(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

haha ya hope baby save money for us ....

sassy rest early heehee .... like what blackcatz says no chance to rest liao wor ....

luvv, i also dun want climb stairs one of given a choice....but damn busy over shifting and lotsa testing to be done....sian la

Haven't been in a few days and things have moved so fast!!!!

Congrats Split and Sassy!

Sassy, don't worry too much abt BM. Now u just have to do what the mommies have said, remembering to massage ur breasts well before u pump. Hot towel is good. Drink loads of hot fluids, can be water or red date or milo or milk or soup before pumping. First few days just colostrum, so after massage squeeze ur nipples. That's a good sign that milk is coming in. And since u C-sec, it does take some time for ur body hormones to react to know it's time to produce milk. Just have to be diligent with the 3 hourly pumping even if u see only a little milk comes out coz it's supply vs demand situation. Don't worry about what others say, just remember what u want to do and not stress out. Coz when I had no.1 I didn't have very much but I persisted eventhough my MIL and mom said I shld feed FM coz bb kept crying every 2 hrly, bm not filling, I look so tired..etc. etc...Rem when they had us, FM was deemed better than BM.

Ah Capp, is it u that has butts pain? I also having right butts pain every morning when I wake up. Dunno what happened!

Angelsky, are u having a tooth problem? I had that earache, headache, jaw ache once coz of a decaying tooth. It was shooting pain and I couldn't sleep the whole night.

Postnatal massage
I used Mdm Rokiah for no.1. I must say she is very good but her price I went up alot after she opened a shop. That's the reason I am not using her this time coz wanna save some money. See if Grace can accommodate me if not have already book Mdm Sadiah.

Mom2nat, I also having peeing problem....somehow this week can't seem to empty my bladder and keep feeling like going wee wee when there's not much....

violetLce
Actually I think our babies ard the same size. But my gynae not pro induce, he say just wait for natural labour. He say if my #1 can go thru normal, this one prob can oso. I guess your #1 was early, tats why. But mine late leh.

QQ
YOu can still do housework??!!! I must be a worm compared to you. Get your hb to help out, you dun do too siong ones.

babe
I asked gyane how come i get so much aches and sometimes sharp pains. esp ard my butt and back. he say hor... 2nd time preg, the pelvic muscles and blah blah not so strong liao. Hmmm... tats why more pains. How many weeks are you now?

mon2nat ya still do it ...... he help me but i dun trust man hahaha .... have to do it on my own ... he scolded me of climbing up the stool .....

blackcatz I have 2 now one is the one i use b4 ... the other havent try ... but my frd say she quite gd so maybe will try her

Congrats split & sassy!
I'm happy for both of u and feelin a bit nervous too.. wen my turn comes, dont kw watz gotta happen to mi in e delivery suite...

So tired to work nowadays... energy running damn low... still got 2 more wks b4 gg on maternity leave...

luvv
yes i was one of those who hv "no choice but to go for c-sect" for my firstborn. So now having #2, my options are limited already. First birth take for granted it's natural. After i had the c-sect, i read up more abt it/ VBAC etc.
the discussion was mainly revolving around post partum pain, pros/cons for baby.. seemed to forget abt c-sect being a major op with increased risks as compared to natural birth.

mylife
i was induced, and requested for epi when i couldn't tahan the contractions while waiting for dilation. When made the decision for c-sect, the doc simply turned up the epi so that i dun feel the surgery. After effect for me: 1 whole day of shivering... i kept asking for more blankets but nurses say it's NOT COLD, dowan me to get overheated. I din hv nausea/ vomiting etc. Diffrnt people react diffrntly to GA/ epi.

ya i know u're hoping for natural. But in this kind of bo-pian situation, and your doc also say dun manipulate the bb's position.... so it's really bo pian lor. Think abt it - if u have your bb in western country, maybe still got hope of natural. But here in Sgp... wait long long...

re: chronic pain in 1 area
my fren had right shoulder pain & her right hand weakened... from 1st trimester until she delivered. After she popped, it was much better, but until now 2.5yr later, her right hand didn't regain the strength like last time. But at least no more pain. When she was preg, she pain until cannot sleep. poor thing. Mothers are the BEST

QQ,
Who are they?

