(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Babe,
My intention is tp to let bb sleep in a cot in my MBR in can squeese cot in beside my bed.. Once after 6 mths.. will sleep in the nexy adjoinging rooom lor.. My hubby suggested to get this bb wakie takie from Philips one- put at bb cot and one at our side so that we can hear him easier when we are in diffrent rms.. IS this gd and effective?

Re Navel popp out-
Mine is getting smaller... but not yet popp lor.. Haz.. will see how in the next week few weeks lor.

RE- comfortor in cot.. Isit ok to put comfortor there or better to remove it at new born age... just fitted sheet enough? then what should be used to keep bb warm. Me also got fleece sheet.. but heard that causes allergy in new born so me decided to keep that for the time being lor.

Ah Capp,
I only bought that one book cos I read the other two before... Can actually rent from the library...haha.... childcare one gd to invest as keep for fture use thats why I got it lor.

mom2nat
hmm...since me SAHM...will definitely try to aim for that..ie putting baby to sleep at about 8pm. but then again, hubby knocks off around dat hour too...so, he definitely be the "bu she de" one cos when he comes home, he would also wan to have some bonding time with baby...

thanks mei...do count me in for the pillow ordering yah!

Can I check is it advisable for new born.. to sleep on comfotors huh? Me got two sets of bb cot set..which incl. bumpers, fitted sheet and comfortor thingy.. wondering if its ok to put bb on comfortor set.. Hope it wun cover face lor.. just a tot?

<font color="0077aa">hi AhCapp & Fern,

yup i sure do enjoyed the pre-natal class by Mrs Wong but hubby find the 3rd & 4th lesson a bit boring...3rd lesson was more on revision for the antenatal exercises & 4th lesson on handling the plastic baby (how to swaddle, bath & hold/carry the baby etc...)
Anyway, we (our session) didn't managed to get/buy any swaddle cloth cos it was out of stock. Arrival of new stock will be KIV, must call parent craft to check availability wor

We only bought 2 towel ($9/pc) very ex but Mrs Wong claim that the towel is the best towel she source for TMC & gd for baby since it won't fluff & mould!
I didn't buy the 3 books cos my colleague has it & she can lend it to me
save $ lol.</font>

mommies

can i ask for those who are experienced in Breastfeeding, does your nipple bleed for the 1st few days? I heard from a fren, hers did and was recommended to apply some nipple cream and also to use breast shield...where to get these? Wat brand of nipple cream and how to use it? So fearful...dunno can BF smoothly or not...shud i buy FM to standby?

Morning everyone,

Mei, I went to the Avent seminar last sat. Only got free MummyPoko diapers and the book written by Mrs Wong BB about breastfeeding which i find it very useful.
The talk was very informative, esp Mrs Wong..

<font color="aa00aa">mylife, Avent has nipple shield. = ). Mine bleed cos' i over-pump. but after putting the cream, it feels better. try to see if u can before u discharge from hospital, get some formula milk from nursery to standby.

shannonbaby, hmm...is it convenient for me to make a copy of breastfeed book?? is it very thick? or like a booklet form? no avent vouchers ah? got philips voucher boh?

last importantly, is the good yummy!? haha...</font>

Mei,

Sure. no prob. The book is not very thick. For those who wants the breastfeeding book, maybe I can help u gals to photocopy and bring along during the gathering...

No avent vouchers. In fact, the promo is not very attractive. only 20% discount, which is similar to robinson sale etc.

HI!
Re Philips yellow colour walkie takie

Can I check is this useful to get? Esp if wana put bb in another room. THis is to monitor bb cries etc... when the parents in the MBR for safety reason.. Is this brand gd or is anything better or more recommened?

