(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Split & Sassy,
Congratulations!!! Rest well..Must be exhilarating...

Yu Tong,

Based on your due date, u still have tons of time to do your shopping. No hurry. =)

Mylife,

My colleague wanted to go thru natural birth, had to go for emergency C-sec as her baby's heartbeat was dropping. She said like watching ER like that. She also see having natural birth as the most natural thing to do as a mum. But she also no choice in the end.

I can understand when u describe your feelings. But really, having C-sec doesn't make u or anyone any less as a mother. C-sec also not easy way out wor. I remember someone was saying C-sec = pain afterwards while natural birth = pain during delivery. Both also painful wor. =(

U at least can see natural birth as "excitment". I see it as the "unknown" and "scary" lor. =S But since natural birth is supposed to heal faster, so that's why I will choose it (but with epidural!) instead of my initial plan of C-sec.

Luvv,

Yes, wear specs safer. Immediately after your c-sec, u can close your eyes and sleep. But if u wear your contacts, u still have to get up and get them out. I bet that'll be the last thing u want to do.

I also don't know why i have the courage to go thru the Lasik. But I was telling myself, both my hb and I also short-sighted. Kissing is quite a hassle with or without our specs on wor *LOL* ;P

Anyway, I think lasik should be nothing when compared to delivery! =S Now I am freaking myself out again.. *LOL*

Goodbabyb,

Yes, I remember seeing this range also 20% at Robinsons. Same for things like Prince Lionheart.

congrats to split!!! i wonder who is the 1st to pop.. split or me???

i went to the hospital w/o delivery bag. im glad tat i listened to the mt E gynae and do it today cos the umbilical cord is actually "rotten" therefore not delivering enough nutrients to the baby.

quick run thru of wat happened today..

9.45am reach mt E clinic
10.30am went in to see gynae
11.00am reach mt E hospital delivery suite
11.15am done all the q & a, had enema, remove nail polish and clear my bowels
11.50am pushed into the operation theatre
12.13pm baby is out
1pm mommy bk in the room

ahcapp,

thanks. I requested but no news for the past two weeks leh. my sis highly recommend Anmum but i m lactose intolorence. Dun wanna take too much vitamins cos it make me constipate.

Sassy,

Congrats again! You brought your laptop along?

You were just saying that you're going for c-sect on 18th Dec, your baby decide to come earlier.

Take care and rest well!

Sassy,
Glad everything is well for you. Who is your MT E Gynae? You should be taking the 1 bedder right? Do tell me about ur experience there, me also delivery at MT E. :p

Rest well!

luvv

my gynae didn't allow me to do it on tues. he says tat im carrying a bomb inside, dunno when will explode. ya... my DH brought his laptop along.

icy,

my mt E gynae is dr ben neo. yup... stayin in the 1 bedder and service is THUMBS UP!!! rest assured tat u will be well-taken care by the dedicated team here.

hi, angelsky. When's your EDD? Good that I have company. If not, everyone pop liao, I haven't pop also very sian. :p

Sassymum, ya good thing you decided to deliver today.
Did Dr Ben Neo explain why the cord will be 'rotten'? Never heard of it before. Since Danelle is more than 2kg, no need to be in NICU right? Are you rooming in with her?

WendyG, haha, thanks. Then maybe I can start packing after all. No more excuse. ;P

AhCapp, ya but my hubby need nagging type lar. He actually wanted to get his mum to do it but his mum looked quite shocked we are not using washing machine when he asked her. So, I told him to wash himself lar. No matter what, his mum older than him mah, somemore he's not working now since school holidays, why trouble her?

Ahh... I can't help but to Congratulate split and sassy now! can'i get to sleep but I'm so excited for both Of thm. Quickly post your baby's piCs and rest well!

Ok back online after napping for less than 2 hrs since i last logged in using GPRS. hee.

kitsune,
I'm also due end of Jan so I can accompany you too.. hehe..

mylife,
like you, i felt really disappointed and guilty with myself when i got to know that my girl was breeched @ 32 weeks.. dunno her status now @ 33 weeks. I think I was so brainwashed by everyone that natural birth is the best and c-sect is like a sin that I really blamed myself. Actually, I'm equally afraid of natural birth and initially thought of c-sect. But after attending antenatal classes and what not, everyone is saying how wonderful natural birth is that I cannot imagine myself not going through it. Hah.. I'm such an easily swayed person.

