(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Morning all mummies

Yvonne
You must have felt v exasperated and frustrated in the toilet.

But good news on the hair trimming. i think i will attempt to trim myself too coz i asked a few hair salons near my place, they say they donno how to trim babies' hair unless they can sit still by themselves. mine cannot, will move around.

steph
zander is looking so smart in the cowboy outfit. can you forward me the web-link to the professional baby hair salon again? i lost the link.

itok,
Actually those QB House, etc are quite good. I brought my boy twice but problem is our babies tend to struggle and move so sometimes quite difficult but they do a real good job for $10. This time I just wanted to trim a bit since his hair quite long & thick liao.

Yvonne
when u bring your boy, does he sit by himself in the chair or u carry him while they cut? mine cannot sit by himself

mine, the hair is not thick.. it's just long liao.. then some parts i wanna trim thinner coz he is hot.

Morning mummy,

Aiyo, Hao Re is not well, AGAIN, GRRRRRR!!!

He has LOTS of (yellow/green) eye discharge, and red and swaollen eyelids. Think most probably due to bacteria conjunctivitis. Woke up in the early morning, both eyes are full of discharge, all dried up, very difficult to clean up.

And also his privy is quite red. We thought it was okay to be a little red. But his teacher saw "it" this morning and advise to bring him see PD asap, cos based on thier experience, this is unusual kind of red. Don't know what caused this, as we always change him immediately once he poops.

Teacher also said seeing sign of running rose and cough already. Not too surprising cos my hubby is down with a very serious flu. He tried to be away from Hao Re, but still difficult to totally avoid contact.

Will take him to see PD during lunch time. Good thing is he is still sleeping and eating well, and active and happy. Didn't feel so heartpain this time, but both conditions need to be treated fairly quickily, since it's kind of infection. Could it be us who didn't practice good hygeine? But we have no problem handling him for the last 11 months leh.....

Kam
oh, sorry to hear about Hao Re- sayang sayang.. his eyes must hv felt so uncomfortable. but you are right, at least he is still sleeping and eating well and active... so it may not be as bad. quickly go PD later and see what happens.. may he recover soon!

itok,
I have to carry him to sit on my lap. But he will also move here and there and gets impatient after a while. So if I can trim on my own I will try lor unless it gets to messy then I will bring him back again.

Kam,
Poor Hao Re...hope he recovers soon. I think as they become more mobile, they will get their hands and feet on all the unwanted areas so it's inevitable germs into their system more frequently. We can't possibly keep every corner of the house speck and clean so can only wash our hands and their hands frequently to keep the germs away. It's part of their growing up process so can't avoid it, just that when they fall sick...everyone suffers.

What time does ur baby sleep at nite?

Javin had been very cranky in the nite time. Usually he sleep at 8-8.30pm wake up at 7+ in the morning. I will wipe his body give him milk then he will roll on his bed then sleep not cranky at all. Recently these 2 weeks when ever i tried to make him slp at 9pm he will make a fuss crying and shouting. till 10.30 then sleep probaly too tired cos in the noon he will slp at 2-4pm. He just wanna play and wan me to carry him ard the house!

Re: baby bedtime
Jacelyn
mine, since 4months old, sleep at 9plus, wake up 3plus am drink milk change pampers then sleep and wake up at 8am.

how did u managed to train Javin not to wake up at night for milk?
or perhaps your noon nap is too long? let him sleep 1 hour instead then he will be more tired at night?

talking about sleeping time.. you are considered lucky liao, he can sleep at 8plus pm then wake up 7plus morning.

Other mummies, please share your sleeping routine... I am trying to train mine to sleep longer so now my routine is:

7am wake up drink 240ml milk with rice cereal
9.30am- 11.30am nap
11.30am lunch- porridge
1pm- apple
2.30pm - 4.30pm nap
4.30pm dinner porridge
8.30pm- bedtime 240ml milk with rice cereal
2.30am- 220ml milk
7am Start all over again

Jacelyn,
Is he teething? My boy also experienced a period of fussiness during bedtime quite a few weeks back. What I did was to apply bonjela on his pacifier and let him suck on it (I tried massaging on his gums but he would lick it off before it even reaches the gums) and he would fall alseep. His upper 2 front teeth just came out and the 2 teeth beside also coming out. I guess it's really uncomfortable to be cutting 4 teeth at the same time that's why he's so grouchy a few weeks back. Now he's back to normal during bedtime.

