(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

this morning i woke up at 4am to pee...then drifted back to sleep and dreamt that i have "show"...it was 31st dec and my baby still breeched, so went to hospital and my gynae told me got to do c-sect liao..but i kept asking her can wait a few more hours till 2008 or not....LOL

Then wake up only to see Chaye's msg say her waterbag burst liao and given birth...hehe...maybe my dream represents chaye's delivery

My CL also gonna be sleeping on mattress on the floor same room as me. Cos i wan to latch baby on during midnite feeds, but my gf told me finish feeding i can go back to sleep and let CL settle the rest ie change diapers if necessary, burp her, etc.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">CONGRATS 3RASCALS!!!</font></font>
Wow u same edd as me pop liao...but i guess yours is #2, dats why faster issit?

<font color="0000ff">chaye, 3rascals</font>
Rest well and post your birth stories and pics of your darlings when u can ok!!!

Going to let my CL sleep on ikea sofa bed (queen size) so actually she can put BB to sleep beside her if she wants. But I think better to train BB to sleep in her bassinet from the beginning, if not, I'll have a hard time if BB doesn't want to sleep in the bassinet after CL leaves. :p

Jacelyn,

ya lor so fast for chaye, no symptoms yesterday nite and then *POP*...i want mine to be like that too

Erm...for my weight, i've gained abt 11kg. Most weight goes to me rather than baby

<font color="0000ff">jacelyn</font>
<font color="119911">i can post ley, why can't u. kekeke</font>

hey how come Chaye wanted c-sect when her natural labour so fast ah. She wanted to choose date issit?

kitsune,

i also bought a LYCKSELE LOVAS Ikea sofa bed (140x188cm) for my MIL during confinement, not cheap wor...cost abt $300 incl mattress.
I will let baby sleep in bb cot/playpen brassinet. The sofa bed can be use during our post-natal massage.

<font color="ff0000">Re: herbs for bathing during confinement</font>
my mum bought "DA FENG AI ZHI YANG QUFENG CHONG LIANG CAO" green packaging 8 pks x 10 gms @$3.00
Applications: Place 3 packets with 3 litres of water in a container and boil. Did u bought the same too?

Today baby went for pd check up and has to be admitted for jaudice. Pd also said he's dehydrated but we already gave him water. I don't know if it's bec CL and Mum doesn't allow him to have fan or air con.... Sighz. The severe rate for jaudice is 15 pts and baby is 14.5pts. So scary and worried...

Violetlce,
Jaundice is very common because of the confinement food that mothers eat, ginger. Remember to give baby sips of water as and when necessary. Actually, breastfed babies dun need water.

BlackBatz,
I didn't total breastfeed as my breastmilk only came yesterday and it wasn't a lot so I did give baby supplements. I also gave him sips of water as and when for him to be hydrated. I know jaudice is common among asian babies but to be admitted seems pretty serious to me. Esp when the pd said his rate is close to severe..

congrats chaye! so many mummies have popped!

I haven't been able to sleep properly for the past 2 weeks. Woke up this morning and felt baby's position is slightly lower than yesterday and kind of feels smaller as well...but still feeling breathless leh...dunno why. I also feel weird...some part of me is uncomfortable but dunno where.

Congrats to 3rascals and Chaye!!!

violetice,

yr bb ian admitted to hospital for jaundice? my little danelle also tested for severe jaundice on thursday and i rented the photo light therapy machine from medela and put her under it at home. you might wanna check with yr PD if this is possible. i was told by the nicu nurse in mt E not to feed bb water if not they will supplement it as a form of milk supply. even when little danelle has hiccups, which she does frequently, i feed her with BM to ease her hiccups. Let me know if you wan the contact for the photo light machine supplier.

wendy
chaye didnt go for natural labour..she still underwent c-sect for this labour. Her 1st one was also c-sect cos according to her, her gynae said her pelvis too small to attempt natural labour. So straight away got for c-sect liao.

yvonne
maybe ur bb oredi engaged...dats why u felt bb is smaller...i read that is wat happened when bb's engaged. Cos they dropped down further and u will feel like they are smaller...but u will still feel breathless cos they are getting heavier. Anyway, best is to check with gynae.

