(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Sassy,

Durian is supposed to be very "bu", so I think it should be ok right? Also, it's a heaty fruit, so I think a bit won't make too much of a difference since we are eating all the heaty confinement food already ;) Just don't over-eat durians and make yourself too heaty I guess =)

icy
thanks for your compliments too. Haha...my hubby very open-minded one la...we even took a shot where i took the tube top off (but remain in my jeans) and had my hubby cover my breasts with his arms. I didnt post that in my blog cos paiseh ma.

AhCapp
Hahaha..yah i do know u meant hubby touching my tummy.

I AM trying to keep my spirits up...but sometimes when i'm alone in the room...jus felt an overwhelming of sadness wash over me lo...then cant help it but cry...i think it's common bah....

Hello all mummies!

I'm new to this thread and just thought of dropping by to say hello
My EDD for my no.2 is 8 Jan 2008, though I really hope to deliver by end of this month!

mylife,
I can understand how you feel about a C-sect esp when you mentioned how you've been doing all the breathing exercises, imagining cradling your baby in your arms after delivery, etc. My no.1 was delivered via emergency C-sect, which was even worse because I was totally unprepared for a C-sect. Till now, I still feel kind of sad about it because I've always wanted a natural birth.

Honestly, my no.1 is healthy and has no problems that they mentioned C-sect babies might have a greater risk of. Initially when she was younger (like 6-8months) she did have sensitive airway problems, making her prone to wheeze and stuff. I also did wonder whether was it coz of C-sect that caused it. But i think it's more likely coz of my hubby who has asthma. Even so, she's now a very healthy toddler and I attribute it to breastfeeding!

As for recovery of C-sect wound, i recovered pretty fast and the pain of the wound didn't really bother me. So guess it's not too bad. Still, I would prefer a natural delivery anytime and am hoping and praying for a natural birth this time round!

You can always try for a VBAC (vaginal birth after C-section) for your no.2...so try to let go and think positive

Mylife,

Yes, my fingers don't belong to me ever since they swell! =S They have a mind of their own nowadays... *LOL*

I also become more teary during my last trimester. I think it's normal. =) Try to keep your mind occupied, rather than think of all the things which drag u down. My colleague told me she took up knitting and knitted a doll for her baby daughter. But I bet there isn't much time for you to start knitting now. =P Do other stuff like reading or take a walk. Or rent a drama serial. Just don't go into self-pity mode all the time. =)

Thanks AhCapp!

I'm actually from the Jan2006 MTB thread since my first girl was born in Jan 2006. But recently I've been busy and never really managed to catch up with all the postings. Then now nearing delivery date getting a bit kancheong so decided to pop into this thread to see how the other Jan2008MTBs are coping! Heh heh

Even though this is my 2nd child, I still feel kancheong about it...coz my 1st one ended in emergency C-sect.

Just wondering besides Split and I going for epi C-section, anyone else will be going for it?

After what Split mentioned, I'm kinda of apprehensive. On the other hand, I wanted to be in the know cos the last time was C-section under GA.

Hihi, mummies. Couldn't access website yesterday night.

Went to my friend's place this morning to collect the car seat bassinet from her, can only use until 6-9 months She passed me her BB recliner chair covered with mesh cloth cover (is that called a bouncer?). She bought a Xmas present for my gal, 1 pink and 1 white long sleeve t-shirt top with some lace design. Think I have to keep till BB is 1 year though cos looks quite big.

Went to parkway parade for lunch cos was eyeing the $169 Philips juicer from Harvey Norman, end up buying a smaller $99 Braun juicer instead. Bought a standing fan too cos the existing one is spoilt after just 2.5 years. Went back & forth between Harvey Norman and Best Denki before finally making up our minds on which shop & which model to buy. :p

Hubby was so tired with the shopping that he slept after we got back close to 5pm. So I decided to let him sleep, and washed my BB clothes today ... Weather still rainy but weekend always too busy to do it. Used the Pureen detergent to handwash her clothes, face towels, booties, mittens but dumped the nappies, hooded towels, etc into the washing machine. Not that bad lar, managed to do it despite my big tummy.

