(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mei pls be careful wor .... am going to see my gynae today yippie can see baby .... hahaha dunno if she is 2.5kg already anOT hahahaha

mcfluffy,
my gynae said shopping not equal to walking le. To help engagement n faster labour, everyday have to walk at least 30mins... Now everyday I walk for 20-30mins on treadmill, raining mar...walk outside dangerous, so slippery. Then next week, I'll start doing some squating exercise to help dilation.

About BreastFeeding

I went to a breastfeeding class and talked about BF in TMC. I was told once baby is born, she will be put in the nurseary room, then nurse will bring her to mum once 2 or 3 hours. Also, nurse will ask mum, which formular want to use. Nurse will give baby formular during hospital stay.

However, since new born baby's stomach is fairy small, actually she doesnt need so much food. Early formular can cause nipple confuse and mum's supply may not be enough or catch up. Easy to end up with formular instad of BF.

So, Can I say "NO" to formular during hospital stay? but I heard nurse tends to give because then baby will not cry too much.

at TMC, if two-bedded room, Can baby stay overnight with Mum?

anbrasia,
In KKH, if the supply not come in yet, they'll give formular BUT I can request to feed with cup or spoon to prevent nipple confusion. Mayb you would like to check with TMC about this cup/spoon feed?

morning ladies.

didnt manage to log in for almost a week. been so busy wif work..finally getting my well deserved break as i dont need to go to work today n tomorrow!! so happy as i can finally start preparing my baby room...

looking forward to our gathering this wed..

anbrasia
if i'm not wrong, if 2-bedded @ TMC, bb cannot overnight with mum, but u can request for TOTAL BREASTFEEDING upfront, then everytime bb cry for milk they'll bring bb to u.
For me first time round, i was so naive coz they said "mummy rest after long labour, next morn then we bring bb to u". Actually after my c-sect @ 12 midnight, i was so ecstatic, couldn't really sleep, but dowan to bother anyone & couldn't get out of bed. Who knows, next morn 9am they brought bb to me, i wanted to latch on, the nurse said "we just fed him". I asked "FEED HIM WITH WHAT?!" They said "FM" and i HIT THE ROOF. On my bb's crib they stuck a card saying "Breastfeeding", I demanded they change it to TOTAL bfg. Nearly cried coz my bb's digestive system has been exposed to foreign liquids instd of my nutritious colustrum.

Dat's why when people rave abt how great TMC nurses are, i beg to differ. This time round i chose TMC again, but i make sure i have my way instd of the nurses bullying me.

ah capp
I din buy pacifier for my boy. He has never had a pacifier in his mouth. Some moms who intro pacifier found it a hassle coz everytime pacifier drops, bb will wake up. Read somewhere it's better for bb to suck thumb coz they can always find their own thumb if it drops when they're sleeping. My boy doesn't like to suck thumb either, but he likes to bite his blanket. Which brings me to the topic of the "smelly toy". My boy's item is his blanket, of which i bought 3 and wash often so that it doesn't harbour as much germs.... hopefully! Sometimes he doesn't want the newly washed blanket, but he'll be so sleepy, fresh one better than none at all.

RE:Cramps
Does anyone feel cramps nowadays? I feel from slight cramp previously and now more crampy. It normally happened at night. And it feels like menses cramps.. It is okie.. or I should let me gynae know..

mylife,
I got your contact. I will sms u my addy. :p 3.30pm is fine for me, I don't mind earlier. hahaha.

mcfluffy,
I once had 1 osim, hot and cold compress (old model) I place inside the microwave and it bust out the liquid. Wonder if it is reliable now for new model.

mom2nat,
I think u can wait for sale.. Not sure if BHG still have the package promotion.. Avent ISIS manual pump+ nipple cream + two 260ml bottles only $93. Nipple cream already like $20+. Now so close to christmas, surely have lots of promotion.

QQ
id baby kingdom cheaper? Quite troublesome to go there if no car. I heard avent isis got many diff kinds. my 2 frens were arguing over 4 kinds of Avent Isis manual pump at robinsons yest when she called me and ask me which one I want. Cos both ah, dunno abt pumps, tell me price all diff, but they can't really tell the diff! Fainted.

Icy
BHG sale over liao right? You mean maybe they still have promo package isit? Maybe I ask my mom to check it out at lunch time for me since she works in Tampines area.

wendyg
Lucky you can find 3. My girl ah, refuse to replace any! And the one she likes best, bought in France, how to go and get liao... Sigh... Then she got one pig, she sniffs the tail, curly tail became straight tail, cos coated with lots of saliva then dried then recoat then dried... Then I bought a similar pig, she dun wan, say the tail curly!
In fr hor, I see the mommies in the hops putting their last finger into their babies mouth as pacifier!!! Weird ah.

