dilation will cause pain?
Errr...it really depends on individual threshold for pain. I have got low threshold but managed to tahan till 5cm dilated b4 calling for epi.

QQ,

yr turn will come soon
How's yr cervix check ? dilated buay?

Steph...I realised our babies have the same birthday
So you are not doing total bf? I'm trying that out first but admittedly, it is very tiring at night. I will try to hang on to that for as long as possible, unless at a later check up doc said it's still not enough for his growth or something. Tat's my worry.

Talking about engorged breasts...I noticed a bit lumpy under my armpit today! Is this part of engorgement? I'm quite shocked to see that and it feels pain...

hammies,

yup, our babies have the same birthday! What time u give birth...in the morning i supposed? Mine was 2.53pm.
I tried TBF in hospital for 3days but due to engorged breast & sore nipple, i have to pump.
Yes, the lumpy thingy is the indication of engorged breast, must massage & use hot towel compress to prevent engorgement.

steph
took abt 6 wks to estab bm supply for #1. Very xin ku. Hope this time comes faster.

hammies
massage hard to get rid of the lump.

steph that day gynae never check my cervix only say if next week no labour sign she will induce me on 18

Yvonne, I see. No wonder, but all is well now.

Icy, QQ, sounds like my symptoms too. Okie, looks like still a waiting game. QQ, 18 Jan is a nice date.

Jenie, ya will try and enjoy our er ren shi jie first. Went to Phin's at Tampines to eat dinner just now. Once got baby, think it'll be home cooked food or tapow all the way. :p

Jacelyn, yup I'm 1.58m with a boyish figure. My gynae didn't tell me I can't deliver naturally. But she did say mummies with smaller pelvis tend to have smaller babies lor. Guess she was hinting for me not to be greedy about my BB's weight. Hee.

Ah Capp, Icesnow also haven't finalised your Leappad order ah? Me too leh. Was at Toy R Us just now, saw only a few of the book cartridges selling at $29.95 each. Icesnow haven't emailed me in a while and never advise me on amount to transfer, wonder how long it will take. What if we go deliver liao. :p

Kitsune yup my hubby like 18 oso ... keep telling baby wanna see her on 18 ..... haha ....

next time have baby oso can dine out lah kitsune
just that have one DI SAN ZHE ard only hahahah

kistune,

I think my order is finalised already bc my name in her table. But only part of my order has arrived, so I don't think I can collect it yet lor. Yes, guess must wait till I deliver lor. The books quite exp here in Sg. Same price at Metro too.

I am 1.72m tall and I asked my gynae the same question about any problem for me go for natural birth. She said also difficult to say. I also don't hope for my baby to be too big, or else really jia liat when I push. =S

QQ,

18 sounds like a nice date to me too. I got married on the 18th. I bet a lot of mummies who plan for c-sec might choose this date too. ;) If I can choose, I might also consider this date.

Hi mumies. yeah.. all the bbies.. look so cute!!!!!! Feel like cudding and kissing all of them! SO so adoable...Cant wait fo my daling to be bon too.. due date on 24th and 1 cm dialted and bb aleady engaged but no symtoms yet so just waiting anxiously fo the BIG DAY of my daling son
Mixed feelings too as being a fist time mummy eally dun know what to expect at all!

QQ, 18th is my dating anniversary with hubby. Your BB is 3.3kg now right? Ya, by right can lar. But if got to bring pram, and so much barang. Plus, if BB cry or cranky, also cannot enjoy our meal. Think end up will just have a quick one at the foodcourt and take turns to eat which I see lots of young couples doing. :p

Ah Capp, wanted to get married on 18th too.
I forgot, how big is your BB now? Looks like everyone's BB bigger than mine so far. Ya, my name not even on any list. Wonder if she forgot about me. Can you help me post a message to Icesnow to remind her? Thanks. :p

Kitsune 18 cos my husband birthday DAY is 18 ... his 18 May loh mine is 1st .... 1st over liao so he hope same as him kekek since he give way in letting me to choose baby name hahaha i let him have a chance neg with baby hahaha ...

true lah very troublesome next time ... but i think worth it lah hahahah is our precious!

haha, QQ, my hubby's BD is 6th Jan so over liao. My birth date is 7, also over liao. Now, I'm aiming for 18 (our dating anniversary) or 21 Jan (our customary wedding anniversary) or maybe eve 2 Feb cos hubby said good date to remember.