Pls avise?
Fern

<font color="aa00aa">Fern, u also looking at this? me also looking for the Philips Baby Monitor...there are other brands eg. pigeon. chicco (spelling).</font>

mylife
oh.. BFing is definitely not easy! i think a lot of mommies experience sore, cracked, bleeding nipples in the intial few wks! pain like hell $@#$%$@#! i dont mean to scare u, but i think the more mentally prepared u r, the more successful u will be at BFing. it's not as simple as it looks. so u definitely shd standby a tube of nipple cream to apply after each BF session. i was using the medela lanolin cream and it helped a lot! as for buying FM to standby, i guess i'm that type that if it's so easily available, i wont perservere with my BF attemps, so i'd rather not buy it at all. like this i will do my very very best b4 i really give up. but trust me, once u have established BFing and u get into 'rhythm' wif ur bb, the efforts are very very worthwhile. there is no experience like BFing your bb
i only managed to latch my boy on when he was about 3 mths old (even this was a miracle cos by that age, most bb wont latch if they r used to the bottle), but the i enjoyed every single moment of it!

comforters/blankets
as it's not advisable to use comforter or blankets for newborn due to SIDS risk, u can consider uing sleeping bags. i used Grobag for my boy since he was born. http://www.gro-group.co.uk/grobag/brands/babysleepingbags/ definitely no risk of suffocation and he wont be cold either! there are a lot of brands out there, so just choose whichever fits your budget
even until today, i'm still using grobag for my boy. of course, gotta buy different size one lah.

doing housework
mommies, pls all be very very careful when u do housework ok? i know some of us got no choice, still have to do housework (like me yday wash toilet oso) but be extra careful lor. however, i wont climb up or down on chair cos now our balance is kinda off due to the extra weight we're carrying in front, so climbing is definitely out of the qn! too dangerous lah... get hubby or someone else to do the climbing ok?

fern
i hv the yellow philips bb monitor. no complaints about it cos it is quite sensitive and can pick up baby's cries
if u r heavy sleeper, u can turn the volume of the one in your room until very very loud so u sure can hear one! haha

mylife,

my sister was using the Avent Moisturising Nipple Cream & she say it's good to help ease sore/cracked nipple.
Anyway, Mrs Wong did mentioned during her last lesson that if we find ourselves struggle with sore/cracked/bleeding nipple, engorgement, blocked ducts & problems with breastfeeding issues, always seek LC help so that proper remedy action can be carry out to successful BFing yr bb

steph
the pillow u bot is lovely! i hvnt seen anything like that in melbourne tho...
if hv i sure buy one! hee hee

icy
sorry to hear about your OGTT results. think u just need to monitor your diet and everything shd be fine. i know lots of MTB who have GD too but babies are all fine
as for MIL, definitely got conflicting ideas one. most impt just do what u feel comfy with. dont hv to listen to them all the time cos they are fr different generation and tend to do/handle things differently.

deer
if u r looking for diaper brands, u should try nepia. its the best i've come across (at least for my son lah). too bad they dont have it here else i will continue using it. u can even get it delivered to your house (min must buy 4 packs tho). but go and try 1 out first - they sell this at ntuc. if u like it, then call them to order thro the phone
b4 my bb arrived, i oso planned to use cloth diapers cos i tot can save a lot of $$. but after that, i realised i was so busy no time for anything! where got time to wash diapers!?!

mylife
oh yeah now that steph has mentioned about blocked ducts, yes, pls contact your LC early if u have that, or engorgement or any other issues, so that they can help remedy the situation. sore/cracked nipples are usually associated with wrong latching positions, but it's so common! of all my frens who have breastfed, i think only 1 didnt experience this cos her baby latched on perfectly. it's like a miracle!

<font color="aa00aa">michelle, u in australia, right?</font>

<font color="ff0000">Jan-08 Mummies Gathering #2</font>
counting down 1 more month before the gathering. so where we eating? got gift exchange?

michelle,
Yah.. my hb just confiscated my chocolates and sweets. :p I am more concern abt baby's health and the complication that it might result. For the time being, i just cut down my sugar.

I think i can expect more conflict soon.. since my mil doing confinement for me.

re:cord banking
I remember some mummies took private cordbanking here. I know there is 2 private cord bank, Stemcord and Cordlife. Cant see much information abt stemcord on their website, especially on payment, anyone can share some info with me?

icy,
don't worry too much about the conflicts during confinement now since it's not here yet, just stay positive and be happy - good for you and baby.

I think besides sugar, got to cut down on carbo, cos carbo converts into sugar.

mei
yup - i'm in melbourne. so cant join u all for the gathering...

icy
it's not only sweet stuff u gotta cut down on. u need to monitor your intake of carbohydrates too cos that also converts to sugar. my OGTT show i'm on the borderline of normal, so my gynae oso told me to watch my carbo intake. tmr gotta do urine test again. if no gd, then i have to be on strict diet! cross my fingers hope i'll be able to pull thro :p

Hi Michelle,
But I already got two fiited sheet and comfortor set for my darling.. How? If not advisable to use in newborn? WUn it be wasted? Is sleeping bag necessary? Doubt its cheap as well?

