(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

fishia/wendyg,
that's means die die sure will kena cracked/sore nipples especially for new MTBs ? hopefully the moisturizing nipple cream comes in handy lo. If latch on, no milk, we still continue no matter what? can ask nurse to spoon/cup or syringe feeding for FM?

Steph,
Think most people will get sore nipples. The cream is to relieve dryness and sore. But mine was bad lor.. lasted for a long time due to some blocked ducts which I didn't know. It was so painful until i couldn't feed nor pump. so remember to massage your breast before and after each feed. Request for LC to visit you if she haven't done so and ask as many questions as possible. Get her HP no. if possible. Yes, you can request nurse to cup feed FM.

Fishia, yes yes I balloted and thank God that we got it after the 2nd round. I guess I am paying for the location and I agree the flats are super small these days. Can't even move my king size bed from my IL place over. Heehee..btw, u staying nearby? Ur no.1 abt the same age as mine. Have u started him on any preschool? I am looking out for one ard TPY since I moving there otherwise at novena, everything very ex. Erm...being SAHM, still considering. Can share with me ur life as one? I really think I will become huang lian po, cook, wash, take care of kids..haha...that's if I persist not to have a maid to intrude our lives.

Sore nipples
Ladies, pls make sure u have nipple cream ready. Dun like me try to be super hero first time coz scare no good for bb and dun apply. After that bleed so painful. Dun make life which is already so tiring any more miserable.

Breast Massage
Start doing it now! Essentially massage with your fingers all flat around ur breast, 12 o'clock, 3, 6 and 9. after that use 2 fingers to pull ur nipple forward like trying to squeeze milk out of teat, horizontal once, vertical once. About 1 min of massage each breast. U may see colostrum coming out but it's ok. Erm..dunno if my description clear or not...

Chaye, so good on maternity. I EDD same day as u but I am still working...dun wanna waste maternity leave. Now just sit at computer to do report. Butts and back ache lehz..like cannot sit long!

tried to stimulate my breasts... still no milk but im sure it will come (matter of time)
my breasts actually feel very sore and firm (something like wat we experience b4 menses) not so much on the nipples despite stimulating every 3 hrs regularly.

babe
did your nipple cream work...? Mine like didn't provide much relief. Only when skin toughened then i din feel anything. That was like 4-6wks later. So ke lian, that time.

sassy
sounds like u're getting engorged liao. BM coming soon.

fishia
your analogy on kissing too much causing dry/crack lips really cracked me up. Hahahaha...u must have the experience lo?? kekeke

Steph
I just got a date for my c-sect if my baby doesnt turn down by then...gonna be either 2nd or 3rd jan. So, i may be #4 or #5 cos i rem someone's edd also 2jan rite? Sigh...i wish me natural though.

babe
the nipple cream hor, apply directly on nipple ah? must rub? then must we rub away with tissue or cloth after dat? cos i read they say no need to rub away before feeding, but somehow feel funny to let baby latch on to the cream leh.

I took the strep B test during wk 34 and just got to know that I failed it. The nurse told me to go down to get the medication (antibiotics) - 1 week course.

Do you know what are the implications during natural labor? Are there additional tests that need to be done or additional medicine that will be administered during natural labor?

Can anyone shed light on how I could have contracted this?

Thanks yeah

thanks wendy. i tried to google but there is no mention on how preggie mums might have gotten it.

so wanted to ask u all wat hafing strep b will mean for me if i give birth naturally.

sobs...

Re: First month celebration
I would be having Buffet all at 1 place, my mum wants to give cakes to all relatives, not very sure abt my MIL side.

wendyg,
Thanks for the info. Was wondering what it is for.. doctor just say monitoring.. haha.

chaye & itok,
Maybe CTG had to be done for me, due to my GD bah. I also not very sure.. I would be like 37 weeks then.

my fren had strep B, she took medicine then had a natural birth. Her girl was fine... now 3YO liao.

icy
my first time, i din hv GD, the doc still did for me. I think it's routine for all her patients, and she happily earning $40 from each of us.

re: my queries on strep b
thanks wendy and bebe_yan.

can't help feeling a bit down. Now raining heavily in pasir ris and later hubby has to go down to get the medicine for me.

re: first month celebration
i tink the fuss-free way is to have it at an external venue but tat would mean incurring additional costs.

re: ctg
i also hafen done a ctg (yet). seems like its done in the later stage of pregnancy?

mylife

wah so fast huh? when is yr actual EDD?

wendy

hopefully la... feel so sore lei. cant even massage my breasts.