I'm hoping next time, my ILs or mum can help me take care of BB so that occasionally, can still go pak tor with hubby.

hee hee kitsune i think they will lah ... but i wont ask them to look after .. just bring baby wherever i go .... hee

kitsune/angelsky/qq
i oso have been having those pain feeling.. and Kitsune - like yourself, yday was a torture for me.. i slept at abt 1am but got menstrual cramps feeling for the whole nite until i buay tahan but still hack care and try to slp.. abt 5am, feel the need to pee, so went.. den the pain diverted from lower abs to upper and i suspect i might be having gastric pains so woke up to eat 2slices of bread... den i don't wanna tink abt so much and tried my best to slp but no position is comfortable... haizzz... my V area oso feel v heavy and suan and my backache oso esp when i walk.. really feel like a dumbo.. so i suspect probably these are the few early signs and false labour and the real stuff might come this wk.... now quite gan cheong and scared liao... esp at nite, got phobia slpg!!!

violetice,
i din ask my gf how many ppl she catered for but the food seems enuf for the no. of ppl i saw at the celebrations. Since u r catering for 80pax, i have a suggestion for you. perhaps u can try telling them u wanna cater for 40pax + 40pax (mixture of 2 price range/pax) den u can get double the food amt wif varieties instead of catering straight for 80pax in a menu type.. dat's wat i'm gonna do so can c more selection...

steph
so u have been giving your bb the bottle? are u still able to latch him on to your breast? cos i had to intro bottle to my girl (medical reasons lah) and now it seems she prefer the bottle to my breast liao. very sad... every time try to latch her on she will cry very loud. put the bottle in her mouth, she guai guai drink..sigh

Kitsune,

Msg her on your behalf already. Let's wait for her reply. =)

My bb is about 3.1kg +/- 200g on Fri. I am very close to 40 weeks already. +/- 200g is the error possible due to the measurements. I think all babies will be borned slightly heavier than their estimated weight. Don't worry. If too big, also difficult to push ah. ;P

QQ,

If I have to induce, it suddenly become like i have to choose his birthday like that. But then again, I was an overdue baby (by c-sec). Guess in a way, my birthday was also 'chosen' =P

Godsent,

Poor u. =( I can also feel my baby dragging himself down when I walk.

Looks like a lot of u have some kind of 'signs'. I really don't have much. Not that I am complaining, but it seem like I am on my way to the road of induce very soon next week. *sob sob*

blackbatz, ur supply so good..wat u eating? v difficult for me to feel letdown..

I zonk today...my bb was up n demanding milk like every hr frm 1.30am to 4.30am...brasts to sore n suspect nipple bled...arghhhh...

QQ n icy..true true...18 sounds like a nice date..

Fishia popped!

Baby Jude emerged via natural with epi
weight: 3.4kg
date: 12/1/08
time: 12.38pm
hosp: Gleneagles

babe
to try n increase your supply, u can try taking fenugreek. available at GNC. it worked for me! right now, i dont have a problem with supply - my prob is getting my girl to latch on! i'm so sick of givin her EBM thro bottle. looks like we all have our own different set of prob. anyway when your bb feed every hr, does he latch on by himself, or also struggle/cry a lot then latch on?

<font color="0077aa">michelle,

i start introduce bottle to my boy when my breast starts to engorge &amp; sore nipple when i discharge from hospital. Since, he is a pretty small baby at birth (2.53kg), PD suggest FM &amp; EBM since my breast very painful, no point forcing bb to latch &amp; in the end i get so stress up &amp; depressed. Baby Zander can be cranky when i force him to my nipple. Maybe will try to latch tomorrow when my nipple not so sore &amp; see how izit

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Congrats to Fishia!</font></font>

Good morning ladies,
Another mummy popped!! Wendyg, thought you're resting. Still can surf internet ah..

Babe,
I tell myself to relax at every feeding. Then very easy to get let down. Can also use warm towel to massage breast before feeding. You will feel your breast enlarging. Squeeze nipple to let a little milk flow out. After that, you should be able to feel letdown

I didn't take fenugeek but I drink lots of soup, milk / milo / longan water. Liquid intake must be at least 4 litres (according to gynae). Since you say you're bleeding, maybe your latching is not correct. Remember to use nipple cream after feeding, otherwise it will hurt even further. Alternatively, use breast milk and smear around the nipple and aerola and air dry. If not, wait nipple crack and bleed, more painful when baby suckle.

My baby also didn't latch correctly, but my nipple is slight higher and thicker. Anyhow suckle also can squeeze milk.

Michelle,
Babies are very intelligent. Bottle no need to suckle so hard. That's why reject latching. But don't feel bad, you still giving him all the "gold" from BM. My #1 was like that, so I expressed 7 times a day

Congrats Fishia...finally the wait is over! Heehee...

Michelle, thks..that fenugreek thing ok for bf ya? How many to take? will ask hb to try to get that. Yes, I latch...sometimes struggle sometimes ok but he's looking for quick relief..

Blackbatz, so much liquid? ok will do that...I do put on nipple cream n smear bm but wonder how u air? I put on breast pad coz leaking...My bb v impatient, likes to pull at my nipple that's y feel quite tender. have to literally press his head down. So scare I use too much force..

Any of u natural got backache...I no epi also ache...1st preggy also like that...so funny..

Feel I got alot of poo...bb suckle then I wanna poo...alamak!

violetice: hmm.. i tink i will celebrate bb 1mth shower earlier then.

hammies: i"m using Avent manual pump, so far only try to pump once.. hand v tired. let him latch on better. heeheee!

krystle As for mi dilated till 5cm still no pain.. i tink due to i hav been walkin shopping ard too much during Nov till dec for xmas gifts..

can i ask any good recommendation for cathering?

