(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Today went for my 37th wk gynae's appt and guessed what? I've dilated 1 cm. Gynae said water level is low and I lost 1 kg within a week. Gynae suggested to be admitted immediately to be induced but I was so shocked that I wasn't ready in the least. Baby is currently about 3kg but head's size is about 39th wk, 9.6cm. Also, gynae did the vagina check today and it was quite painful. Said my pelvis is on the narrow side and with baby's head big, 50% might be c-sect.

Hubby and I are at a lost and I still wasn't ready to decide whether to induce or go for c-sect thus took the CTG. Luckily baby's heart beat and movement is still alright, thus gynae gave me till tomorrow morning to make decision and be admitted on Monday 24th Dec or 25th Dec. That's the farthest he's willing to wait. Now my concern is if induce, it'll be forcing the contractions to come and it's painful and gynae said cannot confirmed baby's head can go through my narrow pelvis but he said I can try lah. But if fully dilated and can't go through will be emergency c-sect. Hubby feels that he doesn't want me to risk going through labour pains and still go for emergency c-sect thus asked me to opt for c-sect..but... I don't know.. Been talking to several family members and most of them think for my case, c-sect seems the lesser of two evils... Sighz, feeling so lost now...don't know whether to cry or not...

Hi Violetice,

*Hug* Don't cry lah, it's not the end of the world. It's the beginning of something wonderful, your baby. =)

After reading your msg, really can feel your concern. Can't tell u what to do, but everyone is concern about you, so that's why they suggested C sec. Any risk involved if induced but still go for emergegncy c sec? The word emergency sounds a bit scary wor. =(

I wonder what i will do if I were in your situation. Most likely will go for C sec as I can have everything under control.

But again, think about it carefully with your hubby. I am sure whatever decision u come to, you and your baby will be healthy and fine. =)

Keep us posted! N stay positive! =)

Violetlce,
Be strong... For me, I am a natural way supporter. Talk n discuss with your hubby. Most important is yr hubby's support.

hi TattyHug,
Congrats

valencia,
wah...terrible nowadays indonesia maid also 'wa yang'. i thot only filipino gd in drama. Mm...it's really a blessing in disguise. Hopefully yr next new replacement maid is more guai & well behave loh. Training a new maid is really no easy job.

hi AhCapp,
yes, i've rec'd yr email (from my office add). Do u know when Mdm Rokiah will be back to SIN?

Steph,

no idea wor. =( She didn't say. I emailed her already but she has not replied yet. Let me msg her tmrw to check check. Once I got news, i will keep u posted. =)

wendyg,
I also do a lotz of walking and squating everyday, but still no sign of labour...have a feel of wanting baby to come out now..hehee.

violetlce,
Juz stating base on if I am in ur shoe. I will go for c-sect. Reason being, 50% is a high %. Usually dr will not state such a high % unless they r pretty confident. Also, if in the event that you cannot go thru natural, u will suffer twice. On two areas. Physcially & financially. However, it really depends how badly u wanted a "natural" birth. Lets put it this way, you wouldnt wanna have a natural birth if it pose any danger to ur little ones rite? Lets be more sober and look it on the medical side. Heartbeat drop, bb distress cos not able to go thru the delivery. Guess my heart will be too weak to handle this. Talk to ur hb.

violetIce,

Mm...yr situation is just like my sister. She carried her baby till full term 40wks & 1 day. My niece weigh 3.25kg. Gynae did mentioned that bb head on the bigger side. However, my sister went for induced & tried for natural birth & bb head abit big, can't pass thru her narrow pelvis and end up emergency c-sect with epi. She didn't regret her decision to try natural. So i think it's really up to individual preference of birth methods, yr concern & hubby's support!

ok AhCapp, thks

violetIce
Well, I think your gynae has so called stated her stand. She thinks you gotta induce and better to C sec since she thinks your pelvic small. If you still wanna try natural, say you go thru many hours of labour, cant' get bb out, your gynae's stand wont change... since she already thinks your pelvic small! It is prob v disappointing to know you gotta c sec so suddenly. But you pay your gyane for her expertise, and if tats what she suggest, trust her, go for it. She tell you the facts and give you her expert opinion, no point you ask families for their opinions! My hb will say, tat doc ah, din spend her time studying and working for so many yrs for nothing ah.. Heee... But having said tat, if I were put in your situation, I would prob be in a dilemma too! So dun ah bish me. Heee....

Go discuss with your hb, see wat you 2 feel best for you and for your bb. Have a smooth delivery!!

Valencia,
really had a good laugh when I read about what your maid had done. Considering the fact that she had so many years of working experience, she didn't know that she would be bonded for 8/1/2 months without pay. She go back to agent sure die...

