(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hope everyone has a great Sat. =) Mine was fine, but tired. Ultra tired after a day in town.

Prince Lionheart Crib Rail Teether - Protects Baby's Teeth

I remember one of us (Mei, right?) was asking about this plastic protector which is placed over the baby cot railing to protect the baby when he starts to bite around. I found it at Robinsons Centrepoint today. The brand is "prince lionheart" and all the items under this brand is like "Safety 1st", all for baby's safey. If I am not wrong, it's selling for S$29.90 (before the 20% off). So can definately check it out.

1113186.jpg

Protects Baby's teeth and soothes tender gums! Prevents Baby from ingesting harmful varnish. Our crib rail teether is made of a FDA approved, Phthalate free, non-toxic soft plastic that easily slips over your crib rail to protect Baby's new teeth and tender gums from nasty bumps and falls on hard rail edges. No adhesives are needed and is easy to clean! Four 12" sections are included to cover a standard crib rail. Made in USA.

http://www.shop.com/Prince_Lionheart_Crib_Rail_Teether_Protects_Baby%27s_Teeth_-22168146-o!.shtml?trk=1

3D Scan...

I went for my checkup today. Baby is fine, about 2.1kg at 34 weeks. All measurements are within spec, so can rest my mind again. =)

Anyway, my gynae gave me a 3D scan today, free of charge. All thanks to this new 3D scan machine which they are putting on trial in their clinic. Very excited about the scan as I was told by u ladies that it can cost a few hundreds. Anyway, the scan took us about 15min. But dear baby was not very cooperative, purposely hide his face away from us by facing my left butt. He seem to be in deep thoughts while he used his left fist to cover the left side of his face.

Despite this, I am still very very happy with the scan. =) I can see his left ear (the ear lobe takes after mine! fleshy! Hahahaha) and his cute little fist. Looks like he has quite chubby fingers and big knuckles like his dad. ;) As much as I hope to see his face, I guess he wants to be mysterious in the meanwhile.

Hi icy,

I did thought of joining in for the talk, but didn't sleep enough last night. So decided to just sign up on the spot, and go shopping in town instead. =P

It turned out that my gynae has signed up with Stemcord, so the initial start up cost is only $802.40, instead of the normal $1000 or $1000+. I didn't know about this "incentive" and I also didn't know there is such a thing. Anyway, I am sure my gynae also wouldn't want to go around telling her patients where to sign up as it will reflect badly on her professionalism. I am glad about this. =)

wow AhCapp good for u and glad baby is growing well... hehe i am tired too .... went shopping with my parents at bugis ... heheh

QQ,

Anything interesting which u bought today? Have u finished most of your shopping? ;) I think I have for me. Didn't buy anything for baby today while out. Tired now.. need a foot rub.. *LOL*

i just went to kaki bukit baby kingdom to buy stuff... was stumped for at least HALF an hour sitting there trying to decide to use the Medela Swing (promo $369 includes Swing single pump, 1 box of storage bags and 1 cooler bag) OR the Ameda Lactaline twin pumps ($350 no discount)...

how?? to buy the very stylish Medela Swing or the efficient Ameda Lactaline?? i am very skeptical that i will use the breastpumps for long... my friend who bought Medela PIS (now selling $699) said she'd felt sorry that her pumps are sitting there very underused coz she very much prefers the convenience of direct latching... both of us are SAHMs... so i was thinking, how many times will i use my pump??

in the end, bought miscellaneous baby stuff for $311 so that they can deliver to our place ;p will think about it some more and attend my breastfeeding antenatal class this coming tuesday before deciding...

Hi pinkstars,

My colleague lent me her Medela pump. I onhold the purchase of the wetted parts for now as like u, I am worried if I will be successful with breast pumps/ breast feeding. Even the wetted parts or the bottles costs $30+/ set (before discount). So I have decided to wait and see first. I remember one of us here recommended to wait and see how the feeding goes before spedning a big amount of $ on pumps and stuff.

Anyway, I have bought a avent manual pump for standby first.

