(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Re pampers vs cloth nappies

Can I check with you how many of you guys are still using cloth nappies instead of papmers. Heard nappies are better as would not cause allergy on bb tender skin? Meaning we wash and dry those and also need not use too much pamper except when gtg out for convience sake. THats what I hear old pple share lor. Is that better?
Its also a good thing since it would save more $ from buying pampers right? Can you guys share your views too?

new born poo almost every 2-3 hours....so what you think leh? YOu need to soak the nappy before you can wash and must separate out leh.

but if you have someone to help you wash then mayb ok lor

Good morning ladies. Heard from a few experienced mummies that their breast size shrink afetr they breast feed! I am quite scared by these comments. Is there any mummies here have the same experience?

for me, they sagged, a bit floppy, not as perky as before. Be diligent to do the exercises that Mrs Wong teaches. And maybe pushups also.

My husband will make me do handstands soon.

actually i read that it's PREGNANCIES that will cause the breasts to sag, not bfg.

from C cup to B cup. One fine day will get A*, yey

actually when u're still bfg u wouldn't notice it coz your boobs will be HUGE. it's only after i stopped bfg.. milk production stopped, then i noticed how sorry they looked.

i came across a blog where all entries were by moms with saggy boobs, tummies "scarred" by stretchmarks etc. They posted pics of themselves. Some really look terrible, but all of them received encouraging comments that their bodies were beautiful to be able to bear & nourish XX children etc. When i find it again i'll post the link here.

I wanted to show it to my husband so that he would appreciate me a bit more, but he doesn't want to see it! *sigh*

Oh yes. Boobs definately smaller. Told my hb that after this round, I dont have to wear bra anymore. Singlet will do the job. LOL~ So I must cherish THIS moment NOW. My whole tummy, boobs, backside, inner tighs all full of stetchmarks though I started applying the cream diligently. So this time round, I juz apply to keep the skin not so dry only. And the skin now look even more scary as compared to #1 time. I very counsious when I wear my top after I delivered #1. Always ensure I wont expose my tummy no matter how I stretch up. Look juz like "wu hua rou". Hehe....

valencia
yours that bad ah? The stretchmarks on my stomach (below belly button) faded after a while. Became silvery lines. But i still don't expose stomach.. scared stomachache

Hi, Blackbatz,
I was quoted $2500 if my Confinement cross over CNY but I have to let my CL go back M'sia for the 3 days fr CNY eve leh. If my confinement ends before CNY, she will charge $1800. I got this quote 5 months ago.

Hi MTBs,

Just came back from my Gestational Diabetic test but results will only be available next Monday as lab is closed for half day today. Really tiring, the nurse didn't know how to take blood test, poked the needle in me and kept jerking about, then I noticed no blood came out. In the end, she called for her senior, asking for help and the senior immediately pulled the needle out of my arm. *shakes head* Have to repeat poking to get blood, then the first nurse complained I have small veins! Ridiculous. I told her I never had any problems with blood tests with other nurses before.

Gynae commented my baby got big head which initially got me worried for a while, then he said it's only a little bigger, no need to worry. Baby's currently weighing at 1.3 kg and I'm in my 28th weeks. However, baby's size is about 29th wks plus. My EDD was 11th Jan, now it's changed to 31st Dec.

Thanks gals. Looks like my CL is a slaughter king. She quoted $3.6K initially, then brought down to $3K. But I felt that something wasn't quite right.

Violetice, I think the weight is normal. Mine is also around 1.25kg and I'm at the beginning of my 28the week.

Pampers vs diapers.
Cloth diaper need to be a lot more careful when washing cos newborn skin is very senistive. Too much detergent, rashes. Didn't soak properly, also get rashes.
My mum insisted that I use cloth diapers. After 2 days, she gave up cos there wasn't enough place to hang the cloth diaper (she doesn't have a dryer).

In the end, the diapers were used as cleaning towel. She draped it over her shoulder when she burps the baby.

My breasts also shrank after I stopped BF. In fact, it will shrink quite gradually.

BTW, which brand of anti-stretch mark creams are you using?

Re: pampers vs cloth nappies

my mum is a babysitter so she actually given me more than abt 30 pieces of nappies~she told me using nappies can save more money and bb backside wunt be red red...but lucky for me got maid help me wash the nappies if i going to use them..think oki at night and going out den will be using pampers

hey split, my mum used to be a babysitter too, just like your mum. her advise about cloth nappies is same as yours- used in day time. then at night and going out use pampers

Cloth nappies definitely better lah but provided got maid or someone else to help with the washing. If no extra help then will be difficult lor.

I bought a mixture of newborn diapers and clothe nappies
. Guess dont really have to restrict ourselves ba? My house also not much space to hang if baby has to keep changing. So I thought I will use for the first month since got CL to help wash :p

Confinement lady, mine charge me 2.6k, my edd is 28 Jan, so will cross over to CNY. But I found quite late, about last month, so not much of any choice left.

