(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

yvonne, your uterus will tighten up. for first time mummies, usually will feel it around 28 weeks.

you feel your tummy tight tight

Ern Mum,
I also having some cramps lately. Bearable kind but do have some discomft at time. Body also start to ache more lor
Haz

Also, now at 23 weeks, tummy also tighten after eaten a full meal.. Hope by 28 weeks.. wun feel worst men esp me being a first time mummy.

Re kicks
BB has been kicking me so often.. every time of the day.. haha.. sometimes.. can even give me a shock if iam sleeping lor.

fern

wa, ur baby so active. mine still cant give me a shock when i sleeping yet... but his kick is powerful loh, my hb can even feel it from tummy

Mei,
I normally take cold freshmilk after breakfast or better still, have it with some hi-fibre oats cereal...then i'm off to the toilet in 20 mins!

chaye/eRnMum,
My tummy will also tighten up from time to time...it becomes hard like a ball but will relax if i change position or massage the area. Not sure if it's braxton hicks but my gynae told me to rest more and walk less. But I realised that the frequency of these contractions has reduced after following my gynae's advice to have at least 9 hours bed rest everyday. Not need to sleep for the whole 9 hours but must at least lay in bed for 9 hours every night...it really helps.

hi ladies, anyone else on leave today or something? It's sch holiday for kids at school too is it ah? Coz I seem to see a lot of kids with families around. Anyway, me today on MC, due to checkup at gynae being postponed to weekday instead of last Saturday which was a PH.

My baby is now about 1.3kg now that I'm about 27 weeks plus already. All seems fine. Only thing is me having a bit of vaginal discharge which is whitish like. Do anyone of you have that?? If yes, did you gynae recommend some sort of test for some infection thing? He told me next visit to do some vaginal duno what thing! But it sounded like a mini pap smear thing to check if got this infection which I totally can't remember the name. Quite cheem word leh.

Hopefully nothing too serious, only started to notice this discharge thing in the past 2 weeks. But it comes on and off and only a bit.

Anyone of you confirm signing up with Cord Blood Banking for your firstborn especially? If yes, how long do you all intend to store it for?

my baby is really super active leh

guess tomorrow i will just inform my gynae and see what she say cos i really scared of pre term. nowadays i keep pressing my tummy to see hard or soft.....really worried

as for discharge....been having that and tot that is normal?

I thought discharge is normal...i've been getting heavier discharge since pregnant.

I'm going to donate my baby's cord blood to SCBB. Some info from their correspondence as follows:
"Singapore Cord Blood Bank is a public bank initiated by Singapore Health Services( SingHealth), the National Health Care Group (NHG).the Children's Cancer Foundation, Club Rainbow (Singapore) and other charitable donations.
We do not charge for the collection and processing of donated cord blood units, however, not all cord blood units can be stored due to our stringent storage criteria. The donated cord blood unit is also not reserved for the specific family or individual usage. Our standards are based on international public cord blood banking protocols where the highest and strictest standards are used,as these units are made available to the individual requiring a life-saving stem cell transplant. As such not all collected cord blood units would meet this stringent criteria.

We have also strict criteria for donation to ensure that all units collected can meet safe medical standards for transplants.
Hence we need to screen through all donor/mothers for exclusion criteria before accepting them into our programme.

We also need to explain to you the process of collection, obtaining informed consent & medical history questionnaires which take about 30-35 minutes. This has to be done after your 32 weeks of gestation and before you are admitted to the hospital for labour."

eRunMum

We have experiencing the same thing !!!! my bb also kicks a lot too and I even wonder whether does he actually sleep at all

Got jab to take to release the tension ? My gynae didnt tell me leh. He gave me ventolin but the side effect is trembling hands which I hated so in the end I stop the med after popping one.

Like you I'm also worried of pre-term leh !! If I pre-term it will be dec liao leh

can you update me after your visit to gynae tmr ? My appt is next Mon leh.