hi durianlover
welcome welcome...and thanks for the comforting words as well. Actually i think i would have been less sad if i have to go for emergency c-sect. Meaning, i have all the labour pain, contractions, signs and symptoms AND THEN if cannot make it, then go for emergency csect. At least dat way, i know i've been thru it, tried but fail, more "kam guan" u know wat i mean? Now, i'm not even going to have that chance of experiencing wats it gonna be like. Everything so scheduled. 3rd Jan jus go in and get cut open and dats it. I know some mommies might prefer it that way...but not me lo... In any case, i'm oredi 33 this year, like i mentioned in my blog, this is a miracle baby for us...totally unexpected...hence i'm not even sure if i'm going to have a 2nd one. So in a way, this is possibly my one and only chance of going thru childbirth...which explains why i'm so upset lo...anyway, am gonna try to be positive and STILL hope for the best.

Ahcapp
haha...talk about finger swelling, the worst is always in the morning...i cant even clench my fingers at all...so painful! Yah...i know it's unhealthy to go into self-pity mode...so i do watch some TV and do some laundry

Talking about laundry...i bought the Dream Bag from the BP...was wondering do we also need to wash this?

kitsune
wahhhhh, hats off to u and salute too!! At this stage u can still handwash ah?? My back pain would have killed me!!!

Mylife,
Everything for baby usuage best handwash with baby detergent.

BTW, since this is a miracle baby. You should take it in stride that everything has thus far been smooth sailing. At the end of the day, we want our babies to be healthy. Once you cradle the baby in your hands, your own flesh and blood, you will not mind the fact that it was born via C-section or naturally.

blackbatz
i didnt handwash my baby clothes...i merely put it into laundry bag and use the 'handwash function mode" in my washing machine to wash all her stuffs ie bedsheets, clothes, mittens, booties, towels etc. I used baby detergent and of cos separately from our clothes la...dats about it. :p

valencia,

i understand the stress and pressure u are in. sending her back before u deliver is a wise choice. like me now, im more sensitive towards my maid's behavior and attitude (dunno issit post natal depression), cant stand the way she talks and behaves... for example, my DH was assembling the crib earlier and ask her to throw the cardboard box at the main door 1st. after dinner, she actually ask my mum to accompany her to carry the empty cardboard box downstairs. *sigh* (eat so much but no strength to carry empty cardboard box)

im sure yr mum will be of great help and that extra mile she's gonna do it for u is just amazing.
at least u dun have to yell and shout at someone when she does the wrong thing... (only our mum knows us the best) relax and look forward to deliver a chubby and healthy baby...

Mylife,
Actually, I didn't wash my baby clothes myself. My maid handwashed them after my mum selected them from #1's hand-me-down.

Valencia,
It can be very pressurising. Thankfully, my maid has not given me any of these headaches. Probably looking forward to the fact that she would be going home to marry her "ah bang" in Mid-Feb.

Haha, mylife actually I didn't handwash a lot lar. Only 3-4 sets of 0-3 mths baby tops & bottoms, 3 pairs of baby socks, 1 set of BB mittens & booties, 2 BB caps & 6 BB face towels.
That's why my back can still take it. If any more, think cannot take it liao. Hee.

Durianlover,

Guess u are the exceptional one. =) A lot of the 2nd time mummies I know are very relax wor. 1 good eg is my colleague. I actually have to pester her to buy and pack her hospital bag when she only have 2 weeks left till her due date. She said Thomson will provide everything.

Anyway, I accompaniedy her to mothercare on a wed night, where she bought everything she needed. The next thing I knew, she went into labour the next day! =)

Mylife,

Hahaha.. me too, I can't even clench my fingers too! U know nowadays, I have to wake up like once or twice to go to the toilet at night? N it feels quite lousy when I can't even tear the toilet paper properly. This is SAD ok! *LOL*

mylife,
I also feel very teary these days and hb says I too sensitive.

Give example for today, I was asked if I wanna to eat durian.. God knows how much I wanted to eat 1, but cant because of my GD. Then I thought since my Lunch stats is low, I just take 1 pc, immediately after saying then the princess sil laugh so darm loud at me. I feel so upset and feel like crying...the rest also wanna laugh but control. I feel being made fun, like I sounds so greedy.

