(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mei give birth already? Never see her post lehz...

Mylife, my bb also fart alot, esp after CL put ruyi oil and massage...she said it's good..

Congrats to Mrs Piggy.

Hi babe,

thanks for the info. My breasts are very full now. do u advise to pump during the 1st week of birth and bottle feed. I am worried that bb will reject my breasts when I introduced the bottle. Anyone has such experience.

Jacelyn, Once a while my mum or dad still boiled for me... i decided to natural... u?

Valencia, my mum also told me confinement is 40days... faint.... and she said i cannot wash my hair... 40days don't wash hair......

Luvv, for c-sec cannot eat seafood for 4mths... chicken, egg also cannot.... that's what my colleague is going through...

<font color="ff0000">Congrats Wendyg...thot 11.01am is fully booked? glad u delivered at that timing..nice date and timing.... have plenty of rest...share with us yr birth story and bb pic</font>

Babe, not mei is evonne(mrs piggy)...

<font color="ff0000">Congrats Prata queen... have plenty of rest and share with us yr birth story and bb pic</font>

Steph, Verene and Sassy, all your baby so cute... Babies are really beautiful...

<font color="ff6000">Congrats Mrs piggy!!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">hi babe, mylife,

this morning managed to pump 120ml of BM from both breast combined.
can i check with u mommies whether BM look like this colour? this is my first time...so not very sure but it taste sweet &amp; very watery.
1193655.jpg

Verene, I pump after feed...if u really wanna feed ebm, can spoonfeed so won reject breasts..

Joyce, yupz but wonder if mei give birth already coz no see her post..heeheee

<font color="ff0000">Re: herbs for bathing during confinement</font>

Anyone using this to bath? The smell is okay, not so pungent.
1193658.jpg

babe, oic... i thot u have mistaken mrs piggy as mei... ya hor... didn't see her post so often recently... but yesterday i did see her online in msn....

Can I ask u ladies who have given birth...

do u use electric or manual pumps? Just wondering if my manual pump will be sufficient for me or not.

krystle,

For cervix check, my gynae was quite gentle. She knows I am scared. Just relax and don't be tense. I don't want to be crude, but it remains me of making love when it's dry there. Otherwise, it's quite bearable. Remember just relax. Perhaps u want to tell your gynae that u are scared and I am sure he/she will understand.

As for walking...
My gynae told me to walk less during my pregnancy as my baby seem to be a bit on the samll side. But I can't, because I am an engineer running on a project. So i still have to walk like mad every day. I only managed to slow down recently and now, my gynae told me to walk and squat more to get myself ready for labour. Guess there is no right or wrong here. Just listen to your gynae as everyone's situation is different. =)

Aiyoh, I woke up at 5:15am in pain again, tummy keep tightening and relax, baby keep kicking, got painful crampy feeling in upper tummy also. This went on for more than 1 hour till I gave up trying to sleep and got up. Thought it may be indigestion, but try to poo poo also nothing. Slept again at 8+am when it was better. Anyone got this experience before?

Yen, actually I already decided not to bring breast pump liao. Then I heard some mummies say can ask the nurse to teach you how to use if you do bring your own breast pump. My breast pump is PIS advanced from my friend. I'm not very sure not to use it. Now, also don't dare to try. :p

steph
sweet &amp; watery = bm

re: tmc internet access
> they said to advise them upon discharge so that they can terminate the 'account', which can last for 14 days. So babe, i guess yours was terminated upon discharge even tho so many hours to go. Husband just signed up today.
So whoever's warded in TMC now up to Monday, can come approach me for my userid &amp; pwd

babe
i went for b-waxing in mid-dec, the regrowth came out a bit liao, then ystrday morn the TMC nurse shaved me again.. so gotto put up with re-growth again... argh. can never get this right.

mylife
no birth story la.. scheduled c-sect, same as u lor. Reach hosp 2hr early, then wait wait wait.

joyce
actually my time slot was 9.30am, but doc had an emer c-sect before my turn &amp; had to push my time to 10+. By the time doc came into the OT &amp; ready to start, it was 10.50am liao. So we asked her if she can slow-motion a bit for time of delivery to be 11.01am, she laughed &amp; agreed lor. haha.

luvv
for c-sect wound i lie flat on back. And wore binder TIGHT at all times except shower. Until maybe 2 wks later then i removed.

i'm so sleepy.. zzzzzzzz

congrats mrs piggy!

