(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font size="+1"><font color="0077aa">u did it Jacelyn!!!</font></font>

erm more queries on BF-ing.

If i'm latching on, then if 1-2 day traveling, inconvenient to latch on, can "supplement" with pumping or not har? I scared i pumped and intro baby to the bottle with my EBM liao, then baby wont latch on anymore...but at the same time i also read, pumping it out and letting hubby feed baby via the bottle with the EBM will help bonding for daddy and baby. How?

godsent
hahahaha....your dream even funnier!! Can bargain with gynae some more one ah? kekeke.

ahcapp
pyschologically, i WANT to go out and shop cos me shopping queen...but hor, physically si beh tired leh. Everyday lie at home roll around like humpty dumpty also sianz...

Any mummies interested in the below items. Collection at Bedok.
1.Daifonai (Herbal Bath), 17 pack.
2.Friso Gold Step 1 (900g), 1 can
3.Frisomum (400g), 1 can
Interested mummies can contact me at 92789982.

mylife,

Hehhee.. I also very tired, but just "heart won't die" if I don't get to see the sale for myself! *LOL* But no more shopping. I must get ready the bed for my CL already. Or else she'll be sleeping no where. ;)

Hi All...

I have also delivered my baby Jeriel liao... Was having contractions at around 11 pm on Christmas day... Admitted to Mt A at 5am and delivered by Epidural C-section at 7.30am... Weight 2.85kg @ 36 weeks + 5 days...

I was discharged this afternoon but Jeriel had to stay at the hospital due to Jaundice... Hopefully he can be discharged tomorrow...

val,

wah... u gotta alotsa BM lei. whole breast pad soaked??? sounds like running tap leh...
mine is still managable. can i check with u something? if there is leftover of the EBM and bb cant finish, can i keep it?

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">CONGRATS JANET!!!</font></font>
How come yours epi with c-sect? Is it elected or special reason?

Ladies who getting Confinment lady....

Can I ask how much Ang Bao to give at the beginning and ending of the confinement? Anyone has any idea? Pls advise. Thank you!

prata queen
since mid Dec my doc already told me to standby.. until now still nothing yet... everyday my colleagues asking "Still haven't give birth ah?!" just waiting lor. Sooner or later he GOTTO come out right?!

ahcapp
relax la, contractions wun come immed 5min one. Remember was it Yen.. she was timing her contractions whole night from 10pm until 5am then woke her husband to bring her to hosp. Even upon reaching hosp, still gotto wait until 6pm to dilate 8cm.
I heard of cool moms who still hv time to play mahjong while waiting for contractions to become regular.

val
dat's why can consider breast shells.. wun waste the milk, wun waste the breast pads. My first time i dunno anything, use tissue to soak the letdown.. within 2wks use 1 big box. Dumb dumb.

sassy
http://www.breastfeeding.com/all_about/lawrence_anwers1.html

does this site answer your qstns? I din read thru everything, but it covers a lot of qstns on bfg, pumping etc

<font color="ff6000">Janet, congrats!!</font>

my colleague gave her CL ang pao $20 before confinement starts &amp; last day another ang pao $20 for her good service &amp; care.

Wah, congrats to all mommies who popped liao!!

I think this time ard I oso need to wait until neck long, since gynae say not so soon...Hmmm...

steph
ya my colleague has this theory that the moment the feet swell, means going to pop soon. I looked at her incredulously... dunno how they link these things. For my first pregnancy the swelling was v bad, she din come &amp; say these things to me. This time round i drank more water &amp; din swell so much, she can say tell whether i'm gonna pop by looking at my feet???

Mylife
Mine was c-section as my previous pregnancy was also c-section due to breech position. My womb was cut with an inverted-T and the wound is weaker as compared to the normal one horizontal cut. So if natural birth, there may be a risk of wound rupture... so all my deliveries will have to be C-section no matter how long...

My edd is actually 18 Jan 2008 and I have chosen to give birth on 7 Jan 2008 but in the end, my little Jeriel chose to come out on Boxing Day.

I delivered in Mt A, generally the service is quite good, I got free upgrade to 2 bedded when I asked for 4 bedded. For Mothers-to-be who intend to give birth in Mt A, you may wish to bring your breast pump and sterilising tablet/container with you to the hospital. Mt A will charge $16.20 for usage of their breast pump.