Hb dun understand the emotions that I am going through.. Just always feel that I think too much, too sensitive.. who really understand how I had to control myself in order for the best of Baby's health.

Poor Icy, I'll feel lousy too. You should talk to hubby so that he understands how you feel. Hubbies won't understand sometimes until they have to go through it themselves.

When I complain to hubby about what I cannot eat (usually those pantang things that I really want to eat like lamb, BBQ stingray, cooling stuff etc), he will abstain from what I can't eat so that I don't feel so alone & lousy. Not that it helps me from feeling tempted, but at least I know someone is sharing the experience and emotions.

Even if your hubby can't speak up for you in front of SIL, ask him to understand that it's difficult for you to give up things that you like and to lend you his emotional support and sayang you. Most hubbies are not very sensitive, won't even know that you are upset so talk to him nicely.

Kitsune,
Yah, moreover hb not with me now. I with mil and sil now.. hard to say things.. Moreover the durian was bought by a relative.. not I request for it. If they think I shouldnt eat, then dun ask me lah.

chaye,
i m in the same boat as u.. my staff tender on wed & last day is 17th jan which 3 days after my EDD.. now dunno can get replacement in time or not...

qq,
thanks for the fish oil brand...the kallang flat is reserved for enbloc pple... so i purposely buy enbloc flat last yr to entitle for the kallang flat.. a lot of extra work i done but feel worth it cos i like to stay near town....
oh eunos is also a good location... just that i dont have luck in balloting so give up & buy enbloc flat for short-cut...

fishia,
my church has sat svc but hor it's at queenstown... is it too far for u??

sassy,
ur bb gal look like ur hubby hor...

mylife,
i like ur maternity shots at Foto-U... last sun was my anniversary & got complimentary anniversary shot from my bridal shop.. i took something similar to ur 1st pic but i look damn fat & dunno why bad hair day... bo pian.. photographer took 20+ shots but cant find one that hubby & me look nice... either he nice or i nice...

superbee

tatz wat everyone says leh... but i think its too early to tell. irregardless of who she looks like, just hope tat she will be healthy and happy.

Icy, true true, they are just insensitive. Never mind lar, ignore them. If not, you'll only be unhappy. Eat all the durian you want after giving birth. Very fast liao, just endure for a few more weeks.

Sassymum, I heard that daughters look like their daddies. My cousin's elder daughter looks just like my her hubby while no. 2 (boy) looks like her. Don't know how true it is, waiting to find out. Ya, most important is that she's healthy. Hope you get to bring your princess home soon.

sassy,
Yah babies looks changes very fast.. like my cosuin ger, at first look like daddy, then look like mummy.. then suddenly seemed look more like daddy.. haha

kitsune
i heard people say daughters who look like daddies will have good life and vice versa for sons who look like mommies..hehe...jus some myth la.

icy
yah...i can truly understand how u feel, me ah..even before preggie oredi am an emotional person, some more now with preggie hormones...i really salute u...must be tough living with mil AND sil under one roof without hubby some more. Hang in there.
Sometimes people will think we all super sensitive but perhaps they dunno wat kind of emotional turmoil we're going thru PLUS the physical changes our bodies going thru.

ahcapp
me wake up more than once or twice to pee nightly ah. Here pain, there pain, everywhere pain. but as painful as it is, i think i'm gonna miss having baby inside me very soon.

Now insomnia liao...nature training us to be awake at odd hours and catching short naps daytime...hahaha

icy/sassy
yah, my gf's son was born looking EXACTLY like his daddy!! EXACT same mold, single eyelid. But hor, now 2 yrs later, he's the EXACT same face, expression as my gf and i tell u, my gf and her hubby look VERY different one hor. My mom said cos my gf looks after the son daily ma...sort of "capture" mommies facial liao...hehe

Didnt log in for past 2 days cos son down with fever.

Luvv: Yep 3-4 cm got to b warded. So happen my son was down with high fever & diarrhoe on mon. I request for medication to hold bac delivery. Now taking med to stop contraction so that will not dilate further.& try not to move abt. Last check up on wed still 2cm. Good news. Hope my son will recover completely soon then i can stop taking the med.