violetice,

she is still under the photo light therapy now at home. i rented the machine for 3 days. PD says tat 3 days should be enough and gotta bring her to PD to check on her level on monday. dun be so worried as this is really very common among babies. if you are BF, just make sure u dun eat too much ginger (moderate intake is fine).

hi, sorry to interrupt, have got the following for sale:

hi i've this MIM sling for sale. used only once with DVD. $35. color:
lime green. collection by postage or shenton, serangoon, AMK o TPY.
interested, pls pm o e-mail me @ [email protected]

1170127.jpg

mylife
oic.. problems of being skinny..
well no one will tell me my hips are too narrow. If my sister's hips can tahan 2x4kg boys, so can mine, which are wider than hers! kekekeke

sassy
when bb has hiccups, the adults will feel more uncomfortable than the bb. Remember when in our tummies, they hv several bouts of hiccups per day. The hiccups will go away by itself, making bb drink when she has hiccups may cause her to choke

<font color="ff0000">sassy &amp; 2nd time mummies,

may sound silly or stupid to ask this but forgive this blur me la...if we are doing direct latch, do we need to wear nursing bra at nite with breast pads? I find it so inconvenient. So we gotta change breast pads after every feed ah?
And if we are pumping/latching bb every 3hourly, do we need to pump middle of the nite to empty the breast &amp; store BM too cos supply = demand right? TIA.</font>

steph,

i dun wear bra at home (meaning no breast pads too, waste of money), its so uncomfortable. if BM leaks then change t-shirt lor. i was taught not to pump 3 hrs b4 BF as it will affect yr flow. so i guess, if u are doing TBF and direct latch on= no pump

Steph,

I also don't wear bra at home unless there're visitors, then you put on breast pads. It's better not to pump if you're breast feeding unless you're giving supplements and bm at the same time. Just my thoughts..

mylife,
me too had a dream abt delivery... heehee... i dreamt dat i went c/u and doc said i'm 7cm dilated and should admit hospital.. den i was bargaining wif him dat i don't want a 07 bb, can i hold a few more days til 08 den deliver? den he checked my bottom n poke his fingers in and water came out!!! i was so disappointed n keep saying NO, I DON"T WANT TO GIF BIRTH NOW... hahaha... wat a dream...

COngraTS, Chaye! Yday nite still saw u chatting till wee hrs... today ur bb out liao...

COngRAts, 3Rascals for ur smooth delivery....

feel so sian at home, wanna go Parkway Parade, but oso so lazy to move my butt...

Good afternoon ladies!

I can't believe that I spent another afternoon in town, for nothing but window shop! Went to JL to do another round of last min check, but bought nothing. *LOL* I think it's time I really stay at home.

Went for my checkup today. My baby is about 2.9kg at about 37.5 weeks now. Healthy, so my gynae is not worried. My gynae told me to stand by again. She has reconfirmed that she won't shaved me unless I am going for c-sec. Even if she shaves, it won't be all, just a bit below the c-sec cut I think. What a relief!

Also told her that I am going for natural delivery but with epidural. She told me that she will leave a bit of pain behind so that I won't be totally numb and don't know how to push. Gals, wish me luck man!

My baby is still head down and, engaged. Think he is more or less ready already. =)

Now, who will be next to pop? =)

Wow, another 2 mummies have pop!

CONGRATS 3rascals &amp; Chaye!!

steph,
my MIL bought the Song Song Herbal Bath from medical hall. 2 pkts for $3. Got to use 2 pkts each time with 18L of water. She bought for 30 usage so i guess i can bath everyday.

babe,
went to see the respiratory specialist this morning, i got the 100-days cough, phelgm in lungs. He give me medication to try to cure it before delivery next week as i will pass to baby after she's born if not cured. In fact, my hubby spread it to me so ask him to treat my hubby too. Now just hope that everything will go away within these few days.

CONGRATULATIONS to Chaye! I was just reading her msgs just posted last night! Goosh, so fast! Very happy for her! ^_^

Luvv, regarding your cough and phelgm, can I ask why u need to consult respiratory specialist?

