(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Split,
Since she doesn't want u to carry bb so much, that's good for you too. let her do all the nappy changing and baby stuff and you just rest, feed and read books on babycare/parenting.

When I had #1, I needed help cos tired. But MIL took nap everyday and sometimes SIL came and they ended up chit chat in room. I paisei to ask MIL do things so ended up did many things myself. Very tiring. My MIL's health not so good lah.

Heehee...looks like u gals more ready than me. I washed bb clothes but haven't folded them to put in cupboard, hospital bag not even packed, haven't buy disposable panties or PJs. If really pop, think can go empty handed and ask hb to just walk back and take stuff since I staying opp the hospital. The only think I really bought is the pump and thanks mei, for getting the spare part for avent manual. Anyway, do avent pumps have expiry coz this was passed from my fren who had kid 4 years back and I used for my no.1 and now can still use for no.2?

hi wendy,

thanks,i had not open up my new breast pump yet,hehe,my hb always said i m a "problem" kid cos i got a lot of qns to ask,he said he wanted to buy me the 10000 why cds to watch :p

Btw, baby head down doesn't means bb is coming out liao. Mine was head down long time and even at 40 wk not engaged. This one also started head down think at 6mths or so and haven't engage. So just enjoy urself now. The longer bb is inside the better coz lower risk of jaundice. My gal didn't have that so it was easier to take care I guess coz no need to go back hopsital to do blood test and 'sun' bb.

blackbatz
yes now the lumps are painful! How to squeeze, can't see beyond my bump. I also did the full brazillian ley. but it was my first time. Din know this kind of things got after-effects?!

steph
good meh... raining & windy.. if open window, will kena wind & rain from outside. If close window, very stuffy. If turn on aircon, very wasteful coz outside so breezy.
My previous time better.. in July everywhere hot. So the aircon in my room was turned on almost 24hr for the whole month. yippee! but Singapore Power also yippee!! Earn my $$$

babe
oh i din know that would reduce chance of getting jaundice. I guess it figures coz bb's liver got more time to mature etc? Tks for that tip.

now wait until neck long long. But that's precisely why i dowan to start ML too early.. to save on the precious days of PH, the first of which is 2 days away! heh heh.

luvv
wa, ur bb's head down so early... so i dont need to worry too much lah unless her head is engaged?! i dunno cos 1st time mum.. heard from my mum dat once bb head down, v fast liao.. i oso scared but oso wanna c how she looks like..

split,
lucky u r not staying wif ur ILs or else it'll b even worse for ur ears... (lucky i don't have SILs) and i dun understand y she doesn't let u carry ur own bb.. it's YOUR bb leh!!! she trying to be queen? or is she jus being overly concern over ur welfare, i.e. ur wound? jus don't take their words too seriously... one ear in, one ear out... bo chap lah...

steph,
i'm still taking my multi-vits, folic acid n fish oil fm gynae. my anmum milk powder still got half a tin untouched!!! hahaha... sometimes drink fresh milk n milo and i'm still drinking tea and started drinking coconut milk 2x.

Confinement time,
may i check if many of you gonna follow the traditions like no bathing, no a/c, no fan, long pj, etc? i kept arguing wif my mom dat i wanna bath and "dry-bathing" (ze eight) but she said i'll suffer nx time when i'm old such as reuhmatism, backache, etc... but den, i was tinking, nx time old liao - engine not working so good liao after all the yrs, of cos will suffer fm such illness if u r weak lah.. other religions such as malays or angmohs oso nvr need to no bathing, etc.. dis r all old tales passed down fm mainland china whr they have 4seasons and it's bloody cold during winter.. y we r following without logical sense leh? any views from 2nd time mummies?

Split, well u dun e sobothered by wad ur mil had done. If u have anything unhappy just tok t ur HB dun tok in front of ur in law as it might ruin the relationship between u and er.Let ur HB settle for you.

Steph,
Ur log cake make me drools..... Nowadays am always craving for sweet stuff. But maz control.

Re: C sect
Relised that qite alot of pple are choosing 3 jan for c sec. Is that a good date for delivering?

I ust went for my check up yest and am at 36 weeks.... Yeah... Finally can count down to se my BB soon. Am also hoping to see him on 3 jan cos same birthday as daddy!!

fischia,
my mum said the reason y ur #1 stick to you so much is bcos he's jealous n "knew" dat u r carrying another bb in ur tummy. he wants ur full attention, and only urs but not ur hubby or maid... the chinese says "snatch the flower stem" (in hokkien translated). once u pop, he'll b ok liao but of cos must still love him as much as before lah or he'll feel unwanted and bully the young one... my gf oso experiencing the same situation as u nw dat she's pregnant wif #2.

