(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i am very sad lei. my boss just confirmed that she will be transferring me again for the 4th time since I came back from my maternity leave. haiz. i told her i dun want but she still insist. the dept so big, but y m i always the one being transferred?

i am going to make a big huha out of this matter. tmr i will go talk to HR and my boss's boss le. though i know mgmt will side mgmt, but i dun see why i should keep quiet about it and let my boss get her way.

feeling so down....

jess, you kena trf by your boss for the 4th time? so previously 3 times, ur boss trf you and trf u back? or do you mean you werre being trf ard by many bosses?

Audrey Ang? - audreyang
Jennifer Lim?
Jolie Sia
Claudia Sim?
Helen Chung?
Hazel Lua?
Is Debbie Ho- Chaye?
Jazry Chan? = pixiepixel
Lim Yah Ling - shootingstar
Eunice Ong?

cos initially planning and buying dept is different boss. then 1 resign liao my stupid boss take over 2 depts. so now she always transfer me between these 2 depts. then saying we are 1 family. but the fact is jobscope is different. and each rotation, i have to relearn cos its different stuff mah. i really feel so sick of the rotation.

she say how come i so young cannot take such rotation.... i told her i am fine with the job, but rotating every 3 months like tat make me feel very insecure.
i never thot of resigning de.. but y must she force me to? haiz...

itok
u gotta be kidding me. Not so soon lah...furthermore, i not active meh? kekeke

Re: Facebook identities
Who is :
Audrey Ang?
Jennifer Lim?
Jolie Sia
Claudia Sim? = grumpus
Helen Chung?
Hazel Lua?
Is Debbie Ho- Chaye? yes, it's chaye
Jazry Chan? = pixiepixel
Lim Yah Ling?
Eunice Ong?

today also busy, can only come in to catch a glimpse here and there....

One quick question, intend to go Club Med Bintan to celebrate my boy's birthday in Jan so need to apply passport for him. Can we take photo on our own with white background?? Soooooo difficult to get him to stay still so dunno how to bring him to take from the shops leh....will ICA reject if photo not so clear??

ylim,
yes can take yr own but with white bkground. Go ICA website & they will advise the photo requirements. I took my boy photo myself & edit & sent to ICA...approved

Jess,

One way is to ask your boss or HR, if your transfer is only 3 months and they are going to transfer u again how are they going to access ur performance. 3 months is only good to access whether the person can do the job but not able to access performance. Usually job rotation is abt a year.

Hi Serene,

ya. i will do that tmr. But i know that the consequence of this action will only spoil the relationship between me and my boss further. can see she already dun like me cos i told her i am not receptive to the transfer. but nevertheless, i told her tat the final decision is hers cos she is my boss...

haiz..

mylife
Good qn. Who is tracy?? This huha abt #5 mommy, end up her nick doesn't even ring a bell leh. Or have I been missing out on too many posts?

hello...so busy at work and hardly chk..this thread moving v fast lehz....all the excitement with love story and #2/3.

Mei, sorry is the bb bash still on?

Kam, I returned in 2002. Heehee....is it same time? Maybe we could have met. I have fren studying in cambridge...

Erm...is there any gathering going on in dec? Sorry I always need to chk back coz I somehow can't catch up with u gals pace on posts...

steph
I've been to Tokyo Disneyland, and recently went to HK one...feels the same leh, rides also same! But of cos language different lah. So no need to wait till #2 2-3yrs old lah, bring to HK lo.

babe,

I returned in 2003.... about the same time. Don't think we would have the same group of friends, cos me much older than you :-( Some more I was those very quiet type when I was there, culture shock :) When I was starting to enjoy my life there, it's time to leave already.

RE: Important dates

Aiyo, when I was reading blogs just now, suddenly reminded myself today is actully our customary wedding anniversary....... both of us totally forgot about it (I remembered it for a few minutes in the afternoon, didn't call hubby right then). Hubby super tired today, already knock out at 8.30pm, didn't take dinner and didn't bath, yuck!

Mylife,

Tokyo and HK Disneyland same meh? How about the size of it? It's just announced it's officially confirmed the next Disneyland will be at Shanghai!!!

