(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

no matter what, for Manual pump still gotto Manually pump la. sigh.

fishia
for my #1, i stopped when he was 10.5m coz his top teeth grew. All along i think he had improper latch (initially i was v sore ley), but not too bad after i got numb to it & only his gums ma. But the moment his top teeth grew out, i couldn't take it liao.. he was drinking very well but i was hurting like mad. After that solely express, but not for long. Naturally dried up, not much engorgement.

Golden pig,
Yeah. Sometimes not that we want to stop bf. my son too. lost interest in bm and didn't want to latch on in the day when he's abt 11mth. He only enjoys being mobile. End up i have to express. Sometimes he took bottles. When he didn't, I had to spoon feed him! Or bf him in standing or some weird position. every feed was a struggle. Eventually i intro FM in day but keep the nite feed until he was 15mo..

Jacelyn: i'm gg to Mt.A tomoro, i've signed up e every fri 6.30pm class.
see ya there!

golden pig: thks for ur reply. so is it necessary to get these items?
5) Cotton balls or square facial wool
9) Sterile gauze swaps (5 x 5 cm) comes in individual package
As my hubby is a bit sotong kind so i'll need to get everyting ready before due.. hahaha!
i need to buy my daily beauty product and stock up as well, becos we cant step out during confinement period..

steph77
Ya! I was looking @ it too. Do let us know of the feedback ya? :eek:)
Also wonder if the Soothing Nipple Oil is effective.

Btw, does any of you 2nd time mums use pdts from California Babies? Heard that the Cendula Cream, Aloe Vera and Non-Talc power is good. Any comments? Actually getting my dad to hunt down these items since he is in the States now. :eek:p

*Cheap Maternity Clothes*

Just happened to by pass this particular shop located at Toa Payoh Centre, Blk 185, #01-334. Name of shop is Carrano.
I spent $183 dollars there! But it's on 3 tops, 3 bottoms (work pants with super comfy material) and 1 dress! I thought it was quite worth it even though a bit xin tong to spend so much. Nowadays, my bump getting bigger so need more comfy wear especially during working hours. I think it's worth to take a look if you need. The 2 sales ladies are rather nice and not pushy, I tried on at least 15 pieces of clothes and they're very friendly.

I think of the $69.90 work pants I bought at Spring now, my heart aches man!

violetIce,

Carrano is the shop that AhCapp recommended. They have another outlet at Bukit Timah Beauty World. I bought some maternity clothes from there too. Good prices as compare to boutiques!

Steph,

I totally agreed! I mean, they do have some "aunty" designs but then there are also good finds! Especially work pants, very reasonable priced, less than $30!

<font color="0077aa">Violetlce,

Re:Carrano
me oso just went tat shop yesterday with pal.. at to payoh one.. got 2 sale ger there(1 young , the other auntie)... keep recommending lotsa nice maternity dress..Spend more than 1.5hrs there.. in end oso spend abt S$95.. with 1top, 1capri,1tube dress & D&D dress cos D&D coming soon...

Did u went shop @Song & Song oso ard tat corner...got bb romper/sleepwear..branded snipped label "Old navy, Gap, Disney"...ard $5ea..
Few stall down oso another store sellg nice cheap bb clothing...
Didn't know TP got a few stall sellg nice bb stuffs, clothing...

Didn't know oso could Spend a bomb at these neighbourhood HDB</font>

<font color="ff0000">Beansprout Pillow</font>
sorry for taking so long, my friend is getting the sample for me already and once ready, I will post pic here then see who want to order, ok? It comes with beansprout pillow + casing + personalised name.

re; newborn diapers
for my #1, i used pampers for a start, then switched to mamypoko. then when #1 can upgrade to "S" size, I alternate between Pampers and Mamypoko. Tried other brands but still prefer Pampers, and being KS, I applied nappy rash cream each time I changed diaper. Each baby skin is different. Mummy have to try it out.

re: Breast Pump
Hmm...I been using Avent. Good but disadvantage is, have to go back to the main office (now they have moved to Toa Payoh) to buy spare parts if faulty. Spare parts not sold in shopping centres.

mcfluffy,
do you know which pump your friend is using? I'm considering of getting an electric one.. and maybe that strap thing...