Hi, hammies. I've signed up with Cordlife during the cordlife baby seminar last month when they were giving a $400 discount. Will store and pay $250 yearly until BB is 21 years old. After that, it's up to her whether she wants to continue.

<font color="0077aa">woahh...raining so heavily in WEST area now...so sleepy Zzzzz

*hi5* Yvonne, me too..decide to donate baby's cord blood to SCBB

Re: Braxton's hick
eRnMum/chaye,
u mean BH can trigger pre-term labout ah? scary leh...how early (how many wks?) is consider pre-term? My tummy oso feels quite hard nowadays.
I have increase discharge too...pale yellowish, i thot is normal wor...</font>

Steph
For me, I have been getting this BH since 3 or 4 mths preggy. Just tat I can feel it more often nowadays as the tummy is getting bigger. During 3 or 4 mths I can only feel the size of a fist tightens now I can feel my whole tummy tightens lor... sigh

that's what the gynae says lor....too early experience BH. but according to book, second time mummies can feel it earlier anytime from 20 weeks. But if everyday more than 4 times must report to gynae.

I work in a clinic. So just now when i feel tight but my doctor feel me she say consider soft leh...so i also dunno

hi i'm from the feb thread, edd 8th feb. Re: BH, i'm not sure mine is a BH cuz i felt that my tummy was super tight, especially after i had my meals. wanna continue eating also cannot.
i went to the doctor and he checked whether my cervix is open. then he gave me an injection to relax my muscle, and to prevent pre-birth. Erm, he never mention that it's BH though. btu seems like the jab to prevent pre-birth is BH related. another reason for being so tight if you are first time pregnant too.

Hah!! i dunno how to define the hard and not hard tummy.. seems like mine is always hard lei.. am in the 29th wk already.. but one thing i notice is tat sometimes my belly buttons pops out, and sometimes not pops out(abit hollow only).

Re: Baby's movement
Been feeling baby's movement quite often throughout the day and it's like he's playing with my bladder!
Always have the feeling to go toilet but nothing really. Especially at night, my baby is super active and it disrupts me from going to sleep until I slapped my tummy and asked him to be guai guai. Hahaha! Think I'm losing it.

Re: Braxton Hicks
I don't know how it feels like but I'm in my 28th weeks and sometimes I feel a part of my tummy hardening like a rock, is that it?
kao_confused.gif

Already having discharge since my 1st trimester but my gynae say if not painful passing urine or smell then should be ok. Not advisable to take any medication eg antibiotics right now. So tolerate lo.

aiyo, duno is it my bb giving my bladder pressure or wat, alway got the urgent feeling yet not much urine 1... den hor tummy oso very hard leh....

now cannot sit too long, duno is chair too uncomfortable or too hard... butt oso will feel pain ah

My tummy also feel very bloated and hard after every meal and got difficulty in digestion. Not drinking much water ever since pregnant because always feel like going toilet when bladder has got water dun think its full bladder as did not urine a lot.
Nowadays if cough too hard or vomit, urine will come automatically so need to wear a slim pad.

I think those tummy hardening after meals are different from BH. BH tightens release tightens release u will feel discomfort one.

think for those who have discharge that is a bit yellowish/ green/ grey or white but a bit like cottage cheese,or whitish but itch, do let your gynae know. Cos it could be infection and these may lead to pre-term birth. The med they give should be quite safe.

Hi, mummies. More shopping deals. Just received the Metro Infant fair postcard. Got a lot of bundled deals. Capella S321 stroller + Capella Infant car seat - $299. Lucky baby Besto changing table + Deluxe high chair - $129. Lucky baby deluxe baby stroller (looks like a Quinny) + 2-in-1 walker cum rocker - $159 Avent Isis Manual Breast pump with 2 feeding bottles & Express Bottle & babyfood warmer - $105. Free delivery with min $100 purchase.

hi kitsune,

thanks for the info,at all metro oulets??when is the sale starting and ending?wonder if the Avent Isis Manual Breast pump with 2 feeding bottles & Express Bottle & babyfood warmer - $105 will drop its price during the Avent parenting workshop?