I received an email from my temp staff covering me... sigh... she is tendering her resignation ! At this time ! When I am about to due in 2 weeks ! XYZ !!!

Confinement time,

I also believe old already sure also got such problem, since most of the time I already sleep in aircon room, doubt there will be much difference. Already packed bathing stuff (shampoo, condition, bath stuff, tooth brush and paste) and facial stuff into my bag already. Unless its going to be really painful, I think I will try to bath. When come back, during confinement I will bath also, dont think can tahan not bathing plus, its quite uncomfortable also. When I went for the lap surgery, I wipe with wet cloth, coz it was quite painful to move about too much.

Aircon, I think I will die if no air con, so going to turn it on as well. Since bb going to sleep with me, she will have to sleep in the aircon room too, but I bought a baby sleeping bag, so will tuck her into the bag and hope she stay cosy

But other then that, confinement food and stuff I will follow and listen la, so that can get back into shape as well as have enough nutrients to feed bb breastmilk. Hope I not sala about this.

Bill size at TMC, can I ask what is the rough bill size, if I am going to stay in a single bedded, with hubby? Its not going to be like 10k cash right? Else I think we will both faint. The last time I stayed in at Mt E for the lap surgery, about 3 days in a single bedded, I paid about 8k.

hehe wendyg,

ya lor power supply bill sure go up...with thermo pot on 24hrs a day, air-con, my mini wine fridge...next to come would be sterilizer etc...

cooling weather = bath less frequent, can DONG more days otherwise hot & humid weather, more jialat right? I wonder if Jan & Feb are good month for confinement?
My hubby keep asking me to buy one of those small velocity fan
1159198.jpg

for confinement...i wonder why need it for? cannot kena wind so no point have fan?? anyway he say it is better (more powerful) than tower fan in case hot weather wor...

godsent
i can tell u how your baby will look like.. she will look VERY CUTE.
All parents will think their own child IS THE CUTEST & send them for all sorts of baby competitions for Most Photogenic Baby, Cutest Baby of the Year etc.

i'm one of those that won't stick very close to tradition. Confirmed i wun wear long pj coz i don't own any. Confirmed i'll bathe coz already bought the herbs. Dat day my MIL still insisting that i must use cool boiled water to bathe, but husband told her our home water heater is very hot until got steam come out. He also lazy to boil water for me coz the kettle v heavy to bring from kitchen to my bathroom, sommore scalding hot & must boil twice o'wise not enuf to bathe.
My 1st confinement my MIL only come for 2 weekends during daytime & was busy cooking. This time round i think husband wants her to stay overnight as much as she can so that can help to distract #1 after my folks gone home. So maybe half the month she'll be nagging at me.. "cannot drink water, cannot use tap water to wash hands, must wear socks, must eat chicken wine" etc. i'll just *siam* her as much as i can. She see my black face before.. & a bit scared of me. hiak!

chaye
aiyozzzzz after u've handed over your stuff to her, she come & pull this kind of stunt. Why dun u track where she lives & go splash paint on her door la.

angelsky
TMC bill size - http://www.thomsonmedical.com.sg/bill_size.htm
Companion charge is S$75 per night

steph
oh, cool weather to siam bathing huh... ok i think abt it.
those velocity fans are good for air circulation

split: Nowadays cooling weather so itz gd for confinement... As for mi, i already told my hubby dat i'll on e aircon e whole mth of confinement.. today, i called for aircon servcing. in case during my confinement in Jan e aircon breaks down... hahahaa!

Luvv: i'm also delivering at Mt.A but my edd is 15 Jan.. wen's urs? and who else at Mt.A?

wendyg
u very cute leh ! ask me carrying a big tummy and carry a can of paint and splash it at her door is not an easy task for me now ! hahaha...

I tot I can relac n rest at home these 2 weeks now come this nonsense. I asked my boss to go talk to her le.

Steph
What I heard is aircon is better than fan during confinement leh.

Luvv
Which shifu are u consulting ?

Confinement
Wendyg, I agree with u, muz bathe! If not so eeky how to bf. Later bb dun wan u coz smelly. I also on aircon 24hrs unless after massage the oil smell very strong then off and air the room.