Also, if you wish to have Red dates tea during your stay, you may wanna ask your family members to cook and bring to hospital for you as Red dates tea at Mt A is also chargeable... However, I love the Red dates tea at Mt A... Very nice...

Mom2nat,
i seldom drink water, packet/canned/gassy drinks my favourite...ok will try drink more plain water. When i press my feet, the flesh makes me think of durians
meat thick thick:p

wendyg,
ya lor, my colleague also say that my feet swollen means due date is near wor...my mum say no such theory la.

steph
Well, the theory is, if you drink little water, your body will nautrally retain water, since not much reserves. But some pple mistaken the word water retention means too much water in our body, so dun drink.
Try to take in 2 litres a day min hor.

janet
how's jiejie taking to didi for the first day at home?

mom2nat
can't decide if we're camels or giraffes. Maybe camels with long necks or giraffes with humps?

blackbatz
I am out almost 12 hours today. Went gynae, then to VIVO watch warlords, then go suntec for dinner. Tiring.

wendyg
Haha... for my #1, I used to sing "i wait until the flowers whiter". My edd is 12 Jan. I ask gynae will be early or not, he say prob not, see you next week!

Mylife,

Yes, my CL told me about the ang bao. Think they consider a good way to 'kai gong' (start work) and 'sou gong' (end work) bah. =)

Wendyg,

U make me laugh about your comments from your colleague! *LOL*

Thank u so much for your feedback about contractions. =)

Steph &amp; Violetice,

Thanks for the feedback on the ang bao. I was reading another forum. This mummy was talking about a few hundred bucks for ang bao! I nearly fainted. =S No need a few hundred dollars right?

Feet swell...

My feet swelled since 2nd trimester, but I am still here typing with my big tummy! *LOL* Not accurate to say feet swell = going to pop soon lah! =P

I also try to drink more water each day. But since I am preggie, I don't realy like the bland taste of water. Prefer flavoured water like tea. In the end, I drunk less than before I was preggie. No wonderful I have to "upsize" my safety boots at work lah! *LOL*

Mom2nat,

So if #1 is not early, it means #2 also not early ah? My due date is 15 Jan, praying that my baby will stay in till Jan.

Janet,

Thank u for the feedback on Mt A. I am going there for my delivery too. But will try for natural but with epidural. Me has ZERO pain threshold.

ah capp
yes i read before that people give $200 ang pow at the end of the month... really dunno the market rate for these kind of things.

isn't it unsafe for a preggie to walk about construction sites? regardless whether u're wearing safety boots/ helmet. Coz our CG shifts due to the big tummy &amp; construction site ground uneven.. more accident prone?

Mom2nat,
Really kowtow to you. Can still marathon for 12 hrs. After Thursday, cannot liao...Got to write down a list of things for my sis to buy.

Ahchapp,
How much do you have to pay for your CL?

AhCapp
I not sure oso, pple say #2 will be early, but some frens oso tell me #1 and #2's timing ard the same. I think these things hor, oso nature lah, gyane only tell you the probability.

Blackbatz
When you due?

hi all;

congrats to all new mummies!!!

i just visited my gynae and she told me im 35.5 weeks, now baby already 2.9kg. so ask me to come back in 2 weeks time. maybe induce. 8 jan...head already down for the past few weeks...
my EDD is actually 28 jan. so maybe 20 days earlier.
sianz actually coz dont want this to end so soon, coz i know bb come out liao sure super bz. i dont know if mummies here feel the same like me, as tho good times are going to end and i feel like its the end of the road, but the next one would be better (coz bb would be out). how to say, a bit she bu de?

re: MIL
for my confinement my mom come over my place, and after 2 mths, i have to move my bb to my MIL place. so recently we hired a maid at my MIL place. young freshie from philippines. so now MIL training her. i can get along with my MIL but she sure use her way to take care of baby. :-(
actually want my mom to take care of baby but my hb strongly disagree, in the end allow my mom to do confinement. still dare to comment "you dont want my mom to take care of the kid thats why confinement let ur mom n do" HUH?? so angry...somemore my MIL and my house is poles apart, everynight must rush the bm back to her place for bb, so mah fan...
here is the only place where i can let off steam...paiseh

i have a brand new avent sterilizer just bought yesterday with warranty. as my friend just told me she is passing me hers so i don't need it liao. I can sell u at 130 if you are interested. sms me at 91813861.

