(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Fern,
Yah, but the option for maid should be out for me. Cant leave maid with my bb alone if my mil not in sg. Perhaps I hunt for temp job or work from home at later stage.

hammies,
I also feel my hb will lose out since he would need to fly back Jpn from march to april. Keep wondering what if later BB dun let him carry. :p

re: Birth Cert.
Is it true that the Chinese Names can only be typed at ICA at Novena, if do it in hospital, the father had to write it?

Hi Jennifera,
I'll be taking the Gestational Diabetic test this coming Saturday. I also thought there's increased in sugar level either in my blood or urine but my gynae assured me that's not the case. However, both hubby's and my paternal grandmothers had diabetics before and thus it could be hereditary so need to do this test. Sigh! It also got me worrying...
kao_scared.gif

Re: Lifestyle Changes
Been reading a lot of postings on lifestyle changes and now feeling a bit overwhelmed. Not sure if 1st time parents like us can handle the emotional, physical and mental changes. Hubby and I have been together for 14 years and it's been a long road but not sure if parenthood will be the toughest of them all. Quite depressing.

violetIce,

woahh...14yrs is very long wor...childhood lovebirds ya
hee...
For me, i've pak tor with hubby for 6yrs before we decide tying the knot & together for 10yrs now...long journey too

Indeed after reading so many post on lifestyle changes, u can't help feeling depress huh...but that's part & parcel of LIFE ya unless if u choose not to go thru parenthood. Some of my friends stayed single, loved & enjoyed being that way & some simply prefer marriage life without babies/kids. They want ultimate freedom & no tangle with motherhood journey, cranky babies etc... Anyway, i've been trying to conceive for 3.5yrs & going thru' alot of depressing moments visiting gynaes & trying TCM and now at last, GOD gave me this miracle baby...

Well, since we've choosen this path, let's embrace this parenthood journey positively & treasure what we have now, at present!

violetice,
I took the test when having #1 but that was because my urine showed some sugar. However for #2, gynae never say must test again leh. Only advise me not to take too much carbo and sweet stuff.. my family also have diabetic history wor..

don't be depressed. lifestyle sure different but there will be full of joy and rewards in parenthood. it's just different stages in life.. Although I missed my carefree, couplehood lifestyle at times, I still enjoy being a mother the best! However, do enjoy to the fullest now before the bb is out...

<font color="0077aa">icy,

TMC don't type chinese character/names on birth cert. Either father had to write it or we print from pc (standby ready the chinese name) at home & bring it along during birth cert registration.</font>

Yvonne,
marriage cert i not sure wor??
the chinese name on birth cert, my sis told me to standby. When she gave birth to my niece in 2005 at TMC, they don't provide such service...i wonder if they do now? Will check this Sat when i've my pre-natal lesson at TMC!

Joyce and steph,
thanks for the info. If Mt E have then I dun have to worry, maybe I should standby the chinese text too. else Papa write chinese words very ugly. :p

<font color="aa00aa">Yvonne, i not try the cupcakes before but they seems sooo delicious! hee...

wendy, sure. wont out-grow so fast lah. my #1 18mths liao, still bao bao her pillow.</font>

Anyone started buying pillows for infants? I am in the process of getting the cot, bedding and other misc. Quite confused, will it be dangerous for our baby to sleep on pillows, even those infant ones? Or, do we just buy the beansprout pillow to calm them and then let them sleep without pillows on the bed itself? Is it necessary to buy cloth to swaddle them? Those swaddle cloth or muslin cloth or receiving blanket? I was lost when I when I went kiddy palace today.

Anyone know where I can get cheaper changing tables for babies and shelfing?

mei
i threw out my boy's husk pillow when it kena vomit. Can't wash right?

angelsky
changing tables/ shelves - try Ikea?

<font color="aa00aa">wendy, can try washing but needs to sun it very thoroughly. better change a new one. more hygenie. order! order!! haha...

angelsky,
u can either get a infant pillow (a type of pillow when centre is like sunk in), or simply fold some nappy-cloths to let bb rest on it and get a beansprout pillow to place it over bb stomach.</font>

Mei, infant pillow can use till how old before I change to flat pillows? So I dont have to waste money to buy more blankets and wraps? So far, I have got 1 receiving blanket, would that be sufficient.

Still got many bulk items to buy, car seat, stroller, sterilizer, breast pump - feeling so poor now. :p Plus all the small misc. items like bottles, nappies, pins etc.

Should I buy the breast pump now or wait till I deliver? My galfren say usually hospital will let us try?

Anyone bought Peg Perego Uno stroller & Infant SIP seat? I just received them today & it looks very nice. I got them at a 15% discount.

