(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Long time didnt post here. Congrat to all those mummies who have given birth recently.

Here a photo of my baby
1194401.jpg

My baby Javier jaudice level went up when we visit PD today. He needs to be warded for 3 days to do photo therapy. and needs blood test daily. So heart pain to see them prick my boy on the foot. both eyes filled with tears when I see them do the blood test and he wailed so loud. Now he is in the hospital. Missed him so much.

steph, only 3-in-1 and MMR are free in polyclinic

but that will mean that your baby will be jab more frequently if you opt for these.

i will be going for 6-in-1. Less worry cos after jab, we will be worry abt fever. Furthermore, there are other jabs tat you might want your baby to go for...like rotavirus, Pnumoccocol, hep A etc

Contractions - when you get contractions they are very painful and intense right? Whole belly and not just at some spot right? I keep feeling pain at the lower part of my belly and it keeps tightening. Back ache as well.

Juz back from my last wkend shopping being a mother of 1. Hehe....Actually was kinda tired but told myself, if I dont go out today, then no chance liao.

wendyg,
Woww....really sumo leh. Check out his thighs boy. Make me drool. Hehe...Really sulate u, manage to carry him till wk 41. I got my mum to c Tobey pic, her first remark was "Wah...one look at the balls can tell he really GOOD!!! :p v healthy & v strong." LOL~ Typical lao aunty.

Kitsune,
My gynae couldn't measure his head circumference for my past 3 checkups due to baby's position. Otherwise I might have opted for c-section right from the beginning.

angelsky,
"Real contraction" - the entire tummy plus your back will be painful...not just one area only. Yours is probably the beginning.

steph
wow...again..so envious of your BM supply. My BM now more established.

Am practising Blackbatz way ie latching on one breast then wait another feed, latch on the other. But like dat cannot monitor exactly how much baby is eating leh. Do u gals think i shud latch on, and then pump the other after feed? But very demoralising one, dunno why when baby latched on, she seems to have enuff, but when i pump, like very little only. Lactation consultant say as long as baby seems contented after feed and then wakes up for next feed around 2-3 hours later, shud be fine wor...

Re c-sect wounds.
My left side of the wound is bleeding a bit. My mom was quite worried. Kept leaking blood albeit small patches but consistently. Called gynae's office and was told to monitor. Possibly due to over exert of worry and fuss over my baby becos of tat CL

Godsent
Re CL
talking about her, finally agent came with replacement today. Whew. I actually felt a bit guilty when sending her off...abit "xin ruan" but like my fren said if i pity her, who's gonna pity me? The replacement seems more "jai" and most importantly very confident and fast. She told me apparently baby farting and bits of poo come out is very common for total BF babies. And poo is normal. Very relieved to hear that.

Sassy
Today when my CL bathe baby, she also did wat Danelle did. Poo into bath water! Hahahaha.

Today i went for follow-up on baby's jaundice. Thankfully, from 16 went down to 10...still not as low as wat we expected, but at least got progress from all the effort we made to let her sleep in the super hot phototherapy machine. Really heartpain when i see her wriggle and cry inside. Must be painful to her super soft baby skin.

When i was at TMC today, saw a few heavily pregnant mommies, was wondering if any of them belongs here.
I actually felt the feeling of missing having Rylee inside me again when i saw a mommy stroking her tummy. Silly me

So to those who have yet to pop, make sure u enjoy these last few days/weeks of having your darlings inside u...cos soon, she/he will be out and your life is never the same again! In a good way of cos

Lost count of all the new mommies who have popped!! <font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">CONGRATS TO ALL!!!</font></font>

For all mummies who have yet to pop, must jia you and hope all of you have a smooth delivery.

Must share this with you gals - when I was in the observation ward, another mtb was just admitted and being prepared for labour. The nurse did a cervix check and she was already 2cm dilated.
She said "Only 2cm huh".
The nurse replied "you are lucky to be 2cm dilated, I have patients who are suffering in pain for so many hours and yet no dilation!"