BM vs FM, I was also on FM, so I personally think if I really cant BF my baby, I will not take it too hard la, coz being a mum and a new mum is already quite stressful, if really no choice I also rather concentrate on spending time and bonding with my baby. But if can BF, I will also try, since supposedly will help us lose weight faster
. I will not sleep with baby in the same room during confinement coz I think thats the period we need to build up our strength, so she will sleep with the CL, but I am thinking during the nights I will check on her frequently. But I am quite a heavy sleeper, so my hubby was saying, baby cry maybe I also cannot really hear if we sleep in the same room. I dont mind sleeping in the same room as baby, but I dont think I wanna sleep in same room as CL, since she gg to sleep with baby.

Been putting on quite a fair bit of weight recently, coz my appetite has been very good, now I can feel my tummy getting bigger and heavier and also tighter, sometimes I feel like I am going to explode.

With regards to EDD, when the doc tells us our EDD, would that be at 40th week already? But usually we tend to deliver earlier right?

I think our EDD is not necessarily at 40 weeks. My EDD is at 39 weeks. Our gynae will estimate EDD based on the measurements of our baby during the 1st trimester.

As for weight gain, ever since I cut down on rice intake and switch to wholemeal bread only, I managed to maintain my weight and haven't been putting on more weight since 4 weeks ago. Will see how my baby is growing this coming Wed. He was overwieght during my last checkup...hehe.

Hi, mummies. Just wondering, anyone measured tummy recently? I haven't measured in 1 week plus and suddenly realised my tummy (at belly button) is 36.5 inches. It was fluctuating between 35-35.5 inches for the longest time. No wonder my BB's kicks have been getting more forceful and even painful sometimes. ;P

violet
your gynae told u the EDD changed or u just saw fr the scan machine/ printout? For me, my 1st & current gynaes always like to stick to their initial EDD given to me at wk 8, even tho the scan machine will give varying dates. They say the one at wk 8 is most accurate, so they refuse to revise, even tho 5m detailed scan radiographer gave me earlier date.

re: cloth diapers
1 thing to consider: everyday wash loads of nappies, including our regular clothes, CL's clothes - everything need to hang dry, unless u hv a dryer. Dec/ Jan is still rainy season? Sometimes everyday rain, clothes hv to hang inside. So can't dry fast enuf for the next load, or got damp smell. Also, most times is hang in the kitchen... if CL/ MIL/ mom is preparing yummy confinement food for u, the clothes will smell of the yummy confinement food. Cloth nappies really take up a lot of space to hang... gotto spread them out. 1 bamboo can only hang 3 pieces?

Good Sunday morning ladies,

Was woken by by early Sun morning rain again. My baby was unhappy that I flipped over to my right side in the middle of the night and gave me a shock by kicking me a few times. I woke up in a shock! *LOL*

I went for my checkup yesterday. Baby is about 1kg and I am at my 27weeks + 6 days. My gynae was worried that my tummy was indeed smaller than usual but after taking more measurements of my baby and my tummy using a measuring tape, she think it's because I am tall. So that's why my tummy looks smaller. *LOL* My checkup frequency has been changed to every 2 weeks. Another doc wil be doing another detailed scan during my next visit to check that the bloodflow to my baby is healthy.

I have gained total of 10kg since I am pregnant. Because of my height (1.72m), the weight gain isn't obvious. But I do feel the extra weight sucking up my energy level recently. My gynae was surprised that I walked so fast into her office yesterday. She wants me to slow down and take thing easy. hehehehhe

Confinement over CNY:
My current EDD is still 15/1/08, and my confinement is $2.6K. Was told upfront by my CL that I need to give Angbao before work starts. I understand that this is the "procedure". So with the AngBao added in, I think the overall cost will go up to $2.8K.

BM vs FM:
I personaly feel that there is no right or wrong with whichever choice a mum makes with regards to BM or FM. For me, I will try to breast-feeding. But if really cannot, I will my best try not to take it so hard.

Like angelsky mentioned, being a first time mum is already very stressful. The last thing I want is to break down and fall into post-natal depression because of this.

Thermal flask for red dates tea?
Can I ask are we supposed to get a huge thermal flask for our red dates date during our confinment? Sorry but I didn't know until my MIL asked me about it yesterday. =S

may i join this thread, also a Jan MTB

My confinement nanny quoted me $2200 and i've met up with her to pay her a $100 deposit. She did mention that an ang pow is necessary too, but after the 28-day period rather than before.

If I deliver early, then she charges $1800.

anyone not using cl?my mil tell me to hire a maid to replace the cl den she help to cook those dishes for my confinement..but since my mum is a bbsitter since im very young i more or less know how to take care of newborn..