Sorry gals if I started u all, especially first time mommies, on such a fearful note of child bearing. Guess I am a serious cry baby and probably too pampered at home and now no longer so. I must say what u all have all said just struck me to rethink the blessings I have, the ease of conceiving, having a hb that does housework and try to please me as far as he could though he seriously not the romantic kind. Somehow once awhile I will feel this awful lack of the life as a single or dating couple. Think it's really coming to fact with this change of lifestyle and be prepared for it. Having kids is a sacrifice of love. Today have been sobbing the whole day whenever my mind wondered to think of this but when I came home and saw my gal, manage her on my own with my big tummy coz MIL went out, I somehow lost all the anger. Her smiles is one thing nothing can buy. Yes, do talk about wif ur hb to prepare...it's good to have couple time and I muz bug my hb more on that. Thanks for helping me to feel better. Yes yes, shld stop comparing and I am learning this lesson of contentment again and again.

Hi Steph77,

Yes, our class ended quite late last last Sat. U all must be waiting anxiously for your class. =(

Mrs Wong didn't teach us how to massage our legs when we have legs cramps. But I did asked her how to massage my legs when I am tired after a long day at work. Just rub your hands along the legs and away from the feet. Another method is something like wringing your wet clothings after washing. I said I like it when my hubby squeezed my feet. Very shiok. But Mrs Wong said no need to touch the feet wor.

I have calf cramps very easily at night too. When it happened, I will have to wake up my hubby to help me rub my poor legs. =S No special method. Just rub/ massage the poor muscles till they are loosen up again. Goosh, very painful ah =(

Re: Nursing bras
My bras are getting a bit tight again. =( Can I ask when can I start to buy nursing bras? was thinking if I buy now and wear now, will they still fit after I give birth.

Hi, mummies

Went for gynae check up today. Sugar in urine seem a bit high but told gynae I just ate at the foodcourt before going to clinic. She said still have to do the blood sugar test at 7th month anyway so booked the test on Sat morning. Asked gynae if I can rebond my hair, she said better don't do cos study (but not very conclusive) said that babies of mummies who rebond, straighten or dye their hair have higher incidence of eczema and asthma. It is thought to be the chemicals being absorbed by the scalp and affecting baby. In fact, she said should not do this until 6 months after delivery cos we may suffer from hair loss after delivery. Looks like I got to put up with my messy wavy hair for a long, long time. :/

Asked gynae if can have BB's weight but she said cannot. Can only give me average weight from 7th month onwards. Think the machine can't measure weight. :p

Visited KKH's A1 wards, saw the deluxe room, very big with a separate living area (2 seater sofa, 3-4 armchairs). Heard it costs $600+ per night. Very good, wish I can book the room but don't think my medical benefits can cover though. :p Went to the Pureen shop, bought 2 packs of Pureen maternity pads for $11.

Hi Steph,
Yup, hubby and I met in Secondary One. Haha. Till now, my mum doesn't know exactly how long we have been together!
Understand that parenthood is not easy and requires sacrifices, hope we're also ready for this. Been through a lot while we were growing up, from secondary school to tertiary school, to his being in NS and working society etc..
I guessed I'm like you, traditional in a way, I find that a family is complete with children and I guessed the best gift we can ever really give to our hubby is a baby.

Hi Fishia,
Hope this test will turn out fine. I've been craving for durian for the longest time but ever since I know I have to take this test, I no longer dare to eat any durian stuffs and also try to cut down on sugary foodstuffs though I still sometimes indulge myself with a scoop of ice-cream and yogurt.

Hi Babe,
I may not exactly understand how you feel but being with my hubby for so long, sometimes I also feel the romance has gone out the light but I feel that in love, the fiery and passion comes and goes, it's the indepth feeling of love and willing to make each other happy that can withstand the test of time. Everytime I get irritated with my hubby, I'll tell myself to think of all the little things he does for me daily, like driving me to work, pouring drinks for me, buying my favourite food etc..

kitsune_sg,
Maybe your gynae uses a different ultrasound machine. As for my gynae, he will key in some of my baby's measurements and tadaaarr...the weight comes out!

deerdeer,
My gynae say better stay away from rebonding and other hair treatments eg colouring. As long as chemicals involved better do after birth lor.

I was reading through the Oct 2007 MTBs thread, seems like there's so many people giving birth this month and TMC is getting overcrowded. Some who booked single rooms had to stay in 2 bedded rooms instead. Hopefully it wouldn't be so crowded in Jan...

Hi all, have u all heard of national lib giving out some baby journal with CD or something? Just heard from a friend, but don't know still have or not.

