(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi, mummies. Thanks for your concern.
Ya, will be very careful next time. Scared liao. Hubby was using the 3M mop, not as absorbent as traditional mop, plus my tiles got pattern one (previous owner chose it) so doesn't dry evenly). Sigh, don't know whether to start hiring a part time maid now because I'll have CL for 40 days, she's supposed to help with cleaning when she's here. If I hire part time maid now, like very lugi cos got to pay two people. Don't know if I pass my OGTT too, appt with gynae only on Wed evening. Keeping my fingers crossed. :p

I've also asked my MIL to come over and help me after my CL leaves cos I'll be all alone. Hope there is no clashes between us too. For me, it's the opposite, she supports BF, said BB who are BF got very nice complexion. She said she BF my hubby for 6 months too. Even encouraged me to pump after going back to work. My only concern is if my flow is no good, too tired or too painful and I want to switch to FM, and she may comment on it. :p

hi icy,
thanks. Recently i have sweet tooth too, b4 pregnancy i actually dislike stuff that are too sweet but recently i kept having craving for ice kachang, ice cream etc.. By the way,12 hours b4 the test cannot eat right? What about water? Can i drink plain water? Cos tat time i ask the nurse she say cannot, but if really very thirsty then how.

steph,
I havent find out much abt my mil belief yet, dunno how to start the topic. I only know she feels sleeping in aircon and bathing using herbal bath is ok. So at least these 2 hygenic wise should be fine. My friends also keep stressing me abt hiring a confinement lady, saying that CL is more professional and could help me to take care of BB at night. It is very hard for me to explain that my mil dun feel the needs to, and it is hard for me to go against her since we are staying with her. It just make me more stressed. I just have to cope on my own with BB at night.

michelle,
Yes, they like so so confirmed that breastmilk is CONFIRM not enough for baby, unless we have BIG boobs like Zoey Tay. They will be so confimed that supply for breastmilk is mostly very little for new mummies.. already start to saying discouraging stuff even before we deliver.

bebe
water should be able to drink lah! otherwise die of thirst liao. i did mine oredi and i drank water so shd be ok! even my gynae said ok to drink water

kitsune
you're very lucky u hv pro-BF MIL! very very rare these days ;) i believe a supportive envt is like half the battle won oredi. my experience was like icy described - even b4 start oredi got discouraging comments like "very hard one lah... u will see what i mean when u really try it out yourself"

Bebe,
Yeap. Must fast overnight from 10pm. No food and drinks except some plain water. I am allowed to take little plain water during the 2Hr waiting. I do feel a bit neusea because consuming that sweet and bit gasy drink with empty stomach. Will feel like burping a lot after that. Cant vomit out cos will need to re-do the test.

icy,
Abilitiy to produce milk and size of boobs definately got no correlation. Myself is a classic eg
My pre preg size is A then when preg, went to C. Tell you, really feeling very "wei DA". Haha... Actually, when ur SS v good, you will have another set of problems also. I was telling my hb "dont get decieved by the size, the ability to perform is more impt" LOL~ But kinda worried after this round of bfing, think dont hv my cup size liao. Still got bee dees or not ah? Haha.....

Thanks michelle.. haha cos i'm a water tank if i dun drink water i will die one..

icy, i'm also worry abt that. i was planning to eat till i full then faster go slp in case i got hungry in e night which always happen. Guess later cannot nap le.. haha

valencia
very long nvr heard of Bee Dees liao.. issit now changed to stretty? I boycott Triumph for quite sometime.

hey where's <font color="0000ff">ErnMum</font> & <font color="0000ff">MomMe</font>..