Babe,
Lift up your T-shirt and air it lor...

I also have backache. Think it's caused by the bending over the cot night etc... Now night time, baby sleep next to me.

babe: wanna poo wen bb latch on? mi too. sometimes juz latch him on for 10mins then wanna poo..

Congrats Fishia!!

Mon2nat: u can continue ur New Yr shopping till ur bb pop.. for mi, only left a few days to do CNY shopping aft my confinement.

Re: Avent Manual Pump
I'm using that too, quite easy to use and not so hard on the engorged breasts.

Steph,
i'm doing the same thing, daytime BM, night time FM for longer sleeps. What brand are you giving? I'm giving my girl Friso.

BM will increase eventually, don't worry about that.

Steph/Michelle,
Have you thought abt how to do pumping during outings/CNY visits? Are you going to bring your pump out? I'm thinking of buying Fridge-To-Go now to store my BM when i'm outside.

AhCapp/QQ/Kitsune,
choose birthday of baby not bad also, at least can get the date that you want and still go for natural delivery.

Oic Wendyg.... that's great.... wow.. yr bb so chubby.....

Kitsune, i experience the same thing before too... wake up middle of the night due to pain, cramp and tightening but after 1hr its gone... but sometime its cime back again after 3hrs and gone....

May i know how many of bank your bb cord blood? and how much is it?

Since last night i have yellowish discharge... and i have been having like needle poking feeling and sour sour feeling...is it normal?

Jacelyn, my appt also on monday.. what time is urs? last week din get to meet up with u... mine appt is 10.30am. urs?

Yvonne, wow... 33hrs... really pei fu pei fu...and still have to bear with the pain for so long....wonder if its me.. i think i'll be screaming liao....

Congrats Fishia...

Congratulations Fishia! ^_^

Avent manual pump..

Looks like this is quite popular. Thanks ladies for your feedback. Will try use this one to relive engorged breasts and later switch to electric one when my milk is established and when I go back to work.

Luvv,

Yes, u r right. Actually not bad to choose date. But like lack of excitement like that suddenly. ;) Now I just hope that my bb will be good and let me have natural birth lor.

Joyce,

I signed up with stemcord. My start up fee is about $820, slightly cheaper than others as my gynae is linked to stemcord. I noticed that the start up fee for both stemcord and cordlife is roughly the same. Likewise for the yearly fee, also roughly the same.

Joyce,

My start up fee is $802.50 (with GST included). The yearly fee is $250. I just double-checked.

I didn't really do a comparision. Very lazy this time round. Kinda just went for stemcord as my colleagues signed up with stemcord. I only know the stemcord stores the cord blood in 2 different locations, so in a way, an advantage, in case something happens to 1 location. Not very sure about Cordlife though.

Why don't u call each one up and ask for a meetup and ask them questions? =)

luvv
yeah i will need to bring my pump out wherever i go lor. no choice.. otherwise, limit all outings to 3 hrs! then rush home to pump. so cham... sigh. anyway i have a fridge to go too - got it when i was pumping for #1. he also didnt latch at all and i expressed for 7 mths! the FTG is a gd invesment. go get it!

blackbatz
u so lucky #2 latches ok. i 2 times also unluckky! got babies who prefer bottle to breast

babe
u can take the fenugreek 3 capsules x 3 times a day
good luck! hope it works for u

steph
yeah i guess your PD is right - dont stress over whether latch or not, and at least our bb r getting our BM rite? i hv to keep telling myself this so i wont get depressed whenever she doesnt wanna latch :p i guess i just got my hopes up too high lor.. cos i was so much hoping #2 would be different from my 1st and latch on properly! i missed that bondin with my son n i was so looking fwd to bonding with my girl this time thro latching.

guess i just hv to mng my expectations ...

Ahcapp, thanks for yr details...we have signed up before deliver or on the day of deliver also can? i was give stemcord cataloge by my gynae.. so i think i will go ahead with stemcord if really decide to bank...

hello all...
im still here. sigh. like most of the mummies here, waiting to pop. baby is engaged, 3.5kg at 37 weeks, cannot wait till week 40. i guess more or less will be induced...see what the gynae says this coming tuesday...should be checking into tmh on wednesday.
very sian, last few days liao, still kena rash at my ankles. cant be bothered to see the doctor liao. just apply some soothing cream and hope that it goes away after birth...

btw, all the babies very cute!!
to the rest of the mummies who are waiting, jia you!
to the mummies who are struggling with bfeeding, jia you too!

michelle,
Thanks, which brand of FTG did u get? I saw that they have a corner at Self-Fix in Vivo City, think quite a number of brands there.

how do u heat up the EBM when it's feeding time?

I was quite disappointed when i can't latch my girl on also, but try to physo myself that at least she's getting BM from me, better then nothing!

luvv, that's what my colleague told me.. 4mths... but i think my mum did mentioned before regardless c-sec or operation, chicken and egg cannot take cos very "poison"...