RE- Philips monitor (Yellow one)
Ya.. since many of you say its gd and useful, I might get this.. Where got gd sales for this thing huh? FOr this is second hand ok? just a tot?

mylife,
Juz sharing base on my experience. Bfing is definately not easy. But I am sure you can do a good job if u r mentally prepared and well read enough. Juz keep reminding yourself, its juz a phase. After that, everything will be a breeze. Cracked, sore, bleeding many times are due to improper latch on, excessive latch on (bb juz love to suckle. For comfort reason) or pumping. So, nipple cream may be handy. But our milk itself got healing properties also. You may dab some of the milk and allows it to dry. It do helps. As for nipple shield, I personally find it so "plastic" Hehe... Its like sucking fm teat. Unless condition really "jia lat". Otherwise, dont see the need. For FM, its something that can get it v conv. So, dont bother to standby. And with FM ard, there is a tendency that first time mummy lack of confident in bfing and when some I so call "ignorant" ppl ard and tell u "aiyoo...u got not enff milk, so tats y ur bb is crying" and u got diff pacifying ur bb, u at ur wit end and feed FM to ur bb. There goes ur bfing and introduction of bottle and FM. When I delivered my #1, I kept crying cos I juz kept latching on and deprive from sleep v v v badly. One day only sleep for 4-5 hrs. And this 4-5 hrs are "broken up sleep". Almost gave up bfing. Luckily, my hb was v supportive over bfing and told me many woman manage to bf their kids and no one else can replace the role of "cow" to our child. Thats y I am "special". So hang on!!!

So do we need to buy the nipple cream before we deliver? Just in case we need it during confinement. Any good brand to recommend?

Luvv & michelle,
woah.. ok. The nurse called me and I will see the dietitian tomorrow morning. See what else he can advise.

bebe,
I eating brown rice for lunch already.. haha.. My OGTT cost $32.10. Jiayou le.. i find the drink okie becos it was orange flavoured... and I dun find it very sweet, perhaps because i always had sweet tooth... (which also explain why I failed my OGTT)

valencia/michelle
thanks sooo much for the explanation. I guess i WILL persevere and not standby any FM...cos i guess if it's there..tendency is u will give up and use it. Sigh...will cross the bridge when it comes bah.

re: Baby monitor
Anything good? Is philips one good? wats the model? is it necessary to buy one?

Another question...is it true we shud avoid eating too much chocolate? My fren told me it can cause ezema (skin problem) to the baby if we eat too much chocolates during pregnancy? true or mth? Me got craving for chocolates...esp dark ones!

Anyone here feel sudden breathless and heatbeat is very fast sometime vomit will come afer. I often experience this dunno if this is normal.

valencia
that was very well written
i had a really difficult time too and i must congratulate u on being so successful! i know wat u mean by pple around u saying "aiyah bb so hungry tat's y cry so loud - your milk not enuf.. give FM lah" . till this day, i am still very angry at myself for giving in to all these comments. that's y i gave my son the bottle and he refused to latch on anymore till he was 3 mths old (which was a real bonus to me). all that pain and frustration! that's y this time round with #2, i will be stubborn and not listen to anyone anymore! just ask them to go away... and some more everytime i try to breastfeed #1, there's like 2 or 3 pairs of eyes all staring at me. i need my privacy!!! now mus tbe thickskin ask them to go away :p

fern
u can always use the stuff u bot when the bb is older. dont have to throw away mah! once they are able to turn their own head away, it's safe to use those comforter liao
sleeping bags prices depends on what brand u get. that's y i mention go shop around and see what u r comfy with! FYI, my bb monitor is also 2nd hand one. i find it works just as well!

err...btw, is it a must/SOP for everyone to go thru OGTT or only those who have protein detected in their urine during the monthly chkup?

jacelyn
wah breathless n vomitting? sounds quite serious. think u shd call ur gynae and ask! i dont hv such experience... yes, i think it'll be gd idea to standby the nipple cream first, cos by the time bb come out, you'll be so overwhelmed with everything, i doubt u have time or energy to go shopping for these things!