Re: First month Celebration
my DH already set the date for the 1st mth celebration liao... will be doing it at my condo's function room so tat i can distribute the cakes and eggs all at the same time.

sassy
my actual edd is 17jan. If really go for c-sect, gynae said safer to schedule between my 38th and 39th week..cos if wait till near edd...water bag might break, actual labour may start so dont wish to risk it.

violetlce, my bb weight is 2.89kg at week 35th wk... gynae say bb fat ah & i also feel heavy cos go shopping 1 hr & legs very pain now... but gynae no hurry me to get bb out & keep asking me to stay away from durian & milk... sigh, i havent touch these 2 items for wks.... can only smell durians... :p~~ i also can't wait to get bb out, hopefully by 38th wks... :p

qq, i now stay @ the old flats in sims drive (opp the audio house).. but will be moving to the new flat @ kallang mrt nxt yr! :D btw, what is the brand of fish oil ah?

Re:CTG
I had mine at 34weeks. Dunno is it because my gynae was going away so just to make sure I am okay... Think I should have one more at 37 or 38 weeks bah. Can't really remember. CTG monitors baby's heartbeat, oxygen level and contractions...

Babe,
I stay in Jalan Bahagia, near Whampoa. 15-20 mins walk to TPY central. Initially I was thinking of putting him into some playgroup but after 2nd thought, I will hold it till #2 is abt 6mths old. I'm afraid he catches some viruses back and #2 is just too young to be infected.

Re: SAHM.
Sometimes very sian and really look like aunty. Haha! But it's rewarding cos our kids grow up only once and I am around to see his every milestones. I enjoy the bonding too but now finds it too bonded liao as #2's coming. keke. You have a good location. Can bring your kids to library, popular, kiddy place. For me, I'm stucked at home most of the time. And I can't really be a 100% SAHM hence I work part-time from home or my mum's place. Think you'll either have to put your #1 in childcare or get a maid else it will be very tough for you to cope with 2... We can chat more offline yah but i don't msn wor.. email/phone/sms all okay

Mylife,
Long time never kiss already. hahaha! Only pator time got hot long kiss lah.. Once you have kid, romance dies down already..

Wendyg,
Sorry for the late reply. Yep, My first pregnancy full of drama at every trimester. Come to think of it, very scary...When I delivered my boy, it was a case of emergency C-section cos distress foetus.

Sassy,
Slowly massage breast in circular motion. Think your milk is coming liao.

Just had my checkup, baby 2.7kg and me put on 100g. gynae said my tummy reached max liao.

Re : Nipples Cream
I used to apply Medela nipple cream. This time, bought Lansinoh from Moms in Mind. No need to wipe it off before feeding. Safe for baby's consumption.

Avent nipple cream also no need to wipe before feeding right? I bought, but I find no use after applying for some time, still very dry.

Stomach been feeling quite weird recently, eat too much wanna vomit. Also got a lot of gas, hopefully not food poisoning, coz my dad now suffering from food poisoning. If we really so unlucky kenna food poisoning, how?

Blackbatz, you mean stomach got reach max one ma?
You due soon is it?

prata
I had strep B for #1. They gave me anti biotics thru drip when I was in labour. I gave birth naturally. When you read the articles, it sounds scary, but I think 20% of women have it. Dunno when it comes, when it flare up and so on, if have just take anti biotics during childbirth, in case bb contract thru vaginal birth.

re: strep b again
Just came back from collecting my strep b medicine from gynae clinic. Gynae's nurse said getting strep b is as common as getting the common flu. Doesn't seem so to me... maybe she's just trying to comfort me cos i looked quite sad haha.