Angelsky, tmc bill not so much lahz..think at most 4k unless got complications. Still got Medisave deduction etc..

nono.gif
ahem wendyg...so violent ah, no gd for tai jiao wor...part time yi long?keke...

Chaye,
now that u r on maternity leave, hack care la...it's the company's problem to settle staff allocation. Unless u got very important matters on hand to handle personally, let yr boss know in advance.

chaye
yes, my c-sect date is also chosen by shifu one. My actual edd is 17jan, but gynae wans me to schedule c-sect earlier ma. U delivering which hospital?

Steph
yah, my mom also warned me to guai-guai and be obedient during confinement time. I just see how la...i prob wont follow the full rules ie not bathing for 1 whole month..maybe jus 7 days bah. Told my mom to give and take. Hehe. But i die-die must have aircon, jus told my mom i will tilt the aircon vent up and not blow directly at me lo

Split
U can feel them stitching u up ah? Eeeee...i think i will also be very scared when it's my time...well, hopefully, my baby will turn down la...then i dont have to go thru c-sect.

re:Sterilising tablets
jus now went to BHG and bought a box of sterilising tablets, Pureen brand one. Got 56 tablets inside. I saw the instructions say soak inside non-metallic container...does it mean plastic? Must we use plastic container with cover ah? Dunno how big shud we use leh...any advise?

Confinement time,

I also believe old already sure also got such problem, since most of the time I already sleep in aircon room, doubt there will be much difference. Already packed bathing stuff (shampoo, condition, bath stuff, tooth brush and paste) and facial stuff into my bag already. Unless its going to be really painful, I think I will try to bath. When come back, during confinement I will bath also, dont think can tahan not bathing plus, its quite uncomfortable also. When I went for the lap surgery, I wipe with wet cloth, coz it was quite painful to move about too much.

Aircon, I think I will die if no air con, so going to turn it on as well. Since bb going to sleep with me, she will have to sleep in the aircon room too, but I bought a baby sleeping bag, so will tuck her into the bag and hope she stay cosy

But other then that, confinement food and stuff I will follow and listen la, so that can get back into shape as well as have enough nutrients to feed bb breastmilk. Hope I not sala about this.

Bill size at TMC, can I ask what is the rough bill size, if I am going to stay in a single bedded, with hubby? Its not going to be like 10k cash right? Else I think we will both faint. The last time I stayed in at Mt E for the lap surgery, about 3 days in a single bedded, I paid about 8k.

angelsky/wendy,
i'm glad i've you to share the same sentiments... i guess we are the new generation n believe cleanliness is the utmost impt esp if we BF. is ur MIL khek, wendy? i know kheks eat chix wine lots cos it's their specialty dish. my hubby is khek but den my mom is doing the Confinement for me and i don't tink i'll be seeing my MIL lots cos i'll b staying at my mom's place fm jan onwards til end of confinement, at least. they'll prob come n visit the bb n go off...

i'll oso eat watever my mom prepares for confinement dishes but den again, i don't take lotsa stuff like all the pig's organs except pig trotters n lean meat. will go for fish n veg most of the time n i don't take ginger too... will force myself to take some ginger to get rid of the wind...

babe,
maybe u miss out my previous post, can i check how much Mdm Sadiah package like? duration & massage methods? thks.

Chaye,
i prefer air-con to fan too
maybe daytime can use velocity fan/towel fan for baby's room & nite time on air-con (sleep in MBR with us).

Confinement
Wendyg, I agree with u, muz bathe! If not so eeky how to bf. Later bb dun wan u coz smelly. I also on aircon 24hrs unless after massage the oil smell very strong then off and air the room.

Angelsky, tmc bill not so much lahz..think at most 4k unless got complications. Still got Medisave deduction etc..

Steph, sorry must have missed the post as the thread is running so fast. Mdm Sadiah's package is $50/session. Her English is quite good. I think it's about 1-1.5h and traditional malay massage. U can contact her at 97724579. I have never used her before but got her contacts from forum.

Godsent,
chix wine = rice wine?? I am hokkien and my mum is teochew. My mum has prepared the rice wine for use during my confinement, can be use to add during cooking of tonic soup or dishes (with chix/liver/lean meat with ginger).

sassy
welcome home.. i thought she was abv 2kg, still can't discharge with u ah. Be a hardworking cow ok, pump your white gold for your girl's nourishment.

steph
chix wine = chicken wine.
it's not rice wine.
Actually it's not right to call it Chicken Wine, it's just a direct translation from the Chinese term, which is "Ji1 Jiu3". It's chicken cooked with A LOT of wine. The alcohol smell is very very strong. And i'm the type who can get drunk on a Long Island Tea...