Congrats TattyHug!!!

valencia,
Your maid so funny.
Haha.. really Zhi Shi Ji Guo leh.

violetlce,
Hugs hugs.. Not sure if induce really hurts a lot.. for some people, it doesnt. Must see how much u wanna try natural - anyway u could still have the chance when u haev #2. Like what we always say, most impt is BB come out healthy.

Valencia, I think u are taking ur maid's departure very well. Heehee...I am sure she will miss u as an employer.

Violetice, ur gynae did a scan to check ur pelvis ah? Mine didn't even do that and I just tried natural when I had my no.1. She also came out 3.2kg and somehow got out after much pushing. Have a good talk with hb. Your first child ritez? I am sure u will have a smooth delivery.

Mylife and Ahcapp, heehee think for gals really alot to buy. Today went Robinson and JL, wanted to buy a set of clothes for 1st mth. Look around for boy boy clothes all not very enticing. In the end didn't buy. Trying to reuse most of my gal's more neutral wear for homewear. Haha...

Pigeon Wipes
Hey, JL is having 20% off even off the refills 3x82. Was so shocked when I paid coz essentially it's $10.10 less 20%, about $8 only!

congrats Tattyhug .....

valencia .... heheh ur situation jus like my mil's maid hahaha .... she fell sick and after tat she is ok liao le but she still act ... and she scream ARHHHHH one loud sound and pretend to faint ... somemore faint to a spot swee swee one loh ..... hahaha my mil Got a shock ..... after tat abt 5 mins lata she sit up herself ..... my mil is too shock to help her up hahahah .....then lata this incident she is send back to indonesia liao .... but she very sad lo .....

violetice BB must come out healthy loh .... is most important .... like what mom2nat says discuss with hubby dun hide see what u two can come up with loh ..... listen to gynae bah i think ....

Hi, blackbatz, didn't managed to read your second post before leaving the house. In the end, I bought Lierac since JL doesn't have Clarins and because it's cheaper, only $44+ after 20% discount. Came home and applied the cream immediately. Saw more stretch marks.
Applied 3 times in a row at the affected area, hope it'll help reduce existing stretch marks. Blackbatz, did you try it for existing stretchmarks?

Went to eat the mini steamboat buffet, $25.80 nett, for dinner, ate so much, stomach nearly burst. :p

VioletIce, difficult decision. I think in the end, how much do you want it to be natural. If you will regret if you don't try first then induce and if really necessary, go for E-caesaerean. My colleague was induced on her EDD cos her BB was already very big and engaged but no contractions whatever. In the end, after 8-10 hours, her cervix only dilate 1-2 cm. And her BB turned to breech position so end up with E-csection. Sometimes, very hard to predict who will end up with E-c section. But as long as induce, the probability of E c-section is higher.

Must admit when I first heard about this, the first thing that came to my mind is "Alamak, endure so many hours of labour, end up C section. Pain for nothing." :p

kitsune
eh, how come u and hubby still got mood to go swanky place to celebrate huh... hubby & i will just ta-pao crab from kopitiam & hv a feast after #1 is asleep. haha.

yen
cramps for 2hr?! alamak, i had my first feeling of menses cramp, thought i was on the way to early labour liao... so i shall sleep in peace tonight & c how tmr morn.

husband also says it's a SIGN OF LABOUR, now middle of the night very busy packing his own hosp bag, eg videocam, charger, wires etc. haha.

gdnite!

Wendy, you talking about Equinox? Haha, cos it's wedding anniversary and our last chance to "er ren shi jie". My no. 1 not even out yet mah. After my gal is out, sure end up eating at home for subsequent wedding anniversaries liao. :p

wendyg,
My menses cramp now about 20-15mins interval...is it real contraction?? I dun know le. Very scare and nervous....
Now busy packing, charge handphone/camera/videocam....etc.

Yen,
If the contraction become 10 mins interval in 1 hr then must go hospital, got show immediately go.. water bag bust also immediately go.

violetice
*HUGZ* I can totally understand how u feel beos in a way...very similar to mine. Well at least u STILL sort of have 50% chance to deliver naturally...but like wat others said, ultimately it's your choice, how bad is it u wan to experience the natural birth. For me, i'd think i wan to experience all the natural and spontaneous labour can bring, pain, contractions, waterbag bursting etc, but if yours is induced, then it's no difference la. So like Val said, might be pain for nothing. For me, i dont even have the "luxury" to consider at all, by 27th dec, still breech, straight away c-sect candidate liao.

U also have to take this into consideration, sometimes emergency c-sect will end up as GA instead of epi c-sect, meaning, hubby cannot participate and be with u in the operating theatre. May end up, they knocked u down and do c-sect...depends on how urgent the case is....so do bear this in mind as well. All the best!!