Now, actually to hear that so many people are opting for c-sect and some benefits of it, I'm having a greater piece of mind and not thinking and wanting my girl to head south anymore. Let nature take it's course ba. Maybe c-sect even better... haha..

Congrat to Split and Sassy. Do take care!

I went to my 36weeks plus checkup and my baby now weigh 2.6kg. My doctor did a ve check for me and found that i was 1.5-2cm dilated. May be popping anytime from now if there is any labour sympton.

Good sunday morning ladies!

What a fine sunday for baby girl Danelle and mummy Sassay; split and her baby to wake up to! ^_^

Sassy,

It's really wonderful to know that u have listened to your gynae and did the c-sec without any delay. But like Kistune said, I am also interested to know what does it mean that the cord is "rotten"..

goodbabyb,

Prince Lionheart is another brand like baby safety. They also produce things like safety items for baby, nursery accessories.

http://www.princelionheart.com/

Kitsune,

I think all men need some kind of nagging in order to kick them into motion. *LOL* =P My hb too. Anyway, since your hb is willing to handwash the baby stuff, he is very good already =P Yes, not very nice to ask the eldery to do it lah. Back-breaking ah. ;P

sassy,
Congrats!!! After reading ur posting, I juz feel so happy for you. Cos, frankly speaking if u did not make the decision to take the bb out, the outcome....*cannot imagine* And your bb is not that small afterall. Hehe....

mylife,
This is what I copied out for you on babycentre under wk36.

"Next week, your baby will be considered full-term. Most likely she's in a head-down position, but if she isn't, your practitioner may suggest scheduling an external cephalic version, where she'll try to turn your baby by manipulating her from the outside of your belly."

Ang moh believes in this. Singapore definately not praticing it. Anyway, let nature takes it course. If she decides to stay in that position, respect her decision. Hehe... Many times, being parents we impose what we want them to behave and not respecting what they actually want. Eg. my son wanna do painting but I too lazy to clean up the mess so I said "NO" and thus leading him to throw tantrum. Think about it, it wasnt his fault. Nothing wrong for a 3 yrs old boy to request that. Actually, its MY fault cos I wanna be lazy. A bit out of subject, but my point is juz that every now and then I will remind myself to "respect" a child as who she/he is and not to override them juz be cos we are an adult. Few months down the road you may understnad what I meant better. Hehe....

Baby names...

Have all of u chosen baby names for your little sweethearts? My hb jumped out of bed just now saying that he found a name for our baby. Then he started to flip thru the chinese dictionary and stuff, even before he brushed his teeth! Quite funny.. *LOL*

kitsune, I am supposedly due on the 28 Jan, but my ultra scan reports show 31 Jan, so I think give and take. I may even cross over to Feb
My baby is also quite light, but the 2 mothers with light bbs have gone and delivered. Feeling so excited. But my doc told me to wait and tahan even if I can't coz he going on leave and also its still early. Cant believe that some mothers have reached 37 weeks already, so envious. But for us that are due end of Jan, its still going to be a quite a wait for us. We have got to hang in there.

Sassy, I also agree, your bb does not seem that light
Feed bb more and bb will be "bai bai pang pang" very soon. I also interested to know what is umbilical cord rotten? Never hear before.

AhCapp, my hubby already "chosed" bb's name even before gender was determined. But I tot the name sounds quite terrible, kekeke, so I said no way we are going to call bb the name that papa chose, but anyway papa decided very stubbornly that its going to be his way of calling bb, bb's nickname wo. pengz. He likes unique names which does not equals nice sounding ones. hahaha.

Angelsky,

I actually envy u, your due date is end Jan. =) Mine is mid Jan, I feel I am not ready yet like that!

Your hb very "on", very good. =) I kicked start my hb many times already. I think fire is finally burning his butt so that's why he starts to think of names for our baby. We have nickname for our baby, but the actual name is not confirmed yet. It's quite difficult to think of a good name *headache* As much as I want it to be unique, I also don't want him to suffer when he learns to write his name.

AhCapp, envy me? I wait until neck very long, everytime I meet pple, they will all ask the same question, going to deliver soon hor, next month coming already le. My target is to set up the baby bed next week when hubbie is back.

