(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

thanks prata_queen. I'll go read about it. I'm at 35wks alraedy but my gynae never mention abt it b4 ler. That's why i never hear of it b4

wendy, qq, angelsky
thanks for your response. maybe i paint out my scenario to u all so u all can give me your suggestion. My situation slightly more complicated..

1) My dad jus passed away, so on the advice of the elderly, i cannot hold a full blown party/buffet during the full month of my baby. Can only send cakes/ang ku kueh/eggs for people who have given gifts.

2) U all know we're not based in Spore currently...so i dont have colleagues. Neither does my hubby. So it'll be purely friends or ex colleagues or people from my hubby's industry to come visit and give gifts to me.

This is where my headache is lo..there's no one place like an office where i can gao dim and pao ka liao like wendy did, ie put voucher in envelope and distribute.
Initially tot throw a full month party/buffet thingy, but with my dad's passing away, cannot do as well...now really headache lo...dont tell me best way is to really drive one by one to give them the cakes?? *faint*

Any suggestions??

mylife maybe u buy those like what wendy do loh for relatives maybe u give out the cakes loh i believe all relatives wanna see ur baby too

not for relatives, mainly for frens. Cos my relatives are mostly in Msia (parents are msian) and hubby one, think i can pass to my in-laws to gao dim cos we're not close to them his side of the relatives. it's the frens dat give me headache. Mailing out vouchers like very impersonal hor? Cos most of them close frens...

mylife maybe do it low profile loh ..... like have a small gathering then u can give out to ur frds liao since is close frd i am sure they are ok with it

<font color="aa00aa">mylife, agree with QQ. since close friends, make it like a gathering for friends, instead of full mth celebration.</font>

mylife,
My suggestion is, dont call it a "baby shower". Put it as a gathering. Get ppl go to ur place. Usually ppl term it as full mth due to the RED eggs. Since you not giving it out, it shouldnt pose a problem I guess.

just got home from my brazillian wax and shopping... i like the feeling after waxing as i feel like a "virgin" again. LOL
but my poor feet, damm tired...

wendy,

just send u a PM.

fishia,

thanks for the offer.

steph,

i wanna order the nepia diapers but only keen in getting 2 first? do u wanna share and get 2 also? the min. order is 4packet

anbrasia,

my gynae also mentioned tat my baby is distressed but my blood pressure is normal. well, dun worry and stay positive.

Hi, valencia. Thanks for the link.
The dresses are quite pretty but hardly any dresses for 0-3 mths leh. I want to buy my gal a pretty little dress for her "man yue" leh. 3mth dress will be too big right? Trying to find 0-3 mths or NB size, should fit better right? :p

Mylife, my friend is based in ChiangMai for 2 years, she followed her hubby who is a pastor. She gave birth to a baby boy last month, I sent her present by post. Last week, I received a bengawan solo cake voucher from her (probably sent out by her mum). I don't find it impersonal leh, I'm glad she bothered to mail cake vouchers out. Thought she will just pass me a present for my gal when she's back in Sg next Mar.

ambrasia, at 34 weeks and 2 kg is considered still light? Gosh. I am at 31 weeks and my baby is only 1.368kg, even lighter than sassy's. But my doc never say anything le. Wonder if I keep eating and eating now, will I be able to catch up. Imagine I pile on all the weight and no impact on bb. My doc did mentioned that the umbilica cord is okie le, so not that nutrients factor, I also dont have high blood or low blood pressure.

At birth, if bb is small, will they be able to catch up in terms of weight? or u think they will remain on the smaller built through out?

mylife, mailing out to them is a good idea. maybe can attached photo of baby as well?

Angelsky, I think they'll catch up. My cousin's baby was 3 weeks early so only 2.98kg when born. Now, he's so chubby that I can hardly recognise him, even the paediatrician asked my cousin why he's so big and whether her no. 1 also like that.

angelsky, u belong to the petite category rite? so i think, thats y yr gynae never mention anything. u might wanna try eating durians... hrd tat its very "bu" and baby will gain weight too.

angelsky
yes can catch up. Give u an example. My boy's birth weight = 3.5kg. My friend gave birth 2 days after i did, her boy was just over 2kg (abt 1 month premature). Her boy just gained & gained weight, while my boy had jaundice & lost weight, when fever also lost a bit weight etc. My fren's boy caught up v fast... i think when they were abt 6m old they evened out liao. Now he's heavier than my boy. He drank Similac, Gain IQ. My boy was on tbm for 6m, then Nan2, then Friso3 then now fresh milk.

thanks for all the encouragement. No one to confide in la, coz I dont wanna make my parents worried so I never really tell them that baby slightly just above average, though maybe my mum suspect. Hubbie also too far away to offer much of any help.

