(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

bebe: Yes, wherever the baby comes out, they shave.

michelle
wow so no confinement food for u? will u be observing any confinement practices, eg stay at home whole month, avoid wind, wear long sleeves/ pants etc? Your ILs the particular type?

HI Steph,
THose are quite cute and gd buys PJ.

Is the quality cooling kind... maybe me can get some... personally, i prefer dress to 2 pc bermudas kind...any of these kinds there?

But for me.. I am used to wearing silk and satin night wear even up to now.. and only used to either sleeveess or spagetti.. haha.. so dun know how to get used to all these long sleeved stuf.. I have one 100percent silk teddy bear fully collared 3 quarter sleeved nightie.. not bad and cooling.. but without aircon.. dun know how.. think gd for hospital stay since that two days.. still got aircon rite? And fully buttoned ones easier for breastfeeding too..according to Mrs Wong.

Think I still prefer silk to cotton.. as not too hot.. but think i need to get a few night dresses maybe short sleeved or sleeves would be ok.. since me do not plan to on aircon or fan... heard confinment lady say fan must put far away and rotate if bobian.. and ask me wear socks! Faint! SHe mentioned that bedroom silippers also ok as an alternative when walking around... haha.. I got a pair of comfy 100 percent cotton.. think this is gd enough lor.

Hmm..freezing ebm??!!? Apparently, my boy doesnt like frozen milk. He prefers those chilled and not forzen. In the end, I threw away all the frozen milk and only feed him those "fresh" one. Anyway, if can afford I dont see any reason to give frozen one when the anitbodies would be killed.

valencia
frozen ebm better than FM. Freeze just in case i fell sick & doc advise pump & throw due to medication, also in case i couldn't keep up my pumping in offc to meet his requirements, amongst other reasons.

valencia
yes.. some babies do acquire a taste only for ebm stored in the fridge and reject those frozen ones. however, i had to resort to freezing cos the supply was more than the demand n since u can only keep ebm for a few days in the fridge, i had to start freezing them to prolong the shelf life. so whenever i see the ebm in the fridge is goin to expire, i quickly trf it to the freezer, but my son still gets all his ebm fr the fridge
and like what wendyg mention, it's gd for emergency! also, it's a gd way to prolong giving your bb BM over FM, cos once u stop expressing, the bb can still take all the stock of frozen ebm that u have accumulated before starting on FM!

wendyg
still have confinement food lah - my mother in law will prepare some simple, standard ones. but i think this time around i will bathe! cos the last time i didnt n i almost died cos it was so uncomfy. some more this time when i deliver it will be summer and can be as hot as 40degrees! tell me how to dun bathe?!? i think the long sleeve/pants also out of the question... hee hee. so how old is your 1st born?

mylife
I am looking at perhaps both long(1) and short(2) sleves tops with sets full long pants. If you happened to be there, then can help me buy. No need to make additional trip.. just buy if u are there. Those sweet sweet cartoon, I like. :p

Thank you very muchie. :D

wendyg & michelle,
I do freeze whatever in excess of his required. For "just in case" reason. But not day to day consumption. Frozen BM is better than FM but chilled is better than frozen BM. My point is, if can give the "fresher" one, y not? I thought its not encourage to chill then freeze? Correct me if I am wrong.

<font color="aa00aa">i wondering if I shld get a freezer cos' sure need to store up food, esp CNY coming... what abt ur???</font>

<font color="0077aa">gerger66,
Re: wall tiles
Each tile cost $4.50, if qty order more than 7pcs, each cost $3.90, if order more than 20pcs, each cost $3.70</font>

Fern,
The material of the PJs are not really 100% cotton but i think they r comfy enuff as i've try to wear them olready...quite airy le

michelle,
your supply is really good! Which pump are you using?

icy,
Welcome back!

Steph,
Are those ceramic tiles? meaning will crack when dropped?

Re:pJ
I only have 2 front-button dresses and my hubby's white linen shirt for hospital use. When at home, I wear normal t-shirt and shorts wor.. personally i find it troublesome to wear pj when breastfeeding at home cos i perspire a lot. my whole body was sticky and smelly. I just take out the whole shirt, clean up a bit and feed in room with air-con on. I don't bf in front of anyone though. at night when i sleep, i put on track pants if it was cold. to me, hygiene and personal well-being/comfort is more important then tradition wor..

<font color="ff0000">Re: Chilled Vs Frozen BM

How long can we store/keep chilled BM and Frozen BM ?
valencia asked a gd question, "encourage to chill then freeze or straight away freeze BM after we have pump into VIA cups/bottles/milkbags"?</font>

<font color="0077aa">fishia,
the wall tiles are make of white stylofoam...very lightweight, use blue tag can stick tiles to the wall, no nails or hammering at all
child friendly "safety"</font>

valencia
i latch on whenever i can. if not, then chilled ebm. o'wise frozen ebm. last resort = FM.

violet
i suggest start off with the glass bottles supplied by hosp nursery since they're FOC. If u confirmed can bf for some time, then invest in VIA set.