Wendyg,
Even my gynae who is so pro VBAC oso told me my options limited. She din operate me the first time round. From experience, she told me very little chance of me going natural. Even then, I'm not allowed to carry till full term. Not supposed to stress my uterus and feel the contractions

Mom2nat, I am now 36+ weeks. Asked gynae too if I would delivery early since no.2 and her reply was may be. Heehee...so wait loh since cervix dun show any signs but I feel alot of pressure below.

C-sec or natural
Erm, really it's not for us to decide. Try natural but if can't then have to C-sec. Don't give ourselves too much pressure coz this kind of thing we can't control. It's also dependent on gynae. For me, no.1 just decided to try natural. Can't even rem if she was engaged coz she didn't want to for a long time even when near EDD and I was over 40 weeks already when I delivered. By the time my gynae broke my water bag and pain really came, I was already 6 cm dilated so I think too late to take epi and went without it. Of coz, I was screaming at the end! I wasn't even put on drip. This time round my gynae asked me if I am going without epi, I also dunno how to answer her. Only say will try to. Haha...Tell u all eventhough I natural no epi, after that my bones like fallen apart. Pain like mad everywhere, especially the back. So not true epi cause backaches. That's where massage and binding helped alot to support the back.

With regards to cordlife bank, how do we go about doing it? Thinking of donating but what's the procedure like?

<font color="0077aa">Da Jia Zhao (",)

Blackbatz,
i can't decide which massage lady to book. I think it's either Mdm Khatijah or Mdm Rokiah...struggle in my pockets$$...keke

babe,
Is Mdm Sadiah good recommendation ? How much is her package, duration & massage methods? Can share, thks.

Re: maternity leave
Anyone taking maternity leave now? or 1 to 2 weeks before EDD ? or planning work till pop?

Re: tummy rash
yipee, my tummy rash has fully recovered last week
And it's growing bigger...can see more obvious green veins at the side of my tummy.</font>

blackbatz
i think your first pregnancy quite complicated one right? My first one was actually going quite ok, just that 1 day i felt no movement whole morning, went for u/s & doc couldn't c umbilical cord (few days back she scanned it was near his cheek) so she told me scarey stories & i decided to induce on same night. Then cervix didn't dilate beyond 3cm (i think not ripe yet... only 37.5wk) even after 10+ hr of strong inducing drugs, so c-sect lor. Not as drama as bleeding or heartbeat dropping or cord prolapse etc.

re: Singapore Cord Blood Bank
www.scbb.com.sg
give them a call, they will explain to u. Be prepared for a rigourous questionnaire as it's a donation to public bank. Everything FOC, & even if too little cord blood to be stored, they may still use it for research purposes. Better than discarding...

steph
i'm working until i pop. So exciting hor... all my colleagues on standby to send me to hosp once anything happens.

babe, no le I dont think its tooth problem.
This is not the first time already. Its the second time. The first time, the pain also in my shoulder, my back as well, so I thought it was my pillow, so I went to buy a contour pillow the next day. That time was so bad, coz my parents were away and I was home alone totally, wanna cry and scream for help also no one around.
Then this is the second time. I hope it will not happen again.

Stomach size, sometimes I see my stomach very big and low and the pressure is quite heavy on the cervix, but then sometimes I see my stomach very small and light. weird.
But I am always so amazed when I look at my tummy and wonder how a baby can fit in there, coz when they are born they look so big, so I cannot imagine how they can fit into the tummy. kekeke. They must be tucked very snugly in our tummy.

blackcatz i have 2 same name siti wor .....

donating of cord blood u can call 6394-5017 Charlene to ask abt the donation they will screen thru u

Hello, I am just back from Checkup. BB is 2.3kg at 35weeks now. I put on another 1 kg after 10 days, making my weight gain at 6.5kg, while BB gain 300g over the 10 days. I am having checkup every 7-10 days due to my GD. Glad that everything is under well-controlled. Doctor says I might delivered ard 38-39 weeks because of my GD.. else might have to induce, depending on Bb size.

I got ordered not to walked around too much (eg shopping) at most 1-2hrs, I must rest a lot more and hide at home.. Mmmm, maybe because my bb position is low.

BTW, does anyone know what is CTG? Doc says I will go thro 1 when she come back from her leave.

