(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

re: coconut juice
how often can we drink coconut juice? I love it cold and have been wanting to drink it. But these few days weather's soooo cold and mil says drink 2 or 3 times from now to pregnancy can liao.

wendyg,
haha.. that's a good idea hor.. can get to blow candles & enjoy cake & open presents on behalf of daughter. lolz.. :D

I was thinking too far ahead. I was thinking next time when daughter is old liao, she will wanna celebrate her own birthday with her bf or friends and not her mummy!!!!

sassy,
this is your which day of the op? Rem don't eat chicken wor..

Wendyg,
I won't do that lah.. just spoken to Johnny. Said best can give me 5% and round off figure. I need to work out my confinement plan fast..

Re: coconut juice
I had my first coconut drink last Saturday and 2nd one yesterday. Perhaps later next week after christmas then take my 3rd. Too often also no good. Once a week shld be ok.
When is yr EDD mcfluffy?

reading sassy's experience make me feel so scared....dunno c-sect cannot eat chicken one ah? die liao...i love chicken...until when?

mylife,
that time my sis also c-sect, strictly gotta avoid seafood for abt 6weeks. After 4wks, she started taking chix, little bit. Take more lean meat (pork) & fish (shen yu - to help heal the scar)

Fishia, it has always been so arrangement for my gal to go my mum's place coz I working. So daily routine would be my hb will take a ride from my FIL to send my gal to my mum's about 6.40am and then my IL will pick her up in the evening to come home. My mum is at aljunied, further than yours. If ur mum can help, it would be good so u can rest more and have some bonding with no.2. OH, btw u can chk out newbaby if need the card or just quote name, if u need I got SBI and I not taking confinement catering.

Sassy, Ur gal really look at ur hb...heehee...

Okiez my gal wants me to play wif her..can't write any more..

shen yu cannot eat during first week, o'wise scar will heal unevenly. i remembered i avoided chicken & eggs for a week too.

mylife
aiya no need 2b scared la. When the boat comes just hop onto it.

wendyg
do u mean for c-section mums ? I rem that time I c-section my mum complained say very mafan cos a lot of things cannot eat during the 1st 2 weeks but I cannot rem wat le.

chaye
yes dat's correct. cannot eat chicken & eggs & shen yu for a week. I stayed away from seafood (eg prawns & crab & sotong) for a year. Jialat hor.
but then hor, my scar healed v well ley.

re confinement food
i'll be hiring a CL and my mother will be buying the fresh food from the market for her to cook.

traditionally, mothers doing confinement r supposed to eat stuff like pig liver, pig intestine and pig trotters (?). However, going by my own reasoning, i believe that innards are body parts that breakdown toxins (liver) amd transport body waste (intestine). So i told my mother to totally leave out the pig innards and to buy only lean pork and fish as ingredients for my CL to cook.

I used to like eating kway chap together with all the innards until recently, i ask the seller to ommit the innards.

Do you all believe in the benefits of eating pig innards? Given a choice, I would rather eat lean pork meat.

wendyg

Same here I avoided seafood too but juz for half a yr :p

I got kyloid initially leh. very ugly. but it just subsided by itself over the years.

prata queen
yeah u got a point there. but it's common belief that liver is good to "bu xue" ie good for loss of blood. Altho i never liked liver since young *yuck yuck*
i also stay away from intestines, kidneys.. even tongue & ear.
Liver is quite common in confinement food, but i dun think intestines are. And trotters are not innards la.

chaye
maybe it's my gynae's stitching? Maybe it's my selection of food? I'll never know right...

ya, i've also heard tat liver is good but never liked the taste or texture of it.

now i'm faced with this issue bcos what my mother buys will determine what i will be eating for 28 days! (at least i have a say in wat to eat cos its my own mother)

once in a while eat innards i still dun mind, even if it is not healthy but if there's no real benefit, i dun see the point of eating innards just for tradition or old beliefs sake.

oh, its liver and kidneys that ple eat during confinement? not liver, intestine and trotters. I must haf been confused with my kway chap hehe.

there are lots of confinement food recipes on the net... select those that are palatable to u & suggest to your mom.. & everyone will b happy

prata queen
I have a colleague who has given birth 3 times did not take any pig's innards at all ! Not even the meat itself. The reason is she finds that pigs are dirty. She survived on chicken, fish & veg & other food during her confinement and she is still strong and healthy leh.

prata_queen,

i prefer lean pork meat than innards. The only innards i take is liver. But don't u think it's funni cos during preggy, we r told to avoid liver but during confinement, we r advise to take liver to "bu xue"...?!?
Anyway trotters "zhu jiao" vinegar is nice leh, my favourite but i dun take the skin, only meat...keke

<font color="0077aa">Apart from confinement food, what are the confinement drinks beside red dates tea? Milo & hot cereals also recommended right? What else can we drink?