icy,

yup i agree it's hard to break the ice & it's sensitive...insist too hard will turn relationship sour with MIL & make hubby sandwich in between. Whatever it is, hubby's support & understanding during this confinement phase is the upmost important. Initially i wanna hire a CL but too ex & MIL volunteer so after discussion with hubby, i gladly accepted MIL's offer. We did talk abt BFing and she encourage it. Frankly speaking, not all CL are professional. It is our perception that makes us think that CL are Pro & know how to handle baby. In fact, some CL dun encourage BFing & very unhygienic in terms of handling cooking & taking care of bb...only we didn't see it with our own eyes! We can't even leave maid/CL alone to take care of bb at nite if we r BFing, we need to wake up & tend to bb too.
Don't be too stress up k...we r in the same boat...think positively

steph
true, my friend complained during her #2 confinement, the CL that someone recommended to her seemed dunno how to handle newborn.. she bathed a 5 day old baby as tho he was 5m old - handle him rough.

VAlencia, u so good...for this preggy my A cup still A...sianz didn't even seem to grow any bit more except more filled. Still can wear the same bra with no extender. haahaa...let's see how well it perform this time.

Bebe, must drink water. SEriously I was told can only drink red date water but when I had no.1, my MIL didn't cook enough and used 1 batch to recook throughout the day. End up like drink just flavoured water. So I just kept drinking warm water or milk or milo.

BF
Agree with all mommies. Really not easy especially ppl keep hounding u to say bb not full, keep crying. I did buy 1 tin of FM to standby but insisted on not using it. Cracked nipple but put on nipple cream (palmers or medela purelan good). Otherwise always rem to smear ur bm on ur nipple after finish bf coz it helps.

Burping
I think depends on baby. Mine if I try to burp for 5 min and nothing, I will forget it. Heehee..thank God also she doesn't regurgitate milk so ok.

Qn for 2nd time mommies...
Do we need to bring along nursing bra & breast pads to hospital? Can we still wear normal bra?I heard BM will only start during 3rd day onwards? The first milk will be colostrum right? Even if we opt for total BFing but low or no supply during first few days, we can still latch baby on? Will baby reject since no BM?

babe,
my MIL worst lor, she didnt cook anything for me at all. Only my mum kept nagging me to go hm to eat bird nest n tonic cos i tell her MIL didnt make any for me. But everyday work, go back still got to take care of my dog then a bit housework, where got the energy to go hm.

i v sian to put nipple cream coz means that i gotto walk around topless.

After hiding in the room bf for so long, i want to sit in living room ma.

steph
bring nursing bra better. standby breast pads, u nvr know when u'll start leaking. bb born got suckling instinct. he will use u as a pacifier
he may cry if he's hungry tho. So c if u wanna leave him hungry and let him cry or give in when the nurses suggest FM.
my suggestion is to make the most of your hosp stay to learn how to latch on correctly, different holds etc. baby can survive first few days with just colustrum. They can afford to lose up to 10% of their birth weight for the initial week. And pray that no jaundice. And also pray that your milk comes in fast & furious to quell all those nosy elders who insist on FM.

thks wendyg
ok die die will try & learn to latch on correctly b4 discharge from hospital. If baby gets too hungry & cranky, i wont reject the idea to give FM...perhaps partial BF lol.

Btw, at the delivery suite, beside gynae, our hubby, there will oso be a midwife right? TMC will have a midwife during our labour?

wendyg,
Oh, no more already? Ok, I only know Bee Dees cos during school days, it was so "hip". LOL~

michelle,
But after the bfing, u can juz stare at the Cup C bra and "boo ho ho"

babe,
U put on v little weight izzit? Don even bra extension? I am v surprise.

steph,
Yes, you may need to bring ur nursing bra along but not breast pads yet cos milk wont come yet. First few days, juz feed colostrum. Thats what ur bb require only. Actually, now our breast already got the colostrum. Maybe u nv notice. Tonight u see. Mine these few days start to drip liao.

steph
Tat tiny bit of colostrum is enough for baby for the first 2 days. Their stomaches v small only. You need to let bb latch on, if you dun, bb dun get the goodness of the colostrum, and by the time your BM come in, your bb can't latch, good luck liao, you will engorage until v v pain. Many pple I know who wants to fully breastfeed, will feed baby every 2 to 3 hours, even in the hosp. Forget abt wat the old grannies say, no milk, bb hungry, give FM. By then you will say you no ss, can't bf. But of cos if you dun wan to bf, then forget it, tell doc give you med, stop the milk from coming in, and just give FM lor. I struggled v hard to bf, cos my baby couldn't latch in the first week, bite and chew my nipples until bleed. But I persevere on, every 2 hours I cringe when I let her latch on, damn pain.