Imagine how demoralised I felt when I heard her comment. I'm in intense pain for 9 hrs before I got 2 cm dilated and she's still so relaxed but still complaining! I really envy those who can have a quick and smooth delivery.

Mylife,
Now can feed happily liao!

In a few days time, BB will demand more. Then you will have to latch on both breasts.

kitsune_sg &amp; Superbee,
I got that kick, cramp, pain experience for the past few days yet nothing happened. My hands and ffets get swollen again, and my muscle ache everywhere, pervix hurts every step I walk.. And nothing happens.

the waiting game continues...

wendy
wahhh..ur baby really looks very chubby chubby leh!!

luvv
actually when i was in TMC, i asked for confinement food and well, they already served me chicken liao. Jus dat after i came back home, mom implement the "no chicken" rule liao.

Jenie
Ur bb is super cute!!!!!!! Eyes so nice, black-black one.

Yvonne
Hugz...poor u for such long labour...but well, most importantly, bb is now safely out in your arms liao

mylife,

I am still here *wave wave* Yes, I am enjoying the last few days of '2 ren shi jie' with my hubby today. Went for kai kai and went to eat secret recipes' cakes. Guess when my little darling arrives, not much time to go out already. =) Will also miss my little darling's kicks and movement in my tummy for sure.

After hearing so much stories about difficulty in extracting BF after delivery, I am now worried if my manual pump is sufficient. I have a electric one, but I have not bought the spare parts for replacement yet. Didn't really want to spend too much 'if' I am not successful with BFing. Do u think I should quickly go to get my electric one ready? Or should I latch my bb on as many times as possible to establish BF first? So confusing =S

Yvonne,

Will try to jia you for sure. Thanks for the encouragement.

Your labour is soo long, but like mylife said, your little darling is safely in your arms. I am sure all effort is worth it. =) U earned my admiration!

Kitsune,
She will be celebrating her full month next sat.What i want to celebrate most is the end of my confinement where i can use soap and shampoo to bathe and drink my cold drinks again. It will be very soon that you can see your beautiful baby. Do enjoy your pregnancy now coz we will be busy feeding baby and worrying about bm supply when baby is out.
Ernmum,
I usually latch on coz im too lazy to sterilize the breastpump. And whenever i pump my bm supply will also be very pathetic.
Mylife,
I also miss the feeling of having my little one in my tummy and the feeling of being pregnant. Haha.

QQ,

The fact that induce might cause distress to my baby freaks me out. My gynae did told me of this possibility. Now I can only hope that my little darling will be good and come join me and my hb next week lah. =)

Superbee,

I will be going back for another CTG on my due date. I told my hb that I worry about induce. Anyway, will see what my gynae say coming Tue. Let's stay positive for now. =)

Steph,

I got a brand new Avent manual one ready for use. I have an electric one (Medele Pump in style) on standby, but I have not changed out the spare parts yet. I worry that I might not be successful with BF so I didn't dare to buy all replacement parts yet. What do u suggest? I am a bit confused lor.

Yvonne,

Everything is over already. Just let the 33 hours of labour be the past. Now you are cuddling ur BB in ur arms already.

Mylife,

Dun feel demoralisd by the amount of BM u produced. Everyone will have different experience. Now is only the beginning.... Endure a bit more and everything will be fine. Also remember that not to stress so much as it will affect the amt of BM produced too.

Kitsune,

Are you petite in size? Cos i did a check with my gynea if i am possible to have a natural birth he ask me to try cos i am petite in size and have quite narrow pelvis. During my check up he always measure the diameter of BB head.

Blackbatz
actually hor, i dunno if i'm feeding her enuff leh. COs she always suck suck suck and fall asleep. Suck on one breast can suck for 30-40mins. After falling asleep, she let go of breast so i assume she has enough and satified. But hor, jus now after feeding her right breast, i tried pumping my left, altho supply increased liao, but managed to get only 30ml. so i also dunno exactly when 2 feed from 2 breasts *clueless mommy*

Ahcapp,

Induce of labour will cause distress to BB? Oh no.... Its a high chance i will need to induce cos i will be due tml and still no signs of labour yet! Monday going for another check up see wad the gynae say. This makes me kinda worried now.....