If say normal delivery...we can eat anything ah? seafood, chix & egg ?</font>

chaye, maybe hor, pork is commonly eaten (as well as fish) cos some ple haf to abstain from chicken for 1-2 wks. can't be eating onli fish so they add pork to their choices of meat.

steph, oh, we are not supposed to take liver during preggie stage? 'zhu jiao' is oily lei :p i scared fat :p

prata_queen,

During confinement, our body is LIANG "han" so we must eat right to ensure good supply of BM & recuperate our body. We must not diet during confinement wor. No scare cos got massage lady & slimming centre avail for SOS...keke

prata queen, for my colleague is naturally birth so she can start eating chicken immediately lor. for me I'm c-section I cant ... so I have to settle wif pork, liver & kidneys.

There are other things that bu xue too ! Like beet root ! beet root fry with lean pork is nice ! Not necessarily that we need to eat liver everyday la. Not sianz meh ?

haiz, talking abt slimming down, i haf put on 18kg and i'm onli in wk 34.5. I dunno if i'll ever be slim again. with my height hor, i cannot afford to put on wgt.

steph, mayb not to the extent of dieting but the 'zhu jiao' hor, even without eating the skin, i realli tink its extremely oily... but yes, i agree its very nice!

chaye, mayb can take a look at the various confinement catering companies websites for ideas on wat to ask our CL/mums/MIL to cook.

http://www.natalessentials.com/conf_menu.html

<font color="aa00aa">finally going home soon. tmr can see BB already. wondering has she turned to position yet. feeling uncomfy today though.</font>

Sassy,
BB seems to be doing very well. Chubby, chubby. No tubes at all..unlike my son..Sob!! sob!! hubby didn't even dare bring me to see him.

How's breast feeding thingy going on? When you breast feed, will feel pain around the wound but it's fine. Uterus shrinking.I wore binder all the time.

BF is the most naturally way to shed all those fats stored in our body for the past 9 mth

Chaye,
Hope you find it useful. Me just came back from Plaza Singapura. Gg out again later..

Am looking at the natalessentials webby.

Ya the important ingredient is the black fungus. It is known to purge out "dirty blood" from the womb. I rem after eating it my flow becomes heavy !

Blackdatz, thks really ! It's very useful.

I can just get binder from the hospital right? I have not prepare that one. If can get from hospital best, don't have to go and buy already.

Re: Confinement Food

I'm also not into innards but MIL and my mum said it's essential. Sighz. How to avoid these food, I really have no idea. The bright side is hubby adores confinement food but they said it's too "heaty" for males. Haha!

Went Ngee Ann City and Wisma today. Super crowded. I thought weekdays not so bad but end up quite squeezy as well with the crowd. Looking for Christmas presents is not easy man!

Re: Diapers
Do you think we should get newborn diapers now or after baby's born?

i jus called my gynae's office to tell her i will choose 3rd jan as my c-sect date if baby doesnt turn down by 27th dec. Then a while later, her asst called me telling me my gynae suggested if im going for c-sect best to go to Mt Alvernia or Gleneagles cos according to her TMC's OT is quite run down wor...got such thing one meh? She said for natural delivery TMC's delivery suite is ok...but for OT, it's a bit rundown comparative to Mt Alvernia and Gleneagles...anyway, i decided to stick to TMC.

yah lo...i know u and wendy went thru c-sect in TMC also...dats why i insisted i still wan it done in TMC...dunno why my gynae said that...i always have a feeling she very "pro-Mount Alvernia" one. I was thinking, OT rundown i dunno, but i prefer TMC's wards, nicer to me.

blackbatz,
I am over at MT E, did my pre-admission 2 weeks back. The estimated bill size given by the hospital will be ard 2.6K excluding the gynae charges. That is for 2 bedder, natural delivery w/o epi.

violetlce, better dun let hubby eat our confinement food. later nose bleed.

diapers rite, I standby 1 pkt of Pampers NB (36). In addition, will have 1 pack from hospital.

Tink will jus ask hubby to pop by medical hall to buy if not enuf.

My hubby veri against using cloth nappies during first month cos he say veri troublesome as they poo so much. But my thinking is that the CL will be here to help to wash ma. I also dunno if the savings is worth the trouble. Then if use cloth nappies, we need to buy the waterproof pants separately rite.

prata queen
consider this kind of weather, rain 10min stop 10min. Hang inside the house, takes longer to dry. not to mention the rest of your laundry, husband's, MIL's, CL's, baby's etc.
If u hv dryer then i think possible.

mylife
if i were u, i'd report this to TMC's PR manager "hey, my gynae Dr XXX said TMC's OT is v run down, unlike MtA & Glene. What do u hv to say abt that?"
That time just before i was discharged, the PR manager & her asst came to walk the rounds, say hi how r u, how's the service etc. U can use that oppotunity to feedback.
Docs spend more time in OT while patients spend more time in ward. So dat's why your gynae prefer other hosp OT, while u prefer TMC's wards. haha.

wendy
hahahaha...dunno when i'm there whether the PR manager will come do rounds or not...kekeke...but if i do dat...wont it get my doc into trouble??

prata queen,
That's what my mum said also. Nose bleed! Ha. But maybe if he really enjoys, will allow him to eat a bit bah. Besides, it's really not my type of food, no matter what they say...