Sassy,
Doubt my hb wanna stay with me.. he rather drive to and fro bah.. since I guess he also need to drive MIL back. *sigh* I did not manage to visit the 2 bedder when I was doing the maternity tour last week, but I think I am request for it when my hb is back with me.

blackbatz,
My EDD is on 20th Jan.. but it all depends on BB.. and doctor says i might just be a bit earlier.. hopefully not too early..

icy
CTG = cardiotocography
Fetal heartbeat monitoring

u sit down on armchair for maybe 20min, tummy strapped to listening device positioned near bb's heart. There'll be a chart drawn out which the doc will examine any irregularities in bb's heartbeat, contractions etc.

my first gynae made me do it every visit towards the last few weeks & charged me $40 each time (not included in package). This 2nd gynae said no need to do unless necessary. Save me $$...

Blackbatz
I have not decided which massage lady to take leh. u hv good recommendation ?

Steph
I've started my leave le. Cant work till pop like what I did for #1. This one too low for me le. Juz like Icy, being ordered not to walk too much.

Re : CTG
My gynae didnt do this for me one leh.

chaye, when is ur EDD? Mine is 27 Jan but I will be taking maternity leave one week before EDD.

Re: CTG
My gynae also didn't do for me. When is it usually done?

Re: Massage lady
I have not contacted anyone for post natal massage too..

Re: First month celebration
Will you be having like a buffet at your place and invite friends and relatives from both sides? If that is the case, still need to give cakes to them?
Sounds like a lot of cleaning up to do

itok

my EDD is 11 Jan. Bcos my boss is very demanding I cannot stay in office le. He always call me one. The moment I sit down he calls. Better take leave n rest home.

Re : 1st month
If you have buffet and invite friends n relatives no need give cake le.

chaye

i see... yeah, if the boss is demanding, as long as you are in office, sure will have endless things to do. anyway, your EDD is mid jan so it's time to rest also.

Re: 1st month
actually i don't really like the idea of having buffet and inviting friends and relatives. coz my husband's side family and relatives very big.. the thought of catering for so many people makes me sian. but if don't, people will gossip coz usually 1st month is like a big celebration. sigh

itok
suggestion: arrange the food outside your home, provide enuf chairs & trash bags...
think abt it - u're sharing your happiness with all the relatives who will dote on the baby. Not to mention the $$ ang pow $$. Din't u do the same for wedding dinner?

Chaye,

Wow..another 3wks plus then u can pop, ya better to rest & relax at home, listen to gynae. #2 usually faster. My EDD 23Jan so most probably work till 18th Jan.

I wonder who will be #3 to pop in our Jan2008 list? Anybody planning c-sect in Dec07 ?

Re: 1st month
Will be catering buffet since 1st grandson & to celebrate CNY. Invite only close frds & relatives. Cakes only give to those who can't make it to the buffet, colleagues who give ang bao/gifts & to relatives bah.

wendyg,

yeah, i did cater for buffet during wedding.. but that was one buffet each at our respective house (my house one and his house one) now it is going to be 2 sides both coming to our house- i can jus imagine the chaos :p

itok,

have the buffet at void deck or maybe cater two session or have it outside (tim sum restaurant) for close frds & relatives. My frd's had their bb 1st month celebration outside, buffet tim sum at Tea House.

itok
What I have attended before is my friend's bb 1st mth celebration. She breaks it into 2 session. Morning for relatives. After for friends. But of cos she spend double the amt of $$ I guess. You may wan to consider if you have huge relatives.

hey thanks for your suggestion steph! i'll discuss it with my husband.

i'm on MC today coz got leg cramps again. this morning couldn't straighten the left leg at all. are any of you experiencing backpain? I donno if it is the position i sleep coz i lie on my back and i read before that this position will cause the uterus weight to be pressed against our own back? the back was hurting a lot this morning too..

for 1st mth celebration,is there cutting of cake like we cut our birthday cake during our brithday celebration?hehe,i saw very nice pooh cake,wondering if 1st mth can have it...

hi goodbabyb,

interesting question! I have seen cutting of cake during 1st year celebration but I am not so sure of 1st month. Think will have to wait for others to share their experience.

Re: contact lens
I remember reading some posts previously about not advisable to wear contact lens during delivery. Is it for C-sect or natural? Also, do we have to change into the hospital gown while delivering naturally? Or can we wear our own clothes? Sorry I am being so ignorant here..

