(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

val/ wendyg
I din have tat mother instinct when my girl was borned. She was crying so much, the nurses tell me dun carry her, leave her to cry, put my worn PJ near her let her smell! I think my hb and I love her more as the days go by. But maybe now tat #1 is much bigger, will have the urge to carry #2.

wendyg,

Can only drink strictly longan and red dates tea ah? really can't drink others? what if I crave for ice lemon tea or coke???

Juz finished my coconut drink...so shiok!!!

AhCapp,
I also have muscle strain problem, but mine one is "upper right of tummy just below the chest" pain and mostly when I sit straight. I thought it could be baby's position related but turned out it is muscle strain. The pain come and go, but get worse recently. I need to avoid prolonged sitting.

Sassy, yr baby so cute!!!!

I juz back from 37w3d checkup. Baby weights 2.9kg liao. I told my gynae that I feel less kicking from baby but still a lotz of stretching. Gynae a bit worry and performed CTG. The result turn out that baby's heartbeat is normal, no contraction from me yet. But gynae want me to monitor baby's movement (at least 10 counts). If less than that, he have to induce me liao. Gynae also check my cervix, not yet open. I dun like the cervix checking, very uncomfortable le...like wound "kena" salt water.

Hi Yen,

take lots of rest. =) We like old women like that, here pain, there pain. *shake head*

My gynae didn't tell me to check on baby movements. 10 counts in an hour? Or in a day? Goosh, my gynae has not checked on my cervix yet. i am about 36weeks already. Wonder if she will do so this Sat =S

wendyg,
EXACTLY!!! That is the life that we going to lead soon. Haha~ I still remember when I was expecting my #1 and he refused to "come out". It was then at Wk 40 already. I was complaining to those mummies in my #1 thread. Telling them how much I wanna carry him in my arms, imagine he lying/sleeping in btw hb and me. Kissing him, etc. Everyone was laughing at me (I was the last to pop in the thread), told me to "enjoy" my life first. After I popped, then I have the "taste" of motherhood. At that point of time, how I wish I could stuff him back to my tummy. LOL~

AhCapp,
Because I told gynae that baby less kicking, so gynae want me to monitor baby's movement lo. 10 counts in 12 hours (9am-9pm).
Mayb yr gynae will check yr cervix bcos near full term mar. But be prepare, not so comfortable. I totally no prepare at all. The gynae juz ask me to take off my pant after the scanning.

Arrghhh....I hate the cervix check. So damn painful and it juz somehow make me feel very "offended". Hehe.... I still remember how my #1 gynae tried to stimulate to make the cervix "ripe". ouchhhh........ Oh, that reminds me of the checking by the midwife in the delivery suite...scary scary......

Ahcapp
Can drink milo or other "heaty" kind of drinks. Well, if you insist on other drinks I guess no one can stop you oso lah. I was so thristy after labour, I totally forgot abt red dates, just asked for water water... Haha...

Yen,

Thanks for your feedback. My baby wobbles about and stretches about. Not much kicking too wor. More like "elbow" me or rest his butt on my tummy skin (i guess). will check with my gyaen this sat.

Aiya, cervix check, that's scary! =S I will check with my gynae this Sat too. Now I am scare.....

Mom2nat,

I am just wondering how can i survive on hot or heated drinks for 1 whole month lor! =P Actually, who can ah??

Maybe drink room temperature coke and lemon tea?? But I know we can make hot lemon tea though =P

hahaha...reading those 2nd time mommies experiences make me laugh
Altho we, first time mommies know it's probably the truth, but somehow, we still cant wait to hold our baby...

Sigh...i've read so much about cervix checking la, dilating la...now still feel that i'm going to miss all these procedures cos me high chance going for c-sect. Bummer.

Valencia,
yalor, like "kena" rape, somemore legally one and by gynae's fingers. Your #1 is induce labour?

Mom2nat,
Heard of "Fried ginger rice tea"?? Is it less heaty?

wendy

yes, im still on a series of antibiotics and painkiller.

mcfluffy,

today is the 4th day since my op. why cannot eat chicken???

mylife,

can share share who is yr gynae? why does she/he make those comments?

blackbatz,

my girl is still on tube, thru the mouth... for feeding purposes. theytook it out so tat i can latch her. then my DH quickly took a pic of her w/o the tube lor... my bill size at mt E for single bedder emergency c-sect incl. of gynae's profesional charges is $7700 plus before medisave deduction.

ahcapp

dun hv to envy me... you will get to carry yours very soon. anyway she is not with me now and i do miss her very much...

re: red dates longan tea

yes it is a very heaty drink. i almost kenna sore throat... now i learn to be smart liao... add water to dilute the tea so tat it will be less concentrated and more soothing for the throat.

sassy
erm...dont wan to blatantly say the gynae's name here la...but anyway, since violetice's gynae also say same thing, perhaps there's some truth in it lo...

