(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Thank you for your advices on the best bargains currently in town. I bought a few more items on sale today.

- Braun ear thermo scan from John Little $131.90 (but have 30% off in rebate vouchers)
- Annuka diaper napkins from Robinsons 20% off
- Small face towels from Aussino at 50% off

I also managed to drop by Aprisin at Tagore Lane to take a look at strollers and car seats. It does seem like some of their prices might be cheaper than in town. Will need to double check again though.

Forgot to mention that Mustella was on 20% off at Robinsons. I also bought some bathing products for my little darling.

Hi Jennifera,

Aprisin is the distributor for Aprica, Graco, Little Tikes & Nania. Definately much smaller than Baby Kingdom as they only sell these 4 brands. But they have some other items like baby cots (From Spain).

Here is the contacts:
www.aprisin.com.sg

50 Tagore Lane #B1-02,
Markono Districentre
S 787494

Tel: 63368311

Closed on Sun. But open till 6pm on Sat.

The lady who served me is Diana.

They have the widest selection of Aprica strollers and Graco strollers I have ever seen.

I bought my stroller (Aprica), car seat (Aprica J-turn)and Baby cot from Aprisin.
U gals may want to look for Angeline. She is able to give alot of discount if u are willing to bargain..

The discount she gave is much more than 20% + 5% which robinson offers form aprica products.

Hi Babyshannon,

Can I find out which Aprica stroller did u get? I am thinking of getting one too. I was quoted $399, although the price tag was $499 (orig price is $899) I indeed want to bargain for discount as I want to get a car seat as well.

Mei,
I bought the beansprout pillow at United Square today. At least 3 shops are selling them. I bought mine from Mums R Us at $19.90. But they are running out of stock. I also saw it at Mums & Babes also $19.90 and there's another shop opposite Bumwear but not sure how much it cost there. My husband say since we found it then might as well buy lor.

Hi AhCapp,

I bought Baby Cruiser Moderate Eye to Eye 680. Original price $1099. She gives me more than 30% discount and free head support.
I bargain individual item first, then bundle up all the items that i want to buy and bargain again for final price.

hi Yvonne, this beansprout pillow, what is it like? Is it just those beannie pillow that's more flexible and can like put over baby's stomach? I'm thinking of getting something like that instead of the normal pillows they sell.

Went to JL sale today to buy strollers. It was cheaper than Baby hyperstore because of the 30% discount vouchers. Bought Maclaren XT stroller and a smaller lighter Capella S217 to put at my in-laws place. Only $244.19 for Maclaren and $95.23 for Capella (vouchers' value included). Bought a lot of other baby stuff too since got discount. Spent $600+ altogether but got back about $200 worth of vouchers.

hammies03,
yeah, it's a long rectangular pillow filled with dried beansprout husks. Put it over baby's stomach so they won't startle easily and makes them feel more secure.

Good morning.

How is everyone getting on?

RE: Braxton's hick
May i check if anyone already experience this? (especially the second time mummy since we can differentiate it better)?
How often are you having it?

Goldenpig, may i check with you whether you are one who tell us where to get the caps (in 10s a pack) to cover the glass bottle for breast milk?

just wondering whether you have gotten it? am thinking whether you can get one pack for me and send via post to me and i transfer money to you. Cos i dunno where is it....dunno how to go leh

Morning, can I find out if most of you will be or intend to breastfeed?

Due to various reasons, my hubby and I have decided not to...guess I'm one of the minority. Was telling my hubby that I feel like a criminal...especially when i read books or magazines and it is stated everywhere that breastmilk is best. It makes me feel like I'm "poisoning" my baby by giving him formula. Of course I know breastmilk is best but isn't it beneficial only if breastfeeding is done for 6 months or more?

Anyway, this is a personal decision and I have the bear with the consequences. But sometimes it's just so stressful when everyone gives me that look and say "why you don't want to breastfeed? Good for your baby mah!". Well, it's easier said than done and many people do not understand that. I definitely salute those mothers who can breastfeed their babies for 6 months for even longer but it does not mean that a mother who does not breastfeed is a lousy mother right? I certainly hope not.

Sorry ah, monday morning and I'm being so serious here. Just wanted to share my feelings, maybe someone here is also facing the same situation as me.

hi morning all,

Guess alot of u are not working today in lieu of the public holiday (Hari Raya Puasa) on Saturday!

I still need to report to work today...but company will credit one day to our annual leave.

This morning, stomach cramp & went toilet pu pu (constipated for 3days liao)...finally after drinking soya milk, it really helps to ease bowels LoL

hi yvonne, but why is it that you decided not to leh? Is there any reason?

well, everyone has their own reason for doing things. Many mummies are not bfeeding too after trying and failed.

Yvonne, think u muz haf ur reason not wanting to bf. Really it's ur choice. I did bf and I muz say I went thru bad times b4 good times come. Then again, it was me being stubborn while MIL nag that bb not full etc and insist my way on tbf.