He has got to be on, since almost 80% of my pregnancy he also not around. kekeke.

Strangely, pple get back ache, but I dont get back ache. But 2 nights ago, I woke up with jaw pain, neck pain and ear pain.
, whole night I toss and turn and felt like crying and dying. The thing is, I am certain that its not my pillow. I sound like a weirdo right. I totally freaked out and call the hospital, but the nurse say how can neck be connected to the pregnancy. hai~~~~ But its the second time it happened already.

Anyway, usually when you gals go see your doctor what kind of questions can we asked? Everytime I go see him, I also dont know what to ask him.

Last night, when I was out for dinner, this boy was playing catching with his friends, he banged straight into the side of my stomach. Stunned me on the spot. I did not even see him coming. He never even say sorry to me, he still got the cheek to laugh and then he ran off, whilst I was still standing stunned on the spot.
Hopefully, bb is all right.

luvv
again, thanks for the kind words. I know every word u said is true...but like i said, am TRYING to be positive lo..

ahcapp
your hubby so cute. It's heartwarming to see him so gan cheong over baby, rite?

As for me, well, i dont see natural birth as NOT scary la...it IS still scary, but like i said, maybe it's jus my wayward thinking. I just wan to go thru the scary-ness and the pain to experience the FULL meaning of labour.

Sassy!!!!
Like everyone said, really cannot imagine if u had stubbornly refused to take her out hor? Lucky thing u have her out...i also never heard of cord being rotten...but anyway, glad both of u are fine. How was the c-sect? Did u go for GA or epidural c-sect? How's the wound now? I maybe going for c-sect as well...so if u have got time to share your experience....
Quick post ur darling pic here!

Mcfluffy
dont worry...not every baby will be as stubborn as mine
Yours is just at 33 weeks. When's your next appt? I think shud have head south liao...can u feel her movement upper abdomen or lower?

Valencia
Thank you soooo much for your advise. I know 100% your meaning and intention. I will TRY to think that way - to respect my princess decision watever it may be.

Thank you for taking the time and bother to type your exp to share with me

1155707.gif

CONGRATS TO ALL MUMMIES!!!

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>ID</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> Actual DD</TD><TD> BB#</TD><TD> Gynea</TD><TD> Hosp</TD><TD> Gender</TD><TD> BB name</TD><TD> BB Wt/Ht</TD><TD> Delivery Type </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD> split</TD><TD> 7 Jan</TD><TD> 15 Dec</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD><TD> Mt A</TD><TD> Boy</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD> sassy</TD><TD> 22 Jan</TD><TD> 15 Dec</TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> Dr Ben Neo</TD><TD> Mt E</TD><TD> Girl</TD><TD> Danelle</TD><TD> 2.215kg </TD><TD> C-Cect w GA </td></tr></table>

Angelsky,

Oh yes, everyone I see kept on asking me when is my due date or what is the gender. I replied until sian already *LOL*

I don't have neck ache, but my right butt was aching like hell for 2 weeks. All my fingers on my right hand get stiff at night. It's very miserable to drag my big fat elephant body (it's no longer my body, btw!) out of the bed in the middle of the night, wobble my way to the toilet and then find myself having difficulty in pulling the toilet paper with my stiff right hand! So miserable! So it's understanding that you feel like crying with your situation. Do check out with your gynae when u next visit him. Better ask than to be quiet. I also don't have many questions to ask my gynae whenever I see her. Anyway, it's normal to feel like crying during our last trimester. I cry at least twice already! *LOL*

Btw, pls be extra careful whenever you go out. Nowadays, the youngsters are not properly educated at home. Yesterday, when I was crossing the road, 2 boys were dashing across the road like they were running for their lives. I take extra care and stay away from their path and put my hand around my tummy for protection. I do the same whenever I alight the MRT at the Jurong East interchange. Because people are always desperate to get on the train before we can alight. Like never sit on the train before. =S Better to protect yourself and your baby than to expect others to be careful of you.

angelsky,
the "next month" never seems to come although everyone keep saying "next month" will come very soon... my edd is also 28jan, it's like 1.5mths to go! siannn...

mylife,
her movement is usually at the upper abdomen. the last time i went for gynae check, i felt her at upper abdomen and thought she was head down but turns out she's not. so i suspect she's still not head down yet. maybe her legs and head are both up? dunno... she moves hell lot. yesterday i was watching a movie, she was like dancing inside my tummy. Haha, dunno to watch the movie or to watch her move! :D

by the way, which hosp u delivering at? i really wonder how long it takes to heal from c-sect. i've got soooo low threshold of pain. the last time i extracted my wisdom tooth and had surgery, i cried after that when the pain hit me. i cannot imagine a cut at my abdomen, think i will cry buckets!