Now, I just have to eat and eat and have a balance diet. Must find pple to do have durian party with me. kekeke.

Me, quite on the petite side, hehehe I only 1.58cm . I just find it amazing that in 8 weeks bb can move up 1 kg or more. At 20 weeks, she was like only 300grams.

Hi angelsky,

Guess don't worry too much. I was asking my friend how come my tummy still so small and I also worry about my baby's weight. He's about 1.6kg at 32 weeks. My friend told me that baby's weight will catch up very fast once he is borned. So really nothing to worry.

I have also been eating and eating but also not much use. Guess it's just genes =)

Anyone been actively playing with your baby or listening to music? My colleague told me that at this stage, I can start to play with my baby. Eg use fingers to tap on the tummy or pat on the tummy when he extends his little palm or foot.

I tried this since yesterday, quite effective. My baby seems to responds by moving about much more than ever. Quite funny. =)

my mom very pantang type...even gathering is considered as celebrating so she doesnt allow (she stays with me). I dont wish for her to be unhappy la...cos it is after all a tragedy with my dad passing away...she said it's gonna bring bad luck for the baby to "chiong" or smtg like dat...i guess i jus have to take down the addresses and to show sincerity for the really close ones, i will drive and pass the cakes to them, but those acquaintance, bo pian gotta take address and mail to them. Do we give to those only who give gifts or anyone we like har? My hubby's industry very PC one la...must do nice-nice. Si beh ma huan.

Thanks to all for you suggestions

kitsune,
Guess gotta look at the cutting. Actually got a dress from bloomB. I chose a 3-6 instead of 0-3 cos the cutting really small. Whereas for the pumpkin patch I went for the NB. Perhaps, u may wanna try mothercare? Think they might hv something??!!??

angelsky,
Trust your gynae. If there is anything, I am sure he/she will highlight it to you. My girl was kinda small during the last visit. I was very depressed also. But today, my gynae told me she is catching up quite a bit. Then again I ask if she is still very small? She told me juz only abt 100g lower but the impt thing is she is gaining. Unless she is not then it will be of a concern. As for genes, I dont really think so. Not forgetting my #1 was 3.72kg and my #2 now, I am actually worry abt having a small bb. Each child is individual. I did ask my gynae abt genes thingy. She gave me a smile and said "eat well, rest well is the key"

mylife,
Since you so called it acquaintance liao, y bother to send? Waste $$. LOL~ For me, I only gave to those that were close to me. Since they were close to me, so sure got give gift.

ah capp
yeah, when bb push out, we'll push him back. Sometimes papa will talk to him. Been listening to classical @ work. When i sing nursery rhymes to my #1, hope #2 is listening & remembering!

Mei,
Can't tell the price, must get hubby to research. From some website, it seemed more expensive and the packaging looks different.

mylife,
else have a gathering at one of a close friend house and distribute the cakes there. can chat and talk and show bb.

Lyn,
it is not necessary to buy milk warmer. Just that i heard my cousin bought one because she dun have 1 big thermal flask, then already need warm water for baby milk, and sometimes still need it to warm baby milk.. very troublesome.. so she bought one. I think I will see how first, anyway me planning breastfeed first, milk should be always warm. :p

ah capp,
I got listen to classical music every night. BB will tends to kick or move around more.. especially at the fast moving parts.

Valencia, I did look at mothercare, got a few fall/winter dresses on 30% offer that are not bad but prices start from $30+. But because it's FW collection, mostly long sleeve and corduroy material, think it'll be too warm for my BB. :p

I too impatient to play with my BB leh. Cos she always make big movement below my chest area, very painful leh. Always end up half scolding her when she keeps moving. Very bad hor? :p But my hubby more patient.
When she's restless, he'll say Maybe, she wants attention lar. I'll read to her. And true enough, when he's reading, she hardly moves. When I ask hubby to put his hand on my tummy when she keeps moving, she also keeps still for a while. Always tell hubby, she bully mummy but not daddy. Hee.

