(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Good morning ladies !!!

MyLife !!!
I am thinking of 3 Jan too leh !!!!! My actually due date is 11 Jan. So if I choose 3 Jan I shd be 39th weeks.

When is your EDD ?

Blackdatz
My email is [email protected]
My doc ask me to choose a date so that he can book the theatre lor.

QQ, you took the test earlier than me so since you didnt receive any call from the clinic, can safely assume nothing wrong. Call the nurse to confirm?

steph
coz all the photos of new mom and newborn are those of bliss - look into each others' eyes & full of love etc. In reality it's not always like that lor.. i was wincing in pain whenever my boy latched on. My hair was in a mess, I was sweaty & sticky, face outbreak due to heaty confinement food... No one shows this kind of pictures...

icy
there was once i also got very alarmed at bb's persistent movement eg struggling, over several hours. I phoned the doc to check - she said baby moving is fine. If bb dun move then start to worry.

prata they always very busy one .... if i can avoid to call i dun call wor ... especially they short handed now ..... think tmr when I go see my thyroid doc then i ask bah

lynn,
Oh.. same. My CTG will be done on the 37th week. For maternity pad, my friend pass me Madame. Brand new one had 20pcs inside. Anyway i know lauier have superguard pad at 34cm.. with wings.. seemed like that is better. I heard we at most need thick ones for first week, then we can use normal night pads.

wendyg,
yah.. now I worry when he not moving.. so paranoid hor.. Always wondering if he is struggling with the cord. :p

i guess im the first to pop here cuz i was push in at 7am~haha my gynae give up cuz my mil die die wan a gd date and time..in the end he said can do it at 7am on 15dec...

is my first child so i choose epi c-sect than my hubby can accompany me into the operation room to view the process and i also can see baby born..

dec 15
4:45am: reach mt A
6:45am push into the operation room (that moment i start to regret my choice cuz im so scare)
7:00am: given epi (it was so painful..and im shivering nor stop)
7:05am my gynae came in and hubby also...(hubby was encouraging me but im still so nervous and shiver nor stop)
7:25am: baby is out! he's cryng so loud than i finally feel better but still very nervous..cuz i can actually feel my gynae stitching me back...
8:05am: back to my ward..

<font color="aa00aa">congrats split!! did i gotten ur bb's details correct? what's his name??

u are a great mummy!! welcome to motherhood!! PICS!!</font>

split
Did your hubby freak out ? Did he see how the doc cut u up and take the bb out ? and see your placenta ?

prata queen hahahah ... sorry ... cos busy at the same time wanna talk lah so short form all the way pai sei har heehee

WendyG, mylife, the video monitor got 6-7 LED lights on the daisy itself, so should be able to take video at night.

Split, your baby boy looks so cute and contented. Can't wait to see my BB gal too. Hee.

All - hey jus curious...can i have a show of hands...how many of u are still faithfully taking multi-vitamins, fish oil & calcium tablets? drinking pregnancy milk powder? I am not very keen in popping my pills daily since 32wks onwards...so guilty la.
Yesterday drank another coconut...so very nice

Side track - anyone like christmas log cake...especially the ice cream cake type? Any gd recommendation?

I ate my multi-vitamins, fish oil & calcium tablets everyday. But i didn't drink the pregnancy milk powder. Only drink for 2 weeks during 1st trimester.. :p

Congrats to Split!

Very sweet pic of your baby! How're you feeling now? Still painful? Did doc give you any painkillers? Do rest well and take care of yourself. I know people will be excited about the baby but you do still need to be careful and take care of your ownself as well. So happy for you..

steph
yes i'm still taking the daily dose of multi vits. But not the milk powder. I drink low fat choc milk a few times a week. Makes a good supper.

<font color="0077aa">yipee tmrl on leave, Thurs holiday Hari Raya Haji & Friday gynae check up...long long weekends....any baby sales going on ? pls do share share...thks

wendyg,
u done yr brazilian wax already? How izit?
I am planning to do it during week 38/39 if gynae say okay to proceed.</font>

steph, got continue with calcium tablets, multivits and fish oil - 3 types. especially since the first 2 are included in my gynae package.

as for milk powder, i am quite glad i managed to finish 1 tin in 2nd trimester. after that i didn't buy anymore. I drink milo in morning and night.

re baby sales
i'm waiting for isetan pte sales on dec 27 and other post-x-mas sales (JL/Robinsons).

Now like nothing much on sale. No more BHG and JL/Robinsons 20%.

I notice Kiddy Palace nebber has sales? Even mothercare (more up-market) has occassional sales on apparrels but not Kiddy Palace.

steph
yes did it last wk. The feeling is like quick action of pulling plaster off your skin and u feel all the hair comes out together. my eyes grew very big but not to the extent of swearing la. 15min settled liao. $60+. Hard wax - pay a bit more but they said less pain. Anyway i dun think i'll get addicted to it. Now ingrown hair, v painful *sob* They sommore ask me to sign package!
If i hv #3, i may go for it again (depends on re-growth.. still must KIV), but for normal life, just let things be.

b4 the appt i phoned the gynae's clinic & they said it's OK. Didn't even ask me to identify myself.