Anyway my girl was not those typical NB who can sleep 3 or 4 hours nap, she is up most of the time, I was only praying for some miracle tat made her sleep more and cry less. Bought over 20 pacifiers, but she only took on for abt 2 months, then dun wan. So ah, though I dun like thumb sucking, I rather she can sleep and be happy than stick to my principles. Sigh...

mom2nat,
haha yah. Actually it is the same Avent pump, but 1 comes will milk bottles and 1 comes with the container attached only.. hahaha.. Then I have the philip brand there and 1 dun have.

BHG sale is over, but dunno if they have left over for the package deal, cos all packed in a tranlucent bag then. I saw it at Bugis branch. Metro also have 20% disct last sat, but only sale 1 day.

Wendyyg

Very useful information. I will firmly request for "Total Breastfeeding" too, and make sure that my hubby will keep telling nurse that!

Mom2nat eh .... price I am not sure liao ... hmmm why not give them a call to check price then u compare with dept store if same then get from dept store better wor

Yen,
From the BF classes, they say BB dun need to be fed for first 3 days because they have food from the placenta then.. so during the hospital stay, it is okie that they dun feed our baby.

have all mommies bought baby stroller yet? I'm still in a lost which one to buy.. Ideal brand is combi cos it's light.. Any advice on which model is gd n not too expensive and where can get it at a cheaper price. Notice it's controlled price but just wan to try my luck see if there's any place selling at a cheaper price

QQ
Tks. I ask my mom go check BHG during lunch first. Hee... Cos if baby kingdom only a bit cheaper, I go there, transport oso the cost of the discount liao. Anyway I haven't been there b4, dunno wat they have. isit v big?

Yen
Yes, I think just water or glucose water. No ss, you just need to let bb suckle and suckle and take in the colostrum. Tat time the nurse told me a NB only needs like 20ml of milk, cos their tummies really small lor. For mine, the nurse used a syringe to feed my girl, so she dun have nipple confusion, but bcos my girl was crying a lot and my nipples were bleeding from her chewing, I had to beg for some FM, which they gave me some water plus something, not really FM.

icy.
oh dear, i think what you told me is enough to put me off. thought it should be safe? don't care whether new or old model.

mcfluffy,

Re: diaper bag
The gr8x Satchel Chocolate Jacquard Star that i bought cost UP$119 & after less 30% is $83.30.
I've got Taka $50 voucher from my d&d last year, so we paid $33.30 only.
Taka only carry 3 designs (SATCHEL - Vespa Stripe which is their latest design UP$169, SATCHEL - Jacquard Star and HOLDALL RANGE) No backpack design.
http://www.gr8x.net/interiorpages/signature_range.shtml
Less 30% for gr8x is a gd deal but do call Taka to check on stock & color availability. Taka do make home delivery for purchase of gr8x above $80. Happy shopping

QQ/Chaye,
My coach wallet cost UP$565 & after less 30%+10% = $356 only.
This is the design but mine is the wallet not clutch http://www.coach.com/content/product.aspx?product_no=9738&category_id=47

mom2nat,

i have yet to receive mylife's contact lei... just to check w u, PM will go direct to our email add box rite? if not, how do i check for PM?? pardon me for my ignorance...

sassy
Yes, PM will go to the email box tat you indicated when you signed up to be member for sgmotherhood. Why not you PM mylife again?

Wah, Valencia,

So shiok ar? I also want leh. Now raining, super sleepy man! Don't feel like working le, feel like lazing around at home or going shopping for Xmas gifts!

Re: Baby's Chinese Names

How many of you intend to "suan" aka "calculate" baby's name using "shen cheng ba zi"? If so, who will you go to? Some people say You Long Zi is good but too commericalized. Some said the one at Rocher is good. Hubby and I cannot make up our mind whether to go for it or not. Half of me feels that as long as I like the name and it has a good meaning, then it's fine. But hubby thinks since so many people go for "suan" he's also quite kiasu, by worrying about baby's future. Sighz!

violetice,

i will be doing so... my sister's babies names were calculated based on "shen chen ba zi". not too sure which one, will check will my mum when she comes back then let u know k. imo, personally i feel tat it is to pray for "an xin"... making sure tat our little ones will hv a smooth sailing future.

sassy,
I had Hannah Wong. Not bad. Very polite lady. And she is also a doula.

violetice,
Tell me abt it man!!! Raining and stuck with my son. I even more sian. Imagine shiok shiok liao, then gotta start "working". Cant even laze ard for a while. Hehe...

AhCapp
eh $2000 for a 10 yr long svc award is good money !!!! my co is only giving $500 for 10 yrs hor... yours is 4 times of mine ! HAHA my stingy co !

My contraction that I exp on one Sun morning is menses cramp like. I didnt know what is it till I called my gynae and he told me it's contraction ! Ask me to take med cos it's too early to due.

I do experience tightness many times a day, say abt 20 times, which last for abt 15-20 sec.