mylife
yes, do perservere cos the rewards are indescribable
anyway i had a lot of support fr this forum during those horrible days, so do remember to come back here and we'll all support each other and pull thro together ok? :D

i never heard about eating too much chocolate causing eczema leh...

jacelyn,
I will feel breathless and fast heartbeat normally during my first try to lie down on bed to sleep.. My hb will have to help me up again so that I wont be panting away. The vomit won't come but I sometimes need to burp to feel better.

michelle,
why people wanna stare at you when you are breastfeeding ah??

mylife,
It is not a must. Normally, they will ask u to go only if they detect high glucose in ur blood/urine.

icy,

i can understand how u feel abt MIL doing confinement. My MIL volunteer to do confinement for me & this is the first time she will be moving in our hse & stay with hubby & me. Suddenly, the hse got 2 more pple (MIL & newborn baby) dunno whether can adjust...scare got conflicts with MIL & scare dunno can cope with baby demand/needs, BFing issue, post-natal blues etc... BUT i always tell myself to stay positive, no matter what happens, there is always LC to reach out for, hubby, friends & Jan08 all mums in the forum to seek support & help.
By the way, is yr MIL the traditional type that forbid u to bath or anti-BF (prefer to give FM)? If yes, do discuss this issue in advance & let her know yr preference to avoid any conflicts later. I even discuss with my MIL about catering confinement food cos i scare she will be tired out looking aft bb, cooking, washing etc.. & wanna lighten her load but she say she can handle & ask me not to worry.

icy
well there was my mom, MIL and i think the maid occasionally, cos all very kancheong about the bb mah. think they scared i torture the bb! haha

anyway i think our parent's generation all pro-FM one, cos in their time, they were all 'brainwashed' by the media and nurses, drs etc.. that FM was the best you could give your babies. of course things have changed now, and science has found the BM is still the best!

<font color="aa00aa">re: breastfeed
yap, i burp #1 each time i feed her, even now. haha...think used to it liao...

re: names
panic, i haven cfm on the name...</font>

<font color="0077aa">Luvv,

the buckwheat hulls pillow is abt 220 to 250grams bah...not sure le, must go back & check the packaging. There is oso matching design of bolster, comforter, bedsheet & bumpers avail, all from Mamalove range at Kiddy Palace!</font>

michelle,
I must say, only being mummy will understand how a mummy feels. Hehe... And definately, after bfing, I not as shy as b4 to expose my boobs already. Of cos not showing in the public lah. I mean in the nursing room where few other mummies bfing, not so shy being exposed. Especially where my boy gets distracted v easily over the enviroment. Can latch on halfway and when he heard some noise, he will let go and check out whats going on and left my boob "showing off" and milk "spraying" on his face. LOL~
And your qns on burping, yes, still require burping even latch on. I remember when I check out with the nurse when I delivered, she said no need. But I checked with PD, the PD said, still hv to. Which, I believe so. Cos, my boy still burp when I burp him. That shows, got wind lor.

mylife,
Dont know if chocolate got anything to do with ezema. But I know ezema, allergy (nose/skin), sensititive (nose/skin) all belongs to the same family and are genetic. ie if one parent got such problem, the chance of the child having it is 25%. So, both myself and hb got v sensitive nose. The chances of my son getting is higher by 50%. And true enough, he got sensitive nose and ezema around his arms fold and back of his knees. My suggestion to you is "juz eat whatever you like. BUT, in moderation. Must enjoy the pregnancy process. Eating a bar of chocolate is not a life or death issue. LOL~"

Jacelyn,

Breathless, fast heartbeat, vomit?? Sounds jialiat...must seek gynae/doc for advise.
i only experienced heartburn & breathless if i had heavy meals & during night time when i lie down to sleep, i felt burning sensation in the chest and throat, the sour & acidic taste in the mouth aka acid reflux...very xin ku

valencia
hahah :D reading your sentence "he will let go and check out whats going on and left my boob "showing off" and milk "spraying" on his face" reminds me of myself when i did manage to latch my son on when he 3 mths old! so funny to know this is common hee hee :D n u r rite... me also not so shy about exposing boob anymore ;) here in melbourne lagi open.. u can see mothers breastfeeding their bb anywhere, like on the bench in crowded shopping areas. nobody even cares :p