Godsent
<font color="aa00aa">Thanks for the tip with regard to Neo's Garden. So when you attend the full month with Neo Garden, do you find their portion smaller? I have about 80++ guests, how many pax do you think I should order?</font>

Steph
<font color="aa00aa">The BM looks correct. Though I haven't tasted it before. LOL</font>

Luvv
<font color="aa00aa">I only wore the binder during my stay in the hospital and on the day of my discharge. Once I'm home, I stopped wearing the binder.</font>

Lynn
<font color="aa00aa">Yeah, my mum said the same thing. My baby is born on the 24th and since 24th Jan's a weekday, we decided to shift it to 20th, which is a Sunday. Old folks said for full month can celebrate earlier but not later. As whether we can eat the food, I think it depends on individual bah.</font>

Verene
<font color="aa00aa">I can understand how you feel. My baby was also admitted into hospital after his first visit to the pd. I cried when my hubby told me he has to be hospitalised and I kept thinking about him and wondering if he's ok. I think it's the bond that makes us missed them so much even though they were only out for a few days. Don't worry too much and ask for the number to contact so you can check on your baby.</font>

Ah Chapp,
Use the Avent one first, they are quite easy to use and gentle on engorged breasts. If you can latch on, you wouldn't need all these.

I went to buy the Avent spare parts and Medela parts. Till now, haven't use it.

Did you collect your loot?

Jacelyn,

Sorry, let me clarify again. My gynae told me when I am induced, there is a chance that the contractions MIGHT be so great the baby MIGHT become distressed. That's when his heartbeat will drop and I will need to go for a c-sec. This is a possibility.

I will discuss with my gynae on this at Tue. I r'ber my colleague's case was like this lor, so I am a bit worried. Do discuss with your gynae on Mon and express your concerns.

Blackbatz,

Thank you for the feedback! =) I always worry "what if" and I can't go out to get the stuff myself u see. ;) A bit paranoid hor....

My leapfrog order isn't complete yet. Guess will have to wait somemore. The rest of the stuff I ordered like baby toothpaste and desitin nappy rash cream are here though. =)

Ah Capp, really having a dual electric pump does save time and makes it easier to pump. Actually avent manual is good but u need double the time to pump since one side each time. It's really up to u. Success in bf is really up to u..

Mylife, I was like u regarding bf when having no.1. Essentially if bb is happy, let it be. Bb suckle can get more milk out than any other pump. If u pump out the unfed breast, essentially u tell ur brain u need more milk and that's it..good for storage..Dun panic wif bf, I think u are doing v well. Rest more and will get more milk. I am now enduring the pain of sore nipples. Shld see when I latch my impatient lazy babe, like kena bitten by dog and taking deep breathe during the first few suckle like intense contractions during labour and have to struggle with him when he tries to pull off coz milk not fast enough...

jacelyn
my #1 was induced.. i had strong drugs via drip for abt 9hr, but my boy wasn't in distress at all. but too bad my cervix din dilate (average is 1cm per hour. Mine was stuck at 3cm all the way) so had to go c-sect.
I know frens who were successfully induced, eg amnio fluid too low &amp; bb has to be born early.

Ahcapp ya loh i oso scare of the induce part ..... hmmmmm dunno how .... btw my frd told me my mensus cramp is a sign of contraction is it true??? I have it the almost whole night and is painful when I am getting up to go pee pee ......

wow all the babies so cute leh ...... wanna kiss them!

Babe,
Mine BB is different from yours. Mine will choke and cough cos milk flow too fast for him. In the end, I must lie down at an angle to slow down the milk flow. Backache!!

Somemore some pple say confinment must lie down or sit upright only. If not next time, always backache...I think die liao.

