(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

What a sleepy Sat... went to town for a qick last min shop at John Little and Robinsons. Finally finished what I need to get so I can close shop.

Mothercare giraffe height chart....

If u were to make a donation of $2 to the mothercare charity fund (sorry, can't remember which charity will the fund goes to), u will get a Mothercare baby giraffe height chart for free. It's quite cute, yellow in colour, and the giraffe is from the Mothercare "baby jungle" series. This is a pic of the changing mat featuring the same giraffe:

1154806.jpg

I know it's a bit too early to use it, but I just can't resist cute things ;) The sales said it's limited edition. Anyway, I bought 1 for my baby and 1 for my friend's children. I am going to paste it in my baby's room for decoration. ;)

can start fill in this table liao...

CONGRATS TO ALL MUMMIES!!!
1154905.gif
1154906.gif
1154907.gif
1154908.gif
1154909.gif
1154910.gif
1154911.gif
1154912.gif
1154913.gif
1154914.gif
1154915.gif

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>ID</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Actual DD</TD><TD>BB#</TD><TD> Gynea</TD><TD> Hosp</TD><TD> Gender</TD><TD> BB name</TD><TD> BB Wt/Ht</TD><TD> Delivery Type </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>split</TD><TD>7 Jan</TD><TD>15 Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>C-Sect</td></tr></table>

Yen, good idea. So fast, we are starting to pop liao.

Maybe, Mei can repost the table again so that we know who may be next to pop? Can add an address column that someone suggested earlier?

me too popped liao...

date: 15 dec
time: 12.13pm
hosp: mt E
bb's name: danelle
weight: 2.215kg
delivery type: c-sect with GA

Congrats, Sassy!!! Wow, thought you'll be popping only a few days later. How are you feeling? Yup yup, share story and photo as soon as you feel up to it. Can't wait to see Danelle's photo.

Has split popped yet? No update?

hey kitsune (neighbour),

still remember me? Heehee..
I think split has popped already right? I mean, I saw her name in the table so I assume she has popped

Oh my goodness, 2 of us have delivered! So happy! =)

Congratulations to Split and Sassy!

Wow, Sassy, how come u can log on back here? Take lost of rest and don't tire yourself ok. So happy for u and your darling. ^_^

Sassy,

I think it's normal to feel this way. Don't stress and tire yourself. Rest more. We are so happy for u. =)

Hihi, neighbour, sure I remember you, blk 706 or is it 707? Hee.
I saw Split's name on table too but thought it's because she posted and said she's going to hospital to deliver today once hubby wakes up. Not sure if she's being induced & natural delivery or caesarian. My colleague was induced on her EDD for more than 10 hours but cervix only dilate 1-2 cm so not sure how long it usually takes. :p

Ya, have a good rest, Sassy. Really admire you, still can post at this time. Think I'll be all zonked out after GA. :p

sassy,
Take care, heard it takes at least 24 hrs after c-sec to feel better.. now the drug still under effect. Rest well!!

hi kitsune, im at blk 709

have you started packing your hospital bag? Is it necessary to bring along the breast pump? I thought sometimes first few days not much milk so usually baby just latch on?

Also, usually how many days do we stay in hospital does anyone know?

itok,
What i heard from beast feeding class is that there is no milk for first 3 days, only the colostrum is produced. Better to latch bb instead of using breastpump during hospital stay to simulate milk supply. Anyway hospital also can provide breastpump.

For natural delivery, we will stay 2 days, for C-sec is 3 days.

hey thanks for the info icy!

i hasn't been logging on this forum much due to work commitments lately. But icy, are you the one who was in Japan previously? Are you back in Spore to deliver?

itok,
No problem. :D Yeap, I was in Japan previously, now I am in singapore, back for 1 mth already.. just do nothing and wait to pop (hope not so soon). :p

haha, it's 709, my memory not very good nowadays.
Haven't packed my hospital bag yet cos I haven't buy a hospital bag yet. Can't be too small cos still need to bring my Cordlife kit (A4 box). Don't think any of my bags are big enough and the black trolley sports bag seems too "kua zhang".

The KK lactation nurse also said no need to bring breast pump, can borrow from hospital first.