Steph, me also at work! So u decided on the massage thingie?

ernmum
ehhh, i wun b going Cheong Choon.. it's near Subordinate Courts. I think this time round i'll use my trusty VIA cups. I just remembered i sold my 30-40 sets to a mummy who urgently needed them 2 yrs back. Darn! kekekkekee

Yvonne
u're wrong there... EVERY feed of BM is beneficial to the bb. Hey, u may be those blessed with GUSHING bm. Dun say "NO" without trying.. there has to be a first time for everything.
Some time back my colleague told me her boy kept falling sick, even tho he hasn't started going childcare yet. She didn't bf...
My SIL who bf for less than 2m - her 2nd girl also very sickly (coz elder girl went childcare, came home & spread the germs), in & out of hosp, there was once fever too high, now developmentally slow.
Well, there could be 10,001 reasons how these kids get sick, but fact is breastfed babies get the POWER immunities from mummies. When kids fall ill, the most heartpain would be the mums. So i encourage u to adopt a long term view and give bfg a try before u reject the whole idea coz it's HARD WORK.

hi babe
*5* same here... it was VERY TOUGH for 1st 6 wk. If not for husband & sister's encouragement & suggestions & help, I would've given up in Week 3. Plus all the readings on the net - easy to find tips from mums who hv gone thru same experience.
After the initial phase, it came so naturally i was glad i persisted. So convenient when bringing bb out too. And it feels so good that i'm the only one able to fulfil such a need for my baby (but sometimes i wish my husband had milky boobies & he can take over the midnight feeds. hahahahaha)

good morning!

got to work today and company is giving off-in-lieu.

Yvonne,
don't worry about it and don't feel guilty about it. It's a personal decision and you are the ones who know best what suits you and your baby. Everyone has their different sets of priorities, nobody can know and feel in your exact position. Most ppl gave their opinions or comments based on their personal experience with no consideration for your situation. Don't stress about this issue and be a happy mother. Doesn't mean no breast feeding equates a lousy mother or vice versa.

golden pig, those VIA cups, can they be reused and sterilised many many times though the container says 4 times only. Btw, juz wanna know when u pump to store, do u mix the milk ie, mix those that u juz pump with those already in the fridge until the cup is full?

Various reasons including medical reasons, no help during confinement period, etc etc. After thorough consideration, even if I'm able to breastfeed, I will only be able to do it for a max of 2 months and I will have to switch to formula. My hubby is also worried that all the stress from being a new mum plus the enormous pressure from breastfeeding will be too much for me to handle. Due to medical reasons, don't think I'll be one of those blessed with an oversupply of breastmilk. I know breastfeeding does not come easy for most people so it may be time for me to stop when I finally get a hang of it after 2 mths lor.

It's not a definite no no for me but I just want to get myself prepared that I won't be able to breastfeed so I won't feel that huge disappointment when the time comes.

babe,

Re: massage lady
no, not yet...have to pay $200 downpayment for Mdm Rokiah. Not sure how good her trained staffs if massage done by them! Still searching ard & compare prices...How abt u?

babe
i asked b4 an Avent saleslady she said as long as the cups dun go out of shape & the lids fit well, can continue using.
I mix ebm of the same day. Shake to mix it well before freezing. but if shake liao & leave it to stand, can see the ebm separate into fatty top layer and the clearer diluted part below. I very proud to say my ebm got lots of fats, so my boy was very FAT when he was on TBF. even tho he din drink a lot. ahhahahaha.

yvonne
think positive.. maybe u wanna standby bottles & FM as a backup, if it makes u feel better.
My friend's husband also told us he dowan to stress the wife by forcing her to bf, so in the end she partial bf for less than 3m (latch on/ express 1-2 times a day).. immed after ML over she dried up.
The key is - u dun hv to handle it alone. Your husband plays a great part in the encouragement process & helping to sterilise & assemble pump parts, help to burp the bb etc.
i know people who had to stop bfg due to medical reasons also - severe migraine hv to take strong medication, mom bf until danger of underweight, persistant mastisis etc. Such a pity, coz they've got gushing milk... but what to do.

hey where do u live? we can encourage each other when the time comes.

goldenpig,

If we go on total BF, do we still need to pump & store ebm ? If partial BF meaning we latch baby during the day & for midnight feeds, we use the ebm... will the baby get confused over breast feeding & bottle feeding? If baby can't finish the ebm from the bottle, we throw away or keep it & re-warm it when the next feed is due?

steph77,

I got to work today too and company giving additional day of leave. but i think some companies are not working... coz today MRT less crowded and today no school some more.

re: back pain
i am experiencing this bad pain on my right lower back. it is like a sharp pain and depending on the position I sit or how I walk, sometimes it is painful. It seems to come after I wash clothes on weekends then last week, it went away after 2 days. anyone has experienced before?

steph
eh, ask Mrs Wong la. She's the lactation consultant... if i answer anymore bf qstns i setup my own clinic & charge by the hour also. kekekkeke
Initial stage is latch on as frequent as possible to increase supply, even to the extent to pump sommore after latch on. The purpose is not to collect the ebm, it's to increase supply.
after 4-6 wks when supply established, then the pumping is to collect ebm so that someone else can help to feed or u gotto go out or on medication etc.
The actual situation may vary... sometimes the timing is just nice, sometimes immed after pump, bb cried & wants to eat sommore. Very cham ah!

ya some bbs dowan to wait for letdown, they prefer INSTANT milk from teat. So they cry when put to the breast. but that's when they're VERY HUNGRY lor. Dun wait for too many hunger signs b4 feeding bb o'wise struggle to latch on.