<font color="aa00aa">wendy, if use the glass bottles supplied by hosp nursery, then nid to buy the cover/caps right?

violetIce, if u dun wanna buy the Via cups now, perhaps u can get some milk bags to standby first just in case.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">i gg avent showrm on 29Nov to buy spare parts for my avent pump. anyone wana "tongpang" me buy anything for them? can pass to u when we meet up on 12-12</font>

fishia
i got the medela pump in style. really a life saver cos i'd never have made it if i didnt have that pump! u take off your whole shirt in aircon room to BF?! even during confinement? wont catch cold meh??!

steph
ebm in fridge can last at most 3 days. if frozen, can keep up to 3 mths. if u can, latch direct is the best, otherwise give chilled ebm to your baby instead of frozen one. freeze only when u have to much chilled ebm and baby cannot consume before the 3 day expiry period!

wendyg
so you latch bb on directly for the 1st few mths rite? did u still have to express during this period?

mei
yes need to get screw caps & sealing discs. Milk bags also can but take care when transferring from bottle to bag & vice versa.
What time u going to Avent showroom? I can join u if lunchtime.

michelle
i latch on until he grew his top teeth which was abt 10m. Coz i suspected his latch position wasn't right in the first place, which caused me sore nipples etc. So i got used to his incorrect latch as long as he didn't hv teeth. Once his top teeth came in, it hurt even tho he wasn't biting. So i stopped latching on & only pumped. Before long dried up liao.
First few months, to increase supply, i latched & pumped also. Dun ask me how i did it, coz i absolutely forgot. I was a zombie during those days.

mei,
Avent is now located in toa payoh philips is it? do you have their number?

btw, does anyone know if the avent bottle liner is still available in the market? at one point it wasn't cos there were complaints abt leakage.

<font color="aa00aa">wendy, me gg ard 3plus with HB and #1. oh yes, i better call avent to check their operating hours. hee...

for milk bags, i can pump directly INTO the milk bag, called the Avent Nurser. but dun think mkt sell now.</font>

haha :D zombie... i can certainly identify with that! imagine i had to wake up every 2-3 hrs to accompany my 'boyfriend' then, ie the pump! at least when u latch its more rewarding cos the bb is with u
for me, pump oredi then still gotta bottle feed the bb.. then must wash all the bottles. wah sian man!

fishia
i've got avent liners, i dun think i'll use, i can let go to u. Discuss via PM hor.

mei
do u feed directly fr the Nurser also? After thawing/ warming up.

<font color="aa00aa">fishia, avent no selling sell the avent bottle liner but i see some shopping centre sells the remaining balance stocks. avent liners leak, that's why they come up with VIA cups.

i think the number is 6882 3999.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">wendyg, nope i dun feed directly from the Nurser.

fishia, some mummies is selling the avent bags in WTS section.</font>

mei,
thanks... i heard it leaks after i stopped bf. thought that was manufacture defect for that particular batch. those i bought in the past were all okay. i'll buy lansinoh milkbag then..

<font color="aa00aa">i see, i have problems with some bags that I bought. in the end, i switch to Gerber cos' i find it move convenient. just zip and go. haha</font>

i got a friend whose family runs a coffee shop. Her SIL and herself both use those coffee plastic bag to store ebm. and both babies ok and chubby wor.. she offered me some but i dun dare to try leh... kekeke...

<font color="aa00aa">Avent liners is cheapest, cos' it does not have the seal function mah

but i think prices are better now compared to 2 years ago, at least MORE choices now.</font>

wendyg,
i'm refering to those proper milk bags. not avent liners... avent liner much cheaper lor. 100bags for less than $10 during sales?? can't remember... hmmm.. maybe other brands also have liner? will check it out...

mei
a lot. Maybe 30+

fishia
ya hv to differentiate btwn milk bags & liners. So u still want the Avent liners anot? I hv some ley. I PM u liao

<font color="aa00aa">fishia, think other milk bags i saw, other than Gerber, are pigeon, first few years, medela, lansinosh...

waiting for 5pm. i can go off. gg to see #2 tonite! hee...</font>

fishia
i dun care, i use exceed 4 times. avent saleslady told me as long as dun go out of shape means can still screw lids tight, can continue using.

mei
hey that's good to know, thanks for sharing that 100 times tip!

i hv less space in freezer now as compared to #1. So the pressure is on to keep producing enuf fresh milk so that dun need to keep too much stock lor. Maybe i can borrow my neighbour's freezer, but she due 1 month before me... cham ah.