AhCapp, you mean there is still another detail scan to go? Blood flow? Hmmm, hopefully the blood flow to baby is good, coz the last time when I went for the detail scan, seems like not very good.

I kinda lost track of the weeks of my pregnancy, coz my doctor never mention anymore what week am I actually in already. He also never take birth weight. He did gave me some caution though not to totally indulge myself just becoz my appetite is getting better
. I put on about 6 kg since my pregnancy.

split
i'm not engaging CL. My whole family dun like strangers to live with us. We'd rather cope on our own. I dun welcome the clash of opinion from someone whom i barely know and paying top bucks sommore. If i'm the employer, she should just shaddup & take instructions, not try to boss me around.

Hi Jan Mummies,

Just to share. I am suffering from preterm labour. Was hospitalised for 5 days last week. Very painful and horrible experience.
Am now on complete bedrest till birth. Still praying hard that I can hold baby to due date. Though not so positive about that. So I may not even be a Jan Mummy anyway. Just praying for baby to be happy, healthy and heavy esp since I am under heavy medication to stablise my condition.

Sigh. Dun undertstand why this happened to be. Can only pray that God will see me through this.

Ah Capp,
Yes, a cheap thermo flask will do. We are not supposed to drink plain water but red dates tea.

MomMe,
Rest well and make sure you're on complete bed rest. Must listen to gynae. My last pregnancy, I didn't and went into pre-term. Don't stress yourself too much. God bless.

hi MomMe

sorry to hear that... wat is preterm labour? how many weeks are u? when is your due date? really pray hard everything will be well for u and bb.
pls dun be so negative k as lonf as bb is well delivered, whether jan or dec as long as healthy.

blackbatz,
I'm using Mustela. Find that it has a nicer smell as compared to the Cocoa one which I used initially. The Cocoa one gave me rashes when I used it for the first few times!

MomMe,
Must really listen to your gynae and have complete bed rest. Don't strain yourself over other matters. Most important thing is to stablise your condition and let baby stay in your womb for as long as possible. Must stay strong and focus for your baby now.

Hi Angelsky,

No, I don't think this is another detailed scan. My gynae said she usually goes this scan (for the blood flow to the baby) if she think the baby is slightly on the lighter side. She just want to make sure the baby flow to the baby is fine in my case.

My baby is actually within the healthy weight range, but falls slightly below the 50th percentile range. So she is taking extra precaution for me.

Btw, the baby's weight is only an estimate. My gynae clarified with me this time.

Hi Blackbatz,

Thank u for the tip! Will get a huge big one during the next sale.

MomMe, what are the signs of preterm labour. Muz really rest as much. Dun do any unnecesary thing nor carry heavy stuff.

Breast..yes agree they feel so much smaller after stopping bf. Well guess it's part of nature. Telling my hb won't have any left after this one..ke ke ke..

Stretchmarks
Well, mine was all under the belly for no.1. For this one I diligently applied aromababy massage oil. Seems quite ok so far. Dunno if the cracks will appear at a later stage but think I getting lazy..oops..

CL
Sad sad, I gotta sleep wif CL coz no spare rm. Hb will move to next rm to sleep wif his bro. Think my no,1 will sleep wif me but dunno if she will wake up every time bb cry..

Wendyg,

The ultrascan screen shows the 31st Dec due date but Gynae also mentioned it bec baby's size is big. He did said if baby's head too big might be difficult to push but he told me not to worry as we'll see how it goes later on. Instead of 4 weeks per check up, he has changed to see my in 3 wks' time. 37th weeks is actually considered full term.

hi MomMe, i was hospitalised twice (into 2 different hospitals) 1 month ago and gynae told me that i am suffering from preterm labour as well. the diagnosed was placenta abruption as i had a huge blood clot (8cm) near the baby. Was told to Completely Rest In Bed as my bleeding was heavy. and the cause of this is unknown.... luckily bleeding stopped after 3 weeks.. going for my next check up tomorrow.

i do understand how u feel but im sure both u and baby will be fine.

MomMe
*hugz* where u located? Can visit? PM me..

Must be quite boring for u, but pls try to keep your mind filled with happy & God-centred thoughts o'wise will wander & think of nonsense.

Play Christian music, read spiritual books, have your cell group come over to pray for u etc. Talk to your bb & pray over him/her.

Will keep u in prayer!

kitsune
no i haven't but heard/ read enuf horror stories to keep me off CLs.

Hi MomMe,

Rest well...understand the fear you are in right now. The other time when i hospitalised for spotting, i was also totally freak out....cry and cry cos full of worries.

You take care. Do something that will cheer you up. Think right now, you need your hubby's support the most. Do try him whatever fear you have and anyone else you can share.

Must talk it out and you will feel slightly better.

Do rest more and i believe your baby will be strong too.

MomMe,
Do take care and have complete bed rest, try to think positively.

God will see you through this and be strong for your baby!