Yvonne
u r right... may be teething too.. coz they will be fussy.

i cannot imagine when they start to grow the back teeth... will be worse.

Re: Routine
I'm also interested to know other's routine. My boy has different routines for weekdays and weekends. Can't force my in-laws to follow mine so just let it be.

Weekdays
8am - 150 milk
10am - Cereal
10.30am to 12 noon - nap
12.30pm - 150ml milk
2.30pm - Porridge
3.30pm to 5pm - nap
5.30pm - 150ml milk
7.30pm - Yogurt or cereal
9pm - 150ml milk and sleep

Weekends
8am - 150ml milk followed by yogurt/scrambled eggs
10am to 11am - Nap
11am - Porridge
2pm - 150ml milk
2.30pm to 4pm - Nap
5pm - 150ml milk
6pm - Dinner (Cereal / Jar food / Porridge)
9pm - 150ml milk and sleep

Any MOmmy have Mickey birthday stuff to give or sell 2nd hand? My boy's party on 3 Jan and I haven't been able to find stuff...

Talking abt teething...

When teething, do babies get red & swollen/sore gums? My boy now has cut upper 4 teeth & bottom 2 teeth...can see another 2 teeth beside also coming out & can see it's swollen & he is drooling lots. He also like to put his hand into his mouth to chew. When i give him cool teething ring, he dun seem to like it.

steph,
Yes, my boy's gums are also swollen and red. He will use his finger to rub/dig at his gums. He also dun like teething ring but love to bite on other stuff. He has chewed on his cot railings until the paint peels (now I have to cover it with a towel to prevent further chewing) and even my hubby's spectacles casing (there are teeth markings on it now)...dun know how much plastic, rubber, paint etc he swallowed...oops.

i went to foto u studio yesterday.

Wai Peng is quite good. My number 2 didnt smile a lot cos he dun wan to keep still. But wai peng still managed to get quite a lot of natural shots
2005230.jpg

Wa, eRnMum, the photos of your boys look so good. Really tempted to take photos at Foto-U liao. How much is your package? How long was it?

yeah i also wanna know the package u took up? How many photos to keep? soft copies in CD?
Foto-U very fast in developing photo? My photos & soft copies took 2wks to be ready! Oh...i have uploaded the rest in FB, if u all interested can go there have a look!

eRnMum
very nice pics! very natural and the colour and lightnings are great too.. how much?
do they do photo-taking for events like birthday parties?

kitsune,
I buy around $54 during the carter sale. Actually buy some ger dress for my friends, they were so cute. Boy clothes only buy a few 4-5 pcs.

mei,
try cold storage. I ordered roast ham/beef steak/marinated chix wings/sausages+cheese from cold storage last wk for potluck on Xmas eve

Itok/Yvonne/steph,

Just came back from PD. Okay. Nothing serious, he said it's pretty common for toddlers at this age. The eyes were infected probably due to his dirty hands (though we try to wash his hands frequently or whenever we see him touching suspectedly dirty). The red privy (fungus infection) was most likely due to excessive sweat and wetness. No med to be taken, just cream (for privy) and oilment (for eyes) to be applied. Hao Re was sooooooo happy playing at the clinics, think maybe he thought we brought him to a playground :)

We should have brought him to see doctor earlier. But the thing is we only trust Dr Keoy, his PD. So even if we brought him to see other docs, ended we might bring him to see Dr Keoy again, cos don't trust other docs. Only in case of very emergency case, then no choice bring him to see other doc (like last time the HFMD, but at the end still got Dr Keoy to review).

eRnMum,

Wow, photos of your boys look really good!!! Love it!

mei,
ya i think most supermarts last order for xmas is 20thDec. Try Jack's place?

Kam,
Glad is nothing serious. My hubby also paranoid abt seeing GP so when Zander is having fever, he wanna see the usual PD but PIL say this is minor case, dun need c PD, GP will do. Anyway, we just want a peace of mind la. After this...experience liao & #2, maybe go to GP...save $ too!

so angry, i type so much and cant post my message

thanks all for the compliments

i paid $250 for the package and will get back all my shots in high resolution. Will also get back a few hard copies.