Sassy,
Congrats!!! I think split is 1st to pop because she did mentioned that her c-sect is at 7am.
You do rest well and take good care ok

I can never tell whether its bb's head, arms, legs or backside that I am touching when it becomes hard enough to feel occasionally. But the last time I saw my doc, he pressed my tummy and he said bb head is down but he never say more after that

Mcfluffy, so we quite the same. I am at TMC where are you?

I already try my best to protect when I go around, but sometimes they just so sudden, you wanna siam also difficult.

Heal from c-section? I did the lap surgery before at Mt E, so I have got roughly a 10 cm cut along my bikini line the scar is still there now, I was given mc for about 2 weeks after and I stayed in the hospital for about 3 days also. But I felt the pain was all right, with pain killers it does not hurt as much as removal as wisdom tooth. But I guess the c-section should be more major ba? For those delivering at Mt E. I would say the nurses are very nice and professional

C section vs. natural. Actually I never think too much about it, I always assume I would try the natural way instead of the C-section, maybe becoz of the cost, but if really need be, I would not hesitate to go for C section as long as bb is safe and healthy
But think about it, C section gives you more control over what is going to happen unlike natural.

AhCapp, I wanted so much to call my hubbie and cry coz I was so certain I was going to die from the pain, sounds quite kua zhang, but then time did not seem to pass quite quickly that night
I was reading your post on the baby movements and I thought it was quite funny. Never knew, when we walked, baby will sleep coz we are like rocking them and when we sleep they wake up coz they are not being rocked.

Has anyone contacted Mdm Kadtijah ? She is a chatty lady ! haha.. her charges is now $500 for 10 sessions instead of $550 stated in the list provided by gintonic. It include jamu and wraps.

I paid extra for wraps (cloth) when I had my #1 leh.

thank you mommies for all the care n concern...
im glad tat we make the right move... dare not imagine if we were to drag on further.

kitsune

baby is still in the nicu as she's considered a premmie. pd just came to inform us tat she needs to be in nicu for at least 1 week on observation. my gynae didn't hv any answers for the "rotten" cord and the blood in there wasn't enough for cord blood banking.

mylife,

i opted for c-sect with ga. the wound is really painful. i was resting on the bed for the whole of yesterday, didn't dare to move or do much. yet to start pumping milk, hopefully there's supply..

Wow Sassy !
You brot along your breat pump too ?! How long will you be staying in the hospital ? I think by this evening u shd try to move around to promote healing.

Hi Chaye,

U have tried Mdm Khatijah before? Steph gave me her contacts but I have yet to contact her. I like chatty person as I am very chatty too. Will contact her soon. =)

AhCapp

I hv not tried her before. The first one I had was a chinese lady whom I find not very good. This round I will try Mdm Khatijah, she's a Javanese.

but I'm going Caesarean so I can only try her 3 weeks after tat.

<font color="ff6000">Chaye,
I contacted Mdm Khatijah last week & she quoted $400 for 7 session (each 60mins) for Jurong area. She use cloth & binder, jamu lemon oil. Last 2 session, she will also incl baby massage for 10mins. I didn't ask her abt 10 sessions, she recommended 7 sessions. I still considering between Mdm Rokiah & her...</font>

congrats to split & sassy!!

sassy,glad to know bb danelle is healthy & 2.215kg is a good weight! so happy for u!!