Hi goodbbb, Metro sale is on from 19 Oct to 28 Oct. Ya, maybe, won't know. Maybe you can call to check with the organisers of what special deals they have.

Thank goodness mon is over. =)

Hi Babyshannon,

I will drop by there again and bargain for better prices. =) Thank you for the tip! I am also hoping for some good bargains since I am interested in both the stroller and the car seat.

Hi Kitsune,

Looks like u indeed got some good deals at JL. =) I kinda regretted that I didn't have time and the energy to look around longer at JL =( But it's ok. At least I got a big item (thermo scan) covered already. Will scout around for more bargains.

Thank you for the info on the Metro sale ah. =)

Hi Steph77,

Are u in Mrs Wong's class this Sat 4:30pm to 6:30pm? Both Fern and I are in the same class too. =)

Re: Tummy tightness
Yes, I also feel my tummy getting tight after meals. =( But been feeling very hungry today. Kept on munching. I am quite worried that all weigh gain will go to me instead of baby ah. Will know this Sat during my checkup.

Re: Baby's movement
When I read violetice's msg, I laughed too. My baby was naughty last night. Already close to midnight, still move about. =S My hubby was busy watching Lost, but I shouted out of my bedroom saying that his son is not sleeping. I then stroked my tummy a few times and told baby that it's late, and time for him to sleep. After that, no more movement. Guess our babies can understand what we say to them now. =)

Re: Tummy tightness
For my #1, I used to get it when I sit, esp when having dinner. The feeling is a hardening, v tight, but no pain. Usually when you change position, it might get better. I dun think it triggers labour, it is more like a practice for your tummy... heee...

Hi, Ah Capp. I wanted to buy the thermometer that you got too but already had so many items and hubby was getting bored so forgot to look for it. But never mind, must leave a few items on my wishlist if not all my friends can only buy my BB clothes.

My baby had been waking me up after only 6 hours of sleep everyday whether it's weekend or weekday. Starting to be a routine liao. :p

i kinda agree, my baby also getting a bit more active these few days...and late and night like sleep quite late too or something. Ha...then in the morning already can feel some movements...also try to talk to bb to sleep when i'm going to sleep. But i tend to get this ticklish feeling whenever I sleep on my side. Seems like he will kick on that side a few times!

Hi AhCapp,
It was quite bad for me lor, I couldn't sleep even after watching LOST and I even watched DVD after that. I think baby was still kicking till 2am!

Hi Kitsune,

I am sure there will be more sale when it's close to Xmas. N yes, pls leave some stuff for your friends and relatives to buy as baby gifts for your little darling. =)

Hi Hammies03,

My baby kicks more when I sleep on my right. Not so much on my left.

Btw, was told in my pre-natal class that babies tend to stay on the left, so that's the reason why we should sleep on the left side more.

Hi VioletIce,

Goosh, your baby is indeed very active. Hehhe.. ^_^

Hi, VioletIce, don't worry, don't think it's true. My hubby's colleague said her little girl was so quiet in her tummy and now she's so hyperactive.

I am so blue today....been in a crying spell...
Mommies having no.2, not sure if you experience this. I don't know why I keep feeling I am losing my romance with hb after my no.1 came coz all the time is spent on her. Since we don't have very good family support, we simply can't get out for time for two. Now with no.2 coming afraid it will get worse. Was talking to my hb last night but he doesn't see the problem and he enjoys the threesome time. He just don't feel safe to leave my gal in his mum's hands coz she doesn't seem to know how to take care of bb and will forget to change her even if she is soiled. I haven't been out of sg eversince I had her and I really want a break. Imagine I am working now and I am feeling such. What if I SAHM, I think I will go crazy facing my kids 24/7 without being 'nourished' with love myself. My hb feels time spent together is love already...Wonder if u gals understand? I still want my little surprises and planned dates to keep life going...am I asking too much?

hi babe,

i think your hubby is very sweet to enjoy threesome. Some fathers actually dislike and find romance elsewhere (if you get what i mean).