Babe,
No. I didn't get CL cos I thought I'll cater confinement food, maid and I will look after #1 and #2. Looking at the situation now, I may need to change plan. So your hubby will send your gal to your mum's place in morning and pick her in evening? Where does your mum stay? My mum is suggesting that i do it this way too so maid can cook my lunch and she'll cook my dinner. Without #1 around, i can rest too. Need to discuss with hubby to see how much he can commit. Though he said he'll be working from home for 2wks, he may be out frequently/whole day for meeting..

MIL wanted to come over but no place for her to sleep. she can't sleep on mattress cos will have problem getting up. can't be asking her to sleep on sofa rite.

Godsent,
Yeah. That's what I heard also - Jealousy. Worse still, i'm home with him always so he sticks to me like "bei lei gou" sigh...

Re: Confinement
I won't be following. Will bathe, wash hair, drink orange juice when i feel like it and may even bathe #2. My mum did that too and she's fine in her 60s. If #2 is cooperative, I may even go out i.e. to my mum's place or car ride with hubby. But i will watch my diet cos need nutrients to produce milk... and i love herbal soup..

Mylife
I'll be in TMC. Most likely will be 3 Jan but duno wat time to take...

Sassy !
Little dannelle is so cute ! I think she has big eyes cos can see the line is quite long ! Rest and eat well !

Posting this on behalf of Mrs Piggy as her account is being freezed for no apparent reason !

She is asking if there is anymore orders for the pigeon wipe box. She is selling it at $3 each. Collection will be at Chinatown or Boon Lay station.

Perhaps you guyz can email her at [email protected] if you are interested

sassy!!
yah!! your princess is sooooooo <font color="0077aa"><font size="+1">cute!!!</font></font>

chaye
me too at TMC! Haha...dat means we will both be in TMC on the same day.
Mine will prob be in the afternoon.

Wendy,
i'm oso a Teochew.

steph,
actually, they use rice wine to cook the chix wine.. the style of cooking is sesame oil fry thinly sliced ginger, den add in the chopped chix, add the rice wine and water.. simmer for abt 10mins to let the chix immensed wif the rice wine. dat's how u get the name - chix wine. it taste pretty good, actually. my PIL prepared abt 10bottles for me to cook chix wine during my confinement!

btw, anyone has reasonable tingkat to recommend? Newbaby doesn't do it. need to order for my maid cos i dowan her to cook at all..

Wendyg,
I called up GlenE.. they don't have such things wor... 20% a lot leh!!! Can i use someone else's name to book? kekeke...

i dunno if he will ask me to produce the card or what. I just told him over the phone only, then he said "Yes, SBI = 20% off".

u try pull stunt la? If kena found out then paisey only lor...

steph

thanks. still too early to tell if she looks like me or my DH. the only thing i hope she takes after my DH would be the radiant skin... hehe

wendy

ya lor... still considered a premmie tatz y PD dun allow her to come home with me. but dunno why split can bring her's back???

split,

your baby looks big, dun look like a 1.875kg bb. I understand how u feel cos my MIL also at my place now. tell me this one cannot eat tat one cannot do... *sigh* say cannot eat chicken, why my mum cook chicken for me??? *piangz* really cant live with 2 women under one roof...

re: confinement issues
I think I will just follow whatever my mum says coz I don't want further nagging from her next time in case anything happens. Just tag along and reduce conflicts.

hmmm..everyone wants their baby to be born same date as daddy. Haha.. my baby maybe will be born on the same date as me! If I have to do c-sect, hubby was asking me to choose my birthday. Hahz. Wonder if I should...

mcfluffy
yeah! do that! Easier for everyone to remember. My colleagues & relatives all remember that my #1 shares bday with me. And for 2 years already i get to blow candles & enjoy cake & open presents (all of which belong to my boy). haha.

wendy

the wound is still painful esp when i cough... very scared tat my wound will tear. wearing the binder will make me feel safer, i think its a physcological factor...

sassy
no it really helps la. If u go about without the binder, it's much worse. Try just to clear your throat, if u hv to cough or laugh, use both hands to press hard on the binder where the wound is.
Can walk upright? Still on painkiller?