Wai Peng is quite prompt in her service. I requested to see photos as i wanna select one to develop for his party this thur and she emailed me this morning. I had my photo shoot yesterday late afternoon.

She can be contactable at 96935299.
Her sample photos can be viewed at
http://www.foto-u.com./Home.html

she really know how to put my elder boy at ease and then he like a model pose here and there.

Number 2, cos too young, so depend on us to make him smile...haha

will upload the pics in the face book when i have the time

eRnMum,
I wanted to sign up the package with them, ended up wait for premium promotion and realised it was not as good as the previous $120 promotion. sigh. Urs was the previous promotion right?

Nice photos, ur elder boy very handsome leh!

Is ur #2 harder to take more shot. I also concern that Xavier will be too active to have any photos taken.

RE: Foto-u

I had my wedding AD done by wai peng and maternity shoots by Benjamin. Also took the artistic maternity shot by Ben too. Brought Javin there for PS when he is 4ths old there too. Can say their wk is good!!! Thumbs up!!!

Looking at the pictures, all babies have grown up liao. How time flies, last time still craddling in our arms now learning to walk! Some even have didi coming along.....

icy, no leh....no promotion at that time....i only signed up the week before last.

think the package supposed to be $150 for 1 hour and then add on $100 to take back all shots in high res.

They are cheaper than studio loft.

call wai peng la...nothing to lose and see what she can offer

my number 2 ah...crawl and crawl....cannot sit still.

my number 1 when he was 1 at studio loft walk and walk

btw, i also tot not many nice pics...end up i see a lot of natural pics.

They need not be smiling can also be very nice...cos it is just them

Mei,

U can try to search in ebay for the mickey mouse figurines. I bought a set of 6 Mickey and frens figureines from one of the mummy in SMH at $20 only!!! The mickey candle from a spree in SMH too. U can go the the birthday cakes thread to seach there is a link to a shop in SG sells Mickey theme stuff.

Here is the schedule of Javin

8-9am wake up, give milk 180mL
9.30am sit in potty to pass motion then bath
10am Pay time time
11.30 nap (If no nap take porriage)
2-4pm Nap
4-6pm Play time
6.30-7pm Porriage
8.30 180ml milk
10pm sleep

The night time is the most scary part. As he will be really cranky keep fussing dun wanna sleep. Put him on my bed try to pat him sleep he will crawl in reverse way to get down the bed carefully. Once on the ground he will be happily smiling.

RE: Teething
I buy teether for him but he dun wan just wan to bit my hp charm, mineral water bottle cap and all other thing which is can grap except teether. Sometime he will just put his finger inside the mouth and keep digging. I apply Dontinox but he stil cannot wk well keep biting things. Sometimes even take my finger to bite. Now the 2 teeth is only half grown already so jia lat cannot imagine teething for the molar!!!

Anyone here lose temper when taking care of baby? I just cannot control my temper always feel very frustrated when Javin is cranky. I always ended up slapping his face or smacking his butts... Which is feel very remoseful after doing that. Always tell myself to control but only for a while, always ended up scolding or beating him. Or else end up quarrel with HB....

Mummies, how do you all control ur temper???? Pls pass me some skills....

Mei,

When do you need the figurines? I just passed my figurines to Pine garden yest. I can only lend you after 12 Jan....

Oh ya, you got buy any Mickey theme plates, cups, napkin? I bought all those as well....

Jacelyn
you are not alone. i also end up frustrated then will scold gerrard. or v impatient with him. or else, is end up quarrel with hb. then i will be v guilty after i scolded gerrard coz he is still a baby.. how he noe what happened..

i also donno how.. i think just gonna keep reminding ourselves to be patient, be patient..

Jacelyn,
Sometimes I also cannot control my temper especially when he's struggling and crawling away from me with poop on his backside...haha. I will also smack his butt but not face lah. Smack butt at least still got diaper as protection. But I ever smacked his butt with diaper off and he look at me and cry loud loud but only after 3rd or 4th smack....so thicked-skin. After I cool down will feel guilty lor so I will explain to him why he got smacked and why mummy is so angry with him.

i also got smack his butt (with pampers on) a few time.. but i never smack face coz i think smack face v pain leh! jacelyn, u must control.. dont smack his face.

mei, how old is ur #1?