Ahcapp
I think I drank tat red dates drink for only 2 weeks leh. This time ard, I dunno CL will make me drink for 1 month or not. V heaty leh, and I ma naturally heaty kind leh.

Yen
No leh, first time hearing it.

mylife
Last time I will read up on pple's labour, mah chiam scare myself, cos always sound so eventful... anyway we oso can't tell wat we are gg to have...

can any kind souls advise me if its possible to pour 2 bottles of EBM into one for easy storage purposes (assumingly both expressed at the same time)?

Coconut

I drink once only no chance to see nice one so never buy liaoz

pork

my mil headache cos she think all parts of pork is very pu one .... and i dun take pork one .... kekeke i will just eat chicken fish n veggie during confinement i miss my mama's sesame oil ginger chicken hahaha hope she can cook for me

Lately really feeling tired ..... yesterday my head spinning ... so scary so quickly lie on the bed .....

sassy u discharge already mah?

QQ,

im home liao... only stayed for 4d3n at mt E. can try giant at parkway parade, i used to buy my coconuts there... they have it in 3 sizes (s,m,l) and its yummy!!! i only buy the medium size one.

room temp coke?! eek.
just drink a bit wun die one la, at most kena some nagging only.
i'm a hot drinks person - i love hot water. But MIL will frown on it.. to her, only can drink the heaty red dates drink. The other time i dilute so much i couldn't finish it before another fresh serving was made. So sick of that drink at the end of the month.

Last night, my hb brought back so much chinese herbs for my confinement that I nearly faint. My inlaws very kind, they helped me buy over the weekend. But I look at the 4 BIG bags of red dates and the longan, really wonder if I will be able to finish them! =S My inlaws also helped me get the herbs for bathing too. All comes in individual packs.

Cervix check...

Now that I read your gals' feedback, I think I am going to drag this the most! I have heard about painful/ awful it is. I hope my gynae will be more 'gentle' with me since she is female. =S

Hi Sassy,

Welcome home! =) I am sure your princess will be with u in no time! Hang in there!

Ice cream? I don't think we can eat it during confinement right?

Mt A vs TMC operating threatre...

Now that you ladies talk about it, I kinda of remember my colleague told me the same too. She delivered her second child at Mt A via C Sec. The decision was made after her gynae told her that Mt A is better if she is going for C Sec. Don't know how true. Anyway, TMC is soo reputable, so really don't think got much to worry about.

Hi Mom2nat,

I noticed that u will be getting a CL to help u. Me too. I was told by that my CL that I will need to prepare her an ang mo before she works. Was wondering if u have any idea how much I need to give. Please advise. Thank you! =)

Btw, I also very heaty kind. I look at the pimples on my neck and back now. Wonder if the red dates tea will make things worse =S

Re: Red dates tea
what i understand from my mum is that after birth, our whole body is very "liang" one. That's why need to drink red date tea to balance it. Hence usually will not be considered too "heaty" for most people unless we are the very easily heaty type. Maybe if find it too heaty, we can dilute with warm water.

And plain water is a big NO NO coz will have retention and again, it is too "liang". My mum herself din have a good confinement and now she suffers when she is in her fifties.

Plain water
ERm...seriously I don't think got problem with that. Just drink warm water if u are afraid. Singapore so hot, how not to drink water. Frankly speaking, the red date tea I had was so super diluted coz my MIL used 1 portion and recook the wholeday till no taste that I find no different from plain water.

CL
Mommies with CL before, who brought her to go buy food? Everyday buy fresh food or buy and store and cook throughout?

Chicken
Erm..unless u got open wound then dun eat chicken right coz scare infection? Otherwise, ginger sesame chicken with black fungus is common confinement dish.

Oh, my mom cooked alot of pig kidney for me to eat that them. Eat until I scare.

Wendyg, val and Mom2nat, reading what u wrote, I totally agree with u. Heehee...when no.1 came home, I wished she was in my tummy well. Hardly any peace and dunno wat she was crying for. Was till about a mth or on good days that I started to feel that mother love instinct. Haha...probably also bm more established that time.

ahcapp
the pack of herbs that u bought for bathing during confinement...is it black-black one? My mom said those herbs brew the water, the water will become black-black, hence we'll be like using "black water" to bathe...so scary.

mylife,
Re: Mt.A Vs TMC. I seriously think that you should consider what ur gynae suggested. Reason being, if u chose TMC, its actually more conv for him/her rite since the clinic is there. Mt.A more ma huan for him/her and yet being suggested. Definately got reason behind it one.

yen,
ya lor. Like kanna raped. And yet gotta lie there "willingly" like that. LOL~ Yeah, I was induced cos wk 41 liao, bb quite big and I really FAT. So I dont want to wait anymore though I already showing signs of labour.