1 implication of hafing strep b is I will haf to be administered with antibiotics during labor... which means via intravenous drip i assume
Will check more with my gynae when I next see her.

re: early breastmilk
Was sitting on the throne (ahem) just now and decided to do some massage on breasts using 2 hands interlocked and pumping action. Guess what, there is actually clear/yellowish liquid coming out from the middle of the nipple! I'm quite surprised.

I think it should be colostrum bah. But hor, i thought the milk ducts are at the aerola? How come the colostrum is coming out from the middle of the nipple?

Mom2nat, ic, so what the gynae's nurse said is correct after all, that the antibiotics is administered through drip.

But imagine if labor is 5 hrs long then I have to be on drip for 5 hrs? My hand cannot move? Sounds very painful...wanna cry at the thought of this.

I'm scared of needles. An injection is bearable but not having a needle in my arm for a long stretch

oh one more thing to add, nurse says I have to let the next gynae know about me having strep b in my first pregnancy, just in case i switch gynae.

so this forms part of my medical history so to speak.

Dear all, sorry to intrude but good things must share right? I'm from the March 08 MTB and we are coordinating together to get OSIM slim belts which are highly recommended for toning.

I've contacted the OSIM supplier. The only slim belt they left with is OS-164 (whole of spore left with 30 pcs)http://www.osim.com/SG/product/slim_belt_extra_back_support.aspx?category_id=A590155E-CC4E-49DB-B365-62715B5C7673. It has extra back support which is good for us esp when we carry the baby for the past 10 mth. It is machine washable as well. The retail price is $98. They r goign to gv us at least 30% discount which is about $68.60. I am trying to neg more discount if i manage to get 10-15 sets...

If interested pls place your name down on the March MTB URL http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/868224.html?1197898404 so that it is easier for me to coordinate. U may leave yr email adress down too so tat it is easier for me to contact u. Thanks

prata
Well, I dunno abt singapore, but when I went into labour, they put this needle thing first, so tat in case anything they wanna administer later, all go thru here.
I think hor, if you have strep b, not advisable to have labour longer than 18 hours, in case the strep b goes to the baby, something like tat.
1157943.jpg

Mom2nat, oh, even if no reason to do so, the nurses will still 'set-up' the IV drip, just in case? Tat seems to add on to mum's pain.

I seem to recall from Mrs Wong's class that the IV drip is not necessary for all mothers. It depends on circumstances and necessity.

18 hours seem to be a reasonable time frame. Cos even without the strep b to complicate matters, I think baby cannot stay in our womb for that long rite.

prata
LIke I say, I am not sure for singapore, cos I din give birth to #1 here. They speak french, so I oso dun wan to ask more... later chicken and duck talk! hahaha...

Well, my fren went thru a 45 hour labour. She started labour pain, pain until her back, but din dilate much, so they can't administer epidural. Oso dunno why they din induce. Anyway, for her #1 was 45 hours, #2 was 2 hours.

fishia
no, france. each time she go to hosp, they ask her go home. Cos i think if no waterbag burst, no show, no 3am dilated, they ask you balek kampong and wait, so she end up go hosp 3 times, back and forth.

Mom2nat,
I think in angmo country, they really go for all natural.. not like singapore. It's so common to hear induced cases now...

mon2nat,
Never get the pump cos found out from mei that can get spare parts at $20 only. Haha...So, will be going down to buy it. Can save $$.

By the way, today I called my hospital (eastshore) regarding hospital charges if delivering on a PH. I was told there is no difference if delivering naturally. However, if requires use of operating theatre ie c-section, there is a flat $200 charge. Rates for gynae's fees on a PH is dependent on individual gynae.

Also, eastshore counts by nights stayed ie try to admit yourself after 12 midnight if you can help it so that you 'save' on 1 night's hospital charges.