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Baby's 1st Month</font>
Anyone has any idea/advise where to find a venue for Baby's 1st Month? Hubby and I have been searching but to no avail or otherwise super expensive. We enquired at Safra and for 30pax, they charging us $1400.

mom2nat;
gynae says 2 weeks later the baby weight just nice, i.e. 3 plus, so can give birth liao. wait longer the baby bigger, very difficult to have natural delivery. gynae keep saying big baby big baby so earlier give birth lor.
i gained 2.5kg within 2 weeks. almost wept when i saw the figures on the scale...

pixie
here's what happened to my fren.. every day she will bring over fresh ebm to her IL's place while she deposit her girl for them to look after. However, the MIL thinks that bm is not filling, so out of her own pocket she bought FM to give the baby. So my fren's ebm wasted. As u can imagine, my fren was pretty upset when she found out.

re: inducing
dat's the problm with local docs. Did he inform u that if your cervix wasn't ready yet, inducing too early could FAIL and u may end up with a c-sect? Which will affect your future pregnancies as well. Coz that was what happened to me. Induced at 37.5wk, 3.5kg bb, they gave me the strongest inducing drugs for 10hr but my cervix wouldn't budge beyond 3cm. In the end c-sect.

wendyg,

I work in a wafer fab, so indoor, still ok. But I seldom walk about so much already. Just go site see see and go back to office already. =) Thank you for your concern.

$200 for an ang bao? A bit too much is it? I am going to pay her quite an amount for confinement already wor.. =(

Blackbatz,

Mine is $2.6K since my confinment will hit CNY. It's my colleague's mum. I was thinking if my confinment doesn't hit CNY, i will keep it to market rate like $1.8K.

But ang bao will definately give, but not a few hundred bucks lah. Both side happy can already.

violetIce,

My frd had their baby's 1st month celebration at Tung Lok Teahouse, 3rd level China Square. Canto style hi-tea buffet Dim Sum 3-5pm on weekends
Price: $16.80+++ (approx. S$20/-)
Opening Hours :
Lunch:
Mon-Sat: 11am - 03pm
Sun &amp; PH: 10am - 03pm
High Tea: 3pm - 5pm
Dinner: 6pm - 10.30pm
Telephone : 65330660

Steph, I only change my breastpads when it's full. If not very waste money lehz...

Mylife, I think like u, I will be having CL sleep in same room on the mattress. But dunno if the one I have too thin for her or not.

Kitsune and mylife, so u all won't expect fresh food everyday ya? Think if ask my MIL bring her buy stuff will be like once a week or at most twice. Heehee...

AhCapp, I also hope #2 will stay in till Jan. These few days feeling very heavy and pressing down like that.

wendyg;
harnor, i scared she so that, or pour away. die! but if i tell her in the first place, i.e. lay down the rules then like not respecting her. oso dunno what to do.
shes a teacher, now retired. i have to admit that she is a better caregiver than my mom but im sure along the way we wont see eye to eye in some matters, so keep fingers crossed lor.
worse is my hb is super filial son. very kan cheong abt his mom. so sure side her one lah.

Babe,

Oh yes, my baby also kept on pressing down too. I also scare that he will press so much that he will drop out! *LOL*

Pixel,

Don't worry about the arrival of your baby. =) I am sure despite being busy, it will be a fruitful one. But yes, I do enjoy the quietness of my house now. My hb will watch TV and I will surf the net. Next time, it will be both of us all tied up with our baby. But ok lah, he must come sooner or later mah. Also can't stay inside me for too long. I also want to stop walking like a penguin and walk like a normal person again. *LOL*

Blackbatz,

Goosh, I have joined total of 4 sprees so far! No news yet, still waiting. =)

What did u buy? I bought from the nappy rash cream to the leapfrog littletouch pad. =S I must have gone crazy!

pixie
husband shld be filial, but no matter what he shld stand with his wife. Coz after marriage, husband and wife are ONE liao. See ah, pretend u move in with his family after marriage. If his family bully u and he dun protect u, who will?! After all we're marrying into his family ley.
U see how the ebm situation first... monitor &amp; observe. Who knows she may be pro-bm.

It's always a fight with mums and MIL over the BM. When we were babies, only people who are "rich" can afford to drink FM. That's why our mums and MIL cannot understand why we are so uptight about BM. To them, BM very watery..Only water..Babies won't feel full and gets hungry very frequently.