Val
You suffer like me. I oso slept 4 to 5 hours broken sleep, almost went into depression. And I was on my own, have to look after bb, cook, wash the bottles, wake up to pump and sterilise... But like you, I persevere on. But of cos I know pple who thinks sleep more impt, want good sleep, 12 to 6pm at least, then night feed give FM lor. In this way no ss, then will say oh, they dun have milk lor. In the end only give FM. But dd=ss, I think not many pple will understand.

mom2nat
even if night feed give FM, still shld wake up 3am to pump hor. I remembered 1 night i slept 6hr, felt so shiok, but the boobies like ROCKS coz so engorged.. and leaking all over the place... oops.

mon2nat,
EXACTLY!!! Then when tell them abt the dd=ss theory, they think u "farting" away. LOL~ Ay, dont forget in the first place, we are not so blessed to have "easy" bb.

yo, i am here....

still on leave since thur`and will only return to office on wed

my boy turned two last sat and tomorrow my birthday, so we took a few days leave for some quality time. My boy really happy these days. So, come wed when we return work, MIL will have a hard time cos he will become cranky for sure...heehee

kitsune, your OGTT should be fine cos if abnormal result, SOP is they will call you...heehee

these days i ate a lot of sweet stuff so on wed, shall control diet again....

dunno whether i gain any weight...haha

when do we buy nursing bras? now in third trimester, can start to buy already right? don't think will increase in size anymore? or should up 1 size coz during BF still will increase? *confused*

anyone knows this brand diaper? I found it is selling 10$each, and would like to get it. Dont know whether it is easy to use or not.
1067796.jpg

My OGTT costs $40.

Icy,
Like you, I also have GD but after 2 weeks of pricking fingers, can finally see the light at the end of the dark tunnel. Now no need to poke daily, only twice a week for monitoring purposes. Initially, like you, I'm also quite low morale and depressed but after a few days, it's easier to get used to it. I realized I can eat pasta, wholemeal and multi grain bread, brown rice etc. So it's not that bad. Funny thing is cannot eat bee hoon, fried or not fried and vegetarian food. I can even take ice-cream. So it all depends on individual.

I'm also very grateful to Mom2Nat and eRnMum for encouraging me over this period with advises and suggestions on the thread so I hope you know we're all here for you. Let me know if you have further doubts ok?

Anyone knows what is Strep B and how it affects delivery? Doc suspects I might have vaginal infection or Strep B as these 2 days got bad menses-like cramps.

Mom2nat & valencia,

If possible, i wouldn't want to give in to partial BF or FM. I will persevere on & insist on TBF. Afterall, i will remind myself the dd=ss theory

valencia,
yr colostrum starts to kick in so early? What is the color of the first milk? yellow-gold in color? I only noticed some discharge on the nipple area, very light pale brown (dry flake) when u try to peel it off the nipple...not sure if u understand what i mean

Mom2nat & val, yes yes that time with no.1 really going into depression. Keep crying even in front of my IL. So tired and like mom2nat had to wash bottles, sterilise to pump. Coz I was so desperate to get more milk out, bf liao still pump. One stage my hb thot I crazy keep pumping and tell me stop and forget abt bf if so hard. Haha....but after that I was ok.

Val, ya loh...I so sad breast not any bigger asider from fuller. Or coz I am already wearing my nursing bra. Put on 8kg already, dun think very little lehz...Btw, colostrum dun come in so early right?