Mei,
move to toa payoh good for me... hehe.. very near my house.

MomMe,
I'm using both their aloe vera and calendula cream. Not bad leh.. I applied aloe vera cream on my son's rashed skin and it heals pretty fast.. sometimes i use calendula cream as nite cream on my face, as recommended and it really moisturised my dehydrated skin.. Have not tried their non talc powder though... heard their sunblock good too.

fishia,
isn't there only one pump? will ask her again when i see her. she says the strap thing is verrrrrrry useful. she can read and pump at the same time. previously cannot.

but the price looks kinda high. normal pumps aren't so ex right?

<font color="ff0000">hi mei</font>
do u hv the new addy & tel of the Avent HQ? I need new parts for my pumps.... tksssss

Lots of replies today. Thank u to all who gave me more advices/ tips. Greatly appreciate it!

Regarding the questions on:
5) Cotton balls or square facial wool
9) Sterile gauze swaps (5 x 5 cm) comes in individual package
Hmm.. I would guess that 5) is for places which are hard to wipe/ clean.

Looks like 9) is for the baby cord. But I could be wrong. Sorry, really no idea =P

But these are easy to get items. U might be able to replace it with other items already present in your own house. Like Golden Pig said, they are cheap items, just buy first and worry later. =)

Hi Kitsune,

Yes, I also bought the Jingle brand clothings for my little darling. =) I first saw it on my niece. So when I saw it at BHG over the week (with 20% off), I bought quite a few. Sorry, no one offered pass-me downs. Anyway, I can save it for my 2nd kid, so I just get them first lor. ;P

Hi Step77 & VioletIce,

Oh yes, Carrano is a wonderful shop for preggie mums like us. Too bad no new designs at the Beauty World outlet recently. =(

Hi McFluffy,

The Carter bibs are really very cute, material not bad too. =) Baby Closet is pretty fast and prompt with their response.

mcfluffy,
so she bought the package thing lah... cos it says can be connected to other pumps... I'm more keen to get avent rather than Ameda which they are selling... it's okay. I'll can them up to check if avent can fix and if it's okay for single pump.

Re: Pumps...

I got the Avent manual pumps during the sale. My colleague later on lend me her Medela electric dual pumps. I just need to change-out the wetted parts and it's good as new. She said with Medela pumps, u will fine breasfeeding a ease. My company has a nursing room with power socket, so I can choose to use either.

Hey Jacelyn and Lynn, Im also gg for the class at MtA tmr evening. My classes are on Saturdays though...See u there..but u both know each other already? Did u all go for the first outing that time?

fishia
Where do you usually get them from? Got cheap lobang. My dad just told me that aloe vera and cendula cream is outta stock. :eek:(

hi!

Jacelyn & hammies: i'm gg wif my hubby dis evening.. havnt met anybody fr dis thread before except for Icy in Japan. i cant make it during their 1st gathering, waitin for e 2nd gatherin.....
see ya gals @ Mt.A dis evening.

Hi Tattyhug & AhCapp,

Does Carrano sell clothes suitable to wear for D&D? I don't really wan to buy those floral prints one.. am looking at if there is any gown-like ones for D&D wear (more formal kind)

rE: talc/ non-talc powder
ang mo recommendation - not to put powder on bb's privates, esp girls. but i know chinese method is to powder especially there!
i only powdered my boy's neck if he's sweaty. o'wise didn't use powder at all.

ernmum
i use roll-on powder for my boy, not those powder puffs that my grandma used on us..

chat with a colleague
<font color="0000ff">she</font>: another boy ah! So 3rd one try for girl.
I paused for a moment
<font color="0000ff">me</font>: I'd be happy with 3 boys too, doesn't make a difference to me.
<font color="0000ff">she</font>: then your husband leh?
<font color="0000ff">me</font>: no difference to him either
<font color="0000ff">she</font>: oh, u dowan to hv a girl ah?
<font color="0000ff">me</font>: to us there's no difference whether boy or girl.

thankfully she went away o'wise i would've picked a quarrel with her for imposing her beliefs on me.

hi anyone care to go to Carrano. i am looking for Pants / Jeans. Btw last week i went to Prefect Mum purchase 3 Tops (Tube), & 1 Tube dress + 1 nursing bra at $10.00 (which is $39.30)@ total of $176.10. Now i wama buy 2 pants/ jean.