kitsune, my bb is big leh.. yesterday(39wks 4days est 3.6kg)... *faint*... gynae say my bb big so better dont delay too long if i really want to try natural... oh ya can get mc b4 ur due date leh... just tell ur gynae lah.. :p i managed to get mc from my gynae for yesterday(fri), edd(mon) &amp; nxt tue cos he say wed is THE latest day to get bb out already so no need mc liao... ha so now i use mc first.. no need to waste maternity leave! hehehee... :p

AhCapp, ur gynae also give u 2 days gap to induce?... gynae check cervix &amp; say cannot so go home &amp; wait loh...oh ya, do check if u need to pay double cos i recall mrs piggy told me b4 that her #1 pay double becos tried natural cannot so end up c-sect leh.... let's pray that our bb will cooperate &amp; come out naturally than 'forcing' them out which is the last resort...

jacelyn, did ur gynae tell u when is the last date to b induce?... ya loh we r really caught in a dilemna situation... want natural yet dunno can push bb out or not... me too receive so many phone calls until dunno wat to say liao... stress rite...

Superbee, oh I see. No wonder. Ya, some gynaes prefer to induce when BB is big. Last time, one of my colleagues 'fought' with her gynae cos she die die don't want to induce and she wanted to go all natural without epi. Oh really, sigh then I must ask my gynae when I go for 39 week check up. Can save my leave is the best.

congrats to rachel and Mrspiggy .....

mei havent pop .....she say no contraction sign yet wor ...... same as me but yesterday I feel the mensus pain again and is quite strong liao compare to the 1st time.

Ahcapp yes induce may make baby distress have a frd like that in the end c sect

kitsune, i had similar experience last sat with painful crampy feeling &amp; mine lasted for 2hrs onie... cos after that, then nothing happen for the rest of the day... i went to see gynae &amp; check cervix lsat sat.. not open so false alarm for me.... mayb u continue to observe to see if u keep getting the pain &amp; the interval?... cos i tink if real contractions it will b consistent &amp; not like mine, only happen for a short while? correct or not ah - mummies who have given birth already?

Wendy, so pai seh ya, me never chk..heehee..anyway congrats on ur delivery wor...yes hairgrowth is irritating..at least urs not so much..mine like shave alot..

SuperBee, thanks for sharing.
I was trying to count frequency but not very sure how to differentiate each wave since like constant pain leh. Ya lor, I was thinking, aiyoh, if really contractions, how ah? I haven't do handover with my colleague yet plus antibiotics also haven't finished. Really panic man.

In the meantime, hubby continue to sleep without a worry in the world. Just waking up when my groan gets too loud to put his hand on my tummy. Angry with him this morning also for being so bo chap. :p

Superbee
I just saw my gynae 39wks 6 days. BB est 3.7kg. He say "Oh, still have water and placenta looks good, see you next week"... He din say too big can't natural, or gotta induce. Just told me we will wait for natural labour to come... Can faint ah.

wendyg
Sorry no time to visit you today. Rush send #1 to class, then see gynae then rush back Tamp to pick her from class.
My gynae on urgent leave from MOn to Wed leh, if I go into labour, will be attended by Dr Eunice Chua instead. I hope I deliver tonight. Hmmm...

QQ
Actually EDD is today. I think tmrw is so called offically 40wks. He say wait until 41 or 42 weeks is nothing. My #1 and #2's size abt the same... if he din est wrongly.

<font color="ff6000">babe,

nope i don't latch now cos nipple very sore, prefer pump. i took about half an hour to get 120ml. Interval of pumping is approx 5hrs. If i wait too long, i feel breast very engorged &amp; painful.</font>

<font color="0000ff">cherly,
nope, i don't find the bathing herbs smelly. After using them, i feel my body more refreshed.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">AhCapp,
If you are bless with gushing BM, it's advisable to get an electric pump else yr hands will be gone case if manual, very XIONG leh. So far, my medela mini electric still pump well

Steph, u using single pump? do u rinse off the herbs and use shower gel? Heehee...or juz herb water bath? Coz I always rinse off..ke ke ke..dunno got use like that..

<font color="0077aa">Re: Baby 1st visit to PD &amp; Jabs for Baby

hi all mommies, can check with u,
This morning bring Zander for 1st PD visit and PD prescribe MultiVitamin Plus Infant Drops. Does yr PD also gave this to your newborn baby too?
So far, Zander has only very mild jaundice so only need sunbath him in the morning.

