(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

split
try chocolates or cakes? Altho I'm not sure if the weight gain will go to u or to baby.

stock up on M&Ms! I can munch on those non-stop. Have been controlling....

split, eat healthy important. If your gynae check everything ok, then alright. I know some mothers have genetically thick blood so v difficult for stuff to pass from placenta to bb but in the case the gynae will prescribe med. Yes, eat more fish, beef, cheese, carbo like pasta and rice. Heard durians are good but dun eat too much. U might want to try making some chicken essence.

oh yes, take lots of herbs, tonic soup etc. But again i wonder if the weight gain will go to u or to bb.

Pastries & pies & thick creamy soups are nice too.

violetIce,

i forgo their first BP spree in Sept cos alot of model out of stock...disappointed & this time round hopefully have stock for us lol
Those rompers too cute to resist hor...keke

split,
you may refer this link (Weight & Energy (Calorie) Requirements) as a guide:
http://www.nutrition.com.sg/he/hewomen.asp
*Eat a well balanced diet during pregnancy*

yo yo, those recommendation all very high in sugar....all mummies should try not to take too much leh. Must eat healthily

split,
Take more protein. Protein goes direct to baby so food such as meat, fish, eggs, milk are good. Take those powdered milk twice a day and your baby will fatten up very quickly.

Steph,

I tell you, I'm like an unstoppable train! Keep buying stuffs online for baby! Coz the prices are pretty reasonable, some even cheaper than buying it in stores. So I have to control myself liao! Haha.

Steph,

Re: My Baby Journal & CD from NLB

Can you share with me more on this? am keen as well.. is it FOc and can be done at any library and even hubby can sign up for us in our absence?

Fern,

Yes it is FOC for all mummy.

See which library is nearest to u & call them first to check if any stock avail to avoid disappointment.
http://www.nlb.gov.sg/CPMS.portal

Yes, hubby can collect on your behalf but must produce your i/c i think.

The package consist:
1 x Baby Journey Book
1 x Baby's First CD
1 x parenting booklet
1 x Baby's Height Chart

chaye / Spilt
For my #1, I loved fruits, and my gyane tell me control fruits and sugar, or else bb to big. This time ard, doc tell me control carbs and sugar. So maybe these things will make bb bigger... and durians I think.
But hor, I think as long as you eat well balanced diet, it's ok. Doesnt' mean you eat a lot bb will gain, but of cos dun diet, scared fat lah. Heee...

can eat fruits....but not fruit juice....fruits just take in moderation, not as main meal

like a slice of papaya, one small apple per meal is ok

ernmum
My gynae told me max 2 portion of fruits a day. tat time dunno why I love fruits leh, 2 portion of fruits a day not even enough for me.

will try to eat more protein and drink more milk~i love fruits too ever since im pregnant..is like one day no fruits i'll start to feel so frustrated

Spilt,
u can try drinking milk powder for preggy like Enfamama. Not only can increase weight, it is much more nutritious.. good for baby & you.

Steph,
Will try to get one at JE NLB later too... hopefully still got stock.

ernmum,
u mean even we hv passed our GTT, there will be chances to get GD again? my gynae told me that i can eat as normal after i hv passed the test. i thot everything is fine.. been craving for chocolates & cookies too..

jacelyn,
Yeah, bb head head down already. Hope she will stay in that position. As still got space for the bb to move abt, might shift again.

JanBB, i think GD is as and when will happen depending on our body.

Mine first one didnt happen till 32 weeks.

You can check with your doctor. But anyway, if can control and eat healthily...why not? =)

split
I craved for fruits for #1. dunno why. And sweet things oso. Now oso crave sweet drinks!! My urine test not v good last month. Sigh, but v hard to control leh, sometimes a bubbletea is so refreshing.

re: sweet stuff
Mom2nat, I know what you mean! Bubbletea can be like so shiok sometimes...

but can i check with you all, how is ur urine test like? Is it jus a strip of paper, with 2 coloured lines to test for protein and sugar? Mom2nat, what do u mean that your test is "not v good"? how to tell?

Steph,
Thanks for the info. WIll get my bb package from NLB tommorow

Mon2dat/Jennifer,
I also love bubbleteas esp on hot weather.. Really refreshing
Btw,when is this urine test done? Tot normally the gyne will test of urine at every check up? Also, when are we supposed to take this urine test? I am not at my 26 weeks.
I also like sweet stuff.. haha;)

Urine test:
Ya, how to tell? im always given a strip of paper with 2 colored lines to test after i see my gynea..(Those with Dr Adrain, maybe u noe wat i mean) After that pass it to the nurse, but i realise the nurse also nvr really look at the results, and I dunno how to see also. Did not ask the nurse much becos she's always very buzy. Anyone can tell me how to see from the test strip??