<font color="aa00aa">zhao mummies!

hammies03, yap NLB is giving away. QQ told us before and even showed us the bb journal during gathering #1. = ) check out her blog.</font>

chaye,

yesterday i went for my gynae visit liao.

told her i really cannot differentiate between braxton hicks and tightness due to baby.
Just then when i feel tightness, i ask her to feel, she says a bit hard. I told her i can feel baby moving. She says the contraction/tightness is most prob due to baby movement.

I told her my baby move non stop...super active....no sleep wan....she says that's good sign.

Since baby is active, i cannot monitor based on frequency....so will monitor based on timing instead.....and must be the whole tummy (uterus) tighten up, then consider braxton. If BHC is abt 20s and more than 7 times an hour, must give them a call.

baby is 26 weeks now and weighs abt 950g. =)

btw, yesterday my urine also have sugar.

so today i went for OGTT liao. another 20 mins will need to go and draw blood again.

am mentally prepared if i get GD...but still hope i dun get it la

ernmum
hey how u log in? use blackberry?
ya, hope u dun hv GD. my colleague got GD during her 3rd pregnancy, but it didn't go away after she gave birth. So now she's on lifetime medication for diabetes.

ystrday my chkup 29wks baby is 1.3kg - doc said average?! That's why no need for OGTT. She prepared me before hand - if scanned that baby is large, she will send me for OGTT. Or maybe that's next visit... oops forgot!

and i don't have BH ley.. she said they feel like the contractions in the delivery room, but not painful. I don't think i feel those kind of contractions. So i guess it's ok.

hi wendyg....i work in a polyclinic so i do my OGTT here....ya lor...pray hard i dun get it too.

my baby's weight slightly below average leh....but anyway to give myself some peace, i just opt to go today...haha

hammies, yes library still giving out the cd and journal. I have collected on 2nd oct. actually qingqing have mentioned quite sometime back.

Hi eRnMum
thks for sharing !! super active = good sign ? sigh... my gynae also said tat. He said kick better than no kick ! *faint* My #1 kick so much lesser and turn out to be very easy to handle bb and has been well behave till now age 4.

so far my tightness is less than 20s but can be many times an hour. then for several hours it will stop and start again as and when it feels like it. will try to monitor ... thks thks...

my appt wif gynae is on 22/10 will ask him more

hihi, everyone.

Yvonne, ya, wish my gynae can do that with her machine too. I don't think I gained a lot of weight, only 3-4 kg so far.

eRnmum, I was quite reassured during my 5th month detailed scan cos the dr said my baby is medium size based on her measurements. I eat out most of the week (not very nutritious but too lazy to cook nowadays esp weekdays). And my mum always nag me for it so just wanted to be sure BB is of good weight lor. :p

Do you gals have any cravings? I keep craving for chocolate cakes and chocolate cookies. My whole brain is chocolate chocolate chocolate!!! Help!!!

My gynae ask me to keep to a low carbo and low sugar diet but my chocolate craving is so uncontrollable. How??? I'm already planning to get myself a slice of chocolate banana cake from secret recipe after my gynae appointment next Wed...hehe...better don't let my gynae know and hopefully my urine test will turn out fine.

chaye, think you describe to your gynae on monday...best is it will happen when you are seeing him/her....then dun need to describe till jialat

my baby size according to book is normal...but according to chart is just slight below avg..to me as long as he is healthy, i am not too concern liao....

btw, they say baby active in womb doesnt mean that he will be hyper active when he is out

my no 1 quite active (but not as active as no 2)...born....very good boy....after 1 year...he very active ah...run around non stop one

violetice, yeah not easy when u are together for a long long time. I really admire those old couples who are holding hands and so sweet. Guess it's alot of give and take.

Geee....feeling a lot better today after my hb tried to humour me yesterday but trying to plan a trip out to Batam or Bintan during the period both sets of grandparents are away.

eRnMum
my bb is always very well behave when comes to chkup time ! once out of the clinic he will start to move & kick again ! very mischievious rite ?!
Yes weight doesnt matter la. as long as he's healthy, eat and sleep well !

thanks for the info mei..i guess i don't quite remember about the journal thing being mentioned as it's some time back..hehe...memory poor...wonder if lib still have then. Maybe will check it out.

Some pp talk abt having this OGTT thing. How about some vaginal swap thing? I really duno if it's necessary leh. Doc just mentioned he will likely do it next visit. Probably will talk to him again then.

Hammies03, good to do a vaginal swap or this urine culture test to chk for strep B bacteria infection which may not show any signs at all. Problem comes if you have it during delivery as it affects baby.

I had a urine culture done early on and detected that so gynae gave me antibiotics to clear it off. Not sure if she will repeat the test around 30 weeks or so.

<font color="ff0000">maternity photoshoot</font>:
me already sent an email to Foto-U for maternity photoshoot packages enquiry. keep ur updated if I have any reply.