I opt for the 6-in-1 jabs (dunno how much, 2nd visit to PD in March 08 for 1st jab).</font>
<font color="ff0000">* 5-in-1 consists of Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis, Poliomyelitis &amp; Haemophilus Influenzae B
* 6-in-1 consists of 5-in-1 and Hepatitis B</font>
<font color="0077aa">My MIL was telling me to take these jabs at polyclinic which is FREE?? Is this true? Any mommies can advise. TIA

babe,
instruction say don't need to rinse off so i boh chap..keke...as long can bath i happy liao
i also never use shampoo leh, lazy cos MIL &amp; my mum say must bath fast, cannot take own sweet time else kena wind no good wor.

I am using single pump. Now, got another problem...i was thinking whether to continue pumping when i return to work in March ? If not, how to stop the engorgement &amp; BM supply ? Use cold cabbage treatment ah?

Mrs piggy's son - Levin Tan weigh 3.73kg at birth. c-section with epi.

Steph
your supply is v gd leh ! so fast can pump both side for 120ml le !!! mine only 60 to 80ml during the day. morning will hv more tho abt 120ml.

any mummies taking calcium while bfg ? My cl told me to buy some calcium to eat cos everyday bfg the bb is drawing calcium from me ! What brand shd I buy ?

steph,
the 6-in-1 are not available in the polyclinic. i think they only have 5-in-1. the free ones are those individual doses. 5-in-1 still need to pay.

my PD didn't give me supplements for my girl leh.

Chaye,

my gynae ask me to continue take calcium if breastfeeding. The calcium brand that i am taking is CaVit-D3 Imported by Merck Pte Ltd - 10x10 tablets in strips (2 tablets daily) from Unity pharmacy $11.87 only.

Chaye,
my gynae told me to continue my supplements, i.e. the calcium, fish oil and multi-vits if i breast feed but i keep forgeting to take them :p

babe,
i didn't rinse off the herbs also, but i use shampoo and shower cream. So took quite a while to bath :p

Wendy,
when i reached home, after bathing, ask my maid to wash the binder cos they have stains. so i didn't wear for quite a few days.

Mrs Piggy,
CONGRATS!!

Steph,
my BM also this colour and yes it's sweet!

Joyce,
really 4 months ah, i think i better heed the advice and aviod them for better healing. But chicken and eggs really need to avoid?

For c-sect mums,
when did you start to take chicken and eggs? My MIL tell me to take chicken starting today but i still dare not, today only day 8 leh, my aunty say day 13 then can start take. But my MIL bought black chicken and boil for me already, asking my hubby to collect it for me. Cham..

luvv
i'm avoiding chicken, eggs &amp; sheng yu for the first week.

mom2nat
no sweat. if u deliver this weekend, still can visit

steph
u can gradually stop bm supply by
1) not latching bb
2) increasing time gap between pumping sessions
3) pump less each time

or u can ask for medicine to stop bm.

here's my little giant
length 52cm, head circumference 37cm
1194253.jpg

doc checked my cervix during the op, she said still tightly closed... for a reason i suppose

hi!

re: full mth celebration..

heard fr my frz dat we can celebrate any time earlier than e baby d.o.b but not later ritz? dat means we gotta held e full mth 1 or 2 days earlier than his d.o.b? we still doing confinement then how?

Lynn, my cousin also did hers early cos her mum &amp; sisters were going to US before her BB's full month. Can do lar, just that we mummies can't enjoy the cateredd food lor. :p

Haha, Wendy can tell. Well, actually, quite good that he stayed in your tummy for so long also, can see that he's quite well developed liao not the "soft fragile" type. But maybe need more BM to satisfy him. Hee.

Me and hubby both not tall, I'm close to 1.6m and he's 1.7m. Think our BB will also be small size. Must let her drink more milk next time. :p

sassy

I delivered on 8 Jan, so only 4th day today. My #1, I took abt 3 weeks to fully recover, i.e. no pain. But this time round, think faster, not as bad as #1.

As for post natal, think can start on 3rd week after delivery, they are professional, so they wun exert too much pressure on the wound. Dun worry on the rupture. and No Lah... definitely will not affect your intimate moments with your hubby. when you dun feel the pain, you can do anything you like. in fact, think can start ML faster than those who on natural if i not wrong la. kekeke...