babe, ya same here but i think i will booked someone else too(me KS)... :p btw, i just checked my email that hdb has approved my request to release key & i collecting it on 28th dec!! yippee! :p i keep pestering them since nov & tell them i m due in jan so last wk they told me to email them the EDD letter so i send over & now finally the keys r ready!
actually a lot of resident here not kum chiong abt the keys cos still got place to stay but i cant wait to move out cos my house face PIE so very dusty & i staying at 3rd flr & lots of creepy insects just came in thr the window... sigh....
oh u got new flat in TPY, near central? i also very lazy to source for reno lobang now so most prob will get my church fren uncle to do it for me... her uncle brought us to see a tile factory b4.. if u want, i can pass u the contact. so far i think diy(contacts thr frens) is more reliable than those ID shop unless u know the pple in ID shop cos got hidden cost & quality may not b good too... yup, be it now or few mths time, ur parents place will b always b v near to mine so our kids can play together! :D

qq, may i know what is the brand of fish oil that is not smelly? got a fren 5 mths pregnant seeing gynae at KK but her gynae never advice her to take fish nor fish oil until i saw her yesterday so she keen to take fish oil cos she detest eating fish now..

My hb is busy washing the toilet now, so I have some free time to kill before lunch. =P let me quote some of the stuff from the book I love "child of our time" based on the BBC documentry of the same name:

1155813.jpg

C-section (Pg 74)
...Disappointing as it can be to some parents, it is relatively safe and can protect your child's brain when a normal delivery poses problems. And although most babies born by C sec are plucked out of the womb without experiencing the stress-hormones surges that can be so useful in jump-starting their lungs and metabolism, there are only rarely serious problems with breathing. One downside is that Caesarean babies may not have that alert time immediately after birth that other babies often enjoy. And C-sec does seem to have one other intriguing consequence: babies born that way tend to be calmer initially and less anxious than infants who experience the major adrenaline rush of a normal birth, and this trait can make them easier to look after for some time after birth.

Quite interesting right? =)

hi all, fyi...

Re: Mamy Poko 'S' size diaper 72s (3-8kg)

I bought from Giant IMM for $22.90 (UP $24.90)
and also Kodomo Clanser for baby bottle & accessories @ $11.11

Chaye & Steph,

Thank you for the feedback again. Will contact her soon. I really must kick myself into action fast... very "lax" lately leh =S

Hi Steph

I wonder if Mdm Katijah is good 500 for 10 sessions is cheap. Actually 7 is enuf but I think I will opt for 10 sessions to pamer myself :p juat a $100 more for 3 sessions why not leh ?

AhCapp,
that's interesting, thks for sharing

my EDD on 23Jan and i look forward to natural delivery. I started drinking my very first coconut yesterday!

Chaye,

yup can try...$500 for 10 session is quite worth it. Mdm Rokiah quoted $688 for 10 session, much more expensive but heard that she's very good. Some mommies from Dec07 thread using her service & all given gd feedback wor.

Another interesting paragraph since all of us are anxiously wondering when is our turn to pop next...

Birth date.. does your baby decide? (pg 70)

The first thing that might not go according to plan is the date of your baby's birth. We are told that pregnancy lasts 40 weeks, but babies may be born earlier or later without it being a problem. Babies who are up to 3 weeks early or 2 weeks late are not considered premature or dangerously overdue, so there is a period of about 5 weeks when your baby might be expected to arrive.

So how does the amazing process of labour start? There are a lot of triggers, including the mother's hormones and supply of nutrients, but it is thought that babies often help to start labour themselves when they are ready to come out. This might be because your baby is mature enough, very, very hungry, or alternatively has found that conditions inside the womb just don't make the grade any more. (Quite funny I thought!) At that point your baby will become distressed, and stress hormones may be the triggar that sets off a cascade of responses in the mother which end with contractions, labour and finally, birth.

Some babies arrive early. Prematurity can be caused by many things, including a problem with the mother's placenta or cervix, or infetion. Post-maturity is more mysterious. Why babies are late is a question that has never been adequately answered, but by 42 weeks the placenta is beginning to slow serious signs of wear and tear. Babies usually started to lose weight by this time, and most are then induced.

AhCapp

Interesting articles ! anymore to share ?

I was searching the web on autism juz now. Cos my coll told me she has 3 children but one of them is an autistic. He is already 16 this year. And I wonder what cause Austism. Apparently from what I've read from the web, it is unknown and so researcher tie it to genetic problem.

Steph
Mdm Rokiah is good ? hmm...$688 for 10 is a bit pricey if u compared with the rest hor. Mind to give me her contact ?