Is the Carrano quality good??

AS for the breast pump i prefer manual cos, but remember manaul pump can pump until siao (mad); if u have lots of milk. Cos i pump every 2hrs = 5oz when my 1st bb. and i dun even dare to eat fish & papaya.

BTW Anyone interested in going wif me Mrs Piggy Aka Evonne

GoldenPig, can imagine how angry you were. I have the same experience yesterday. I bumped into a colleague in the lift as I was going home. She saw my big tummy and asked me how many months liao. Told her 5months plus.

Then she said, "Scan already or not? Know boy or girl yet"
I said "Yes."
She said, "Boy ah?"
I said, "No, baby girl"
She immediately made a face (like a grimace)
I saw it, not happy, asked her "Why?"
Maybe she noticed I not happy, then she said "Girl also good lar".

She was with her daughter (about 7 years old) in the lift too. Does she hate her daughter too? How will the daughter feel if she sees mummy making a face like that? :/

Complained to hubby when I got into the car that our daughter being "xian qi" by others when she's not even born. Lucky, he sayang my tummy and told BB "Never mind, Daddy never "xian qi" you.

What's wrong with all these ppl rite ? what's wrong wif having girl and wat's wrong with having 2 of the same sex hor ?! can faint !
Last time when I had my first who is a girl, this mother of my hubby's gd friend ask him "yours is a girl ah?" then she gave a disappointed look... then said "girl also gd la"
Arent you a girl when you were little ?! *faint*

Golden Pig/Kitsune,
I kinda of understand how you gals feel:

During pregnancy on how we look, tummy big or small, etc... and whether having boy or girl can be a very senstive thing to us esp when people anyhow comment on input their diffrent comments.. blah blah...Just ignore these people cos they are neither our gynes nor or husband. What most important is that we feel good ourselves and that we have suppotive hubbies
And that we know that our babies are growing and developing well
Afterall, we are the mummy and we know best
Do not be upset over those silly comments they made.. It will only stress ourselves..

Relax and smile

Fern

my mother must've suffered... being the wife of the firstborn and she bore him 2 girls.. Who knows, now all her 4 grandchildren are boys.

Re gal/boy
-Its the same to me lah.. We are not those old fashion pple from China or whatever- who must have boys as first child... or whatever.. although I am having a boy as my first child.. Some pple want also cant.. that is really poor thing you know.. We are considered really blessed
Imagine how would our bby feel if they know we have certain gender prefernce?? Aiyo... just tell these pple..We should be blesed whatever gender is given to us. As long as they are healthy! That will shut them off men!

i'm not upset, gender really doesn't matter to me. I'm just bewildered that these people want to tell me to be happy or sad abt having another boy, and they tell me to have another child... & they're not even going to help me raise the kid?!?!?! How far will their $10 ang pow go?
Sometimes people shld just keep their comments to themselves, if they dunno what to say. Same with their HANDS.

Heehee....yes yes I know what u gals mean. Actually whether gal or boy, important is healthy right?

So sianz at work..can't seem to find motivation to do the things that I ought to. Hiaz, now I am so tempted to go on no pay leave after maternity. Haha...

Talkin abt baby gender:

my MIL is e one saying " Urs is boy ar?" i prefer girls better becos more guai and filial to parents... watz is dis?? isnt her 2 sons gd to her? buy her gifts and treat her to makan wenever free... her daughter is e youngest in e family and not workin, of cse filial to her.. always avail to go out wif her.

if her sons not workin how r they gotta support their own family ritz?