Blackblatz

No leh, me not on binder. did ask my gynae nec cos i had mine during #1. but cant remembered wat he said this time liao, so in the end din get one. aiyoh... only 4th day, already forgotten wat he said 3 days back.

mylife

oh.. you mean there is a "proper" way of getting up? din know abt it.

Wendy

Congrats! Wow! Your baby is huge. Really admire you for carrying him till full term.

Congrats to Prata Queen and Mrs Piggy

Joyce,

I wanted a natural birth... But till now i am still at home, no signs of labour at all. Monday go see Dr Lim see wad he say.

Superbee,

My gynea told me the last date for induce will be next friday. So monday see wad he say lor....

Hi Mei,
Can you update for me. Delivered via emergency c-section with spinal block on 9 Jan 08.
Baby: Brien Tan Jia Xi
Weight: 3.63kg
Length: 51cm
Head circumference: 37cm

Here's my super-long birth story...I think I will hold the record for the longest labour (total 33 hrs) in the Jan 08 MTB thread.

8 Jan 08
3am Contractions started at about 30 mins apart.
5am Contractions gradually increased to 10 mins apart but more aching than pain...still quite relaxed.
6.30am Called gynae and was told to admit since contractions have been regular.
7.30am Admitted into TMC and sent to labour ward observation room. Put on CTG, shaved and given enema to clear bowels. Nurse did cervix check, can feel baby's head but no dilation.
11.30am Gynae came and did another cervix check. Still no dilation but baby's head is low. Gynae advised that it will be a long labour as my contractions are still at 10 mins and not progressing enough. Suggest I transfer to ward for observation, let nature take its course and there should be some progress by midnight.
12.30pm Transferred to ward for observation. Contractions continued at 10 mins interval, pain and aching still bearable and still very relaxed.
11.30pm Was just trying to get to sleep but suddenly had an intense contraction...water bag burst...water and blood was flowing out. Intense and painful contractions started immediately. Nurse say it's still early, better to rest in the ward and transfer to labour ward in the morning.

9 Jan 08
2.30am Contractions still about 10 mins apart but pain is intense. Requested to be sent down to labour ward as I wanted to be put on CTG and also monitor baby's heart rate.
3am Back in labour ward observation room, put on CTG and did another cervix check...only 1 cm dilated. Asked for epi but nurse said my gynae won't allow it becos it's too early and too much epi is not good for baby. Endure.
5.30am Contractions still 10 mins apart but pain getting more and more intense. Asked nurse for epi again but got same answer. Asked whether I can opt for c-section. Nurse said I should give myself a chance and try for natural birth, if can have a natural birth why want to have c-section. I burst into tears and cried uncontrollably...I just didn't have the motivation and energy to bear with the pain any longer without epi. I haven't slept a wink since 3am yesterday.
8.30am Gynae came to check on me before going for a scheduled c-section. Did cervix check...only 2cm dilated...tears started rolling down. Gynae said my contractions are very strong and intense but still at 10 mins apart. He said still cannot give epi becos 2cm is still early and labour is not progressing fast enough. He said can operate if I cannot continue...said ok immediately but still have to wait until 10.30am after my gynae complete his 9am operation. Meanwhile, gynae gave me a jab of penthethine for temporary pain relief. Jab given but no use at all so continue to endure while nurses prepare me for c-section.
10.30am Finally being pushed into OT, wanted epidural but anesthetist suggested spinal block with morphine as it has less side effects and less shivering also...K.O.
11.05am Baby Brien is out. Hubby said anesthetist had to help push down my tummy to get baby out. I drifted out of my sleep and saw my baby getting cleaned up and he was put on my chest. Anesthetist helped to take picture for us.
12 noon Stitches completed and pushed back to ward. Drifting in and out of sleep and suffering from side effects of morphine...couldn't open my eyes as my head was spinning round and round. Only managed to open my eyes and eat next morning.

Baby's head was too big...37cm which was most likely why labour did not progress. PD said average baby head circumference is only between 33cm to 35cm so my baby has a "big head"....haha.

ok...that's my very long-winded birth story...sorry but very difficult to shorten 33 hrs in 5 sentances leh...

Will upload photo later.

Poor Yvonne, 33 hours of labour!?! Really "pei fu ni". Congrats! With your endurance and patience, your Baby Brien is out.

Didn't know BB's head can be too big. Did gynae ever measure your BB's head during antenatal check? Mine never did check head circumference only waist circumference. Don't know whether I should ask my gynae cos I got narrow pelvis. :p