But since my EDD is 1 Feb, I'll probably be the last to pop. :p But so far got 2 mummies who pop early, I must start preparing liao, at least must get hubby to handwash BB's clothes, mittens, booties. :p

kitsune, no worries
I am also due end jan so I will keep you company till then.

sassy, congratulations. Your bb is not light, she did catch up quite fast since 32 weeks.
In less than 1 month, she cross to 2kg. So happy for you.

split, congratulations. Rest well.

kitsune
trolley sports bag is not kua zhang. coz there are people who bring small suitcases.

fantastic, pop liao. sassy, keep bb's weight abv 2kg & she can discharge with u. jia you, hope everything's fine. For split too.

<font color="aa00aa"><font size="+1">Congrats Sassy and Spilt</font></font>

This am I went gynae checkup. He said I am in 35th week, going 36th, bb now 3kg. I din put on weight, so total weight gain still 5kg. I think the past 3 months I put on less than 1kg in total only.

Asked if I will deliver early, he say usually will follow the #1 (near 41 weeks!!), and estimated weight of bb at birth oso ard #1, which is ard 3.6kg. So I really have to wait until my due date liao lah...

AhCapp,

I'll be going for c-sect on 04th Jan, if you pop earlier then we can see each other :p i'd booked a 2 bedder. Packed my hospital bag already, i'm using a small cabin trolley, easier to lug around for hubby also.

Mom2nat,

Envy envy, you only put on 5kg in total. You're going to loose all the weight gained upon delivery.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">OMG!!! Sassy and Split popped liao??? CONGRATS TO BOTH!!</font></font>

Cant believe mommies from our group have popped liao! We were just meeting sassy last week!

Today i went for my baby's 35w + 2 days chkup. Sigh....unlike wendy's and val's babies, mine still stubbornly breeched. Stubborn little girl. When my gynae attempted to take a 3d pic of her, she had her hands covered her face some more. My gynae tried poking her gently with the ultrasound stick, she STILL stubbornly cover her face! Hahaha...shy or stubborn..dunno la.

But then, gynae gave me 2 more weeks, my next appt will be on 27dec. Will be at my 37th week then. In the meantime, i will have to START NOW thinking of a c-sect date liao...which means to schedule it between my 38-39 week, so that by 27dec, i will have to confirm liao. So, date given to me is btw 3-10Jan. Sigh...cant help feeling a little disappointed la...but trying to stay upbeat though.

Luv
why u scheduled for c-sect leh? wats ur edd? my possible c-sect date is btw 3-10jan...leaving it to a shifu to help me choose a date.

Val
rem u were telling me about how babies can STILL turn at the last minute? And how some gynaes can turn them around? As suspected, my gynae doesnt advocate this practice lo...cos she said the risks are high, sometimes in the process of turning, can entangled the umbilical cord dangerously around baby's neck. So, she said shudnt mess with nature...if baby naturally has decided to stay in this position, then we shud respect it wor....

Hi Luvv,

Wow, 4th Jan is very fast. U very good, packed your hospital cabin trolley already. I also start to think my current travel bag isn't enough. I still have not packed my hubby's stuff wor. =S

I have booked for a 1 bedded room, as I want my hb to be with me. I timid lah, prefer to have him around with me during my stay. =P

Mom2nat,

U gained so little and yet your bb is big. =) Me jealous. I gained 14.5kg already, but all the suff seem to go to me instead of him. =S

Mylife,

Don't be disappointed with anything. Whether it's C-sec or natural birth, as long as both u and your baby is healthy, that's the most important thing. =)

Btw, I thought it's very funny that your gynae "poked" your baby with the ultrasound stick to make her stop covering her face. =P

My gynae has not really asked me if I want to do natural or C-sec or not. But if in the end I need to go for C-sec due to whatever reason, it will be ok as long as me and baby are fine.

Don't worry ya. =)

Congrats Sassy n Spilt!

Ahcapp
You went to Robinsons sale? How is it? Worth going? Actually wanna go today but was raining and was tired.

Kitsune,

Wow, your hb very nice, will handwash baby clothes for u. But remember to get him to look out for the weather too. ;) Bad weather lately. =( I still need to wash my infant car seat padding (hand me down from my sis in law). Don't know will dry properly or not.. *sigh* I feel like a complete housewife!