Re breastfeeding also the same.. find it riduclous if pple ask why so little milk or why cant blah blah as heard from some friends they feel presurrized in this when they are asked this..

To me, I will really get mad if pple ask me this. In the first place whether or not we have milk a not, is not for us to say! Its our body who is working out the milk. HOw on earth we know why we have milk , little ot what.. haha.. My mil asked me if I planned to breastfeed. I told her if have then can, if not, obviously go to formula lah! And I asked her how abtt you last time and she said she had no milk too.. haha. so I am sure she should understand me better in this way.

I have even discussed with my hubby in this. ANd he agrees that ig have, have.. if not formula milk are equally good! also explained how sore our breast will be men! So at least he have a better understanding in this area!

For me, I have already bought the breast pump and breast storage milk cooler. HOpe these come in handy and will give me motivation.. haha
But again I will not know if got milk a not mah..so no need worry over these.. just keep our fingers crossed!

Re gender thing..

Riduclous when pple got so many comments.. why dun ask abtt themselves.. We cant control such thing men! Aiyo..Luckily when I asked my mil prefer boy or girl.. haha.. she say both also same as long as healthy can already... luckily if not I will also get equally mad.

Morning Everyone, wow... so many message to catch up. Wasn't been feeling well for a week liao. Having flu and cough only see doctor on tuesday and had 2 days mc. Till not still have not recover. Cough get worst at night, especially middle of the night. Unable to sleep. Haiz.... Very sorry to my bb, he must have suffered a lot from my cough.

Mylife, my deepest condolence. Be strong and take care.

fern
if no milk, it's whether u want to work hard to build up the supply. Too often mommies give up coz it's v tiring to bf. Blessed are those with GUSHING milk & no problems latching on.

momme: you try taping on your tummy and see whether baby respond...else lie down on your side...usually they very active when you lie down....and sleepy when you walk...cos you will rock them to sleep. Dun worry...should be ok...as long as 10 moves is good enough

aiyo....wrt boys and girls....each parent got own preference ma...why must one girl one boy?
One girl one boy also not perfect one la

milk wise...last time ppl no money usually busy making money and seldom latch on....where got such thing as pump....so no latch on = no milk....not that they have no milk to feed

the only way to succeed for BF is really perservere...if you give up easily and say sore nipple, dun wan feed etc...you are bound to fail.

I cry cry cry and continue to feed tho nipple pain....but in the end my boy and i benefit so much from it. There was once that he bite my mipple badly...got teeth liao ma...i still continue to feed tho bleed....

good to have a support group and seek help whenever you needed one...for those first time mummies....just got to be mentally prepared that it is going to be a challenge as it is really damn tough.

Golden Pig,
How do work on if really no milk as much as we tried.. think it be worst if feel presurrized hor. And also I think I read before also how bb latches on your breasts also helps increase milk flow.. haha.. I am not the very patient kind.. so hopefully I can try my best to endure as much as I can

ERnmum,
I really admire your preserverance. Will try to learn from you but I really not the patient kind so dunknow how men! Haz
Being a first time mummy, I already feeling the stress and cant imagine breast feeding despite the sore and bleeding.. Its truely a sacrfice. Now I know why our parents love us so much when we were young.

2nd time bfg moms UNITE to promote BF over FM ok. Saves lots of $$...

ernmum
last time my grandma SAHM, so she bf all her 13 kids. POWER... FM very ex - i think they can't afford. My grandpa sold vege in mkt.
Ya there were so many times i wanted to give up coz so PAINFUL to latch on.. i asked hubby "can give bottle?" Hubby said NO CANNOT. Then i bo pian tahan the frustration & pain & soreness. 6 weeks! After that shiok liao la... bring bb out so convenient, no need bottles, no need hot water flask etc. But later went back to work i got so tired of the pumping & washing... argh.

fern
ask God for patience, latch on frequent & supply will build. If no demand, then your brain will tell u "NO NEED TO MAKE MILK COZ NO DEMAND". Then no milk lor.