Perhaps u might want to consider...

valencia_val,
paiseh, reply wrong person.. getting blur. hahaa. I also bochap, but out of respect, I would ask my mil, fortunately she also dun care one.

ahcapp,
My doctor wanted to offer me free 3D scan too. But my baby quickly use his fists to hide his face.. bb must be too shy or unhappy after mil laughed at BB for having thick lips like his daddy during the normal ultrascan. Next moment, he had his fist at his face. lol

You got a nice offer for stemcord. Me had to pay $1070. My friend went for the talk today, not sure of she did sign up.

pinkstar,
Me buy a manual pump first, can express out when BB dun need the milk. I also going to be SAHMs. Like u mentioned, we would have the convenience of direct latch. Maybe buy later when we really need in future

Icy,

Oh really! Your baby also used his fist to cover his face. =) So cute! I think he is just shy.. =P

Btw, do u buy 1 or 2 manual pumps? My colleague used 2 manual pumps at the same time to express milk. Very power right? I only got 1 so far, think it should be enough for the first 3 months since I will be at home, right? Will really consider the electric one when I really need in future, like u suggested too =)

sassy, thanks for informing abt the pigeon wet wipes. however wouldn't be going to people's park specially to buy 1 item. Probably will just buy at normal price of $10.10 cos I have almost finished buying most items.

regarding breastfeeding accessories, i too bought the avent manual pump only so far + collected some glass bottles. Will also see how successful I am before purchasing more stuff.

hmm... looks like there are some for and against the idea of having their bb share the same birthdate as hubbies hor...

Personally I do not like the idea leh. Cos like wat valencia has mentioned it's not special liao lor. Everyting also share one.

Dorothy
Y your hubby is so proud tat your #1 is the same bday as him huh? My hubby also tot of getting our bb to have the same bday as him leh.

Steph
Wah... how much is the coach wallet that you bot ? Good deal ya ? I'm lookin to buy a coach wallet too leh !!! but I got no strength to shop anymore

AhCapp
Wow how many yrs hv u work in the company ? Got 36 days leave so long one meh ? WOW leh !

Talk about coach, I saw people q'ing up outside Gucci (both outlets at Taka and Paragon). Like going into the museum like that. So scary. =(

Chaye,

Nearly 8 years already lor. =) Too long already. *LOL*

Hi goodbabyb,

my hubby just signed up for the card and we got mailer as and when they are having promotions and sale.

Breast pump
I bought the Avent IQ Uno electric breast pump at 10% discount at taka. can convert to manual pump and has a battery pack so eventually I chose to purchase this though it is more pricely. had been considering between medala also..but i like the avent design and since i got many avent bottles so just save the trouble, i got the avent one.
Medala is always a good buy during sales cos they offer discount from 15% to 20%.

Hey ladies. Tik I b one of the 1st few to pop.. Went to Gynae todae for 34wks scan. Bb is abt 2.1kg.(abt avg size.But she's worry I'll pop within these 2 wks cos been feeling lots of contraction. Gv me medication to prevent contraction & ask me to rest more. Hope I can deliver after 20th dec. wk 36+ .I'm worried too 2.1 kg, so small.. My 1st boy was 3.5kg at 37 wks..

AhCapp

8 yr nia already 36 days leave !!! if 10 yrs how many additional will u get man ! LOL... btw, wat is your co gg to give u for 10 yrs long service award ?

3rascals
your contraction with pain or without pain ? mine is tightness that comes anytime it likes for abt 20-25 times a day ! doc also worry tat i mite give birth early. tat's y me on ventolin and resting at home

Found a few reddish marks at the left side below my belly yesterday, think it's stretch marks. Sigh, applying diligently everyday since 3+ month still like that. So sad.

ahcapp,
I just buy 1 manual pump, really so powderful then get electronic one heehee, It is more for engorgement. Yah, i think should be enough for us during ML.

Blackbatz
Aiyo, I went Suntec, but din know got looney toons show leh. The traffic was ok leh, I went from United sq. Quite ok. I am thinking of gg to robinsons tmrw morning, but dunno to go Centrepoint or Raffles City. Wan to go kids section and men's shoe section oso. And oso to M&S.

anyone still going swimming at this stage? heh... heard that swimming might help to get baby into the right head down position. furthermore, mil seems to be blaming me for not exercising, hence, having a breech baby. *depressed*

hi mommies!!

me back in SG now....a fren from HK also came along with me to attend Zoukout. Ahhhh....the freedom of still partying! Anyway, he and his fren staying at my place, thus me no time to log in and say hi *wave*

hubby gonna be flying back tom night so i'll be all alone...missing him oredi...jus now went to watch The Golden Compass....simply luuuurve these epic fantasy movies. Love the Polar Bear!

Mcfluffy
Aiyoh...why ur MIL like dat? Like as though we're not already vexed over a breeched baby, still gotta handle her blames??? Dont be stressed la...me too still dunno if my baby's breeched. But trying to take it easy...dont let the babvy's position ruined the 40weeks of you dreaming to hold your baby in your hands. Keep the dream alive...