You may wanna call your respective hospitals to find out more in case our babies decide to come out on christmas day or new year's day!

fishia,
My fren after 20 hrs only, the gynae already kept asking her for c sect. Think my fren wasnt ready for c sect so kept wanting to go for natural as the bb's heartbeat still regular. In the end she delivered after 28 hrs.

re : breast massage
think i read somewhere before that if u massage ur breast too much during ur last trimester, it might trigger labour symptoms...so mommies, dont massage too much yah if u dont wan baby to come out so soon!

fishia
haha...i paktor days kiss also wont kiss until lips cracked leh..kekeke

Val
wow, your fren very good, persevere hor. I wish i can have that chance.

fishia / val
In sg, C sec is like so common. But in france or western ctys, not really an option for us to choose. I went for MRI kind of pelvic scan, cos I scared my bb can't come out. Gyane say with the scan only decide in emergency, to use vacumm or forceps, doesn't reckon C sec.

Val
Mine hor, not the replacable part turn yellow only. The hard part badly scratched and yellowish oso. I dun wan to use it liao, so decided to buy new one.
Oh, I bought the bbsafe mattress liao, $165 from taka, tmrw they will deliver to my house.

Sassy, just continue to massage..ur milk should be in soon..

wendyg, I think nipple cream helps. Used to use cocoa butter palmers but this time got myself medela purelan.

Mylife, seriously for nipple cream, most if not all are veg based and can be consumed so dun need to wipe off. But me then being first time mum was paranoid and keep wiping..heehee..

Fishia, oh so u are the one staying at whampoa. Think a few mommies there right? Can walk to TPY? U have a maid? Hey, what parttime job u doing? Heehee...yes definitely can catch up more over coffee. U drive? I also suspending my plans for CC for my gal till no.2 is about 6 mths unless I going back to work at 3 mths.

RE : Nipple Cream
I have never tried Avent before. I used Medela based on other mummies' advice. Medela is quite creamy and Lansinoh sounds good based on review.

A small tube of Medela is $9.10 (7g). If buy from JL, can still get 20% disc.

Lansinoh is available at Mothercare but itx a supe big tube 4 oz, $30.10. I bought a small tube from Moms in Mind for $6.50 (2 oz). If itx good, will buy from the overseas spree.

can anyone tell me how come the colostrum is coming out from the middle of the nipple rather than from the aerola?

mylife, will be careful not to stimulate. my hubby was aghast to know wat i did :p

babe, u r so lucky.

prata
Our milk ducts are all ard the centre of the nipple area, not the aerola! So the milk comes out from a few tiny holes at the nipple. The last time I leaked colostrum starting 7mth of preg, my bra always have yellowish crystals. This time dunno isit drought!! Nothing yet!

Sassy & Split,

HEARTIEST CONGRATULATIONS!!! glad to hear dat u popped! Finally, no more watermelon in ur tummy and can start to admire ur little princess/prince...

kitsune/ mcfluffy
my edd oso end jan (on 27jan) delivering in TMC but i tink mayb will pop early cos went for my 34th wk checkup last fri and bb's head is down... heard it's usually quite fast when bb's head is down.. but den, i'm not prepared yet... still got to wash the bb bedsheets, etc and i haven't buy maternity pad, haven't pack my c/i bag, etc etc...

Hmm...must standby nipple cream ah? During my #1, I didnt really get sore nipple. Juz feel the skin like kanna "thinner" but not really sore. Wonder if I should get one.

Mom2nat, is that so...haha so embarassing. I always thought the milk should come out from the aerola,, so when my colostrum started accumlating in droplets in the centre of my nipple, i was quite perplexed.

Have you tried squeezing to get the flow going for this pregnancy?

I am now 34.5wks and so far have nebber leaked colostrum except today when i used 2 hands to 'squeeze'. Actually I am not trying to stimulate labor, I am hoping to unblock milk ducts so that when baby is born, the milk flow will come in faster.

Will avoid repeating this experiment until after Wk 36/37.

Prata Queen,
Milk comes from the center. Wait till you start expressing, you will see all the small tiny holes. A bit like the sprinklers in the garden once you experience letdown.

blackbatz, then do u know why babies are supposed to take in both nipple and aerola (correct latching technique)?

Mrs Wong emphasised a few times and the books also say that baby cannot just take in the nipple alone lei.