Food during confinement
What to be eaten or what not to be eaten really up to individual and their belief. I remembered after I delivered and I checked with my gynae izzit I need to stay away from seafood since it has always been said to be very "du". He laughed and said "no need lah, only chinese believed that." So, I ate and I am still ok.

Morning ladies...

Check with you all...
This morning found out that got some bloody discharge on my pantyliner. Is it normal to have it after cervix checking???

Hi Yen,

My gynae told me it's common to have some bloody discharge after ve. If alot of blood, then it is show. I also done my ve last sat but i didnt have any bloody discharge but it quite uncomfortable after the check.

Yen,
I have my cervix checked on monday but no bloody discharge, if the discharge is fresh red, better let ur gynae know.

val
my gynae's office is not in TMC. She's based in Bt Timah. But she's registered to deliver in Mt A, TMC and Gleneagles. So, it's not a matter of convenience or not. Anyway, think i'll stick with TMC, it maybe truly more rundown than Mt A and Gleneagles but so many mommies have delivered via csect there rite? SO think shud still be ok bah...

Prata Queen I went to have my thyroid check up and manage to talk to the nurse - kim she given my report everything is normal

Sassy,
You can see your gal soon. I know how it feels cos I had to wait for 3 mth before I could bring my boy home. It's kind of weird going home without cradling the baby in your arms. Mine had tubes and monitors all over.

Are you delivering your BM to the hospital everyday?

QQ, happy to hear that all is fine. Today is my 3rd day of taking the antibiotics...4 more days to go.

Told baby she cannot suddenly make her appearance now cos I hafen finished taking my medicine! Haha.

re : coconut
Actually what is the purpose of drinking coconut ? To aid smooth delivery ? I'm gg to c-section does it mean I need not drink coconut ? I hv not drunk any at all leh.

Re: Coconut

Chaye, think coconut is also a folklore bah. My mum said it's bec it'll helps to have a smooth delivery and that baby will not be so bloody or wrinkled. Something like that... Haha, not sure also.

Gd afternoon!

ah capp & LUvv: maybe we can see each other at Mt.A

Mon2nat: u can buy e coconut at e fruit stall near our place.. i bought mine there is $1.40 each, u can ask e uncle to open a bit for u first...

yo mummies,

i went for my gynae visit yesterday. At 35weeks 5 days, baby is 2.7 kg. Did CTG, got contraction every 10 mins ah...but then doctor say no worry cos it can be due to my baby movement too. My boy still super active one.

did the strep b test too....result dunno when out.

hope all mummies doing fine

cheryl
why cannot thai coconut???

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">mommies, need your opinions!</font></font>
jus now spoke to my gynae about my breeched baby. Turns out my gynae is also a certified TCM practitioner and acupunturist (super achiever). I read about acupuncture being one form of method to turn breeched babies. So i asked her about it. She said i can go to her clinic and she can do the acupuncture to my little toe which is supp to help turn the baby. The risks are lower and it's relatively safer than External Cephalic Version, which is to turn the baby manually from the outside...becos for ECV, u're forcing the baby to turn, hence might have complications like umbilical cord strangling the baby, entangled, etc. Whereas for acupuncture, it is to promote the "chi" to encourage the baby to turn on her own. But, since i'm already nearing 36 weeks, baby MIGHT be too big to turn liao...so i have to be prepared to get disappointed if after the session, she might not turn as well.

Question now is...should i even go for it? She said have to do in her clinic so she can monitor my baby's heartbeat at the same time. Safer. How ah?

Mylife, if I were you, I would go for it. You are very lucky to have a gynae who also knows TCM. So you can take a safer alternative to help BB turn. If at the end of it, BB still doesn't turn after doing this then leave it lor. To me there's no harm done.

Hubby and I tried quite long to conceive and we also tried TCM, in the end, we conceived naturally so TCM can work wonders sometimes so no harm trying.

mylife,

im not sure if its safe anot but the camden gynae ever told me never to act against nature or god's will. and there's no such things as turning a breeched baby. why dun u just leave it for her to decide if she wants to turn anot? i always believe tatz a cause or reason for every action behind...

mylife i will not go for it ..... i will not wanna force my baby turn ..... let natural take it course if my baby cannOt engage and I have to c sect i will do it loh cos .... after all we all want baby to be healthy is most important.

mylife, i also will not try the TCM method, not because TCM is no good, but rather, fear of the unknown. Who knows what may the after-effects or consequences be?

I think at this late stage of pregnancy, dun take the risk. We cannot afford to have anything happening.