AhCapp
Good to hear your baby is well and good

3rascal
Yah...wat does a contraction feels like anyway..?? Me also like chaye have tightening VERY frequently. Baby's squirming inside and tighten very often, mostly to the right side....hmm....i also scared ah!!!

mylife
welcome back... wah, u damm "sat" can still go zoukout. lol
how was the crowd? i just finshed sending my guests off after bbq, drinking and cards session.

hi mylife,
welcome back...
dunno why my mil say that... maybe she don't mean it that way.. i dunno... juz feel sian after hearing it... i try not to mind so much and hope somehow or another, my baby will rotate down soon.

my baby also mostly on my right side. sometimes wanna bend over also canot.. can like feel her head or something pressing against my ribs.

anyway, how to know whether she's head up or down without using the scan? by feeling? soemtimes there's movement near the ribs, i thought it's her legs... but seems like it's not.

p/s: anyone have sleepless nights like me?

Mcfluffy,
Not exactly sleepless nights but not good nights in the least. Been feeling breathless even when lying down, whether it's on the right side, left side on just lying on the back. Nowadays, even when standing or sitting, can feel baby pressing hard against my bladder, not only it makes me want to pee but sometimes it's a rather sharp pain. Sighz. Don't know what he's doing inside me too. Hoping to pop soon.

hi mcfluffy/violetice,
still awake at this hour??? me too cant sleep, watching my hk tvb serial. hehe... im feeling breathless, experiencing pain on chestbone and ribcage... my bb's position still breeched..
and i cant hope to pop soon as its only 33 weeks plus, if popped then my bb will be premature

mom2nat,
Robinson's kids section at Raffles City is quite miserable. Nothing very much. Personally, I prefer to go to Centerpoint. But there are more restaurants at Raffles City.

You can also bring your kids to Jurong Point for the Tom & Jerry show. Just saw in today's papers.

Good Sunday morning ladies,

Just went to finish my last load of baby stuff, it is raining now. =S

Ok, baby is wobbling about. He always move a lot whenever I logon to this forum, busy typing and typing. *LOL*

3rascals,
Don't worry. I kinda remember reading that even if our baby pops this time, he will be fine. Meanwhile, just rest more as your gynae advised. I am sure everything will be fine. =)

Chaye,
When I finally hit 10yrs, I will be given i think $2000 cash and a silver plate or something. The plate not enough, the cash will be good for the past years I have suffered in the company! *LOL*

Btw, how does contraction feel like for your case? I feel tightness sometimes below my tummy.

Icy,
Thanks for your feedback. =)

Mcfluffy,
Aiya, don't listen to your MIL. I seriously don't think that u are to be blamed for baby in breech position. Don't don't blame yourself for anything, ok.

For swimming, I think go with your hubby better. Now that we get leg cramps so easily, safer to have your hubby around with u. Even if don't swim, "soak" in the water also shiok ah. =)

For exercise, the only thing I do is walk, walk and more walk. I walk a lot at work as I am an engineer. Last night, my MIL reminded me to walk more. I told her that I have walked so much that my poor feet swell and my gynae told me to reduce my walking. So u see, over-doing something also not good. =)

My baby is head down already, but his face is always facing my poor butt! =S I also don't know how to check if baby's head down or not, without the scan. But really, I am sure your baby will turn eventually. Really. =) Better don't do anything "extra" to try to make your baby turns. Just worry about any side effets that's all.

Mylife,
Wow, u world best. Still go zoukout! *LOL* Welcome back to home ground. =) It's great to be breathing fresh air again in Sg, right? I kept on reading about polluted air in HK =(

blackbatz,

Shops? I meant I went to wash my last load of baby stuff and it started to rain. =) Didn't go out. My limps were ready to fall apart after 1 afternoon of walking in town yesterday. *LOL* Today will be good and stay at home lor. ;)

sassy,
eh.. we're in the same boat.. my girl only 32+ weeks... and cannot pop so soon too though i wish time passes faster.. time seems to slow down now that i'm not working.

violetice,
i also get breathless..but usually when i'm on my back. heart beats very fast as well...

Ah capp,
thanks for the really lovely advice.
really makes me feel a lot a lot better.

anyway, hee... i think i'm quite a shopping queen. Yesterday shopped for 3 hours straight.. haha.. but of course, suffered backache.

Hi, QQ. Your mum so sweet. Actually my mum also bought a Spring plain polo top, not bad lar, right size and I can wear to work or casual. Hee

Mcfluffy, yes, we can still swim. Went swimming last week, was supposed to go again today but raining so sian. I find that stamina no good since pregnant. Last time can swim 10 laps (with a lot of breaks), now swim 4 laps, chuan liao. :p

My BB moves a lot too, and she like to her foot in my ribcage and prop her knee/buttock up agsinst my upper stomach. Pain. Me too, wish time passes faster, somemore end of the year, so many people on long leave, I'm like the only who has to guard the office. :p

Can I find out if I am supposed to standby a tube of nappy rash cream at home for baby? Any good brands to recommend? I saw Pureen is only a few dollars, but Avent can be nearly $20. Don't know which one is good.