Michelle: Induce more painful cos contractions suppose to come stronger. But no diff if u use epidural. After wk 36, then will be weekly.

Scan: Agree with Ahcapp, scan +- 20% accuracy only. Yest my fr's bb was only 2.9kg estimate. Todae she delivered a 3.3 kg bb..

Prata_queen: the 1st time I induce under my gynae's recommendation cos was already 4cm dilated (over a period of 5 days), so gynae say 4cm must b warded already. Was put on drip & she helped me burst my water bag. But still spend 12 hrs to deliver cos bb was big(3.5kg) That was at wk 37.

Tis round 2nd bb will wanna deliver at wk 37 too. Cos last wk dec. prefer a dec gal than jan gal : ) Spoke to her regarding my pref during my wk 32 checkup & she say will b fine provided my bb is not too small. BB aledi turn down. But will observe again at wk 36/37 see if there's dilation. Cos there's diff induction methods. BB 2 will most porb follow bb 1's pattern. (pops early) But she did mention not encourage b4 wk 37. cos 37 is consider full term.

Wendyg: I;m delivering at TMC also. 1st child opt for 4 bedder, enjoyed free upgrade to 2 bedders. Tis round gging for single bed cos worry my 1st child will wanna stay with me at nite. But quite exp lei. Cos got to pay $75 for hubby as companion charges & another $75 extra for my DS for companion charges also. Shiong...

mylife: That time my cousin's wife mum passed away they didnt celebrate full month. Cant even distribute cakes or hold celebrations. But can collect red packets from friends. (Hokkien). Even the next CNY, they also cant distribute red pkts can collect only. Mayb u can buy thanx U cards attach vouchers & mail out to them? Or treat friends for meal?

Angelsky: Don worry some bb catch up after birth. Don be surprise at later stage of yr preg, bb may jus gain wt suddenly. My bb was below avg during the 1st 2 terms of preg.Gynae keep asking me to eat more. Now suddenly she caught up. at wk 32, 1.9kg.

Like Valencia said: Guess I really eat & rest well.. haha put on 2-3 kg every mth.

oic... didnt know that induction cause more intense contractions! then hopefully this time mine will come naturally hee :D

i guess not knowing my bb's weight has it's advantage too - i dont have to worry to big or too small! just happily living in ignorance :p

Sassy, Anglesky,
My case is a little bit different with yours. My baby was found having a 35weeks head and 31weeks tummy. Thats the reason Gynae concerned high blood pressure or unfunctional placenta. Because once nutrition or blood flow is not enough for baby, it will automatically concentrate on most important part---Head. But he does mention that most babies do very well after birth and just be normal.

No one give me any idea about PJs...sobing..

mylife heehee understand that parent or parent-in-law pantang tat kind of feeling hehehe ..... like what valencia say since is just acquaintance then dun need to send lah ..... close one maybe u drive and pass to them loh but must plan route well if not u will be very tired
baby oso will

hahaha AH Capp I on mozart music for baby to listen hahahah and i on jazz music tooo kekekeke but as for like pat pat her yes i do but whenever she move I cant differentiate which one is her leg or hands wor ...... my hubby tickle her when she move hahahah

Tues she make me so uncomfortable and my hubby actually tell her cannot be like that then yesterday the whole day no movement till i go home on the bus she move abit hahaha told my husband she angry hahah

anbrasia
coz we discussed PJs in archive threads liao. Some prefer dresses, some prefer tops & bottoms. For easier bfg, get those with button down fronts. I bought nursing nightdresses this time round coz i'm VAIN & want to look pretty in hosp & confinement... altho no one to show. hahaha. Initially hoped for a 1/1/08 baby, maybe got chance to appear on TV (must pack makeup kit also), but now i think latest 3rd wk Dec already pop. So no chance liao lor.. kekekeke.