JanBB,

You could take a family photo at the Flyer also :)

congrats to Janbb and Tracy. Welcome to our club.

so who will be the #6?

today start from evening stomachache, my mum thot i'm going to deliver. faint.... she said #2 normally will deliver early especially i almost 7months preggy liao.

jess,

i also dun like my boss .. lolz..in fact can say i hate her to core. but the benefits here is really good. been tolerating n tolerating, just dare not voice out. wat to do? i want the benefits here :p looking for jobs now but ppl keep asking me "har? few yrs liao u still in this position? not even SENIOR?" well, she will never promote me mah. do i nid to tell all agency abt this fact? so be it lah. i m tolerating all e way till 2 jan 09, den see how. got hb's approval to quit without a job in 2 jan 09 liao but part of me cant bear to give up e pay/ benefits here. mayb i shd stick to here till i get preg n deliver #3 n claim 4 mths ML haha n aft claiming say sayonara to my boss. so wat if she increase my job again after delivering #3 (cos aft ML, i will quit?)? haha

mylvera,

which line are u in? How come bosses so sickening one, especially female bosses?? Mine boss is in her early 50s, protect all those around her age one. then I am youngest in the dept, 23 only... so i am always her target. but i am thinking, y shld i suffer in silence and let her get her way lei? even if i want to continue stay here, must let her suffer with me mah? am i having stupid thinking???

i also hope my hubby can approve lei. but he dun... hahaha...

jess,

I am in the accouting line. my boss is in her early 40s, married but childless. I am wishing very hard that she gets pregnant soon and can understand what we mummies face when she discriminate us. I know for sure that if I confront her now, it will mean I have a tougher time with her and dun expect to stay here for long.

erm..as to the agreement with hb... there's a "clause" to it leh. even if i m not working, i still have to contribute the same amt to the joint account on a mthly basis. tat's y to him, ok mah :S

wah, like tat ur personal savings will get lesser and lesser le wor.... hmmm.....

haiz. i know wat u mean. but i really cannot tahan dun tell my manager's boss lei. i now even contemplating to go to HR and my MD anot. cos its for the 4th time in the past 7months???!! i knw my life here will be jialat in future.

Jess,

Is ur MD or HR open to discuss such issues or rather approachable? As a manager they shld know that 4 transfers with 7 mths is really very bad. Either she can't plan or she is just making you feel lousy. This kind of manager is really bad and I am sure she is a not leader quality.

Mylife: i been to hk disneyland in Aug 06, dont really like it. most of e ppl fr china and they never Q up... can even teach their kids to just go to e front.i went to disneysea in tokyo last yr and really enjoyed myself very much althot dont understand their language. but their acting can really make u laugh. As for disneyland in tokyo, wanna go together wif my bb 2yrs lata...

mylife: do u kw how's e weather in hk during early Jan? Intend to bring Rayden over aft his 1st birthday.. do i need to giv him flu jab?

violetice: i agreed every meal costs abt sin$100 in tokyo... did u go to e fish market? e sashimi there is cheaper.. i ate one whole plate myself and wanna order one more then hb was telling mi. Wow! u eat so much sashimi, dont forget u r 4mths pregnant lei..

Mei: u planning for New yr bash? Get someone to help u if not planning alone is not easy task..

Is e potluck@east on 14dec (Sun) 4.30pm cfm?

My boy finally caught the flu bug yesterday. Really cannot siam since me and hubby are both sick and in-laws also sick. He cried and cried last night becos his blocked nose caused him difficulty in sleeping. I so tired at one point I just let him cry until he fell alseep...bad mummy.

mylevra,
I strongly encourage you to have #3, take 4 mths maternity leave then come back and say sayonara to your boss!! Take lots of mc to rest during preggy period as well....hahaha....

But most of the female bosses I meet in accounts are a bit "bian tai" one...hehe. All also have that "whole world owe them money" attitude!

Jess,
Is it becos you're the youngest and never "po" your boss?? Old ladies want to feel respected becos they have that "they eat salt more than you eat rice" attitude. Usually also feel very insecure around the younger staff who are faster learners, younger and prettier...

Hi Serene,

I feel that my manager's boss will side here. As for MD and HR, i believe they are quite open. Cos MD is angmoh...
But nevertheless, the fact that no matter what happens, i will still be under her and she will make my life hell once i approach these ppl.

ya, i agree with u. her planning is lousy. she can still tell me, 7 months okie mah, time to move on. Wat the...!!!

Yvonne

I bought a cream like Vicks but it's for bb, the box has a bear and moon. Use it to rub on bb's chest and feet, might help. It's for block nose.

yvonne
maybe wat u say is true lor. i never 'po' her. and worst still, i am those straightforward type. sometimes she say things i disagree i will just give my 2cents worth of thots. but hor, she is the one who told me to be open de mah. i open with her then she like tat. damn lousy rite....

joyce
ah, my 2nd pregnancy lasted 41wks ley. baby 1wk overdue.

lynn
i been to HK disneyland 3 times.. so far din encounter rude mainland chinese, thank God. It's our yearly destination, coz we like the year end weather and not too far away, but every year getting more expensive $$$.