Shannonbaby: Jus bght a Braun ThermoScan model 4520 at $118 from GP. (ear digital)

Hammies: I feel pelvic pain so got a feeling my bb's engage. Plus I can feel her near the pubic hair area. Went to gynae & she confirmed so. Tik they will check dilation when bb's engaged or when closer to EDD.

Split: Had a hard time with in laws when i had my 1st child. Complain to hubby he says its for my own good. But I bo chap bathe twice a day. Worse to worse carry bb into room & say wanna b/feed. Hide inside for an hr : )

Godsent: I bathe, sit in front of fan, drink cranberry juices etc. Don belive in the traditional practice. But jus belive rest well, eat well. Some practices are so unhygienic, imagine after visiting the loo, don wash hands??? Yucks..

Confinement: My MIL dissallow BOTH FAN & AIRCON. crazy. Ask me don keep washing my hands. Must wear long sleeves/ pants at all times. My ans to my hubby: Crazy.

mylife: I went thru natural birth, can feel gynae stitching too.. I even had epidural. Cant imagine if i went w/o

Steph/Ahcapp: I took cranberry juice (recommended by gyane to prevent Urinary tract infection), took orange juice too to help wound recovery. But i guess all these are NO NO in the usual confinement food list. Confinement drink: Hot Milo, horlick, red dates tea.

Sassy: Docs always say drink more water to avoid water retention. Can pour both bottles together since exressed at same time. Even if at diff time, so long abt same temp also can pour together. eg jus expressed, warm, put in fridge when cooled, add to another bottle which is aledi in fridge.

VioletIce: If yr bb is big size, can start wearing S size diapers after 2 wks instead of newborn. For my 1st one I overstock. In no time he outgrew. 3.5kg at birth. But for this round, I need more new born diapers, cos bb only ard 2.5kg : )

Ahcapp: I find cervic check by TMC nurses very painful. Dig & dig like no body's biz. ( or maybe i was 7-10 cm dilated). But when done by gynae less painful, guess she's more gentle.

Mylife: For my i will not go for TCM specially but since its yr gynae, guess u got to trust her. Cos regardless natural or c-sect, she will b the one doing for u. unless u gging for a 2nd opinion.

Jaundice: True that bb born early wg wk 36-38 tend to hv jaundice? My fr told me this but she jus delivered her bb at 39 wks & bb has jaundice too. So worried. Cos my no 1 born at 37 wks got jaundice & was hospitalised for a wk.

Wendyg: Since bb engaged, can ask for induce? wow 3.6kg liao thats big..

3rascals
due to my 1st time c-sect, this time cannot induce liao, coz induce means artificial strong contractions which may rupture old wound. So this time it's either natural or c-sect. No option of inducing.

re: cervix chk
Somehow it's diffrnt being checked in gynae's clinic & in delivery ward. When i was in delivery ward & being checked by nurses/ my gynae, i felt it was SO painful! Why ah.

mylife
yes i understand what u mean abt e-csect being better than scheduled c-sect. Fr doc & $$ point of view, scheduled c sect is better coz more predictable & cheaper bill for u. Imagine if smthg goes wrong during natural/ induced labour & suddenly need to get bb out asap, very mang chang one ley. We the mothers will be lying down helpless, can't do anything to help baby. The daddies only get in everyone's way, or are asked to wait outside.. the team of doc/ nurses are racing against time to get bb out, eg if bb's heartbeat drops, if bb poos in the womb, cord prolapse etc.

Maybe it's just that sgp docs are less prepared to handle e-csect as compared to western docs, who frown upon scheduled c-sect.

valencia
hey, stressful time for u. Dunno why people like to pull stunt like that. Hope your family members can rally around u to help out esp during this time.

in the meantime... wonder when i'll pop. Today 38wk liaoz...

mylife & Jacelyn: whr to view ur maternity photoshoot? i also done mine too at photoU. did u ladies tak e topless pic? i means topless but wif ur hands cover ur breasts area..

mylife
Wah, you look great. So does your tummy... heee... so smooth, no stretch marks. I dare not even show mine!