Mylife,
My gynae mentioned to me before that the OT at TMC is rundown also compared to other hospitals. He said normal delivery is ok but if really c-sect, he'll advise me to do it somewhere else. Anyway, just my 2 cents worth, so you can consider...

for c-sec,shen yu cannot eat during first week,then how abt natural delivery,can take shen yu essence to heal faster?

mylife
there u go, dun even hv to mention names. heck, maybe I'LL be the one to break the sad news to them. I'll just say 'it's common knowledge among gynaes that TMC's OT can't b compared to MtA/ Glene"

violetice
serious ah???? for a moment hor, i tot my gynae trying to get me to move to other hospitals cos they give more comm. Guess i misunderstood my gynae liao.

but like wendy said...we all patient ma..most times spent in the ward...dats why i still choose TMC cos i like their wards leh...

Good evening ladies,

I am so glad to be home (my parents' place) after a long day at work. Good food (got dinner got fruits), got pampered like a queen. Life just can't be better! *LOL*

Hi babe,

Yes, it was me who has serious butt (right side) pain about 1.5 weeks ago. Goosh, it lasted for 2 weeks+. I was soooo miserable. Walk pain, sleep pain, swing my right leg pain, get up also pain.

Anyway, my gynae said it could be because I have strained a muscle. Sorry, no cure until the muscle is fully healed. After her feedback, I took more rest over the weekend and finally healed last Mon. So pls, try to rest more and walk less in the meanwhile. =)

Hi Icy,

"child of our time" is a great book! very interesting. =) I am sure u will enjoy it as much as i do. Arts Central used to play the documentry. They have filmed the babies till 5yrs old already. The next round should be when they are 6 yrs old. I miss the first airing when the babies were still in their parents' tummies. Hope Arts Central will replay the documentry soon. =)

Btw, also happy that your hb is coming back early. Now no need to worry ah. =)

Baby pressing downwards..

Glad to know that i am not the only one feeling this way. But a bit scare, worried that the more he presses down, the faster he'll come out! =S My gynae has not mentioned anything about my baby's head being engaged. Will have to ask her this Sat.

Coconut juice/ water...
I started drinking it already. Hmm.. not a lot of times, just total 3 times so far. Once per week or so. Very very shiok! *LOL*

Baby movements...
My baby is ultra active today. Move and stretch non-stop ok. Don't know why. Perhaps it's because I am very stressed at work today, so that's why he is trying to dance about to make me happy *LOL*

Hi Lynn,

Wow, both of us have the same due date (15th Jan) I will be popping at Mt Alvernia too! ^_^ Goosh, it will be funny to see u and Luvv together at the hospital if we were to pop on the same day or close to each other. =)

Confinement...

Already confirmed that I will be bathing, but will be using the water boiled with herbs. My hb is back at his parents' place to collect all the barang, herbs, chinese herbs for my confinement. Don't know how much and what did my MIL buy. =P

Anyway, I got a CL lady, so I will eat whatever she cooks. Hmm.. hopefully I will have more fish as I was told that it will stimulate milk.

I think the red dates + logan water is a must right? But how to get it while in the hospital??

Hmm...many first time mummy cant wait to hold their bb in their arms ah. Hehe... But when in actual when the bb cries and u dunno how to stop her/his crying, u really wish he/she still in ur tummy. Now I juz kept wondering, can I cope with 2? Getting myself prepare for the sleepless nites, panda eyes, engorged breast, boring life, stuck at home and screaming/yelling at my #1. LOL~

valencia
2nd timers like us... *been there, done that*
First timers can only "see" the blissful image of new mom & newborn. They can't *hear* the newborn cry at 1am, 3am, 4am, 6am.... lagi can't see themselves zombilised walking around dark house, babe in arms, trying all ways & means to get him to sleep while watching the sun rise. Mummy's doing it coz daddy snoring & gotto rest enuf coz nxt day gotto work/ impt meeting/ fly off somewhere.

haha, those were the days....
and they're coming back soon!!!!! *hiak*

So far this thread dun hv moms who are carrying #3 huh.

I think i no guts to go for #3.

ah capp
ask someone to make for u lor. u got a whole month to drink that stuff, u sure u wanna start from Day 1 at the hosp?

Valencia,

yes, I can't wait to kiss my baby's feet and hands. I just imagine all the good stuff! But being 1st time mums, I am just excited. =)