Valenica,

Is it available in Sg? I read somewhere that it can be bought in US wor.

Thanks for your feedback!

AhCapp,
It is available. Phamarcy and Watson. Remember is CREAMY. Dont get the normal desitin. They order from US as its really cheap getting it in US. In time to come, when bb starts teething, u will need to use toothpaste and The First Teeth toothpaste will be the BEST. That is y you see BP always ordering these two items. The toothpaste fm US is like $8 and SG selling $13.75 at promo price. IMAGINE!!!! Usual price is $17.20

ahcapp,
desitin can only be purchased in the us. got my dh to buy 2 tubes when he was there in oct... hehe. there are some mummies organising sprees on desitin cream, do check it out. it cost less than usd5 for a 4oz tube.

ahcapp/sassy/mcfluffy
No la! I didnt go Zoukout lah! Siao meh?? It's my fren and his buddy who're from HK and putting up at my place. They came to Sg just for the weekend to go Zoukout la. I definitely wont subject myself and baby to that kind of crowd and music!

Ahcapp
u're darn right! Good to breathe in fresh air again. But then, damn lousy to be feeling the bloody humidity again. So darn hot, even when it rains! But i'm busy gobbling down the Sg food that i missed so much! hehe

Re: Baby movements
Haiz...me too felt baby's movement alot. Gynae told me, short of doing a scan, nothing can be sure of baby's current position whether breeched or not. She said i shud have a big movement if baby has turned and then start feeling the kick on my ribs, instead of my groin area. But then, i felt movements on both ends, so, it could be either side, ie her boxing OR kicking. Still none the wiser!

I tell u all something i was soooo angry about this morning. It was raining heavily rite? I was out walking my dog who's extremely obedient one. Then i walked past this Indian lady who's hanging her clothes outside her house (she lives on the ground floor). She kept shouting at me to pick my dog up. But as i'm heavily pregnant, i couldnt do that...i know my dog wont kacau her one and it was raining heavily...so i jus say excuse me can let me past first...she was shouting at me "YOU BETTER PICK YOUR DOG UP!!!" i got so angry i told her in a calm voice, "this is not your private property." and started to walk away. true enough, my dog jus walk passed and straight ahead, didnt even acknowledege her. With my back turned, this woman cursed me, saying "your baby will be born like a dog!" i was so angry, i turned around and look at her...but not wanting to pick a fight with her, i calmed myself down and turned to walk away...but u know wat she did? She continued cursing me saying "you cannot give birth ah, your baby will not be born!!!" I WAS SOOOOO ANGRY. But i tell myself, i dont wan to get pulled into her trick and quarrel with her. By walking away, i dont deserve her curse, altho i must admit, i was pretty shaken...so scary. Spoil my day..

desitin in sgp is much more ex than desitin from Drugstore spree. If u need in a hurry, then buy fr sgp retail. O'wise order in advance and be prepared to wait abt 1month for arrival. In sgp, i only see 2oz tubes, which are S$20 each (??)... but from sprees, a 4oz tube only costs abt USD 5, which is less than S$10, even after shipping & handling charges.

ah capp
baby facing our butt is the CORRECT position. It's called an anterior position.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/ref/babypositionforbirth/

Hi, Mylife. Was your dog leashed? There was a big 'hooha' about unleashed dogs in public places after a dog attacked a kid. The rule is all dogs need to be leashed in public places but many dog owners are flouting that rule. You just came back from HK so may not have read about it. There was a flurry of letters to ST forum but I didn't read all of them.

But it was mean and unjustified of her to make such a remark about your BB no matter how angry she is. Don't take it to heart. Just treat it like mad dog barking.

Back fr marketing with hubby. Sian ah, rain like that. My poor precious baby clothes... can't dry properly liao..

Mylife,

Ok, we thought u really power and go ZoukOut! *LOL* But it will be quite funny hor, a heavily pregnant mummy dancing away at ZoukOut ;P

Why that woman so horrible? =S Ignore her and don't let her ruin your wonderful stay back in Sg. =) She so evil curse u and your baby, she better hopes that the "curse" won't bounce back to her. *shake head*

Baby movement..
Oh yes, now that u talk about it, I most feel my baby's movement at my rib area or at most at my sides. Not at the lower area. So that should explain why he is already head down. *LOL*

Valenica, Wendyg, Sassy,

Thank u so much for the tip-off on the nappy rash cream. ^_^ Will get 1 tube first locally and and later on join in the sprees.

Didn't know that the baby toothpaste n this nappy rash cream are good. Always see the spree for this 2 items though =)