Val
I think I will ki siao if my maid like tat oso. Crutial time liao like tat!! Then how? Are you getting a new maid?

good morning mommies!!

lynn
u can view some of my maternity shots at my blog www.miraclebabyrylee.blogspot.com. Yep, i also did the "hand cover breasts" shots...jus didnt post it up...paiseh la...hehe

wendy
perhaps me 1st time mommy...dats why only think of the ideals ie experiencing birth contractions etc. I do know wat u mean too by emergency c-sect...obviously emergency means something urgent..hence based on your description, can fully understand the kan-cheongness of it all. I am still gonna leave it status quo. Hopefully by 27th dec, i may have good news ie baby turn liao. Then again, fat chance cos my baby size quite big 2.8kg at the last 35week chkup, think by 37th week, she even bigger liao..how to turn?

3rascals
yah, it's more of the fact that the acupuncturist gonna be my own gynae, dats why i even dare to think of trying. But the main reason why i'm not going today (it's scheduled today) cos my hubby is not back in town yet. Sekali trigger labour, hubby not in town, jialat. So even if do, also wait for hubby to be at my side.

mom2nat
again, thanks for your compliments la...
y'all r jus too kind.

hi good morning all (",)

<font color="ff6000">GOOD NEWS....another mummy has POP!!!
JanBB's baby boy 'JAYDEN' has arrived on 19Dec via C-sect. According to her sms, she said it was a last minute decision though not emergency c-sect cos her blood pressure was too high &amp; hosp last week. Baby is in wk 36+ @ 2.41kg. Both are fine &amp; can be discharge tomorrow

Yeah, congrats JanBB!!

mei,
i think JanBB is #3 to pop right? u can update the POP chart...keke
thanks.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">congrats to JanBB!! welcome to motherhood!!</font>

<font color="ff0000">POP LIST! CONGRATULATIONS!!</font>
<table border=1><tr><td>nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Actual DD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hosp</TD><TD>BB#</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB name</TD><TD>BB Wt/Ht</TD><TD>Delivery Type </TD></TR><TR><TD>split (split)</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>15-Dec-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>1.875kg</TD><TD>C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>sassy (sassymum)</TD><TD>22-Jan-08</TD><TD>15-Dec-07</TD><TD>Dr. Ben Neo</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Danelle</TD><TD>2.215kg</TD><TD>C-Sect with GA </TD></TR><TR><TD>JanBB</TD><TD>16-Jan-08</TD><TD>19-Dec-07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>2.41kg</TD><TD>C-Sect</td></tr></table>

mei
Maybe hor, you can oso show the chart with the rest who haven't delivered... heee.. then we can see how many "reached there" and how many more "still waiting"... heee...

yo mummies, good morning

nice to hear good news once again.

Glad that janbb and her baby doing fine.

Mei, how abt you give us your contact so that we can sms you when we pop....cos dun think will have internet access in hopital

my tummy also not feeling good....more cramps these days....dunno whether mine will be a dec baby too

Congrats to JanBB!!

I am having cramps for the past 45mins.. hopefully it is not contractions.. Darm painful. Doctor says it was BH last time, I hope this is too.

yo mummies, good morning

nice to hear good news once again.

Glad that janbb and her baby doing fine.

Mei, how abt you give us your contact so that we can sms you when we pop....cos dun think will have internet access in hopital

my tummy also not feeling good....more cramps these days....dunno whether mine will be a dec baby too

wendyg,
Okie.. it is just continous cramps, no interval yet.. just stop and have some lingering cramps.. Just that first time, it feels so painful as compared to the previous.

Pray pray bb guai guai. Hb tomorrow then come back.

Wow congrats to JanBB !!

Mei, if you pop liao who is gg to update the chart ? hahaha... when is your EDD ?

Valencia
Think you maid is really trying to be funny. Dont wanna take care another bb I think ! They have all sorts of funny tricks up their sleeves one. Have u tried talking to her like increasing her pay (tat is when u find her really gd) if not will u be able to accept a new maid and got to train all over again ?