Good morning ladies,
Thread moved so fast today. Just had my massage session with Grace. Legs were swollen..

Wendyg,
Re : Sterilising tablets. When I delivered at SGH, everything was free. Thanks for telling me. Better get ready.

Me delivering on 4 Jan 08, opting for Epi C-Section. Last time was C-section with GA. Can't see baby immediately. From what split described, sounds scary. Mine is ang moh, no such thing as good date and good time.

my 1st one was epi c-sect. ok ma. but i couldn't see beyond the screen they put at my chest. Wished there was a mirror mounted on the ceiling so that i could watch them cut me up. Just like CSI..

anyone bought thermometer already for measuring babies temperature? which is better? ear thermometer, digital one or infra-red scan from head one?

Re: multi-vit, fish oil & calcium
Wah...u all so guai, all discipline mummy..i am too lax...hate to pop those smelly huge tablets, must remind myself to take faithfully cos gynae say can continue to take if we r breast feeding wor.

Re: Sales

prata_queen, i copied this from April08 MTBs thread,
<< "MotherWorks Sale"
Last Day of Sale: 24 Dec 07
Outlets: Great World City (Largest) and Tanglin Mall (2 outlets)
Discount: Either 20% or 10% discount. BabySafe is at 20% discount.
The cot mattress I wanted to get is $140 after discount. That's the cheapest price for the moment.>>

wendyg,
so the pain can still tahan i suppose. Cos me never done brazilian b4...& u get the therapist, 'chilli' to do it for u? u mean so fast ingrown hair already?

steph am still eating all the vit, fish oil ..... but not milk powder still have half a can on my desk now hahaha ..... but i drink alot fresh milk ....

steph
yes recommended by sassy. Diffrnt people diffrnt threshold of pain lor. After few days i felt the area how come not smooth & got so many bumps, husband said it's ingrown hair coz it happens to people who shave so he knows. Painful wor.

hey wendyg~ i kinda agreed with u..gotta deal with mil/and old folks...

i was so dispress at the hospital on sunday when hubby going home den i start to complain to my hubby that i dont wanna stay in the hospital..cuz hubby gotta work and cant visit me on monday..my gynae actually said im recovering well and am not taking any painkiller..but my mil insist i stay for a week and she even spoken to my gynae to let me stay longer..
den yesterday when i insist of going home she like abit not happy..
when reach home dun allow me to bath, no fan, no air-con no water..and keep talking and talking and talkin make me so frustrated...and she keep wanting to carry baby and she tell me dun carry baby so much...
finally when

split,
Poor thing.. pour all ur complains here, we here to listen. Else u will feel so bottled up. Heck and just give pirority to what U urself want.

so far nvr hear before the elderly want new mom to extend hosp stay. unless they're planning surprise for u at home or what. My colleague just suggested to me to stay hosp for a week to rest, dun go home so early to handle both newborn plus toddler. But i think of the $$ and tell her siao ah.

when they are half way thru the surgeryi ask my hubby if he scare ma..he tell me no..den after i went back to the ward he told me very scary cuz the water bag burst den so much blood around this and that..gee

gee baby cry den i post half way go feed milk..lolx den i complain to hubby after mil go home..cant bath, cant on fan cant on air-con..like that one month i'll be smelly pig le..den he finally agreed to let me on air-con..cuz in hospital got aircon one

mylife,
yes we choose c-sect by choice

lynn,
i only bought 1 pack of maternity pads, heard that normal night ones should suffice so i just bought one pack to standby.

chaye,
we got a shifu to give us a good date/time.

steph,
me not so faithful, keep forgetting or delaying until forget to take :p now i try to take at least the fish oil for baby's sake.

Blackbatz,
we chose the same date! which hospital will you be at? I'll be at Mt A, maybe we'll even be neighbours!

split, congrats on your baby boy. where to see your pictures? and yeah, just pour your complaints here.. but lun in front of your mil no choice. we will provide a listening ear for you

meanwhile, do take lots of rest and take care!

split,
just one ear in one ear out, don't let your MIL affect you, only one month, jia you! pour your unhappiness here, we'll be rooting for you.
put yourself as priority 1st, your well being is very important.

steph,

i am like you, also not very dilligent in taking the medicine. sometimes i forget to take the multi-vitamins. sometimes i dont take the fish oil. also coz i find the tablets big and smelly. my Anmum milk powder also sometimes drink sometimes never drink.

hi wendy,

for the use of TMC's pump FOC,tmc will sterilise for us before we use the pump?do we need to tell them which model we 1 to try?

goodbabyb
i think they only hv 1 pump to share for the entire level. Medela industrial pump. But that was 2+ yrs back, they may hv more pumps now?? Since they made me buy the stuff for sterilising, i dun think they helped to sterilise anything! Everything charge to patient's bill. So convenient right.