Discard unused EBM if it's left outside for more than 4hr. (I think?)

steph u go read up bfg articles on the net. Got a lot a lot a lot of info.

golden pig,
Thanks for the encouragement. I stay in hougang.

But you really sound very expert lor...haha. But we really need a lot of mental preparation to breastfeed hor? I think my hubby was a little terrified when he saw the pictures of engorged breast at Mrs Wong's class...haha...i think he also don't want me to suffer that kind of "torture".

I think most men generally learn to respect their wife a great deal after they see us go through the entire pregnancy...haha...

no la i hardly call myself the expert. My "shifu" are my sister, my friends around me who hv more success in bfg than me. There 1 lady even didn't experience sore nipples... that's an expert!!!

my mental preparation was my stubbornness lor. No standby for bottle feeding at all.. or maybe lack of preparation coz my boy arrived early at 37.5 wk? hahahahaha. But after that difficult time, i read that's exactly how some mums prep themselves for bfg... by not having any backup plan.
If your hubby terrified, he wouldn't want u to go thru childbirth. wanna c video of c-section vs natural birth? Most men can't take it. Some dun even want to touch their wives after they witnessed the birthing process. kekekekeke

I always tell my husband "it's your fault!"

yvonne, you will need a lot of support for bm....its best if can form a support group so that can encourage each other....especially for first time mummy, you need a lot of advices etc.

but all mummies will go thru the same bf blues...just part and parcel

goldenpig,
hehe..my 2nd lesson with Mrs Wong this Sat, will ask her during the 3rd lesson on breastfeeding.
Thks for the quick tips!
Read up bfg articles on the net & books, only equip us with general info & preps us mentally. We have to get ourselves physically ready to overcome any situation that may arise during bf. Sometimes strictly follow books oso cannot work, really depends on the baby's demand, milk supply, medical reasons etc...

I think all husbands must be thinking "heng ah, they are not the ones who have to give birth!!". I think they appreciate their wives more becos they cannot imagine the sort of pain we have to go through during childbirth.

yes yes agree on the support....I was super tired during a first few wks. Also no CL and MIL not very helpful either. But guess I persist and kept asking frens ard who also encouraged me. Then felt really happy later on when milk supply established. Like what golden pig says, it's a breeze to bring bb out coz milk is always there and no big bags..haha...

Golden pig, u know i asking coz I also do that..pump and top up till end of day then see wat to do with it. But some ppl says cannot mix freshly pumped milk and those already in the fridge coz temp different. Btw, wat u ate during confinement to get such fatty milk? Think mine not very fat..haha..dunno izzit that time I super tired..this time muz eat more..

babe
oh i dun mix diffrnt temp milk la. I put both containers in fridge until both cold, then mix & freeze (or not).

hey it's my natural body fat. =) but sad to say i gained all the weight back after i stopped bfg!
Confinement food i ordered from Newbaby. For the subsequent months after confinement, i ate fish for every lunch & dinner

<font color="aa00aa">zhao mummies...

sorry, the <font color="ff0000">beansprout pillow with personalised name</font> is taking sometime. will post the pic once I've them.</font>

Mei,
If taking fruits, etc doesn't help, you can try drinking freshmilk during breakfast...it always works for me.

Hi eRnMum

I'm the one who experience such braxton hicks lor... I can experience it many times a day. Just over the sat/sun nite when I laid down to sleep. It comes and go, comes and go for almost an hour plus before I finally dose off...
Just this morning on my hour train ride to work, I have counted 7 contractions so far... each lasted abt 10-20sec.
I just feel it tighten and I can feel the shape of the bb just like those vacuum packed chicken tat are sold in the mkt whenever I exp the BHC. And the feeling of something pushing down on my lower uterus...

mei !
go take some med from your doc if all else cant work ! I've taken a bottle of liquid med for constipation from my gynae and it works wonder for my after taking ONCE ! :p

Go pharmacy and buy Daphalac, $12.00. Loosen stools for pregnancy. My gynae prescribed it to me when I complained about my constipation but its available at Guardian OTC. Meanwhile, eat more fruits like papaya, green veggies, high-fibre / wholemeal bread, brown rice (if you like it)

hi chaye, did you mention to your gynae....two weeks back, i told my gynae that i have braxton hicks then she ask me whether i want injection to relax uterus cos it might lead to preterm delivery.

I say i will monitor...last thur till now, i think the frequency like more often...but again sometime i dunno whether it is really BH...cos i have a super active baby and he can be awake most of the time turning around....sometime, one side tight, the other side bit soft. Or sometimes, from lying to standing, it will also suddenly tighten too....dunno whether it is baby movement. I very worried. Am going to ask gynae to give me injection if no side effects...cos i dun wan pre-term...very scared leh

think you better check with gynae also....worried also leh