Hi Yu Tong,

Robinsons sale.. actually, nothing much I find. They have relocated the baby section from the top floor to the 3rd or is it 4th floor? The place seem to be smaller and the selection seem to be smaller now.

Anyway, the 20% is the usual storewide. I am not sure if Avent has any discount or not. But the other stuff like pigeon, baby toys, prams, car seats etc all have 20% off. If u are there, can check out John Little too.

I was told the Isetan Private sale will be on 27th Dec. If u can wait, can check it out too. =)

I was in town for about 3 hours and later on, so tired that I took an hour long afternoon nap. Energy level hits an all time low nowadays =(

mylife,
my hubby wants to choose date lor, that's why. My EDD is suppose to be on 23rd Jan. Don't be disappointed, as long as baby is healthy and fine good enough :) let baby choose the way to arrive. C-Sect also has their pros, cheer up!

AhCapp,
actually i packed my stuff into my gym bag but realise that it's too small and not easy to retrieve things, that's why i change to cabin trolley. Wanted hubby to stay also but think i'll save the money since not working now.

Luvv,

Actually, we stay in hospital for only a few days, anything also ok. =) I was at the Mt A hospital tour, and someone was actually asking for their suite! ;P For me, I worry that I can't handle my baby, the pain or anything emotionaly, so that's why I want my hb to be around. I am just a timid mouse lah! *LOL*

If I remember correctly, I was reading this book "Child of our time" based on the very famous BBC documentry of the same name. Based on research, babies borned by C-sec are less stressed out compared to those who are borned the natural way. They are easily soothed too. So yes, I think C-sec babies also have their cons. =)

AhCapp,

I also want hubby to be around all the time leh but he's running own biz so a bit difficult

Btw, can we wear contact lens into the OT? I'm thinking of wearing those 1-day disposable one, easier to take out and just throw if need to. I'm blind without my lenses / specs.

Thanks ahcapp for your information.

I think i will wait till 27th Dec as my hubby will be back then. He was at outstationed for 13 days liao.

Another 3 more days to see him home!

Luvv,

I not sure if it's a good idea to wear contact lens in the OT wor. Better wear your specs. I mean just in case if the doc needs to check your eyes or anything. Better to wear specs than to have foregin objects in your eyes during your operation. Just to be on the safe side.

I used to be short-sighted too. But went for Lasik 2.5yrs ago before my wedding. I very vain =P

Yu Tong,

Oh, pls wait for your hb to go to the sale with u. Still got time right? When is your due date? Nowadays, we have not much energy so we do need your Personal Assistant to be there to carry our shopping =P

Anyone heard of Low Lactose Anmum Milk powder?

I cannot take full cream milk. Saw it somewhere in a magazine but go to NTUC, Cold Storage and alot of minimarts but cannot find.

hi luvv and ahcapp

thanks for your consolations. Yah, i know ultimately, wats THE most important thing to bear in mind is that both me and baby is fine and healthy. But hor, to say i'm not the least affected and disappointed would be lying lo. Altho i have vowed to stay positive regardless of baby's way of coming to this world, i guess, a teeny weeny small part of me still hope, pray and wish i can go thru the natural birth, to go thru the entire excitement, contractions, pain, come what may that labur brings when i'm giving birth to my princess. Now all these hopes are gone...so feel sad la. I know i may get scoldings for saying this, somehow, a small part of me felt i'm not a complete woman for not experiencing labour the natural birth...it's like i took the easy way out lo....no offense to those who opt for c-sect hor...it's just me and my wayward thinking. Cos me not young anymore and this is my 1st and perhaps ONLY baby. Just being emotional. Pardon me mommies...

Cai Yu,
what about soya milk, i saw Vitagen has low lactose or zero lactose if i remember correctly.

AhCapp,
couldn't bring myself to do it, i'm too KS and conservative. Then i think better not wear contacts to the OT, just in case.

mylife,
not to worry too much, maybe baby will only decide to turn at the last minute :)

Anyway, this is only the beginning, after baby arrives, we have a long way ahead to bring them up, nurture them, shower them with tender loving care,be there when they need us, guide them onto the right path, etc etc.

Irregardless of whether they come through this world via the birth canel or via our belly (still through us right :p) this is the much longer and more important route that we as woman will be embarking on. Look at the bigger picture and imagine your tiring yet blissful life ahead.