Val
I had a good laugh over your maid "fainting act" wah piang...like dat also can ah...she think u all stupid or wat...i can imagine her doing the faint and both u and hubby standing there looking at her...seems like a scene from Stephen Chow's movie...hiakz hiakz

ahcapp
haha..yah lo...cos have been reading other mommies thread popping so excited...finally now it's our turn! hehe

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">CONGRATS TATTYHUG!!!</font></font>

OMG...i jus realised Tattyhug have the same EDD as me leh....Tatty, did u get labour symptoms urself or gynae induced u becos he found out your baby's umbilical cord entangled? Me so nervous since baby breeched...hope wont go into labour..hubby only back tom midnite leh...pray pray

my girl can be discharged liao... will be picking her up tomorrow. having headache now, cant find a nice chinese name tat suits. went to see "you long zi" and her name must be 8 and 17 strokes respectively.

Congrats janbb and TattyHug!!! dun forget to post yr darlings pics here...

valencia

yr maid very drama mama lei... so gao siao

yen
must be steady ok.. mommies are the best. enjoy the experience

i woke this morn still got a lil crampy here &amp; there, but since irregular time, i'm going to ignore it. Life goes onnnnnnnn

Hihi, Yen. Have you gone to deliver yet? I'm also not sure if KKH has internet access. Never deliver there before, and they don't have hospital tour for their antenatal class. Hope all goes well for you. Jia you jia you.

Kitsune,
Previous one no stretch mark. This time, so far, no stretch mark. But I diligently use Lierac and Clarins. Decided to use Lierac since Clarins prices have gone up so much, plus everyone says stretch mark genetic. So far, have used 1 tube of Clarin and 2 tubes of Lierac. Half way thro' my Clarins Stretch Mark and Huile Tonic.

KKH - some rooms appear to have internet access. Mac and Delifrance sure have.

Blackbatz, my stretchmarks only appeared a few weeks ago. When I was more than 30 weeks pregnant. Thought I would be one of the lucky ones to escape stretchmarks. Sigh, so sad. :p Bo bian lar, will keep applying Lierac, hope miracle happen.

Sassy,
Must be very excited that your daughter wold be able to join the family for her very first Christmas celebration!!

Violetice,
All mummies want to be able to go through the natural birth as far as possible. However, our role just doesn't end here. It's a long road ahead of us, loving our children, nurturing them etc etc..

Valencia,
Any replacement maid coming to help you?

yo mummies,

good morning. Babe, i also have the same suffering as you....right butt and right thigh are painful...

the reason for it accordingly to my gynae is cos my baby is lying more to the right side....so we are heavier on the right....
by right we should lie on our left to maximise the oxygen etc right....but i find it more uncomfortable to lie on that side...mayb cos baby is more on right...so more confortable to lie on right.

so whenever i slept halfway, my outer thigh will be painful

tattyhug, congratulations....your EDD is just one day ahead of mine leh....i am very excited and scared at same time. Dunno how this delivery will go....my hubby also scared...cos he will heart pain pain to see me in pain.....

but i am glad that my baby manage to stay in my tummy till today cos we went thru low placenta problem, cervix shortening etc....glad that he is of good weight etc....must eally go pray pray when he is one month old

hopefully my number one will be receptive to this brother of his and love his brother like we love him.

Hi everyone, my name is Janet. I am currently preggie with my son, my second child. EDD is on 18 Jan 2008. As I will be going for C-section (My elder girl thru C-section due to breech position and her head kana stuck so doc gotta cut a inverted T on my womb to get her out and I was then told thereafter no more natural for me), I choose to be cut up on 7 Jan 2008.

Need advice from mummies or mummies-to-be here: I am still thinking on whether to go to TMC or Mt A for my childbirth as my gynae, Dr Lawrence Ang can go both. I see that many mummies here going to TMC and some going Mt A. Can tell me the reason why you have chosen the respective hospital? Thanks in advance.

Wish I could join this thread earlier, you mummies are really supportive.
Feel that I have missed out so much fun here...

Take care everyone and hope to hear from you mummies soon...

Congrats to the 4 mummies who have popped recently...

Hubby and I have decided to go for C-sect. We've booked the date, 24th Dec 2008, Monday at 4pm. Now we have to decide if I want epidural or GA. Any advise?

Hi Janet,
Welcome aboard. =)

Congrats to TattyHug.

I just came back from my gynae check up. He mentioned that my bb will be born at abt 2.7-2.8kg. I am now in my 35th week. He estimated me giving birth between 10 - 20 Jan 2008. Means confinement during new year. Sian liao. I having heartburn so often nowadays that I cant sleep at night. Taking antacid also not helping much. Still have to endure one more month. Really hope to see my little one soon.