Wendyg,
Did you get CL? anyone else at home other than newborn and your kid?

I'm really scared now. When I'm out of sight my son will scream until i appear. He doesn't want maid nor hubby recently and that happens a few times a day. I wonder how I cope with a newborn. Must really PRAY HARD!!

Split,
Hope you're coping well. How's your milk supply? good? Once feeding is settled, less stressful already. Whatever your MIL says, let it be. Don't let her words affect you cos this is what they do in their generation and they see it as the right way.. just concentrate on your feeding and take a lot of bb pixs. They grow and change very fast!

hi wendy,

for the large plastic container ,how big is the size to put in the pump to sterilise?is $8 ex?or is it cheaper to buy the container outside?so we can just throw the pump in and put sterilising tablets and warm water,then is sterilised?to sterilise the pump,need to put into the container for how long?

spilt, dun worry too much.anything just pour out to your hubby tho its your MIL.

You are normal cos i also went thru the same thing as you before.....

just be steady and concentrate on your baby

anything talk to your friends etc....anything regarding bf, can ask the experience mum here.

Today i going for CTG...after that will see gynae in two weeks cos she on VL...hope i dun pop within these two weeks...but hard to say since my cervix shortening....

but at least baby managed to stay till today....and hopefully for another two weeks...by then i will be 37 weeks liao

Luvv,
Me delivering at Mt.E. My eyes really popped out when I saw the estimated bills. All my bonus and PB will go towards medical bill liao..

Split,
Your MIL may have your interest at heart cos she doesn't want your scar to tear cos you're carrying the baby. Besides, grandson, sure happy want to see and see..

As for aircon, don't turn on till so cold. Make sure you wear bed room slippers. After 3 to 4 days, I really "buay ta han". Bathe with herbs in the late morning. Can buy those herbs from the chinese medical shop.

Wendyg,
Must take care of the ingrown hair thingy..If not careful, wait the lumps will become very painful. A bit like pimple, must squeeze the blood. Now, pregnant, can't use their cream. That's why I do the full brazillian.

Goodbb,
It was relaxing. I had a lot of knots cos I have been using the internet too often...

It's raining heavily now...jurong area..
this kind of weather good for confinement hor.

hee..my company ordered a christmas log cake from Angie The Choice for the staffs,
1159039.jpg

yum yum..very nice rich & creamy dark chocolate fudge! Plus we had our christmas gift exchange with my colleagues during lunch just now, rec'd a bb photo frame! just nice, can put bb photo

split,
dun let yr mil words ruin yr motherhood spirit. Keep it moving...close one eye, once milk supply established, u'll be less stressful...JIA YOU!

Wendyg, I also like u, once out of hospital, life was a nightmare with a crying baby that cry non-stop when at hospital she was pushed to me every 3 or 4hrly. I think I was also silly when ppl say feeding every 3 hrly, I thot it was from end of 1 feed to start of another until I realise it's actually the gap between the start of 2 feeds.

Val, u are lucky not to have sore nipples. heehee....

Fishia, wah u all can have mommy community there already. U drink alot of water? It helps with dry lips. Erm...my church doesn't have sat service, only sunday. I have been putting her in the nursery to attend sunday school and worship. However, recent 2 mths had been bad coz she will wail herself to the loudest for that 2hrs or so when she was usually ok and kept calling for mama. Gee...me just have to be abit hardhearted and let the sisters handling nursery deal with her. Dunno what's wrong also, like very insecure and scare. But when I go playdate, she's ok with all the mommies and kids around.

U didn't employ a CL? Who is going to do confinement then? I am still going to send my gal to my mom's while CL helps out with the chores and baby. Think I really need the rest coz first one no CL, was quite a bad experience coz MIL couldn't help much and my mum had to travel to bring food for me. Now with a 20+mth toddler, I don't want to risk overtiring myself.

Split, sounds like u have good supply. Heeehee...ur MIL sure thinks u have alot of money. Stay in hospital longer means more rest for u if money is not an issue.

My gal just recovered from sudden fever. Dunno y her fever these days hit 39.5 and she hates to see the doctor. Once he touched her, she will cry not stop. Dunno how he chk also. Thank God the fever went down. So do get urself a digital thermometer, fast response. The one Steph recommend is good. Imagine struggling with a sick bb and trying to take temperature by keeping the thermometer under the arm for 1 min!

fishia
no CL. #1 is at childcare 9am - 12noon every weekday. Thereafter my folks will take care of him. With them around, he wun come & disturb me, coz they dote on him so much, everything is "ok ok"... no discipline, no stern words. Husband and I are the "bad people" who will beat & scold him into compliance.

goodbabyb
gosh, u remind me of Fern... asking 5-6 qstns all in the same breath.

1. size of plastic box
- dismantle & then try to fit all your pump parts in whatever plastic container u have, ensuring all can be submerged.
2. yes i think $8 is expensive, considering i may have similar boxes at home already.
3. sterilising instructions are available on the box of the sterilising tablets.