Cos my cough has lasted for 2 months as I haven't been taking medicine. Last wk, I finally decided to take medicine, and asked my gynae to prescribe. I asked her if she can examine my throat before prescribing but she said no need for her to examine

I am a bit worried abt the effect of my prolonged cough on baby lei (my gynae says there's no effect on baby).

Luvv,

I am just being KS. =P Just want to see if I miss out anything or got any good bargains or not. =P Nothing to buy already. No more walking, legs aching already. *LOL*

I envy those whose gynae said the golden words "stand by anytime for delivery".

My baby is not engaged and gynae has not uttered the golden words to me. So like wendy, waiting, waiting and more waiting...

prata queen,
my gynae prescribed antibiotics and cough medication for me last week, however it didn't improve and gotten worse instead. It got so bad that i couldn't sleep well at night.
Yesterday,She listened to my lungs and say there's fluid in it, i.e there's infection ongoing already. She's worried that my coughing will affect baby when she arrives and will affect my post natal recovery if not treated properly so she refer me to the specialist for further treatment.

The respiratory specialist assured me that at this stage, my coughing will not affect baby inside me, only need to worry if baby is born and i'm still coughing (might pass the virus to her). He also assured me that the medication he prescribed are very safe for breastfeeding.

luvv, icic.

very true that it will affect post natal recovery. Imagine what will happen to our stiches when coughing.

I also had a course of antibiotics recently cos I kenna strep B. Actually gynae was surprised to hear my cough is still not cured cos the antibiotics meant for strep B is suppsoed to kill all bacteria.

So basically she just prescribed the cough mixture Prospan &amp; phelgm tablests Vasican. I am a bit bothered that she didn't bother to even examine my throat or listen to my lungs.

Now finishing 1 bottle of cough mixture and i'm still coughing...

luvv, wat medicine die the respiratory specialist give you? As mentioned in my earlier post, she prescribed the cough mixture Prospan &amp; phelgm tablests Vasican.

Glad to hear that your coughing will not affect baby inside you. That is also what my gynae said to me. She even said tat baby enjoys the rocking motion when I cough?

prata queen,
my gynae didn't examine my throat or listen to my lungs when i 1st complain of cough also. She only did it when i finished the course of antibiotics and told her the cough got worse.

i'm going for c-sect, gynae say won't affect surgery but i think it will cause me alot of pain if i cough! Can't imagine it.

AhCapp,
i also worried i'll miss out anything, whenever i go out, i'll try to see if there's anything i need to get. No energy to squeeze with the sale crowd so aviod those areas. Ha ha

luvv, i tink all the more u need to get the binder which the other mtbs have been talking about.

I am trying for natural lah, see how things goes. I hafen buy binder yet.

prata queen,
He gave me Prospan, Klacid (antibiotic)and Nasal Spray as my upper airwave is sensitive according to him.

according to him, i should be able to clear the phelgm in my lungs within 4-5 days.

the clinic asst told me to get the binder from the hospital upon admission. According to her, i'll be able to get a more accurate size (didn't know got size one) and my gynae will put on for me right after she stitch me up.

wow I only mia like 1 day only got ppl POP liao hahaha

CHAYE CONGRATS!!!! ....... 3 rascal congrats to u too!!!

Hey, congrats to the new mummies! Today me also went to see gynae...my baby head lower he said, but still not fully engaged leh. Now I'm about 38 weeks already. Guess it's still likely to be a while more in Jan 08 then!

Prata_Queen,

The fact that I need to standby makes me quite scared actually. She was telling me if my water bag breaks, I need to go to hospital immediately. If I have "the show" or contractions, can wait till every 5 mins/ contractions, then go. Quite scary, like anytime anywhere also can deliver like that. I am now only praying hard that my baby will continue to stay in till Jan lor.

Luvv,

Hope u will get well soon. Nowadays, I realise coughing takes quite a long time to heal. =(

Yes, no more shopping la. =P

sassy,
U can dun wear bra? I remembered during my bf'g days, when latching/pumping, the let down will cause the whole breast pad totally soaked. I think maybe a few wks later u will experience that. Cos, when my fren juz delivered, she also claimed that dont have to wear breast pad. But, 2 wks later she busy stocking up breast pads.