My company D &amp; D is on the 19 Jan. Do you think I should go if I am not due yet?

violetice
congrats on a decision. Xmas eve baby!!
Epi to some is horrifying becos u're awake while being operated on. But i would die-die go for epi cos it allows my hubby to be present as well. My gynae also against GA becos she mentioned for GA, u're put to sleep, hence u're not breathing on your own, a tube have to be inserted to your throat to assist in your breathing, hence, higher risk of injuries, etc.

Janet
welcome!!! Your EDD is jus 1 day after mine. High chance i might be going for c-sect too as my baby is breech like your 1st one...oh my...i sure hope my princess's head is not stuck..hopefully if i have #2 can still try natural...but then again, as long as they are healthy la..
If i'm doing c-sect, most prob 3jan. I'm going for TMC cos i like the wards there better. But dunno how true is it, my gynae's office called to say for Operating Theatre (OT), MOunt Alvernia and Gleneagles are better wor...but i reckon so many people have done c-sect in TMC, shudnt be that bad bah...
Where did u deliver last time?

wondering if yen has indeed went on to delivery?? any news?

hi Janet,
Welcome on board Jan08 MTBs &amp; have a smooth delivery

Verene,
19th Jan is very close to your EDD wor...if no dilation &amp; no active contraction, shld be ok to attend but hor got to standby hospital bag in car, just in case...keke (Is yr bb engaged already?)
My estimated due date is between 21 - 23Jan &amp; my D&amp;D is on 12Jan, i will be attending &amp; hope no last minute whooha:p

violetice
congrats on a decision. Xmas eve baby!!
Epi to some is horrifying becos u're awake while being operated on. But i would die-die go for epi cos it allows my hubby to be present as well. My gynae also against GA becos she mentioned for GA, u're put to sleep, hence u're not breathing on your own, a tube have to be inserted to your throat to assist in your breathing, hence, higher risk of injuries, etc.

Janet
welcome!!! Your EDD is jus 1 day after mine. High chance i might be going for c-sect too as my baby is breech like your 1st one...oh my...i sure hope my princess's head is not stuck..hopefully if i have #2 can still try natural...but then again, as long as they are healthy la..
If i'm doing c-sect, most prob 3jan. I'm going for TMC cos i like the wards there better. But dunno how true is it, my gynae's office called to say for Operating Theatre (OT), MOunt Alvernia and Gleneagles are better wor...but i reckon so many people have done c-sect in TMC, shudnt be that bad bah...
Where did u deliver last time?

wondering if yen has indeed went on to delivery?? any news?

violetice,
xmas eve baby! so exciting for you, only 2 more days, how's preparations?

valencia,
your maid really funny, should polish up her acting skills :p

Janet,
welcome! I'm going to Mt A cos my gynae don't deliver at TMC, think up to you and see which hospital is more comfortable or convenient for you.

Verene,
Think by that time then decide and see whether you're too tired or what.D&amp;D should be quite ok just don't get too excited :p

violetice,
xmas eve baby! so exciting for you, only 2 more days, how's preparations?

valencia,
your maid really funny, should polish up her acting skills :p

Janet,
welcome! I'm going to Mt A cos my gynae don't deliver at TMC, think up to you and see which hospital is more comfortable or convenient for you.

Verene,
Think by that time then decide and see whether you're too tired or what.D&amp;D should be quite ok just don't get too excited :p

violetice,

all the best in your delivery! I am sure everything will go well and look forward to seeing your baby pictures!

CONGRATS to TATTYHUG too

violetice,

all the best in your delivery! I am sure everything will go well and look forward to seeing your baby pictures!

CONGRATS to TATTYHUG too

Babe
I just saw your blog, your girl is only 1.5 yr old? She looks big.
My girl also attends GUG. Next yr will go on to the early reading prog.

Violetice,

Dun worry so much.... U will have a smooth delivery.

For all those who had popped, Congrats!! I am still waitint patiently for my turn to popped!!!

mylife,
i think the forum a bit haywire...i posted once but it came out twice at diff timing wor... so i just manually "Edit post" right hand corner of yr posted message to delete.

Violetice
Glad you and your hubby had come to a decision.
Most important is to have a healthy baby...

Mylife
My 1st child is born in Mt A. Actually, I like their service and thought of going back but seems like TMC also not bad. Moreover, my gynae can let me enjoy free upgrade from 4 bedded to 2 bedded... so dunno which one to choose lor...

Steph &amp; Luvv
Thanks for the warm welcome...

I think both TMC and Mt A are good... I just have to settle at one... perhaps by tossing a coin...
Thanks for your response.