QQ, me same as you, been getting mild cramps quite often lately and when I start to take them as maybe contractions they will go away. Tend to have frequent tummy aches as well. Also been going to the loo quite often these few days. Maybe its all the fruits that I have been eating?

Quite a fair bit of the the MTB in this thread have gone on to deliver, reckon how many of us left?

Talk about breast pumps, I have not gotten round to sterilizing them, my mum was asking me to try out my sterilizer and sterilize the milk bottles and pump, but I am just so plain lazy.

Hey mummies...wow..been some time since I been reading. These 2 days got slightly more time on hand as baby is in hospital with jaundice. Yeh, sob sob. was pretty sad when I brought my baby boy for check up 2 days after going home. jaundice level was 17.9 so had to admit right away to do the uv lighting thing. Been visiting him so far to bf him where possible too. Hopefully he can be discharged tomorrow morning!!

Read somewhere along the line..seems like you all do have a lot of breastmilk to pump out leh! I tried pumping, but really not a lot leh...but when baby latch on to drink like so far still quite ok.

How long do you all let your baby latch onto each breast? One breast one feed or you use both?

hmmmm angelsky my not really mild quite strong wor ..... the pain lasted abt till late noon ..... then Now no more liao but back start to ache liao

And about breast pumps, can I just do a quick check how many of you using the Avent manual pump? If yes, is it really good?

Btw, here's my baby...

1194663.jpg

mylife,

I struggle to establish my BM supply too. It wasn't easy...i suffered very bad engorged breast on the 3rd day. I remembered i cried when my hubby tried to massage my breast until got "blue black" and it was so painful cos the breast like rock! But i am glad i hang on &amp; kept telling myself not to take it too hard if really no BM kick in cos 3rd day only managed to pump 10ml from both breast combined. I think stress will affect BM supply too. So far, Zander is drinking BM from bottle and he managed to drink 45ml to 55ml per feed at 3 hourly. Since yesterday nite, i will feed one FM and each feed can tahan 4 hourly so that we don't have to wake up frequently for nite feeding. Did u give baby Rylee any FM ?

Hi, All.

Back from my checkup this morning. Gynae gave further MC to rest. Coz my blood pressure went up loh. Guess I'm still not resting enough. Cervix dilated 1.5cm! A bit shock as I don't feel pain yet. My gynae said I can give birth today if I want. I said I want to wait until the symptons come.. Coz I think delivery will be faster. Don't want to spend hours waiting at hospital. So for me, it is any time.

Can I ask how much dilation will cause pain?

AhCapp,

Avent manual is good enuff for a start. "IF" u are bless with gushing BM then u might wanna consider buy all the replacement parts for Medela Pump in style electric pump. Like Mom2nat say, handpump is tiring lah.

angelsky,

I have not "opened ceremony" my steriliser yet. I think I will do so tmrw morning. After delivery, sterilise everything again like a mummy suggested here.

QQ,

I have not felt any mentrual cramps yet. I only feel that my baby is trying to push himself downwards every night at about 9pm+ without fail. He will then go to sleep at about 10pm+.

babe,

Thanks for your feedback. I will eventually switch to the electric one. Since it's a medele one. Just that I have no more time to go get the spare parts now. Feel like staying at home already. I went out today as I need to go get some winter wear for my hb. Otherwise, home is my best friend now. =P

Mom2nat,
Avent Isis manual allows easy let down.

Mylife,
I will look at my son's face after he emptied 1 breast. If his mouth is still "O" shape, means want to suckle somemore. Will offer him the next breast. The other cue is his cries / mouth directed towards your breast.

Steph,

My colleague really power. She uses 2 avent ISIS manaul pumps together at 1 time! Really, no kidding. ;) She is still nursing her #2 now, even though he is already 1yr+. I admire her.

Yes, will switch over to the electric one eventually, unless I have built up some super arm power b4 I go back to work in 3 months' time lah. =P

Hammies,

Your baby so sweet! Aiya, every baby pic here makes me drool =)