<font color="aa00aa">re: 1st month celebration...
think for me, it will be after CNY liao. hope can hold it outside instead of at home else so much cleaning to do....</font>

Re: sterilizing tablets Vs citric acid

Anyone can advise what is the difference ? I saw packets of citric acid inside Avent Sterilizer. And i think previously someone mentioned abt buying sterilizing tablets for bottles etc... so wondering if it is a need to standby the tablets. But i already bought kodomo cleanser for baby bottles & accessories, is this already sufficient? or still need sterilizing tablets ah? sorrie, 1st time mum...blur la
thks for advise.

Hihi, mummies! I'm back from Swissotel Stamford hotel, stayed there last night to celebrate my 3rd wedding anniverary with hubby. Got hotel voucher from Amex card promotion so only $100++ per night. Hee. Went to Equinox restaurant for dinner since it'll be the last time we can celebrate our "er ren shi jjie" Went for manicure & pedicure today too. Too bad, didn't managed to squeeze in a facial or massage. If not, even better.

GoodbabyB, there was a discussion thread for bumpermat. Can read it here, more details. All I can say is that I don't regret my buy but if budget & space permitting, go for a thicker mat, 15mm. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/730186.html?1197620031

AhCapp, WendyG, will nag hubby to start washing if got sunny weather and start packing my bag this week, will probably use a sports travel bag. Already got mummies popping 2-3 weeks early, getting kan cheong liao.

Seeing my gynae again on 2 Jan 08. Hope BB grows to a good size, so I don't need to worry about her being too small.

citric acid is to clean the steriliser.
sterilising tabs is to sterilise bottles/ teats/ pump parts.
After washing bottles with Kodomo cleanser, still need to sterilise bottles (for bbs under 1YO). Which u can use either electrical steriliser, boiling method or sterilising tablets.
Some moms may choose to bring along their electrical steriliser to hospital/ offc to sterilise pump parts etc. But i'll bring tablets with a plastic container large enuf to contain all pump parts. Submerge everything in water & throw a tablet in.

Haven't come in for days and the tread is getting exciting! We are all so close to our delivery dates..

Split and Sassy,
Congrats! Hope to see your bb's pic soon. You ladies take care and stay cool yah..

Babe,
your new house at TPY central? you balloted? That's such a good location. My mum stays in Lor 7. Next time we can meet up and let our kids play together. You thinking of becoming SAHM?

re: 1st mth celebration
I'm still thinking to do it or not... House too small and my mum said usually relatives will "follow" only the first child. So does that mean some may not even turn up and even if they do, angbao won't be as big as what I received for #1?

I finally took out baby clothes but haven't wash yet. Will do so only after my ikea cabinet arrives on thursday so I can rearrange my son's clothes and toys and shift the cot over to MBR. Am I the last one to prepare for bb's arrival? keke.. i haven't pack my bag yet. I hope i won't regret buying the cabinet cos my son's room is very small and my room will be very cramp with the cot. Sigh. always find my house too small to accomodate 2 kids.

My main concern now is my son. He's behaving like superglue these days. When out, he only allows me to hold his hand. When comes to nap/sleep time, he'll cry for me. Today, i can't even work properly at home. He cried non-stop until i had to put down everything and stayed with him. I wonder what will happen when i'm in hospital. Maybe I shouldn't let him visit me at all?? I scared later he cried wanting to stay with me.. Mummies out there any suggestions?

Wendyg,
you so on ah? Bringing pump to hospital? I'm still thinking of giving FM to bb at nite so i can rest.. keke.. then be more diligent pumping when reach home. For #1, my milk came in only on 3rd/4th day..

fishia
am i just being naive... sigh. Nvrmind la, bring more better than bring less. The Avent ISIS not v bulky ma. Yes my #1 c-sect, only day 4 or 5 then got miserable 30ml i think. My poor chubby boy so hungry & lost weight.
Maybe this time wun need pump at all, coz already know how to latch on.. So every X hourly nurses will bring him to me & i'll latch on lor. Hope my skin toughened liao not as painful as 1st time.

Wendyg,
Is it true if latch on correctly there shouldn't be sore nipple? But i'm thinking. Even kiss to much will get dry/crack lips what.. that doesn't mean you dunno how to kiss?? hahahahah!

Kitsune,
Enjoy more when you can now! Quick go fix more dates with hubby... watch movies, eat chilli crab, drink kopi also shiok. Once bb out, not much chance already.

Wendyg,
no lah. i'm just thinking bb keeps sucking at nipple for so long and so frequently.. thought it's only natural to have some soreness initially since now our nipples also very sensitve. But i did come across a friend who didn't have it lah.