Re: Urine Test

Like Yvonne, I also get the strip of paper with blue/yellow.(if I remembered correctly) If after peeing on the strip and there are no colour changes to that strip, it means everything is fine. If the colour changes, it means either your sugar or protein level is affected. Normally, the nurse will just see if there're any colour changes, if not, they'll just asked you to throw it away.

Urine Test:

Mine sometimes the yellow portion will become darker yellow.. very hard to differentiat if it has change color or not.. is it consider as change color?

Hi, mummies

What do you think of this BB co-sleeper bassinet? It's good if don't have space for baby cot and facilitates breastfeeding but can only sleep up till 1 year old only. But it's not cheap, top up another $50 can buy a normal cot. Not sure whether it's a good idea.

1026287.jpg

Jennifera / Fern
Urine test is done on this strip tat has a blue and yellow tip, every gynae visit, the nurse will give it to you to do b4 seeing the doc. My blue portion turn yellowish orange, high in sugar lor. Then they ask me to wait until 1 hr after my previous meal to take a blood(prick) test to check sugar level, my result was marginal.
My house downstairs got 3 bubbletea shops ah!!! How to avoid?? Sometimes I even ask my maid go and buy for me, damn chia lat hor.

Hi Kitsune,

Think better buy a cot that can be transformed into a toddler bed. That's what I did. Value for money lor, can sleep up to 4 years old.

hi split,

ya, i experience lower back pain recently. in the first place i tot i sit for too long after playing majong, but after check w my sis in law, she say is normal because of the bb weight. even now, i can feel the paining running up and down my whole back. guess nothing much to do. when asleep, i feel more comfortable sleeping on sides. u try that, will feel much better.

Kitsune,
will u decide a playpen instead of cot? first few months can sleep on the upper mattress, when the bb start to turn then lower to the bottom. in the day, can leave the bb in there w some toys when they start to crawl and walk. at least they are safe in there. i felt insecure w cot cos of the solid woods around, scare bb get knocks or hands get stuck in between. heehee

hi kitsune, wow u got urself a good buy @ JL sales leh!!
i needed car seat so that we can use to transport bb to my mum place when i go back to work so have to spend extras coz no one to lend me that...

hi jacelyn, r u attending the MT A class on sat 1.30pm? i m going... cya there!! oh ya.. how do i recognise u?? i shd b carrying my fila handbag & wear a stretchable black pants so that its more comfortable to do the exercise bah... :D

i saw there is a gathering #2, is it in Nov or Dec ah?

morning all Mummies,

Re: urine test
thanks for all the sharing and advise on urine test. I guess all of our tests are the same- a strip of paper with 2 thin blue and yellow lines. and check for colour changes after urine.

Re: baby cot
kitsune, my personal preference is a cot which can be convertable into a toddler bed when older.. makes the money stretch more. but the bassinet looks really sweet.

linda
u can use a cot bumper so that bb's hands & feet won't get caught in the grills.

Mom2nat
wa, 3 shops! How come the bubbletea frenzy is back again. I've never been a fan though. The pearls give me tummy ache. I'd rather spend money on a SLURPEEEEEE

wendyg, i love slurpee too hahaha
i love bubble tea and the pearls. but since im pregnant, i don't take the pearls. i scared "liang" but then again, tea itself is "liang" too rtg? :p

wendyg,
i think i am just paranoid or "mountain tortoise". i thot the pearls are like "chin chow" (grass jelly) so both are "liang"

Morning gals,

looking forward to the weekend...

talking about "chin chow", its my current favourite now especially the desserts - grass jelly with tadpole..hehe

the tadpole was my fave..hehe..my hubby even went all the way to the bedok north industrial area to buy a whole pack of the tadpole from the supplier for me.

yup, the tadpoles v cute and nice to eat too.

I am so looking forward to the weekend man. no particular plans but just as long as no need to work

LOL~ The tadpoles are my son fav. But I dont let him eat much. Cos of the coloring. I Thought its only a kids thingy :p I LOVE bubbletea too. But, now my all time fav is "honey blended ice" SLURPPPPPP~ Have been having it almost everyday cos there is one shop along my way to my son school. So on the way to pick him up, I also on the way to pick myself a cup. Hehee....

morning gals...
very hungry liao... thinking what shd I have for lunch later ! what are u gals having ?

Anybody attending dis evening Mt.A class 6.30pm?

chaye: mi hungry already too... dis morning ate 1 big bao and a piece of fried carrot cake...
feel like having kfc but Raffles place dont hav kfc.

Mom2nat: yep! there r so many bubbletea stall near our hse... hahahaa! but gotta control becos next wk i doing e OGTT..

lynn
yeah i was very intent to have KFC this week too. Had my 2-pc meal on Wed evening YUMMMMM, & ystrday ate Kenny Rogers... YUMMMMMM

Lynn Chong
huh? raffles place no kfc ?! wow ! y hor

wendgy
2 pc meal not enuf leh. a while later hungry liao... :p