I also find that my hubby and i dun have much time together as compared to last time.

After work is all abt number one. What we do is that we will take leave to go out and have some quality time together...have some good food, catch a show etc. In this way, we still go home on time to spend time with number one. But then huh, parents are parents...go out...also look for things for child one...haha

as for intimate time, it is definitely much reduced....

anyway is that you should continue to give your hubby goodbye kisses, hugs etc and say i love you just like before...all these small action also count you know.

Stay cheerful, k

babe
for me it's the other way round.. husband wants to date me, go for movie/ makan etc, but if we do that means my parents gotto to overtime to watch my boy during weekends or public holidays, when otherwise they can have a rest. So maybe once in 6 months, we go for movie date. But husband also downloads movies so that we can enjoy movies at home.. that's a few times a week. After my boy sleeps (9pm), we enjoy a show at home, just need to ensure snacks & drinks are well stocked.
Once in a few months 3 of us will drive into JB for a half-day trip for makan & service car, sometimes overnight hotel stay if it's public holiday. So here's our "planned date", only that it includes my boy. We intend to continue our hotel stay getaways when #2 is born - maybe use a local hotel before #2 passport is ready.

<font color="0077aa">Hi AhCapp,

Yes, our lesson are on the same day but diff timing, mine after yours..7-9pm session! I remembered your 1st lesson oso end quite late, ard 6.50pm before next session starts ya

Do u gals (Fern & yourself or yr hubby) still remember how to massage our legs during leg cramps? I experienced leg cramps yesterday nite on my right calf!Ouch!!! but my hubby & i forgotton "the massage steps" cos i think Mrs Wong demonstrated quite a number of exercises during the class huh

babe
I think you are probably more emotional cos you are preg. I am too. Your mind will start to wonder things, get upset over little things, not enough attention, just wan some TLC. Well, women have more emotional needs, and men tends to neglect this point. I think your hb is v sweet to put his time on his girl. Or would you rather everyday he go out with frens, or come home stuck to tv? Priorities change. I oso wan my hb to be loving to me like when we were dating. But ah, tat is like a decade ago liao. This morning, he was trying to kiss my girl b4 he went to work, my girl kept avoiding him. Hahaha... Then me... kept sticking out my pouty lips and kissing sound to tell him, I oso want!! hahahah...

At first I will feel my hb gives so much time and attn to my girl. But well, got children is like tat. My hb refuse to go tour without my girl, I think he won't be able to sleep. My girl sleeps on a mattress by his side, every night before he sleeps he will smell her, touch her, cover blanket for her... errr... his wife beside him, he oso bo hue! Hoho...

Maybe you 2 can take 1/2 day leave, go for a show or nice high tea, while your girl in sch/ CC. Tat's wat I do sometimes.

<font color="ff6000">Interested??
COMPLEMENTARY TALKS
* What Babies Want
* Introduction to HypnoBirthing, The Mongan Method for a Gentle Birth Experience
* Top 10 Tips for a Better Birth Experience
* Top 10 Tips for Breastfeeding
* What Is A Doula, and Why Do I Need One?
* Baby Proofing Your Marriage
* Birth Into Being, The Russian Waterbirth Experience
Register for these sessions at www.singaporedoula.com or for further information call 9451-7702 Seating limited.</font>
http://singaporedoula.com/_wsn/page6.html

just take 1/2 once a month should be ok la....if you feel you need to have the quality time lor

cant help it one...as parents, we must sacrifice here and there...heehee

Hi Mom2nat,

Re: Leg cramps
These leg cramps are so different from the cramps i had b4 pregnant. Before preggy, i kena leg cramps mostly on my toes & feet but now it's on the calf muscles! The pain can get so intense sometimes
These few weeks, i can feel my calf muscles so tight & hard when walking or simply resting my legs! I am so afraid that anytime when i stretch out my legs would trigger a cramp!! Will leg cramps indirectly lead to swollen legs? Mm...??