Mylife !
That's very evil for her to curse at you this way !!! Ignore her is the best way... You did not do anyting to offend her ma ! Not as if she is malay she cant touch dogs wat !

Steph
eh good deal for the wallet leh !!!!

Violetice
I intend to let ppl "suan" my bb's name. that's wat I did 4 yrs ago for my #1. Mine is call Xu Pu Ling. I hope he has not retired man.

Oh talk abt massage... I have not book anyone for post natal massage leh... I remember someone posted a few contacts for post natal massuer before ya ? Mind to post again ?

Gosh, I somehow feel like time is "running out". Initially the preg so slow, now 35 weeks, I feel I got many times not done yet!!!

Mom2nat,

ur not alone..I am also not prepared yet!! so many things not buy or done yet!! feeling very nervous these days cos I havent even set up my baby room yet and i am already at my 34 weeks.

me too...I feel like crying juz now when I am having my lunch. Dun know is it too nervous. Not sure I can "tahan" the labour pain or not, dun know I can handle the baby well or not,...a lotz of challenges need to go through.

shannonbaby,
I already start drinking coconut juice and barley drink 2 weeks ago, once/twice per week... Some say it helps to cool down our body and prevent jaundice on baby..

yen
no need to worri. We dunno what will happen to us tmr, so dun bother to worri. just take it 1 day at a time... when the boat comes to the bridge, it will straighten.

If u're a Christian, know that God is with u, even 1 step ahead of u. Your life is in His hands & He will never give u more than what u can bear.

wendyg,
Thks... I think I worry too much liao. These few night keep having weird dream also. I dreamt of having an abnormal baby...so scary and cry cry cry in my dream.

sassy
i have already replied u with my contacts and added u to my msn as well!
And yes, i found my warranty card liao. Will bring it on wed...

sassy/mom2nat/icy/godsent
hahaha...actually i was gonna put earlier time, but scared u all flipped out shop for so long...as i'm not workg as well, wats the preferred time of the majority? Pls sms me your addresses...or do u all wan to group at one place in pasir ris and i pick all of u up from there? Let me know!

Chaye
Yah lo...but now i try not to think of that woman anymore. When i told my mom, she said she knows that Indian lady, always scold her also when my mom is walking my dog! Veteran villain!

Today i went to town to run some errands, drove around for a while...really miss driving. Hehe. Couldnt rem what i wanted to buy. Si beh bo liao.
But it's nice to be back albeit the bloody humidity and the rain!

Chaye,
repost for you.

Posted on Thursday, November 15, 2007 - 6:50 pm:

For tired and swollen legs, it's best to have pre-natal massage. Just did mine. Not with Mona though, she's very cheap ($32/hr or $38/hr). Her business is good, so you need to book her way in advance. (Mona's Mobile :90260085). Don't expect fast response time. (best is to sms and wait). Sometimes, they are in the midst of massaging.
There are rave reviews about her post natal services. However, there are recent comments about her "MIA" even though appt was made.

For Grace, look into the BP (Business thread). Her email contact is there. She does response quite fast.

Posted on Wednesday, November 21, 2007 - 11:54 pm:

Hannah is trained in Australia. She was residing in Melbourne. She is very punctual for her appt. $68 / hr for pre-natal. Uses aromatherapy oil and provides all towels and bedsheets. Very professional, won't carry her handphone around, so must wait for her to respond via SMS. She's also a trained doula. She does not go to every place in Singapore.

Nadia charges $50/hr for pre-natal. Modern, soft spoken Malay lady. Same thing, uses pre-natal massage oil which she will show you. She was working in spas. U must prepare you own mattress,bed sheets and towels etc. Also punctual for appt. When making appt, SMS and wait for sometime to respond. Most clients dun like massage session to be interrupted by phone calls. Her skills is good as well. More importantly, she drives and can go anywhere. Sunday is strictly off unless you stay in Pasir Ris.

Of course there are other people like Khatijah (very chatty), Mona (very good business), Mdm Noor ($60 for 2hr), Nania (apparently massage for Zoe) and the infamous Susi who ran off with the money.

Hi Blackdatz
Thks for the reposting.

I managed to talk to Mona ! She told me I got to wait 15-20 days to start my massage if I'm gg for c-section leh !! wah.. sounds very long leh...

Erm... there's no contact for Hannah & Nadia ?

Aunty Katijah: 98001394
Mdm Nadia : 81004091
Hannah Wong : 9631-9557
Mdm Naini. Mobile 94562817, Tel 62190062

When I had C section 4 years bk, waited for 6 weeks for wound to heal fully before I had my first session.

6 weeks is too long. So nowadays, for C-section, after 3 weeks, they say safe to do post-natal massage.

jus chat with sassy

icy/mom2nat/godsent
how about we set to pick mommies from pasir ris around 2pm. Then after dat i can swing to tg rhu to pick sassy. Pls sms me your addresses or common plc to pick all up