3 rascals
ah ha.. they raised charges.. 2.5yr back only $60 for companion charges. Din know they will charge for DS also. How old your DS? My #1 will surely go home to sleep, o'wise i gotto handle newborn night feeds PLUS #1, and i'm sure the single ward no space, unless take the VIP wards with living room and bedroom type. Which is out of my budget la.

qq - harnor, i v cute hor. My kids also v cute. hahahhaa.

oya, for bb to come out faster, get horny & get lots of sex.

anbrasia
, I personally prefer to wear pants so I bought a pants set with button down top. But I may get another dress pj in case the stitching is painful. But I find wearing dress to a sleep a little ma fan, coz I tend to kick my blanket.

Thanks for all your assuring comments, I just have to force myself to start drinking milk now, gg to buy chocolate milk later. My hubbie was nagging at me last night, he deduced that its becoz I refused to drink milk. So hopefully if I start, its not too late for baby to play catch up. About weight gain, I started gaining weight quite late, say about 24 weeks, coz I had very bad morning sickness, puke for like 5 months plus. BUt after MS stopped, I have been quite consistent in gaining like1.5 kg to 2 kg every 2 weeks le. kekeke.

My main concern that baby is small is not becoz of built, but I dont wish for her to have health complications becoz of me.

ANyway, my objective now till delivery is jus to eat and eat and eat. Pray that its really like what some mothers experience, the weight is just an estimation, she will be heavier than projected.

Wendyg,

Thank you for sharing your PJ idea with me. I know you ladies already talked about most topics but I doubt I can find right place from such a long tread.

I bought 2 set of silk top-bottom PJ when I traveled to SH. They are very nice and comfortable, but I worry to ruin them if I have bad discharge. So think just get a cheap one when stay in hospital.

Anglesky:

I am doing same thing. I eat, eat and eat. I try to have more protein and nutrition food but its very difficult to find nice food in Food court. All carbon(rice\noodle). everything feed you up but no so much Nutrition la.

anbrasia,
My friend gave me a good suggestions for PJ. Buy dress up and when u sit on the hospital bad, lift the dress behind (backside) up before sitting. then ur disposable panty will direct sit on the waterproof sheet, so if stain also just go on disposable panty and sheet. Anyway you will use blanket to cover ur legs, and the front dress can also cover ur legs. haha.

angelsky,
Try durians, since last tri already. Me also worried.. cos diet under control.. I cant even drink milk or eat more for BB growth. *sigh*

Hi Dear All

Sorry to intrude .. I am from the Sept 07 Thread...Would like to share that i have got the below

Lee Yu Brand 6 Bird's Nest with ginseng, white fungus and rock sugar 70ml
( All the above at 1.50 / bottles )

Brand New With Box Benedictine D.O.M 1Litre 5 bottles ( 20 dollars each )

Thanks to pm me if u are interested.. fyi bird nest is good for baby skin n complexion.. i took lots during my pregancy and i must say is true cos my gal has fair smooth complexion

As for D.O.M is good for confinement .. really helps to nourish and also hor when u bf also can drink D.O.M... after confinement no time to pu.. drink 1 cup of D.O.M each night before sleep helps to improve ur health lots

Expiry Date for all the above is year 2010.

Thanks to pm me if u are interested.

Thanks for your time

bebe me too very sleepy slept at 1+ yesterday ... thanks to my hubby asking me to watch tv
kekekeke ....... very tired now but lucky am on half day and full day leave tmr..... cos am gg chalet later!

qq, u very "sat" lei... still can cheong chalet. im told to rest more liao, dun anyhow run... lol

me too didn't sleep well... at least yr DH is watching tv beside u, not so bad (i cant sleep well w/o DH ard.... mine went out entertaining clients till 6am then got home. i slept at 2am, woke up at 6am then cant go back to sleep till 7plus...

QQ,so good on half day.. I slept at 2am+ cos watching 'yu le ba fen ba' :S although not on leave but luckily boss nt ard these days at least can eat snake.. But i still prefer to go hm slp.. haa.. u go chalet n bbq, make sure ur food is fully cooked wor. Have fun!

sassy hahaha ya loh my frd came over to pass me his wedding invites yesterday he say why am i still so energetic at 11+ ask my hubby what things he gave me to eat kekeke .... i am waiting for this chalet very long liao wor yippie .....