VioletIce, ur gynae shld give u antibiotics for strep B. It affects bb when it comes out through the vagina and can be dangerous. Your gynae should take ur urine to do a tissue culture. I had that at 12 or 16 weeks and after antibiotics it cleared. Strep B has no symptoms one unlike fungal infection that will be itchy and have chessy mucus.

Colostrum
It's pale yellow. Will only come in after delivery. Your gynae/nurse will chk you before bb bf. My gynae squeezed and showed me and by 2nd or 3rd day she showed me the milk.

Steph, what u seeing probably is some dead skin and ur nipples getting ready for milking. You can just remove that by lightly 'scratching' abit.

Breast massage
Gals, rem to start massaging your breast from 36 weeks onwards to help with breastfeeding. That was what my gynae taught me for no.1

steph,
thanks! sounds great with all the matching bedsheet/pillow cases... the weight shld be just nice ba? my fren told me to get ard 200 gm one, say it's not too heavy and not too light.

steph,
Yah, I also heard a lot of bad things abt CL. My friends (from china, now PR) who are due in Dec and Feb, are hiring people from China thro agent (ard $2k).. where they say were well trained with babies by professor and includes adult and baby massage. Dunno if they are really that good. Well, will get to know when my first friend do her confinement bah.

violetice,
Thanks. :D I should get able to get more details when I see the dietitian tomorrow. I was quite depressed becos hb flying to bkk today.. now alone with mil and sil.. so sian. :p

icy,
my hubby also flying to bkk tmr for work and won't be back till sat, so sian too. i warned him not to travel from Dec onwards, he only say "i try" sickening leh.

babe,
For colostrum, I think its individual thingy. For my 1st pregnancy, it came in as early as I was 4mths+ preg. Really freak out. Imagine waking up early in the morning and find breast area one patch wet. And when ard 8 mths, drip like hell whenever I wanna bath. But this time round, only drip a little these few days.

steph77,
The brownish dry flake may be the skin. But when u try scratching it off, u may see some of the colostrum. But, rememeber dont try to squeeze it. May cause contraction.

Luvv,
Same same, hb fly tonight cos he cant get the air tix for tomorrow morning. Also coming back only on sat morning because friday evening no flight. Then another 3 more days, he will fly back to Japan.. *faint*. Will have to wait 1 mth before he come back sg again to stay ard for 1-2 mths.

icy,
oh going back to japan for one month, then he's coming back only nearer to your edd? Seems like you got to settle all the baby stuff on your own. Better get someone to go with you to carry them or so.

shannonbaby can I have a copy too???

mylife i try lah cos hor i dun trust men to do cleaning kekeke ...... my chair quite sturdy so quite ok i climb only when he is ard

Michelle, ya my MIL quite modern I think, compared to my mum who use FM, never BF. Nowadays she makes red date tea and even bird nest soup for us cos told her we tried to make it but very sour (bought those red dates without seeds that's why). FIL will even bring over food, bread & red date tea to us occasionally so we are very lucky.

eRnMum, that's good news. I hope so my results are ok, I don't have a sweet tooth so won't really miss sweet foods but will really miss my sugar cane juice. ;P

Babe, will remember to massage my breasts as advised. I'm not wei-da type at all so need all the help I can get to BF. Hee. :p

I also have the clear liquid thingy if I scratch my nipples so confirm it's colostrum is it? That's a relief.

Hi Luvv,

Went fot gynae check up, they used the GTS or was it GBS machine to monitor baby's heartbeat and contractions but it wasn't. In the end, took a vagina culture test and sent for lab test. Will only know in 3 days time.

Deerdeer, I have that sometimes, can feel like a hard ball on one side of tummy, thought it's my BB making somersaults. Some mummies say it may be brackton hicks contractions but I can't differentiate. :p

I feel mine like hard ball quit often, feel like bb pressing against my diaphragm. So difficult to breathe or sit leaning slightly fwd. Dunno y like that. Then this afternoon feel like bb heading st down at the bottom..

Wow val, u must have abundant supply!