i always wonder how people can afford maid, car, multiple branded bags, send kids to enrichment, every 3yr change car, etc... coz i so broke.... expenditure equals or more than income.. savings don't grow... and with the COE becoming $2, husband says he wants to change 6yr old car which needs more replacement parts now than before even tho we bring for regular servicing. I guess hv to take loan, dun hv that much cash to pay upfront. Means every month gotto fork out $700-$1k for abt 4yrs... fwah, dun hv this kind of excess cash every month wor!!!!! maybe if i take 2nd job... then he say i'm not accepting his reasons for changing car, that i don't see his point of view etc. He say present car depreciate very bad... but i think... every car also depreciate la.. unless u own an antique car?!?!?! Money money money. Why am i not the one to win BMW in credit card lucky draw?!?! Or condo?? Or family vacation?!?! Or anyting?!?!?!?

jess
i'm also the straightforward type, but with bosses, need to beat about the bush a bit before getting to the point. they hv their face wor.. after all they are boss & they do our appraisal & decide our bonuses & increment & promotions... & workload & transfers!!

wendy,

i also cannot imagine how some ppl can afford those things.. i already face green green with jz a maid n no car n no enrichment (dun even go for trials too). branded bags? erm... only recently bot coach nia but tat is after saving for 1 yr? sometimes i wish my hb own a car, den we can go out often with kids but he wun spend on cars! holidays??erm..e last holiday i had was my honeymoon where i met janbb. den .. holi simi?? day? haha mayb once a yr go sg hotel stay lor..

jess,

i seldom disagree with my boss. more of the "yes M'am" kind. however if she is wrong abt the procedures, i will correct her n kena these words fr her "you duno everything. only know how to argue/talk back!" erm... mayb i shd hv let her tink that her "procedures" is correct den secretly go amend it among the departments?

ya lor. tat time i also stupid go believe her then open. so ever since got 1 really ideas disagree i stopped being straight forward to her liao.

when she told me that the 4th transfer is confirmed yesterday, i didnt even bother to say anything to her. just say okie. she asked if i am okie, i said okie. cos last week when she told me her plan i already said i prefer not to transfer le. but she is the boss and she has the final decision.

so sianz. do anyone of u have jobs lobang anot? heehee...

Bebeyan,
ok, thanks. I'll go and find.

Jess,
Rule no. 1 - Never believe when your female boss says she is very open to ideas and opinions. People who say that are the ones who cannot accept other people's opinion. That's what I realised after working for 12 years and coming across a few of those "bian tai" lady bosses myself. But I very garang one, I will be even more fierce than her but of course I have the support of my big boss lah, who's her boss...Lucky my big boss is male and angmoh so he's very fair to everyone and doesn't take nonsense from that lady boss of mine.

Jess,
How cum your boss transfer you 4 times & you still under her? Or is she the div head which got many depts/sections under her? If so, think you better consider to switch job since she got so much authority & you may actually step on her tail accidentally. No point staying put & let her manipulate u like a ball. Of cos' get another job before u quit. Afterall, is year end liao, get your bonus & start looking for new opening in Yr 2009. There shld be many turnovers as usually plp tend to job hop after getting the yr end bonus. Juz my pass experience, used to work in HRD ;)

janbb,

erm..jz asking ... do u think there will be many turnover next yr given the economy situation? lots of coy are holding back their recruitments liao leh ...

mylvera
Also muz depend on which sector (i.e public or private) & which industry u are in. Of cos' i can't predict but based on past recruitment trend, i realised no matter how bad economy turn, there's still plp left the job in my Co for other higher pay job leh. Think there's no "Tie Fan Wan" nowadays even in public sector. So there's a risk if you job hop from your current Co to a unsure environment unless the Co u are very sure is establish & stable. Me not risk taker, thus remain status quo is the safest move if u got no complains with the present Co.

ya lor.. i agree with mylvera. i have been looking for jobs but not many with response.

wendyg: i am currently in aerospace industry, working as planner/buyer.

but i just graduated with my business degree. used to work in events company cos i was from hospitality mgmt. haha

jess,
Try cold call or write in to those Big Event Co, sometimes they dun advertise. As i mention, now is yr end is more difficult to see plp moving. U try to send out more resume in jan 09.

hospi education, aim for the IRs ?
several months training in USA wor. If u can make the childcare arrangements, go for it!

JanBB: think now with a kid, i dun wana work in events unless really no job. cos really is work until no day no night de wor. last time i really like sell my life to the company like tat.

i hope to find something stable, 9-5...
i pretty much like my current company nw cos at least its 10mins away from home and job is alrite. but the boss very sickening.

anyway, thanks. i will still open eyes big big to look for job.. hee